Haircuts and…Waffles.

For being so cute, this guy sure is a trouble maker!

Actually, it was probably more Mel than him, but I found these two in the wrong paddock. It mad for a fun early-morning-cold-fence-fixing routine, which just made waffles even more appreciated.

Gingerbread waffles are getting closer and closer!

Even though I know the waffles themselves still need more ginger – what I am certain of is how to top them! And the answer is sauteed apples and cranberries with a sprinkle of ground clove and a drizzle of maple. Oh, yum.

The battler is so attractive, isn’t it? Note th sarcasm.

I also use a mapley chia-kefir icing for these rather than peanut butter. Maple + ginger = much better than peanut butter + ginger, I’d think…even though I’ll tak epeanut butter any day of the week πŸ˜‰

Lately, I’ve been completely perplexed as to how people do tutorial in-motion photos. Like, really?! I’m right-handed. It’s hard enough to drizzle something with my left hand, let alone think about drizzling and snapping the photo at the same time. What gives?!

I cannot wait until Green Mountain releases their Holiday coffee flavors. I will probably bathe in gingerbread coffee! Golden French Toast is also to die for.

Today followed a slightly different routine. I was in desperate need of a haircut. As in “I haven’t cut my hair in over a year, I need to do something.” So, I sacrificed my ride on Teddie, and instead went and got it done. Even though I’m “in town” for work every other day, stopping and getting a hair cut after work is not my idea of fun.

Don’t get me wrong – driving an hour just to get my hair cut isn’t my idea of fun either, especially since an hour there means an hour back. But it just had to get done, so I’ll take you guys with me!

These were taken while driving, so don’t judge the blur and composition problems! I was safe though, I promise. I just put it on Program and shot!

This is that cute little farmstand I mentioned the other day, that has all of the mapley goodness! I don’t know why I haven’t been going here more often.

I drive by this barn everyday, and everyday I love looking at it. Look at how crooked it is!

Oh, look, a horse farm! Oh, wait – that’s Teddie & Co.! Don’t worry, I stopped and said “hi, Teddie!” and brushed him and grazed him on my way back.

Spoiled rotten little pony!

Oh look, we’re finally nearing civilization!

…or not. Yeah, this is our mall. If I want to go clothing shopping, I have the choices of American Eagle and PacSun. And JCPenney. And Old Navy. Uhh, yeah…pretty poopy, if you ask me. I mean, I’d be happy with just an H&M at least! Too much to ask for.

Ironically, we have four hair places. Two walk-in chains and two nice ones. I judge who will trim my hair based on the hairstyles of the employees. I know that’s awful, but I said it. Ironically, the cheapest place always wins?

This was a couple of days ago…

And here I am now…

Haha, jus’ kiddin’, that’s actually me last summer when I put time and effort into my hair styling. I miss it. I actually don’t have an after picture because I came home and ate lunch, did homework, and messed with the ponies rather than playing with my hair.

…but I tricked you, yeah?!

Oh yeah, lunch. Lunch was all planned in my head and I even picked up some yummy local goat cheese while I was out to complete it. So my world came crashing down when I discovered I bought really old goat cheese. It smelled a little funky, but you know me, and you know I didn’t just throw it out.

If I have a set plan, I’m sticking to it, come Hell or stank goat cheese!

So, Β my sandwich “do this” of the day?!

Oven-toast a slice of bread.

Sautee sliced red onion in a pan with a bit of olive oil.

Add in black beans, and mash about half of them.

Spread a layer of goat cheese on toasted bread, followed Β by sweet basil-pesto tapenade.

Top with the beans.

So good!

And, speaking of ponies. They’re still alive, I promise!! And look at how good they’re looking!

Georgie is the one looking at us, taken tonight…

And here she was when she came. Okay, so she’s a little fat now, but I wouldn’t say out of the standards of a typical Haflinger and since we’re going in to winter we’re not too worried about it. When she came, you can see how sunken-in she was: in her flanks and her topline especially along her back. I wish I had a better picture of her when she came!

And here’s Maya tonight… (sorry for the awful pic – I had crazy shadows and George was right behind her, making her look like she had an even larger belly, a pair of legs coming out of her stomach, and a pair of ears coming out her neck!)

And Maya when she came. She was potbellied and sunken-in, too – so while they were far from grossly under-weight, they weren’t healthy looking, either. She’s gone from being pot-bellied and chubby to, over the past couple weeks especially, really toning up. I don’t consider her fat anymore, but normal! For a while she just seemed like she had such a huge belly on her but I’ve been saying to my mom how good she looks lately, not just plain fat.

And now for the real cliff-hanger: I made somthing involving this for dinner tonight and it was fan. tas. tic.

Stick around and I’ll show you tomorrow πŸ˜‰

Do you spend more of your time in the country or the city? Which do you prefer?

20 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, lunch

20 responses to “Haircuts and…Waffles.

  1. I love a good cliff hanger! Haha, those waffles always look like vomit going on the iron, but are so darn tasty coming off! I am thinking about some gingerbread pancakes! I wanted them tonight, but ran out of steam! Instead I did the sauteed bean thing too. Twas delicious though, you really can’t go wrong! It has been over a year since I got my hair cut too. I am thinking about chopping it off and donating it. It has gotten crazy long. When I think about chopping it off though, I change my mind. Not that I don’t like it short (I would do a tapered Mary Jane), but it is kind of easy now ya know? Anyway, oh, and I bought an eggplant to stuff…just because of you. Now, I need suggestions!

  2. How dare you leave us hangin’ like that lady! Oh, I can’t wait to see whatcha made…I have been all about the squash lately!

  3. Those photos are GORGEOUS!! Good job for taking such good ones while driving..even though that is a little unsafe. πŸ˜›

    I feel you on the mall thing, the one I grew up with consisted of a JcPenny, Dillards, and Claires…everything else was abadoned.

  4. I think that where you live is beautiful!! I would love it if I had to drive an hour to get anywhere.. well, kind of. I live in the suburbs, so it’s semi-county’ish. Dinner ingredients look delicious!!

  5. I just love coming onto your blog and looking at all of your fabulous pictures. I love that little barn.. I’ve always wanted to find one, fix it up and live in it.

  6. teenagehealthfreak

    i prefer it in the country..i like it way better!!! oh yeah..i’m coming to vermont..one day..it’s just so pretty!!! my mom has always told me how pretty it is there..and now i see..but want to REALLY see it! the ponies are looking really good! and yes..you fooled me with the hair! i was like wow!! and wanta know some wierd..i got my haircut today too! it was getting REALLY long.

  7. What amazing scenery pictures. I never knew that’s how you made your waffles, so easy. I gotta get a waffle maker.

  8. So picturesque!!

    I’m a total city girl (going to get my hair cut involves having a bunch of crazy people stepping on my feet in a squashed subway car), but that’s just because I’ve always been one. I do like to get away from it occasionally, but I go a little nuts if I’m away for too long.

    ❀ ❀

  9. You are such a tease πŸ™‚ I loved seeing photographs of the ponies and the beautiful fall scenery! Please cool down Texas…I want some of that autumn beauty! I love visiting the country, but I’m a city girl at heart. I love being able to visit my favorite coffee shop by just stepping outside my door. However…give me a weekend out in the country, and I return a very happy and refreshed girl.

  10. Hahaha, sounds like me going to the dentist – I still have a dentist that is one and a half hours away cause I am scared(?) to get a new one. Love the autumn ponies πŸ™‚

  11. Wow! Vermont seems to have the most beautiful autumn colors in the world! Well, the good photographer is an important factor, too πŸ™‚ .

    I am city girl. I have spent most of my life in the city and feel a little uncomfortable when we go on a trip and there is no bathroom πŸ˜€ . But I suppose living in the country is different than being on a trip in the woods. I would love living in such a quiet and beautiful place and I bet nothing can compare to being around these ponies everyday.

    Beans + onions = I want some too πŸ˜›

  12. Broccoli, onion and butternut? You know I’m intrigued!

    You certainly live in a very beautiful place. Don’t feel too embarrassed about the mall… consider yourself lucky to have both AE and PacSun. The best clothing store in my town mall is Smart Set, and I’m not lying. I would kill to have an AE because it’s my favourite πŸ˜›

    Congrats on the ponies! Doesn’t it just feel great to look back and realize how much better they look now? I was just looking at some scrawny pictures of Rayne from when I just got her… She’s a little too big now, but I would rather have that anyway.

    I can’t wait to see the haircut!
    ❀ Tat

  13. What gorgeous pictures of the countryside!!! I wish i lived in Vermont!!!! I am definately a country girl – love open fields and lots of grass!!!!
    Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us tomorrow!!!!

  14. Wow, they look so different! I think a little bit of chub is good this time of year – they’ve got 6months to get skinny πŸ™‚
    And :O :O :O! Vermont is STUNNING! You have all that scenery right out your back door!? Wow girl! Picture slike that just remind me how crap England is πŸ˜› at least the flat hole where I live…
    I like city and country – when I’m in London or a city, I want to live there. When I’m in the country, I appreciate the quiet. I’d like a home in both πŸ™‚

  15. I’m really excited about those gingerbread waffles πŸ™‚ The mixture alone looks fantastic! Wow Jess–such beautiful pony pics! Georgie is stunning! Looks like the perfect Fall in your area! ENJOY!

  16. I am just about convinced to pack up my bags and move to Vermont right now! I think I could even deal with the crappy shopping mall if it means such beautiful countryside! I like small doses of the city, but I’m definitely a country girl. πŸ˜€

    Yuck I hate it when goat cheese goes bad. Even though I hate wasting food, I usually end up tossing it because I can’t stand the taste!

  17. Haha, I’ve always wondered the same thing about pouring shots. It would be shake city if I tried to do that…but maybe they have someone help them? I’m imagining my parents’ faces if I asked them to drizzle anything while I took a picture.

    Vermont is GORGEOUS. I’ve only ever been in the winter, but the fall looks absolutely stunning. The most I think about it, the more I am a country girl. I just like peace and quiet and space!

    Hope you have a great Wednesday!

  18. Your photos are stunning! Plus, I’m pretty jealous of your life with horses right now. I definitely prefer the country rather than the city.

  19. Haha that was brave of you to eat the cheese!! I’m a baby when it comes to expiration dates!! I like visiting the country, but I like living in the city. (I need an H&M near by!! πŸ™‚ haha)

  20. loving the new layout! those pictures are beautiful. i’ll be up in vermont next weekend and i can’t wait to see all the beautiful autumn leaves in person! i can’t wait to try those gingerbread waffles- everytime you make them they look more and more heavenly!!
    ~Em.

Leave a Reply

