Soggy

So.

Much.

work that raincoat.

Rain.

It poured like it was never going to pour again last night. Unfortunately, that meant the horses were a mess this morning, and a mini-crisis involving our hay falling out of the shed and toppling my mom’s saddles directly into the torrential rain happened at some point during the night. I averted the crisis, cleaned out the horses, and by the time I was done, regretted getting dressed and made-up as per usual prior to going out.

Whoops.

That’s only one leg…my other one was sopping, too. We’re talking drenched sopping, not just sopping sopping. The only reason half my shin is dry is because I wore knee-high boots. You know, up to my knees. Somehow, the water started seeping down them, too.

I know what you’re thinking. I’m back to my usual mashed banana overnight oats. But…not quite! Last night I was feeling creative and this time mashed a peach into the base rather than a banana! It proved to be quite delicious.

This morning, though, I topped it with the usual – wheat germ, peanut butter sauce, figs, and cashews. It’s an obsession, and I’m okay with that.

Speaking of obsessions, you people sure are crazy about your pumpkin, aren’t you?! That is definitely the winner for the next birdseed bar flavor πŸ˜‰ I can’t say I blame you for loving the pumpkin…it is lovely, isn’t it? Ironically, I’m a little late jumping on the “pumpkin everything” craze. It still seems too early for pumpkin for some reason!

Dates & Cashews! It’s love.

You know what else is love? Those scalloped tomatoes. Just as good left over. I think I’ll need to make that again this weekend and finish off the tomatoes. That and, it’s pretty quick and easy for something so delicious, which is good for my weekend. I’ve got a bunch of portraits to shoot, and even one gets pretty time consuming! Speaking of which – this weekend is Project Food Blog’s next challenge – good luck to everyone who advanced!! I will not be joining you, but thank you to everyone who supported me! It means more than anything πŸ˜‰

Cashew birdseed bar. A little mouse must have stolen a nibble.

A little mouse named Jessica.

The creeper of the day award goes to this exchange:

(creepy man to me) “Is that all your hair?”

(me to man, after almost saying “no, I borrowed some from my horse for today.”) “Yes it is!”

(man to me) “You’re like Amy Winehouse! And that’s a compliment. Just as long as you make better decisions.”

(me to man)”hah…thanks…have a great day!”

I’m surprised he knows who Amy Winehouse is – he was kind of older. Just the right age to be creepy saying it.

Would you judge me if at one point during the day, when I looked out and saw it was still raining buckets, I thought to myself “I’m really glad I have chili waiting for me at home…”

This definitely hit the spot. I think it should be illegal to have chili before right once it’s been cooked. It definitely needs a night for all the spices to mingle and become best friends. This was way better tonight than when I tried a small bowl yesterday! So comforting, too. And freezer homemade cornbread always is a win πŸ˜‰

What’s your favorite “comfort” meal?

Any plans for the weekend?

25 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal

25 responses to “Soggy

  1. It looks like a monsoon. The oats look delicious and I agree that a peach in oats is so good.

  2. That dude made me chuckle…creepy for sure! Sorry about the challenge. I know this sounds like a cop out, but I didn’t even attempt it because it seemed like a popularity contest not a food contest (oh and I totally voted for you, lady). I thought your dish was seriously one of the best! You know oats are my fave! I put them in everything! Have a great weekend Jess!

  3. Sorry to hear about the Food Challenge – Don’t worry its their loss!!!! I think your recipes are fabulous and I agree with Sarena that it was probably more of a popularity contest anyway – you a winner in my book!!!!
    Peaches in oats is perfection!!!! I will soon be missing fresh peaches as the season is coming to an end.
    Good news – the sun should be shining tomorrow – thank goodness –
    Oh and by the way – your chili reminded me that this week is National chili week!!!
    Have a great weekend!!!!

  4. Erggg, I’m so tired of the rain too. We had a monsoon last night, basically, because of the hurricane that’s passing through, so power lines were knocked out everywhere. Sitting in a dark classroom is not fun!

    Haha, the creeper. You handled him a lot better than I would have (meaning I would have hid under a table). Enjoy your weekend πŸ™‚

  5. teenagehealthfreak

    fave comfort food…oatmeal at night. πŸ™‚ i agree on things being better the second day. just rocks. and wow…i would have been really creeped by the creeper…i think i would have been like is your hair real? haha. and….i hope to do nothing this weekend..hopefully the weather will be decent. hope you have a good one.

  6. As much as I love rain, I’m definitely not a fan when it involves sopping clothes and messy horses. Hope it clears up for you soon. :/

  7. That’s why I always do chili in a crockpot- I really think it needs those hours for all the flavors to really explode! πŸ™‚

  8. peaches and oats sound delicious together!

  9. What a creeper!!!

    I ❀ leftover chili – the flavors all need a chance to mingle with each other, I totally agree!

  10. Mmm overnight peach oats sounds delicious! I’d love to try it with pear sometime. And that chili looks amazing! It’s freezing in my house right now, so I could definately use a bowl. πŸ˜€

  11. we have had alot of rain also, sorry about the contest..it’s their loss, you would have nailed the picture perfect pic tutorial….i mean did they look at your pics? their fab…don’t worry I didn’t even join, hate to be on a schedule…
    sweetlife

  12. i almost drowned on my way to school- i never knew there could be this much rain! thank god the forecast is looking bright πŸ™‚

    i have several comfort foods: Christmas cookies, PBJ, pasta with butter and cheese…all the nasty-good carbs πŸ˜‰

    your food looks great as always; enjoy the weekend!

  13. My last comment didn’t post…I’ve been having internet issues all night! I hope you get this one. I was so sad to hear that you didn’t make it to round 3. Such a shame because you have one of the best blogs out here…and I’ve seen quite a few! I hope you have a wonderful weekend, full of laughter and good eating. And I completely agree with you on the chili front!

  14. I think I’m going to say it every single time you post a pic of yourself – you are so STUNNING!!
    Hahaha at the boots/wet thing…I totally know that feeling! Your leg was my leg last week. It was FOUL. And also, eek about the saddles!? Were they ok? I’m so protective of my saddle, if the cat jumps on it I start to get tetchy lol πŸ˜›
    My favoruite comfort meal…tempeh!! Love it. Or OIAJ πŸ˜€

  15. Oh my gosh! Pouring rain is bad enough, but pouring rain on a horse farm is the WORST! Sounds like you had quite the little episode… I’m glad you’re warm and dry now though πŸ™‚

    Your breakfast, even though I’ve seen it multiple times, is absolutely gorgeous (as are you, by the way!). I think if my breakfasts looked that beautiful, I wouldn’t want to eat them. Okay, that’s a total lie – you can make me breakfast any day.

    What am I doing this weekend? Well, it’s my birthday!… so probably riding my girl and going out for lunch? Only time will tell!
    ❀ Tat

  16. Haha, loved the creepy exchange…as long as it ends there, right? There’s always that point in creepy conversation when you think, pleaaaase don’t say anything more now, ple-ease…hehe. Amy. Hope you’re enjoying your weekend. Comfy food right now? Blended soup, with zuchini and coconut milk, cause it’s super creamy πŸ™‚

  17. Mmmm…dates and cashews. That is such a perfect combo. πŸ˜€

    I hear ya on the torrential rain! Good old hurricane nicole definitely hit us *hard.*

  18. So glad the rain is finally finished – I’m assuming you’re in sunshine today too.

    Sorry to hear about PFB. You have an excellent blog that should still be in the running.

    I am feeling the same way about pumpkin. I have fully embraced apples, but not pumpkin ( especially because there are still blueberries waiting to get picked off our bush!

  19. I love the rain, until I have to actually go out in it and end up getting soaking wet like you did! At least you had chili though. That is the perfect comfort food! Especially with some cornbread.

    I definitely second the request for pumpkin birdseed bars. It’s never too early for pumpkin! I was eating it even over the summer. πŸ˜›

    My plans for the weekend involve celebrating my school’s Homecoming! So excited! Hope you have a good weekend too girl!

  20. Amy Whinehouse, ha πŸ˜€ Hilarious.
    I’m really sorry about the challenge, I really think your recipes are awesome, and they always look incredibly yummy.
    Perfect comfort food definitely includes some cereal and hot milk. and for savory comfort food…pizza, popcorn and a bowl of soup paired with grilled cheese

  21. Amanda @ HopeHasAPlace

    Oooh, I just caught up with your posts, and from the last one I have to say: I am IN LOVE with Kaia’s different-colored eyes. So unique and beautiful!

    I’m also greatly impressed with your photography skills. You are quite talented! Let me count the ways: with a camera, on a horse, in the kitchen, writing words, inspiring others…

  22. I feel your pain; it’s been pouring here since Friday, pretty much non-stop! I just got a ride in yesterday and it looks like it’s stopping now so I’m going to give it a go but wet rugs, wet horses, wet self – it makes me wonder why I do it sometimes!
    Favourite comfort meal has got to be my mum’s fish pie. Mmmm… πŸ™‚

    Eleanor

  23. Chili sounds preeeetty awesome right now with all this dreary weather we’re having. PS. Can we please swap horse stories soon? aka: Can I live vicariously through you πŸ˜‰

  24. I CANT STAND NOR TAKE THE RAIN AND ITS SOGGINESS!!!! but i CAN take your banana overnight oats bowl ❀ ❀ its like a moment of warmth and comfort in a downpour πŸ˜›

    xoxo

  25. Little Bookworm

    Sorry about the rain! Interesting putting a mashed pear in overnight oats, I tend to use banana. ‘Comfort’ meals: bean casserole! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

