Squash Banana

I’ve discovered my purpose in life.

To make (and eat) gingerbread overnight oats. Hey – I’ve made gingerbread waffles, gingerbread hot oats, gingerbread birdseed bars…you must have seen it coming! I’m a little bit of a gingerbread fiend – I love it even more than pumpkin, although I think gingerbread is more Christmas-y than Thanksgiving-y, and jumping ahead to December is admittedly quite frightening.

Gingerbread Overnight Oats

  • 1/3 c. quick oats
  • 1/2 of a ripe banana
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • generous pinch of ginger and nutmeg
  • 1 t. chia seeds
  • 1/2 T. blackstrap molasses
  • 1/2 Β c. + 2 T. almond milk

Combine all the ingredients but the almond milk in a bowl, mashing the banana into the oats and other ingredients. When it’s pretty much combined, stir in the almond milk. Cover and refrigerate!

I tasted it before stirring in some vanilla chobani, and it was just right. After the vanilla chobani, though, the gingerbread flavor got a little more muted. Next time I’ll definitely nix the greek yogs!

I was really lazy photographing foods this morning. I just figured…you guys know what some fruit and birdseed bars look like by now!

I did, however – enjoy another fantastic sandwich, though. I’ve been on a roll this week! It was sweet basil pesto tapenade, red onion, sliced apple, and tempeh. The tempeh I grill on the panini maker at work, and then panini the whole sandwich once the tempeh is done. I love that pesto tapenade!

I couldn’t resist playing with the cookies before bringing them in, though. These were a major hit! I think maybe I’ll make it a mission to bake more cookies out of Veganomicon. These were fun to make and I enjoy making things that are genuinely enjoyed, too.

Which makes me think…how great would it feel to run an entireΒ restaurant? cafe? deli? I think I’d fall asleep smiling every night. Food really brings people together…I mean, look in any deli’s dining room, and you’re bound to see smiling faces and stories being told. And not just friends getting lunch at a random place – but the relationship between the deli and the diner. You know, “becoming a regular.” My boss went to get lunch at the place I used to buy bread religiously at (remember?!) and the man came up with a new creation. He gave some to my boss to try, and gave him a piece to bring me, too.

Isn’t that sweet?! I used to go in there every other week…and the bread is really good! I’ve just been having so much fun trying to make my own. I am bound and determined to make a loaf that doesn’t fall! That said, this wasn’t the first time I was sort of tempted to just go buy a loaf just for the sake of buying a loaf.

Do you develop “bonds” with anywhere? A place you frequent, and most recognize you right off?

Anyways. The bread was really good…he’s so creative! The new loaf is made with apple cider instead of water, and has dried and fresh apples in it. The only thing I didn’t like was that it had a strangely chewy texture…but I’m not sure if that’s because it’d gotten a little warm inside the plastic wrap he put it in? Regardless – I toasted it and spread it with some peanut butter and cinnamon. Lovely snack πŸ™‚

Did anyone else adore The Lion King as a kid? I think that’s probably my favorite movie ever. Even still. How adorable is it?! The first Lion King, mind you. Anyways, this isn’t as irrelevant as it seems…because both last night and tonight, when I see this sunshine squash filled with beans and rice, I think of Rafiki’s little gourd thing with paint.

[source]

What was your favorite childhood movie? Maybe I just liked Rafiki because he says (rough translation) “thank you very much squash banana, you’re a baboon and I’m not.” I mean…how cool is he?!

And…other than that, today’s been full of “I have burdocks in my clothes!” Namely, the butt of my pants, but that wasn’t anything I wanted to share with the guys at work. My little monster decides it’s fun to find the practically nonexistant burdock bushes and stick his whole head in them. As in, A and I have no idea where this lone burdock bush is, and neither do any of the other horses, but Teddie sure does. Ugh! This is the worst time of year for them, too – because they’re so dry and you just get a bunch of random tiny little burs down your sleeves and other places that they shouldn’t be, nor does it make sense how they get there – but they are.

I hope everyone enjoys their weekend and has as great of weather as we are predicted to have!!

25 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

25 responses to “Squash Banana

  1. It really is beautiful out right now! Those cookies…so good I’m sure. I too often think about owning a cafe and bringing people together for good food. I love serving people and how nice it would be to have locals/regulars.

    As a kid, I loved a silly movie called the snowman (seriously was narrated by david bowie…). gotta love my dad.

  2. OH MY GOSH.
    That was in response to your tangent about the Lion King. It was, and still is, my favourite movie of all time! It simply cannot be beat. Now I am going to have to track down a sunshine squash and pretend to be Rafiki. You will be entirely to blame when my mom sends me to the looney bin x)

    I always seem to become ‘regulars’ at the places I go. I think it’s because I frequent them more than other people do.. mainly the grocery store and health food store πŸ˜› I’ve become buds with the owner of my favourite chinese place too… although that might not count because they were friends with my parents first. Regardless, I think I’ve eaten more entrees there than their other visitors combined.

    Gingerbread oats look phenomenal. I just can’t seem to kick myself in the but when it comes to pumkin and gingerbread yet!
    ❀ Tat

  3. I concur that The Lion King is my all-time favorite Disney movie. I love everything about it, it’s just so appealing in so many ways. I can’t say it’s my all-time favorite movie all together, because I’m not quite sure what that is and I’ve seen very few movies, but it might be.

    I’m a “regular” at the cardio center in the morning. I’m not really on a name-to-name basis with each student-employee, but I’ve made friends with a few of them and they generally know me because I come in at the same time every morning.

    Gingerbread oats? Is it that molasses that makes the gingerbread flavor unique? Is that what makes a gingerbread cookie the way that it is? Kind of chewy? I’ve never made and actual gingerbread man cookie. I guess I’m deprived 😦 Haha. I do have an urge to bake cookies though and I just might depending on how I feel after work tomorrow. You’ll hear about it if I do; it’ll be my first time baking cookies. πŸ™‚

  4. Your gingerbread overnight oats sound/look Amazingly good, i am totally making that! πŸ™‚ everything looks amazing, as always! i agree so much about how food brings people together, i always wanted to open a little cafe or something, i think that would be so ideal! πŸ™‚ but family gatherings or enjoying a nice meal out with friends is one of the best way to get to know someone and to share a great meal/experience with..even if it’s just a coffee house!
    As a kid my favorite movie was Cinderella and beauty and the beast, those were my favorite Disney movies i loved The secret garden, i think that was my #1 favorite, and ha it still is! ;D

    xx
    eliza

  5. mal

    LOVE the lion king reference!!

  6. I too love the Disney film The Lion King!!!! I loved it so much i was able to see the broadway play a few years back and it really was spectacular!!!
    I could totally see you i the future running your own little cafe – it would be perfect – i love how mealtime can bring friends and family together !!!!
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend and your overnight gingerbread oats looks like a winning combination as well as your stuffed pumpkin!!
    xo aimee

  7. I always thought that the lion king was too sad – when mufasa died, it was all over for me. I was a fan of Lady and the Tramp, Little Mermaid, and Beauty and the Beast!

  8. Oh my gosh the Lion King is my favorite movie too! Has been since I was little. My cousin and I would play out the Lion King all the time.. I would always be Nala. Haha good times..

  9. That sandwich looks amazing as usual. I’ve been on a serious red onion kick. Which I’m not sure if that’s been good for me socially, but my stomach is enjoying it. πŸ™‚

  10. Your gingerbread oats look delicious, and December will be here before we know it (which is scary!) I so want to open a cafe/bakery. I think serving people good, healthy food would be such a rewarding experience. And I know if you ever opened a place…I would get myself to it! I also loved Lion King growing up but my absolute favorite movie was Beauty and the Beast. I want to watch both of them now!

  11. I must have watched the Lion King a gazillion times. And I cried every. single. time. Haha πŸ™‚

  12. ARGh. Don’t even get me started on burdocks! We (apparently) have a tree/bush/whatever of them in our field, which Chika sticks her head in from time to time. The worst was when I brought her in the monring of a competition to plait up, and her forelock was one big dreadlock of fuzzy awfulness! Gah!!
    ooh I have a question – where do you do your photography, with that lovely white background? it’s so simple and lovely πŸ™‚
    I think that loaf sounds deeelicious!! It must be nice to be so known πŸ™‚ I don’t think any shops really know me that well my way..mianly cos I never go in bakerys or places where you get to know people! alas. ;s

  13. Oh and I adore The Lion King too πŸ˜€ That, or The Little Mermaid were my favourites πŸ™‚

  14. I can’t wait to experiment with gingerbread flavours when December hits. For now I’m sticking with my pumpkin. I don’t even want to think about December being close because December means coldness and exams! πŸ˜›

    I love the feeling of being recognized by the workers/owners at places. It makes it feel so much more special. My friend and I are always recognized at our favourite sushi restaurant because we go there SO often haha.

    Hehe I love the Lion King reference. I LOVED that movie as a kid. I’m pretty sure I still know the words to all the songs in it off by heart. πŸ˜€ My other favourite kid movies were Harriet the Spy, Little Giants and Matilda. This makes me want to go watch them all now!

  15. I must make gingerbread overnight oats! I’m going to check and see if we have molasses =D

  16. I never knew gingerbread flavor was so easy to make.

  17. Love love love this post…there’s too much to comment on!
    Firstly, I am a gingerbread fiend too. It’s just such an amazing flavour but I still haven’t gotten on the oats bandwagon…I may have to soon. But at the moment, I am in love with soft ginger cookies. They are amazingg.
    Secondly, Lion King is my all time favourite movie too and always will be! I used to watch it over and over again when I was little and it never got old! I also loved Toy Story and The Little Mermaid and Cinderella πŸ™‚ Oh I wish I could go back to that time..and kids movies aren’t the same anymore either, they’re all so computerized and technical. Kids of today don’t know what they’ve missed out on!
    I have dreamed of opening a little cupcake cafe for years now. I just think they’re so cute and to see all the people enjoying themselves with people they love over a nice hot drink and a little cake or cookie or something is just such a pleasure to see. I have also dreamed for even longer of opening a traditional sweet shop with all the sweets in jars..I am silly I know…
    That bread sounds absolutely amazing! I’ve never heard of such a type of bread, I’m incredibly jealous! I wish I could get my hands on something like that round here.

  18. Amanda @ HopeHasAPlace

    First of all, brilliant idea on the gingerbread oats! Seriously trying this soon.

    And second of all, your squash bowl looks scrumptious and DOES remind me of Rafiki! Great childhood memories of that movie… But I’ve never heard of sunshine squash. Does it have another name, or am I just out-of-the-loop?

  19. teenagehealthfreak

    your oats sound great. i love gingerbread too! the “grocery” store here we have here…the guy knows me pretty well..i only pick up last minute things there…old veggies most of the time…he gives them to me free (gotta love bags of rotten bananas!!!) but he also gets local farmers produce sometimes…and chicken too. nice dinner..i’m just sooo stoked about trying all sorts of squashes!!!

  20. Little Bookworm

    Love the idea of Gingerbread Overnight Oats! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the recipe! Is it 1/2 a cup and 2 tablespoons of milk for the liquid?

    Love the Lion King reference as well. πŸ˜€

    • haha i think it is 1/2 cups + 2 tablespoons. Just put mine in the fridge, and 2 and 1/2 tablespoons definitely wasn’t enough. I’m excited to try it in the morning! πŸ™‚

  21. LOVE Lion King. and Rafiki was pretty much my idol πŸ™‚ such a masterpiece of a movie.

    Gingerbread oats look so so good… I must try it!

  22. Pingback: It’s Here, It’s Here! « Healthy Exposures

  23. Pingback: So Long, October « Healthy Exposures

  24. Dee

    Mmm, all of your food looks amazing! As per usual! πŸ˜‰

    I totally connect with a place that I frequent. I also kind of get super possessive. LOL. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

