10 Things for 10/10/10

Happy 10/10/10!! I feel like for this occasion, I ought to present to you ten things. I haven’t really planned this and the idea just barely struck me, so I’m not sure how I’ll do, but lets see!

1. Apparently I’m not alone in not knowing much about tech-y things. I appreciate both the suggestion comments and the comments telling me I’m not alone, though, so I’ll still tell you what that dough blob was.

Yep – we have a winner! Handmade bread! As in, I was the breadmaker. Not the machine. There she is pre-bake…

…and here she is post-bake. Don’t be fooled, though. This mission did not go off without a hitch. For one, I put the oats on top way too late in the game, and they fell right off.

See? Oh, well. I’ll know for next time. And now I’ll share with you my “what was I thinking?!” moment. So, I’m following this recipe on the back of a Bob’s Red Mill vital wheat gluten package for honey oatmeal bread. I follow the destructions easily enough (or so I thought,) put it in the oven for the first rise, and go out and take care of the horses. While I’m out there shoveling poo, I start thinking to myself how odd it is that they still call it “oatmeal bread,” when steel-cut oats were used, and aren’t quite traditional oatmeal.

And then it hit me.

The recipe called for Scottish oats, not steel-cut oats. For whatever reason, I was going about it thinking that Scottish oats were steel-cut oats. I don’t know why. I’ll blame it on the fact that they both started with”S.”

I don’t know why I think about food while shoveling horse poop, but I just do, okay? And that kinda burst my bubble right then and there, because I was feelin’ good about this bread.

Anyways, long story short, it still worked, but I think had I used rolled oats instead of steel cut, it would have rose more the second time. As it is, it makes a perfect size for banana, cashew butter, and maple cream sandwiches.

See?

2. Maple cream. Nothing more needs to be said about it.

I was planning on going to this event called “Art in the Park” yesterday, with a bunch of Made-In-Vermont stuff – art, food, crafts, etc. But I spent so much time with Teddie that I didn’t leave there until 1, and by then just wanted to get home. I had work to do, and my mom had to work so I was in charge of the horses.

As a “happy medium,” I stopped at a little farm stand that I all too often forget about and found a bunch of fun things…but only a couple for me πŸ˜‰

It’s so good spread on toast! And super super sweet, so a little goes a loooong way. But, you know us Vermonters.

We do bathe in maple syrup, after all.

3. Buttercup squash.

Some squashies were among the other things I found, and I couldn’t resist the still-covered-in-dirt buttercup and butternut squash. They had some other kinds I’d never seen nor heard about before, too…and was so tempted, but only had so much cash on me, and they couldn’t run a card. Ironically, that’s exactly how much I ended up spending! I lucked out. I sort of have this paranoia that I’ll not have enough money when checking out or something.

Random.

I stuffed one like so, and my mom had (half of) the other (huge) half. She’s a new buttercup fan, too.

4. really adorable spatulas.

I was making some Birdseed Bars, and found this absolutely adorable [random] mini spatula in our drawer. I’ve never seen it before, and have no idea where it came from…but is it not adorable?

5. gingerbread waffles .

I have been working towards perfecting my gingerbread waffles. I wish I could say I have perfected them and could share it with you – but I haven’t.

I’m pretty picky about my ginger-stuff. I want wham! ginger flavor. Ginger bread, ginger snaps, ginger cookies, ginger bars…whatever. Not necessarily “ow, I burnt my tongue!” type ginger…but…I don’t know where I’m going with this.

But what I do know is that while these are pretty fab (and am not minding taste-testing!) they’re not “wham!” ginger enough. I know I can do better, and sometimes ya just gotta keep pushing yourself πŸ˜‰

I did discover that they’re way better with chopped, sauteed apples over mashed banana, though. But they’d be even better with apples and cranberries, which leads me toooo…

6. fresh cranberries .

[source]

I’ve been waiting for them to once again make their appearance in my grocery aisles, and they finally have! Hot cranberry oats were a huge phase of mine, and while I’m still goin’ the overnight route, it should be fun to see how they are in overnighters πŸ˜‰

7. Teddie.

We had so much fun yesterday, going all over the fields, down little random trails, just having fun! He’s like – the pony I never had as a kid. Naughty, but safe.

…and today was spent dedicated to him. Well, this afternoon, anyway. My mom and I went to a really nice tack auction, and he now has a new rain sheet to rip to shreds and roll in poop in, some saddle pads, and a new bridle to chew up. Because that’s kind of how he rolls.

8. baking tempeh.

I have no excuse for this, but I usually just…don’t do much with tempeh. I throw it in a sandwich, quickly pan-fry it, and that’s about it. Rarely will I marinate and bake it. Well, I’m changing that!

I rubbed this tempeh with pesto (we’ll get to that next!) and then baked it with the broccoli. Such a texture and flavor change!

9. pesto.

I love the sweet basil pesto tapenade I made from Veganomicon (by the way – does anyone know how long stuff like that will stay in the fridge for?) but was feeling like I should make a more “normal” flavored pesto. I found one of interest in Moosewood’s Low Fat Favorites cookbook, but switched it up a bit. Namely, added oil πŸ˜›

…with the help of Bella Sun Luci, that is! I used some of the sundried tomato halves they sent me. Even if you hate sundried tomatoes, you should by these at least to smell every day. It is heavenly, really.

Ugly Pesto

  • 1 c. packed fresh basil
  • 1/4 c. sundried tomatoes – the kind packed in oil
  • 3 medium roma tomatoes
  • 2 T. sunflower kernels
  • 1/2 t. salt

Combine all in a blender, blend until smooth!

Don’t look at me like that. I told you it was ugly. But good! I enjoy it mixed with greek yogurt, too, for a creamy pesto. If you’ve ever had pesto mayo, you know where I’m coming from πŸ˜‰

10. livin, enjoying this beautiful weather, and feeling grateful for life!

What are ten things you did/thought/felt/realized/discoveredΒ this weekend?! I know ten is a lot…but believe you me, I do enjoy reading everything you guys write πŸ˜‰

22 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

22 responses to “10 Things for 10/10/10

  1. Ok what is maple cream and why don’t I have it?!?! Haha your bread turned out awesome; I’m impressed! Love the photo of Teddie eating his hay, how cute πŸ™‚

  2. Loved your 10 things – what a cute idea for a post!!!!! Do you really want to hear my 10 things – ok here goes – enjoying the warm sunshine, visiting local farmers market and buying tons of veggies, babysitting my niece and nephew, eating the last fresh white peach of the season, fresh homemade tomato sauce with basil and oregano, homemade pizza with tons of veggies and cheese, sipping chai tea, reading a good book, reading my fellow bloggers posts – i think that’s 10!!

  3. 1. I baked cookies. I tried to make ginger-honey cookies and they didn’t turn out anything like I wanted. They lacked the WHAM of ginger, as you put it. However (!) they were still great, I was still really proud of myself for baking cookies (hardly even following a recipe mind you!) and I was even more happy that I ate one without caring about what was in them or how many calories or sugar it had, etc.

    2.I read some more of a book and I’m learning more and more about anorexia and other peoples experiences. Recovery is desired more than anything now.

    3.I also have the Moosewood Restaurant’s Low-Fat Favorites (checked out from the campus library at the moment) and I realized that a lot of the recipes sound good when I don’t look at the nutrition facts at the bottom. I think I need to just start baking and following recipes without mentally calculating things (I like to know what I’m eating the first time I make something… some habits never die, *sigh*).

    4. As I’ve said, people are wasteful and throwing away copious amounts of food is sad.

    5. If you do all of your work and ask for more, you get out of the dishroom and dishroom duties and you get to plate bacon, scoop gravy and other neat cooking production things at work. I’m going to be such a suck up. I want promotion and upward movement!

    6. I successfully roasted butternut squash in HALVES. I think I may have found out how to do it properly (squashes in halves rather than delicious fries).

    7. Half of the bnut squash was consumed with orange almond millet tonight as I stuffed it. πŸ™‚

    8. Buttercup squash is very similar to kabocha (in my opinion) and I feel I need to state how delicious they both are again.

    9. I look foward to your post at night so that I can read it and call it a night and get off of my computer. πŸ™‚

    10. I’ve never baked tempeh and I usually eat it raw. I’m willing to give it a shot.

    On a side note, your pesto looks just like an eggplant pesto I made from Fat-Free Vegan Kitchen and I loved it; your recipe looks very similar and I might give it a shot next summer when I can get basil without dropping $2000 on fresh stuff at the store now that it’s out of season.

  4. teenagehealthfreak

    oh wow…ten. well okay.
    1. stargazing with friends is really amazing and fun
    2. i need to have fun more often.
    3. pumpkin lattes on the couch with mom are irreplacable!!!
    4. i can ride my bike..with no back pain! πŸ™‚
    5. i had (temporary) blue high lights
    6. some people are really hateful and mean…people you don’t think that are…
    7. I LOVE THAT EGG THING i made…and eggs don’t make my stomach hurt when they’re baked like that
    8. i went healthy food shopping with my mom…and she bought me some dried figs!! ( i totally thought about your oatmeal…that’s what made me want to try them)
    9. i bought a vera wang scarf for 5 bucks!!!!! wow.
    10. i’m way too busy.
    well i’m so proud of your bread!! looks PERFECT. my sourdough didn’t puff up as much as i had hoped. 😦 but ya win some ya loose some. hope you have a wonderful week!

  5. I really want a moosewood cookbook! I saw a few at barnes and noble today and had to resist purchasing them ALL! I want to look over them before deciding which.

    hmmm, how about 5 things:

    1. veggie chili in acorn squash is much better than plain acorn squash
    2. I was searching for vanilla extract and the only ones at target had corn syrup…guess I have to head to trader joe’s or whole foods for some..
    3. I bought a compost bin this today, true story. And my boyfriend was more into than I was…trying to take produce out of our garbage to fill it ASAP
    4. Peanut butter in chocolate chip cookies instead of the oil…tastes like pb cups.
    5. I realize I have no idea what I am doing with my new camera…all my photos are blue tinted (mostly cause I take them in the a.m./night?) help…

  6. Awwe I love your 10 things! Cute kitchen utensils always make my day lmho πŸ˜›

    My ten things for this weekend:
    1. Traveling 11 hours to spend two days with someone you really care about isn’t a big deal. πŸ™‚
    2. CoCo still doesn’t cease to amaze me.
    3. I feel really out of the blogosphere loop after a few days out.
    4. Pumpkin, still. πŸ™‚ ‘Nuff said
    5. Halloween’s coming up! then Thanksgiving!! Than Christmas!!!
    6. Trying new things never fails. Well, sometimes it does..but even those “fails” arent failures. If that makes sense? lol
    7. Food I once saw as total junk is actually really good if I just stop thinking about it. Well, not *all* the time.
    8. You never realize how special someone is to you when it’s rare to see them.
    9. I love cooking. After not cooking every meal, I seriously miss it..even if it’s just after one day.
    10. I looveee life. πŸ˜€

  7. Loved this post, girl!
    Let’s see my “top 5” for the weekend…
    1- Eating baked sweet potatoes. Ate them three times in two days πŸ˜‰
    2- New-found love for Fiber One cereal. Absolutely loved it!
    3- Spending time with Dad’s family. They’re all super cute and friendly, I should definitely try seeing them more.
    4- Reading blogs. I’ve spent the whole weekend zeroing my reader!
    5- Relaxing! It’s great not having to worry about school, homework or ED.
    πŸ˜€

  8. Love your number 10 girl πŸ˜‰ As for the pesto, sometimes the ugliest things are the best tasting!
    As for me..
    1. My family is the best
    2. Sometimes people go out of your lives for a reason…
    3. .. for better ones to come in.
    4. Cupcakes are amazing
    5. My love for pumpkin never ceases
    6. I loooove food festivals
    7. Gelato trumps ice cream
    8. .. and I kind of ran out πŸ™‚

  9. 1. THe headers you made for me are amazing – I can’t wait for one of them to be on my site!

    2. I can’t believe the weather has been 80 degrees and sunny in October. I’ll take it.

    3. I was really hungry tonight when I was at the wedding – there was NOTHING for me to eat.

    4. I promptly ate everything in sight when I got home.

    5. I’m really pumped to have the day off of work tomorrow in honor of Columbus day.

    6. I think it’s weird we get Columbus Day off due to the fact of how horribly he treated the Natives.

    7. I bought another jar of PB today – I’ve been living without Smucker’s for about 2 weeks now.

    8. I’m actually looking forward to cleaning m house tomorrow.

    9. me + basha hummus = true love

    10. I ❀ pumpkin.

  10. All your lists should have Teddie and cute spatulas! As for my own?
    1. Pumpkin milkshakes-amazing
    2. Homemade croissants-AMAZING
    3. Craft Nights with friends are better than drinks
    4. Family is precious
    5. My husband knows how to make one mean pizza
    6. Fall is a very different thing here in Texas
    7. Austin music festivals= A LOT of traffic
    8. We are all sensitive to criticism
    9. Reading together is one of my favorite ways to spend an afternoon
    10. Your blog brings me joy (but this is not a new realization!)

  11. This post is really cute! Every time I read your posts I come away feeling happy and inspired to do some serious cooking:) speaking of which, I need to get a waffle maker!!! I’ve been wanting to make your waffles for a really long time, but somehow I don’t think they’ll taste the same in pseudo pancake form;)

  12. 1. The fact that you will still love me even though I STILL haven’t mailed your package x) Sorry! I will get it there.. I promise.
    2. I got to play with Rayne in the sunshine yesterday, and had one hilarious experience. Hopefully I’ll go into more detail on my next post πŸ˜›
    3. You opened up my eyes to the fact that ‘pesto’ is synonymous with ‘tepenade’. I’ve had a jar of black olive tepenade and a jar of roasted red pepper tepenade in my fridge for ages and I had no idea what they were.. until now πŸ™‚
    4. I’ve made it my mission to make some type of curry at home. Stay tuned my friend.
    5. I still haven’t cracked my can of pumpkin.
    6. Bread > Oats for me right now, which is kind of a big deal.
    7. Teddie is one lucky pony.. You are such a great mama πŸ˜‰
    8. Before this post I did not clue into the fact that it was ’10/10/10′ Cool =)
    9. I must find some sort of maple cream.
    10. I have to go for SURGERY on Thurday! Ouch – It’s only my teeth, but I am still scared out of my pants. Apparently I need to have skin grafted from the room of my mouth to another part of my gums because it’s receding. How much does that suck?

    ❀

  13. Loved the ten things!! I have some vital wheat gluten I’ve yet to crack open, so I might try that recipe if it’s on the back. I’ve been wanting to try my hand at bread for awhile now!

    1. Made zucchini chocolate chip bread that I ate in its entirety.
    2. Went hiking with my daddy!!
    3. Caught up with an old friend.
    4. Had pumpkin froyo with candy corn πŸ™‚
    5. Watched way too much trash TV.
    6. Realized how much I love being home.
    7. Made dinner for my family
    8. Went to the most awkward kind of doctor’s appointment possible (use your imagination).
    9. SLEPT!
    10. Thought about how even though I love the city, I can’t live there my whole life.

  14. I love the idea of baked tempeh! It looks like it has such great texture. πŸ˜€

    Teddie is such a handsome guy. Love that picture! πŸ˜€

  15. I’m so proud of you with the well-risen bread!! YAY! I’m toos cared to make bread, but if I did, i’d dream it came out like that πŸ˜›
    Hmm a whole 10 things? Wel, one thing dominated my weekend – TWENTY MILE RUN! Technically that’s 10 x 2miles, so does that count!?
    I would write more..but I’m about to go and clip Chika :p

  16. That maple cream sounds amazing! I love it when you post your local food purchases.

    Also that bread still looks good, even if you did mess up the oats a little! I do that kind of thing all the time… there are too many different types of oats to remember! πŸ˜›

    Yesterday I: 1. Went for a bike ride and snapped pictures of the gorgeous fall scenery, 2. Went to a county fair, 3. Watched a cow show, 4. Looked at giant pumpkins, 5. Petted a llama, 6. Watched Iron Chef America’s Thanksgiving special with my family, 7. Ate pumpkin pie!!!, 8. Realized how much I love just spending time with my family, 9. Almost fell asleep at 7:30 pm, 10. But then stayed up a few more hours to watch Glee with my mom and sister haha.

    Have a great day girl!

  17. great post!! here’s 5 things i realized this weekend:
    (1) i need to try making some bread. your perseverance has inspired me πŸ™‚
    (2) martha stewart isn’t always right…in fact, whenever I choose to follow one of her recipes, it’s messed up in one way or another.
    (3) being sick will never be fun…ever. duh.
    (4) one should not procrastinate when it comes to college apps!
    (5) i should try to enjoy my favorite month of the year-october- more! i need to be outside!

    my first try making tempeh was a complete and utter failure…i mean, NO FLAVOR at all. i think i’ll try marinating it, like you did- it looks great!
    ~Em.

  18. Good post! Your horse is so precious:)

  19. Mo

    Dude… I’ve stopped trying to add toppings to my breads because they all fall off. What’s up with that? =(

    It’s interesting that you mention “Art in the Park” because last Sunday my area had Art Fest, which had art hanging all over the central park and then there were tons of vendors for food, crafts, and other things. I worked the event as one of the local food vendors. XD

    Oh, and I was in heaven in 2009 simply because that was when I started getting really interesting in food and realized that back when my mom used to cook and bake a lot, she bought all of these weird gadgets and utensils that got lost in the drawers and cupboards until I started exploring haha.

    I honestly can’t think of 10 (interesting) things. I was working this weekend. 😦

  20. I love your 10 things! Your bread sounds delicious! So glad you found one that you like! I miss baking this week! I am so exhausted by the end of the day, I can hardly stand or read for that matter. I feel like we have started a project that will never end! I hope you have a great week Jessica!

  21. Oh my god, I’ve never heard of maple cream but I am insanely jealous of how yummy it sounds!! I bought another jar of maple syrup today because I keep using it in everything I make…I think I was canadian in my past life πŸ™‚
    You did a great job on the bread, that is one thing that I keep wanting to do everytime I see you do it. There is nothing better than freshly baked bread and for you to have baked without a bread machine takes some talent girl!
    My ten things:
    1. I tried Kabocha squash for the first time and realised it is my all time favourite so far, I could quite happily live on it for the rest of my life!
    2. I went to a vintage fair and bought some vintage jewellery including a real military medal
    3. Finally finished my GIANT pumpkin that has been keeping me going for days!!
    4. Ate REAL chocolate brownies because I realized that all the ‘fake’ ones in the blogging world just don’t match up to the real deal.
    5. I realized that I have a lot of work to do on my self-esteem so I can make friends..
    6. I bonded a bit more with my flatmate when we went food shopping together
    7. I read all my favourite blogs πŸ™‚
    8. I was thankful it was the weekend so I could have a lie in yaaay
    9. I stayed up really late just reading magazines and blogs knowing I didn’t have to be up for a lecture in the morning
    10. I missed my family a lot..weekends were always family time at home and it was kind of lonely not having them around to do things with.

  22. well it’s 4 am and my brain isn’t up to 10 things yet, but i will let you know that there’s a raccoon on my porch behind the couch i’m on and he’s driving me crazy! not only is he noisy, but he’s also clumsy. grr.

    and can i just say your posts always make me laugh? i’m not sure why, but i think it’s because you always say what we’re all thinking, just not sure how to put it in words. love you girl!

Leave a Reply

