It’s Here, It’s Here!

Ginger.

Bread.

Waffles.

Uhhh, yuhm. Need I say more? Probably not, but you know me, so you probably know that, well, I will.

Before I forget to ask, though – is this text any easier to read? A couple of you commented that when I first changed it, the text was sort of tricky to read. I could see where you were coming from, and even though this text is very similar, I think it’s easier on the eyes. Anybody?

If I can come clean for just a moment, I should disclose how much I’ve been using molasses lately. It’s a little bit ridiculous. Jjust today, I’ve used it in the following ways:

  • in waffles
  • in baked beans
  • in SuperCharge Me Cookies

but you can’t forget about my gingerbread overnight oats obsession, or the pumpkin gingerbread birdseed bars that I adored so much.

Can you even begin to imagine how many variations of gingersnaps, gingerbread cookies, gingerbread pancakes, and gingerbread loaves I’ll be baking when it really is “’tis the season“?!

Apparently, not only do I bathe in maple syrup, but molasses, too. Go figure.

Anyways. Here is my first version of gingerbread waffles. You know there’ll be more. My next version is going to be more flour-based than oat based. Yes, I already have it planned out. I also have gingerbread Super Charge Me cookies planned out, too, in case that was your next question.

The icing and the fruit compote topping is imperative, by the way.

Gingerbread Waffles with Cranberries and Chia-Kefir Icing

one serving

Cranberries:

  • 1/2 c. frozen cranberries
  • 1 dried fig, chopped
  • ~4 T. almond milk
  • 1-2 t. maple syrup (to taste)

Combine everything in a small frying pan, and simmer over low heat while you prepare the waffles, stirring occasionally. You’ll want for most of the cranberries to pop open, but if you see they are dry, add in more milk as it is necessary.

Chia-Kefir Icing

  • 1/4 c. plain kefir
  • 2 t. chia seeds
  • 1 t. maple syrup
  • splash of vanilla extract

Whisk together and set aside to thicken while you prepare the waffles.

Waffles:

  • 1/8 c. quick oats
  • 1/8 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/8 c. oat bran
  • 3/4 c. puffed millet
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • 1 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. nutmeg
  • scant 1/2 t. ground clove
  • 1 t. ground ginger
  • 1/4 t. baking powder

Combine all in a bowl. Add in the wet ingredients:

  • 1 flax egg (1 T. milled flaxseed mixed with 3 T. water, and allowed to thicken)
  • generous 2 T. greek yogurt
  • 1/4 c. almond milk
  • 1/2 -1 T. blackstrap molasses

And stir to combine.

Spray thoroughly (top and bottom!) with cooking spray a waffle iron. Spoon half of the batter and close, cooking about 3 minutes on medium, or until your waffle iron tells you it’s ready 😉

Top with the cranberries and icing, and preferably some pecans or walnuts, too!

And if you detest cranberries, don’t cry. Use an apple! I can’t decide which I like better.

If you detest ginger and/or molasses…I don’t really know what to tell you, I guess.

Know what else happened today?

Well, a wonderful ride on Teddie, yes, but something as equally exciting. Something I had to break into the second I came home.

That in turn, made me break out in dance when I saw it.

What could it be?! Well, I’ll tell you tomorrow…but here’s a hint 😉

What’s your favorite “Holiday Cookie”? My mom has this tradition every year where she goes on a baking extravaganza – sugar cookies, spritz cookies, biscottis, dark chocolate almond joy balls, dark chocolate and orange truffles, quick breads, you name it – and I remember loving it when we were a kid. The almond joy balls are a new addition, and easily mine, the families, and work’s favorite! As a kid, though, I loved the reindeer-shaped cookie cutters for the sugar cookies, and “painting” them with pretty colored sugar.

21 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, oatmeal, recipe

21 responses to “It’s Here, It’s Here!

  1. … I LOVE regular molasses too! I don’t use it regularly though because I pretty much drink date syrup whenever I need some type of sweetener. I think though, when I make gingerbread pancakes (which I will one of these days), I will use molasses instead of maple syrup. Yum! White sugar is so overrated, eh? There’s no FLAVOUR it in..

    ❤ Tat

  2. You know I am making these, right?! I think gingerbread is my favorite cookie. I am more of a muffin girl, so if I have to choose, then that is what I would say. Isn’t it great when you hit that flavor? Makes ya feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside!

  3. I still don’t have a waffle maker (in my dorm) or molasses (in my dorm) or puffed millet/rice cereal (at all) but one of these days I will make your multi-ingredient waffles and I will enjoy them thoroughly!

    My Mom ususally does something similar with cookies around the holiday season as well. My favorites growing up were either the peanut butter cookies with the kisses in the middle or Mexican wedding cookies because of their awesome flaky, buttery crispness. She’s also made homemade turtles before and those were gooey and awesome as well. I told her I want to bake cookies with her this year and I’m really looking forward to it.

    And as far as the text goes, I noticed yesterday that it was better than it originally had been when you changed the layout, so yea, it looks great now. 🙂

  4. Oh!!! The waffle recipe looks delicious – i can’t wait to try them!!!!!! Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
    My favorite cookie growing up was probably oatmeal raisin. My mom also makes a cookie called almond balls 0 wonder if its the same recipe as yours – ill have to post it sometime!! Have a great Friday
    xoxo aimee
    PS. love the new blog design

  5. Oh man that waffle looks SO good!

  6. is that the foodzie sign I spy? love it….can’t wait to see whatcha got!

    Oh, and those waffles…girl, ya gotta stop this since I am with a waffle iron still!

    When younger, I loved those layer bars with coconut, chocolate, graham crackers…mmm

  7. I love gingerbread!! I’ve never had *actual* gingerbread..but I like it in the form of little cookie men. 😛

  8. teenagehealthfreak

    you and ginger is like me and coconut. haaha.
    hmmm..what could make you dance?? well..can’t wait to find out. holiday cookie…gingerbread men..of course!! they rock. 🙂 i make these ‘ginger buttons’..mmm!! those are my fave..they’re hard..but sooo good dunked in milk.. mmm..i’m so going to make some soon!!!

  9. Ayla

    An “f”? AN “f”?? I have no idea what that could stand for! I suck at clues. Good thing I never wanted to be a detective.

    I think your text looks perfectly fine and pretty. Definitely not hard to read!

    Those waffles sound and look amazing.. it’s time I attempt to find my waffle maker that somehow got misplaced.

  10. Oh, heavenly waffles! Add me to the list of people who hate the fact that they don’t have a waffle maker 😀 . By the way, how can somebody detest molasses? It is the best sweetener EVER (or at least the best I’ve tried). I can’t imagine life without my favorite mulberry molasses.

    I don’t have a favorite kind of cookies. I just loved the smell of warm, fresh out of the oven homemade cookies. It was the smell of holidays, whatever the flavor. I loved butter cookies, I loved a kind of cocoa cookies with walnuts that looked like little mushrooms and I absolutely loved playing with the cookie cutter and making stars, moons, flowers, rabbits, etc. out of dough and then turning them into cookie sandwiches with rose hip marmalade. Then mom just quit baking because it was easier to buy cookies from the store 😦 . But this Christmas I will bake!

    And to make the comment even longer than it already is, I have to add that this font is much easier to read although it’s still a little blurry on my monitor. Thanks! (Maybe I need new glasses and the problem isn’t in the font?)

  11. I love Mexican wedding cookies…those nutty, powder-sugar, balls of goodness are my all-time favorites. I can’t wait to start my holiday baking. I think your font is great, as is the rest of your post (especially those gingerbread waffles with that keifer icing! wow!) Thanks for sharing sweet girl…I’m excited to see what you’re going to reveal to us tomorrow 🙂

  12. WHAT ISSSS IT?! “F” FOR FOOD! that’s gotta be it.

    Can you believe I’ve never had a fresh cranberry before? I think I need to bring them into my life. And I guess my favourite holiday treat would be pumpkin pie. Or just pie in general. Mmmmm, pie.

  13. Foodzie? what is foodzie? gotta hate a cliffhanger…;-)

  14. Ha, this post makes me feel so lost! I have no idea what the clue is, I hate ginger, I don’t have a waffle maker, I have never, ever baked (or eaten) any kind of holiday cookie..this is awful! On the plus, I do share your love for molasses 🙂 so deep and rich tasting!

  15. I love gingerbread flavoured things but I only really remember that around the holidays. My mom makes amazing gingerbread cookies and ginger snap cookies. But I think my favourite thing she makes is shortbread using an old family recipe. It is to die for!

  16. all your eats look amazing! I am a new follower!

    Have a fabulous Friday!!!

    xo

  17. Oh gosh, I don’t know if I could choose a favorite holiday cookie…it feels like such a betrayal! Maybe raspberry thumbprints or snowballs? That will change in moments, though 😉

  18. oh, those waffles look heavenly- rich and gingery! but i actually haven’t tried cranberries, and i have no idea why!!! i must get on that 😉

    favorite holiday cookie? probably spritz, but i’ll take any 😉

    have a great weekend! ~Em

  19. delicious looking waffles! what do you do to the cranberries to make them mush-looking?
    i can read the text just fine 🙂
    my favorite holiday cookie will always be a peanut butter blossom. you know, a pb cookie with a hershey kiss on top. YUM.

  20. SO i’m dying for those waffles. If by chance you don’t have millet, is there something else I could use?

  21. Pingback: So Long, October « Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

