Sweet Potato Muffins

Rain, Rain, go away…

…come again some other day…

or never. That works too.

Just before you go calling PETA on me, I don’t kick my cats out without flippers and floaties when it’s raining buckets. I tried coaxing her inside, but she just wanted to snooze on her chair listening to the rain, I guess!

Needless to say, yet again Teddie was a no-go. He doesn’t like wearing flippers, and we all know I melt when I get rained on. …or not.

So, Kaia was stuck with me in her house all. day. long.

Poor thing. Yes, that is her chair. Looks cozy, non? I wish “mine” was that cozy. My butt hurts as we speak and I’ve only been sitting in it five minutes. That chair, however, is like melting into a cloud. A soft, pillowy, non-rainy cloud.

After some lemon poppyseed waffles (shoutout to Daniel) I devoted my morning to you all.

que?! Si! I made my sweet potato cookies again, but made them into muffins. That may come as a disappointment to some, but if you want a cookie, just plop them on a cookie sheet, but don’t say I didn’t warn you that they’re not cookie-like in texture!

The main reason it took me a while to post this was because a. I wanted to make them once more but as muffins, and b. I wasn’t 100% sure of the changes I’d made to the recipe I was adapting from by the time I let a week pass! Only 99% πŸ˜‰

Strangely, I can’t remember important days or what to get while I’m out to save my soul, but I can remember an ingredients list and their measurements for quite a while.

I’ve had a request for making my recipes printable, but honestly – I am clueless. If anybody knows how I can do that, please give me a heads-up! I know I probably make it a pain with all of the pictures I insert, so for now I’ll just try to make it a point to not put a picture after each instruction because you guys probably know how to stir πŸ˜‰

Sweet Potato Muffins

Adapted from Moosewood’s “Butternut Cookies”

for 7 medium muffins

  • 1 medium-sized sweet potato, yields about 1 c. mashed
  • 1 1/2 T. maple syrup (*)
  • 3 T. coconut oil
  • 1/2 c. almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla)
  • 1 T. milled flaxseed + 3 T. almond milk
  • 2/3 c. White Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/3 c. quick oats
  • 3/4 t. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. baking powder
  • 1/4 t. baking soda
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1/4 c. dried cranberries (I used fruit juice sweetened cranberries)
  • 1/4 c. chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 c. quick oats
  • 1/8 c. wheat germ
  • 1/2 T. date sugar (or brown sugar or omit)
  • honey
  • almond milk
  1. Poke the sweet potato with a fork or knife, and microwave, about 6 minutes, until baked. While it is baking, work on other parts of le recipe.
  2. Sift together the dry ingredients [second list] except for oats into a medium-sized bowl, and then add in the quick oats.
  3. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the milled flaxseed with the 3 T. almond milk. Allow it to sit a few minutes before whisking in the maple syrup and 1/2 c. almond milk.
  4. In a small bowl or dish, combine the last list – quick oats and wheat germ. This is going to be a streusel-esque topping. Use honey to taste (I didn’t want an awful lot) and if it’s still not crumbly enough, add in a splash of almond milk until it is.
  5. Remove the potato from the microwave and once it’s slightly cooled, peel and mash in a bowl until smooth. Add to the flaxseed, maple syrup, and almond milk mixture. Whisk until smooth.
  6. Heat your coconut oil for about 30 seconds or until slightly softened, so that you can measure it. Add it to the liquid ingredients. Note that the potato will still need to be pretty warm so that the coconut oil does not clump. Whisk until smooth.
  7. Add the liquid to the dry, and fold until combined. Fold in the cranberries and walnuts.
  8. Oil or spray a muffin tin, and spoon batter into cups until 3/4s full. Smooth tops and crumble on the streusel topping.
  9. Bake in a preheated 375* oven for about 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  10. Let cool ~1 minute in tins before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

* these are not sweet muffins, as you can imagine given that they only use 1 1/2 T. maple syrup. Feel free to add more, but personally I like the subdued sweetness – it makes the coconut oil and sweet potato really shine!

As far as add-ins go, last time – when I made the cookies – I added in sweetened shredded coconut and dark chocolate chips, too. They were really good that way, and you could easily add them, too. Dates would also be nice if you don’t have cranberries, I imagine.

This was the struesel topping. If you can call it that?

These are surprisingly light in texture, given that they’re potato-based. I love the bites with cranberries! I love cranberries…I cannot wait until cranberries are available in the grocery store. If you ask me, they should not be a seasonal fruit.

I also made some birdseed bars while the muffins were baking. I think my mom’s been enjoying the ginger ones (even though I burnt them!) because there’s only one left! These were cashew-butter based (YUM!) with dried mango!! It was almost dried pineapple – but there was more mango in the bag πŸ˜‰

Aaaaand what else….

Oh, yes, made some chili. I just followed a recipe in Moosewood’s Cooking for Health. It’s nothing to write home about, but a good basic chili. I didn’t want to spend hours searching for one (there are lots, so it would be easy to do!) so went for the first I saw πŸ˜‰

I was able to get a lot of homework done while it was simmering away on the stove, too. Joyous.

And, even was able to do horse chores while there was a break in the storm! Which is surprising, because often times it would be Murphy’s Law that it would start torrentially downpouring when I need to go outside πŸ˜‰

Unfortunately, wet horse poo weighs more than dry in case you were wondering, and really heavy wheel barrels are, not surprisingly, harder to push through mud than lighter ones.

Oh, and I had peanut banana soft serve. I blended a frozen banana with almond milk and peanut flour. Uh, yuhmmmm, I loved it.

But, all that said, I think the real star of the day was dinner.

Or, maybe I should say the star was Angela?!

When I saw Gabriela make her BasilΒ Scalloped Tomatoes and Croutons dish, I had to scope it out, and had to have it for dinner tonight! This dish was adapted from the Smitten Kitchen’s version, who in turn adapted it from Ina Garten.

I made a few changes, too.

  • I used fresh oregano in place of the fresh basil (don’t worry, I didn’t use half a cup, though!)
  • I added in white kidney beans or cannelini beans, or…whatever they are. I like my meals to have some protein, na’mean?! I couldn’t think of a protein to put on the side and it definitely seemed like a dish that would welcome chick peas or, what I happened to have open, white beans.
  • I added in about 1/4 of a red onion, which I coarsely chopped.
  • I halved the sugar, and next time would probably just see what it’s like completely omitted. I’m fairly sure it’d still be good – I mean, it’s tomatoes and yummy bread and fresh herbs!! – but I am really interested to see what kind of flavor dynamic the sugar really adds to the tomatoes.
  • I used basil oil to brown the bread cubes!

and I think that’s it.

Loffly. Loff her 3-minute vegan parmesan, too! It’s better than parm, if you ask me!

I had this amount x2 + 1/2. I just couldn’t help myself – it is so good!! And my mom is no longer threatening me to use the mass amounts of garden tomatoes we have that are taking over the kitchen and dining area. That first picture you saw? Yeah, that’s hardly even a fraction of them! I think I’ll make this again this weekend to use up the last of them πŸ˜›

I felt like such a little Suzie Home-Maker making this…I used my homemade bread, homegrown tomatoes, and homegrown oregano. Does it get any better?!

Why yes, yes it does…because I still have some for lunch tomorrow πŸ˜‰

…and because this is my homework πŸ˜‰ ‘Night!

Design my next birdseed bar flavor! What should I make next?!

Do you like chili? If so, what’s your go-to recipe?

28 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

28 responses to “Sweet Potato Muffins

  1. Holy cow – you had quite the delicious day of eats. I’m very very jealous!!! Hmmm birdseed bar flavor? Anything that is easy to send TO ME! πŸ™‚

  2. You can send of that rain down this way if you’d like. πŸ™‚ Even though it was rainy the past few days..I still love it. It was good you still got a chance to do the barn work without fussing through the rain. I’m the same way with Murphy’s Law- it never fails to be the worst when I need to be outside and stop raining once I’m indoors. haha!

  3. Those birdseed bars look WONDERFUL.

    i lolled at the PETA comment. hope the rain goes away soon!!

  4. Ok, making the muffins tomorrow…you’ve convinced me! I need some baking therapy in my life!

    I am sure I’d adore the ginger birdseed bars!

    I have the candle cafe cookbook and love that chili recipe!

  5. I LOVE chili and mine is an adaptation of my father in laws recipe! I could have licked the sweet potato batter out of the bowl! Oh and I bet that peanut flour worked in that soft serve! YUM!

  6. How about a coffee-like flavour? πŸ™‚ You can’t go wrong with coffee, can you?

  7. Awwww your puppy is so cute!! I’m obsessed with his eyes!

    Yeah, that casserole is damn good. I made a double serving and ate it all myself. Soooo delicious, I’m glad I inspired you to give it a go!!

  8. Ha, thanks for the shoutout. All of my poppyseeds are at home along with my lemon extract so I can’t make any right now 😦

    I think it’s kind of neat that you have the same measuring cup(s) as I do. Maybe it’s just me. Idk, I think it’s cool.

    I don’t really have a chili recipe as I’ve never made one that really struck me as amazing, but I’d love to find one. And it’s pretty cool that you get to read that book for homework. I get to do the exact same thing when I take Ecology of Foods sometime in the future (a year or so from now?).

    I’d suggest tossing a few poppyseeds into the birdseed bar, incorporating a bit of pumpkin as a binder and maybe a little cardamom for a nice flavor. πŸ˜‰

  9. The rain just won’t quit!! Although it’s a great excuse to stay inside and bake sweet potato muffins. I loove chili- my mom makes a great veg chili that uses cocoa powder!

  10. What a day filled with such lovely treats!!! The muffins are to die for!!!! I am so happy you posted the recipe – thanks!!! Next birdseed flavor???? Maybe something with pumpkin or how about cinnamon raisin or vanilla??
    I don’t really follow a specific recipe when i make chili – i just throw beans, peppers, tomatoes and some other veggies together with lots of spices and let it simmer for a few hours!!
    Hopefully tomorrow the weather will be better!!! Enjoy Michael Pollen’s book!!

  11. How jealous am I of your dinner?! And the fact that you have peanut flour?! Um yum!!
    And those muffins.. girl. You are a genius. End of story.

  12. I love in defense of food, such a great book. I’m all about sweet potatoes right now.

  13. teenagehealthfreak

    i love that cat picture. cats are so…awesome..they’re so mello and like whatever!! love ’em. yay for the sweet potato cookie reicipe!! i have a sweet potato with horrible skins which i need to do something with…:) i would like to see a bar that’s got some pumpkin flavor…i don’t know how you feel about that…but a CRUNCHY pumkin bar would rock my socks..and not the kashi one! i just don’t know how to do crunchy…and i love crunchy. just a thought…maybe some “thanksgivingish” type stuff..cranberry or something too…i just went back and read the comments and now see that several people have suggested pumpkin….so let me think…..hmmmm how about espresso or coffee stuff!! OOOO ya. well just a thought..i have yet to come across a healthy coffe bar recipe. and a crunchy one too! :)gotta get the coffe fix somehow…

  14. I visited Moosewoods a couple of months ago, and had a fabulous eggplant-bulgur dish… that was before I realized how huge they are! I must buy a cook book..but which one!?

    I love chili on cold days. I had an awesome pumpkin chilli once that I have to recreate this fall/winter! Or sweet potato chili, perhaps?? I’m completely in love with sweet potatoes right now πŸ˜‰

  15. I adore chili. We make it almost every weekend during the winter (although I don’t know how much we’ll want to down here in hot Texas). But I don’t have a go-to recipe…instead, I throw in whatever we have in our fridge and pantry…a little bit of this, a little bit of that. Those sweet potato muffins sound delicious. I love subtle sweetness too. Moosewood never fails! Thanks for sharing love

  16. I can’t look at that muffin again, I’ll tear my hair out.

  17. Yum so much nice food!
    I like the cover of the michael pollan book- very classic-my copy is a new one.

  18. Little Bookworm

    I love vegetable chilli. πŸ™‚ Those muffins look nice. Hope the weather cheers up!

  19. Oh the MUFFIN recipes has arrived!! Now I have an official, proper excuse to go buy some coconut oil πŸ˜›
    Your dog = the most stunning furry four legged non horse I have ever seen πŸ™‚
    The rain – sooo much here too! It really does make mucking out 10 x harder than it needs to be, which just isn’t funny. Plus the muckheap is now super damp, but in serious need of burning…gah!
    I have never cooked a chilli..it looks like something warming and lovely, so I think I shall πŸ™‚
    Peanut flour πŸ˜₯ you can’t buy it in england, and I so desperatly want some! When we do a foodie swap (which we Will, we WILL!!!) may I have some!?
    Annnd finally – thank you so much for your comment on my blog πŸ™‚ You always ‘get it’!

  20. Before I forget.. love the new lightbox pictures πŸ™‚
    Birdseed bar flavour? pb & j!
    chilli? I actually make it all the time in the fall/winter. I rarely make it vegetarian though, because my parents wouldn’t touch it with a ten foot poll if there wasn’t any meat in it. Ughhh… maybe in time I can convince them that more beans is just as good as meat and beans. Haha. It’s usually a mix of beans, celery, onion, tomatoes and ground chicken or turkey.

    Lemon poppyseed waffles!?! Now you’re speaking my language! I must try that in some form… Yum!
    ❀ Tat

  21. This post makes me want to cook and bake so badly! But I feel like classes, schoolwork and the wee bit of social life I have are taking up all my time! πŸ˜›

    I especially want to make chili after seeing yours. My mom makes an amazing chili with lots of beans and ground turkey.

    I like your idea to add cannelini beans to your dinner. If I ever get around to making that dish, I think I’ll do the same thing! I feel like a meal is incomplete without a bit of protein too. I love that beans are so versatile that you can basically throw them in anything! πŸ˜€

  22. Ahhh your sweet p muffins look so amazing! I would definitely make them this minute if I didn’t already have a bunch of apple muffins to eat πŸ™‚

    I love In Defense of Food. I wouldn’t mind homework if mine was on that too!

  23. YAAY you finally posted the recipe! Thankyou thankyou thankyou πŸ™‚
    Urgh the rain is non-stop here too. It’s so miserable and wet, I really hate it!
    As for chilli, I adore it, second to curry hehe. I don’t really have a recipe as such as I just tend to throw in the beans and vegetables that I have in the house at the time but I do always add cinnamon and molasses along with the normal chilli spices like paprika etc because they make it really hearty and it’s so good in winter when you need warming up.

  24. the pets always get the best seat, huh ;D they know what’s good.
    the muffins look so so tasty!

  25. Yay we finally got the recipe!! Looks so so good πŸ™‚

  26. Holy yum! I need to try this recipe asap! Looks great πŸ™‚

  27. Pingback: A Fair Warning « Healthy Exposures

  28. Pingback: House Arrest « Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

