Gingerbread Muffins

I’m really glad everyone enjoyed yesterday’s post!! I enjoyed writing it, too – I was actually a little surprised that I had to reel myself in a few times. Before moving onto a normal post, one thing Daniel pointed out that I should mention is that ketones actually occur when carbohydrate intake is less than 50-100g/day, not when protein intake is too high, which is what I had said. Another thing I forgot to point out is that yes – ketones are in our body naturally. The only difference is that if we’re eating a diet that is well balanced, everything in our body should be relatively well-balanced, too. So when there are carbohydrates consumed only in minor amounts, less fatty acids are being broken down and excess ketones build.

I was sure I was missing something πŸ˜‰

But anyways. This weekend has been busy! Good busy, but still busy. Yesterday morning I had Β a senior portrait to shoot bright and early…well, it was supposed to be bright and early. I ended up having to wait for the girl an extra half hour which was sort of frustrating, but I dealt.

I was probably so understanding because my breakfast was simply outstanding. It must have put me in a good mood πŸ˜‰ Well that and I’m pretty easy-going, anyways πŸ˜› I ended up taking so many pictures on this shoot – I am still going through them. I don’t do much usually, but she specified she wanted a “scene-vintage” type senior picture, so I’m doing some funky editing with color and such on some of them.

Since I was parked within walking distance of the co-op, there was no way I could just not go. I mean, hello! I was so stoked to see they had this coconut milk kefir!Β Ironically – I usually hate strawberry flavored stuff.

I was debating as to whether I wanted to try it for a good five minutes, literally standing there with a bottle of kefir in one hand, and this in the other.

I’d put one back, then change my mind.

I think the people there thought I was crazy.

Obviously, you see which I chose πŸ˜‰ I think I just have a bad mental image of strawberry flavored things since I’d remember strawberry flavored ice cream, yogurt, etc. taste so artificial-like. I tend to forget that stuff like this doesn’t taste artificial because it uses real fruit!

So I was quite pleased with the taste. I had it over some of the best waffles I’ve ever made…mashed banana oat bran. It’s really good on its own, too.

That said, I really hope the co-op gets the plain or at least vanilla in stock…strawberry is good, but I doubt I’ll always want strawberry.

Especially with my ginger-kick! Speaking of which…

I ran completely out of ginger, but guilt-tripped my mom into getting me some while we were at the store πŸ˜› She made me return a bunch of nasty cans and bottles for her.

As in, that she finds. It doesn’t sound too gross…but they’re not all rinsed out, the bag smells, and the beer slime gets all over your hands.

Though it is sort of comical as little old ladies watch as you feed the machine with gigantic empty 40s.

Anyways. Ginger kick. With my new ginger, I could now attempt gingerbread muffins. I guess attempt is an unfair adjective, though – I succeeded, after all!

Seeing as how it was basically impossible to find a recipe that did not require at least a cup of sugar, I decided to just wing it based on a banana bread recipe, because I also had some ripe bananas to use up.

Gingerbread Muffins

yields 6 muffins

  • 3/4 c. white whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 c. oat bran
  • 1 t. ground ginger
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. ground clove
  • 1/4 c. blackstrap molasses
  • 1/3 c. + 1 T. almond milk
  • 1 medium-large ripe banana
  • 1/4 c. raisins
  • 1/4 c. walnuts

Preheat oven to 350*

Combine the flour, oat bran, ginger, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and clove in a large bowl. Set aside, and in a medium bowl, mash the banana with a fork. Stir in the molasses and almond milk.

Add the wet to the dry, and stir until just combined. Fold in the walnuts and raisins.

Spoon into sprayed muffin tins and bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

And if you want to play a trick on someone, tell them it’s chocolate!

Okay, that’s just a little bit mean.

Next time, though, I’d love to add fresh cranberries rather than dried raisins. ooooh! ahhhhh!

I also tried my first carnival squash this weekend! I was expecting it to taste a lot like an acorn squash, but it’s actually so much better. A lot sweeter than I was expecting (because, as I said, I was expecting acorny!) but purely delicious, especially with cheater baked beans.

I tried a different baking method, too – rather than baking face-down in a pie plate with water for an hour, I just put it on a cookie sheet and baked it face-up at 450* for…I don’t know how long.

I will definitely buy this guy again! It made for a great easy dinner last night, and easy lunch today – which is saying something, because you know I love me a good sandwich for lunch!

like this. My mom broke out the “let it snow” placemats already. Uhhh, let’s not.

Anyways. This was a “grilled cheese,” the cheese being humnut cheese! It was just what I was craving.

It was, however, the last of my bread. I really enjoyed that loaf of honey whole wheat, but I wanted to try something new this time.

My initial plan was to make a bread that required I be of legal drinking age for the key ingredient, but we didn’t have any in the house, so I settled on spelt bread. I really love spelt – but you might not know that because I can’t remember the last time I bought a loaf/made a loaf.

Spelt is similar to wheat in appearance. However, spelt has a tougher husk than wheat, which may help protect the nutrients in spelt. Spelt flour has a somewhat nuttier and slightly sweeter flavor than whole wheat flour. Spelt contains more protein than wheat, and the protein in spelt is easier to digest.
It is that nuttier flavor that makes me really love it, I think!
Except…every time I’ve made spelt flour, I get a flat-top! I followed this recipe with some tweaks.
Next time, I’d just bake it for 35 minutes or so at 400* rather than 15 minutes at 480* first, and then 45 minutes at 380*. I think the high temperature first gave it a really crunchy crust. While the inside is still moist and flavorful, it’s really hard to cut through!

And hey..might as well wrap this up with a quasi-fail, right?!

I wanted to try making my own “KIND” bars – but my binding method needs tweaking πŸ˜› The flavor is delicious – it’s a mix of cashews, dates, puffed millet, date molasses, flax and sunflower butter (well, primarily) – but I couldn’t get them out of the pan in one piece. I formed some of the “scraps” into balls!

This blurb is horsey, read or picture-read, just giving you a warning!

And I know, I know – it’s been ages since you’ve seen Teddie photos! My mom hasn’t come out with me recently, but she wanted to come see him this morning. I wasn’t even sure if I was going to go (since I haven’t been on Sundays) but then I realized I got all of my homework done yesterday and there was no way I was going to just sit and edit photos all day.

I’m so glad we went, though – it was a nice enough (by that I mean it’s getting too cold already!!) morning and since we got dumped with a tooon of rain the past two days, I knew we’d have to work in the indoor. I wasn’t sure how he’d be, so I was more willing to go knowing I’d have help available on the ground if necessary.

See, I took a lesson with A last week and we worked on going forward – meaning, hello, Teddie, yes leg means go! I’m fairly certain he knows this, just likes to try and get away with not doing it – namely, in the indoor. So the second he’d pull his “I’m going to stop” move, she’d be right there and quick little pop him in the butt with a lunge whip.

Before you go calling PETA, we weren’t beating him into submission, merely politely reinforcing the rules.

And he’s actually been really good since then! He’ll still randomly try it one or two times – usually if we’re crossing through the middle of the ring – but it’s not a huge issue. Knock on wood. We now have a nice, forward marching walk and trot. I was surprised at how much he’s stepping up in some of these pictures, actually!

I’m seeing our mini-dressage pony potential coming through again, which makes me happy πŸ™‚ He’s such a stinker…love him!

And on a completely unrelated note…

I also loved tonight’s dinner.

But, since I’m one for cliffhangers lately, you’ll just have to wait and see what it is. I promise it’s pretty ridiculously yummy, though!

What was your highlight of the weekend?

Does anyone know of a good “nutrition tracker” or recipe-calculator website? I have to track three days of eating to analyze for nutrition for class…and while I’m really excited for the project, it’s also going to be a bit of work considering how much I make from scratch. I’m trying “SparkPeople” at the moment, but I’m not sure I trust all of the calculations since some of the foods are entered by users.

37 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe

37 responses to “Gingerbread Muffins

  1. I really enjoy reading your blogs and hearing about your riding experiences. I’m a ride too, so it’s nice to find a fell equestrian AND food blogger!

    I’ve added you to my blogroll because I enjoy reading your posts so much. I hope you don’t mind!

  2. Mo

    Ahhh, I am so trying your muffins! I love gingerbread. πŸ˜€

    I’ve never had spelt before and every time I consider buying the flour I don’t because wheat is so much cheaper. I would love to try it, though!

    I’m glad to see Mr. Teddie is doing well. πŸ˜‰

  3. The muffins look so yummy! They remind me of Christmas πŸ™‚ Good to see some Teddie pictures, you have excellent equitation by the way. πŸ™‚

  4. I am dumb, because I didn’t realize until just now that the “cultured coconut milk” is actually kefir… and I can have that coconut milk, which means I can actually try kefir!! It’s kind of pathetic how excited that makes me. Oh, well.

    ❀ ❀

  5. healthyhelper

    OMG i love ginger bread! one of my fave baked good of ALL time! your horsey is adorable, such a beautiful pattern and color!

  6. I’m not sure tricking someone into eating a gingerbread muffin by saying it was chocolate- I’d actually like it more!! As awesomne as chocolate is, gingerbread’s better. I love these were a gingerbread/banana bread hybrid without a boatload of sugar. That sounds soo good!

    Teddie’s looking good! I like how you made the disclaimer about PETA πŸ˜› Not that I would run and call them..but a lot of people get really touchy about it. A uick pop on the butt’s totally innocent. If PETA enthusiasts are just dying to call somebody in, they should look at the Walking Horse trainers :/. But that’s a whole nother story.

    Also, I track my nutrients/calories/workouts through livestrong.com. They have a *huge* food database, the largest I’ve seen out of any other site (and I even had to use a professional one for my nutrition class), and it’s really customizable. I absolutely love it. πŸ™‚

  7. I personally really like nutritiondata.com because they break down all the micro nutrients better than any other website I’ve came across.

  8. Bookmarking this! I actually think I have some cranberries in the depths of my freezer.

  9. teenagehealthfreak

    nice muffins!!! . i’m not much for strawberry stuff either..ew..i can cringe when i think of that “strawberry” milk i tried when i was little at school…uhhh! Teddie is lookin’ good! i used to always ride with a dressage whip/stick (never beating my horsies of course!!!!) just helps keep them in line. so don’t worry i’m not turning you in. can’t wait to see what you made for dinner trmo! πŸ™‚

  10. yum, hope that was pizza for dinner! I’d love to see what you came up with!

    I just got a buttercup squash that I can’t wait to try, I bet it is like that one…like kabocha. Mmmm, squash is so good…especially with beans!

    I also live spelt but have yet to make my own bread with it. I definitely will have to check out that recipe!

  11. You’re so creative girl!!! Those muffins sound fab-u-lous!

  12. Yum! I will have to try the gingerbread muffins. I love gingerbread. Also Teddy is so cute!

  13. I just had carnival squash this week too! I’m definitely buying it again πŸ™‚

  14. Quasi-fail? Not a fail at all. It might not look perfect (although it looks good to me), but if it is as delicious as I think it is, I don’t care how it looks.

    Your weekend with all the cooking and riding must have been really great. Mine – you already know. I’d be happy to share those stuffed dates with you πŸ™‚ .

  15. Spelt was my favourite too! Everything tastes better with spelt…I don’t read your recipes, byt have you tried using both wheat and spelt, the bread sometimes behavesmore like wheat bread πŸ™‚ I used to make rolls from dough that proved overnight in the fridge, so easy, mmm!

    Good to see Teddy again πŸ˜‰

  16. OMG I’m going through a bit of a ginger “kick” myself. I need to get myself some molasses ASAP!

    Love your blog by the way. I just discovered it via Freya’s (britchickruns) blog. Can’t wait to read more!!

    Much love,

    Katy
    xxx

  17. happinessisfreedom

    All your picture always look so “healthy”, I just want to grab one of those muffins =)
    I have been trying to bake bread several times with Sourdough, but I think I have to find the right temperature it needs to rise in.
    Xo
    Juliette

  18. Jess!
    Before I forget – I use sparkpeople for my baking recipes, and I would recommend it. Just make sure you click on the little button and look at each ingredient individually to make sure everything looks right.

    Since you mentioned the ginger, I wanted to ask – Have you ever tried fresh ginger in baking? I use it in cooking from time to time, but I never really thought it it would work in baked goods.

    Teddie looks like SUCH a little gentleman! I’m kind of jealous, because I haven’t been to see Rayne at all since my tooth surgery/looking after my sick puppy… It’s going to be tough to get back into the swing of things.

    ❀ Tat

  19. That kefir is the bomb. It’s the only vegan kefir on the market, and I love how easy it makes overnight oats!

    Humnut grilled cheese = the best. I might be having that for lunch today, thanks for the reminder!!

    Hope you have a great start to your week!

  20. Hahaha I definitely do the same thing at the grocery store – I’m so indecisive and sometimes I’ll spend a good 5 minutes staring at the product and deciding whether I want to buy it. πŸ˜›

    I like your idea to use bananas in the gingerbread muffins! Banana is my absolute favourite thing to add to baked goods!

    I have to do a diet assessment like that for my nutrition class too! Unfortunately I don’t have any recommendations for a site because we’re just inputting our foods into a computer program that calculates all the nutritional info for us.

  21. You two look like you are made for each other! Glad you got to ride this weekend and that it was good busy. I haven’t tried that coconut milk kefir…now I want to. The bread looks delicious! I need to make some too!

  22. I like “nutritiondata.com”. It lets you put in your ingredients and analyze your recipes. Most of the time, it’s very, very accurate as well. πŸ˜€

    I adore pumpkin so much that sometimes I forget about the other fallish flavor: gingerbread! πŸ˜€ Love it.

  23. Little Bookworm

    That muffin recipe looks great – definitely bookmarked. πŸ™‚ Love the Teddie photos too!

  24. http://nutritiondata.self.com/ is a great website for calorie tracking. They also let you make analyze your own recipes, which is super helpful.

    Love your blog!! Keep the healthy recipes coming!

  25. Ooohh that strawberry coconut milk looks SO yum! They don’t do anything like that over here – woe is me!
    Teddie is looking super fine too πŸ™‚ He’s the most stunning colour…love!
    THAT’s what your blackstrap molasses look like!? They’re so runny! The stuff I have is like, well, it doesn’t run. At all. Super thick, like set honey. How very odd. Crazy America at work again!

    My weekend highlight was my ace 12miler, without a doubt πŸ™‚

  26. dmcgirl37

    Spark People is a good site to visit!

    Your blog always makes me so hungryyy!!!

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithinblog.com/r

  27. Barbara

    OK, so wait a minute, let me get this straight: You did use the strawberry coconut milk kefir to make the icing for these waffles? Or did you use something else? (Because when you said “literally standing there with a bottle of kefir in one hand, and this in the other,” I have no idea what “this” is.) πŸ™‚

  28. You’ll have to share some more of what you learn from your nutrition class, I wish I got to take one in college.

  29. Pingback: Pizza, Pizza, Pizza! « Healthy Exposures

  30. my gingerbread muffins i recently made would be envious of how urs look so sweet without actually adding in the sweetness. hehe ❀ YUM

  31. mmm actually i should turn mine into a loaf!! totally would fool people into thinking it was chocolate bread! molasses is crazy like that πŸ˜‰

  32. Pingback: Habits « Healthy Exposures

  33. Pingback: So Long, October « Healthy Exposures

  34. Pingback: Same-Old Same-Old « Healthy Exposures

  35. Pingback: The Day After | Healthy Exposures

  36. Pingback: Gingerbread Girl « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

