The Bill Clinton Diet

…I’m not sure which is more stuffed. Me…or the really delicious stuffed butternut squash I had for dinner just prior to writing this…

I feel like I’ve been on a food holiday this weekend – I’ve done so much cooking and baking it’s a little bit ridiculous. This squash was so delicious. Dare I say…butternut squash > sweet potato?!

Anyways. Somehow, I managed to get homework and playtime squeezed in my days, too? Shocker.

I bet you all knew I’d be making peanut flour waffles with that peanut flour that Sarena sent me! And, naturally – I have. Many times over. Okay, well, as many times over as can be done in just two days!

I had quite a few questions regarding peanut flour. Peanut flour is low in fat but packed with protein – it varies depending on the roast, but this TJ’s brand that I have has 16 grams of protein and only 8 grams of carbs per 1/4 cup! Talk about packed with protein ๐Ÿ˜‰ And it’s 100% peanuts – which, you would think it’d be really high in calories because of that but it’s really not!

Peanut flour, either conventional or organic, is derived from blanched, high-oleic peanuts roasted to various degreesโ€”light, medium and darkโ€”to deliver everything from bland to bold peanut flavor. Theyโ€™re then defatted via a mechanical, solvent-free process to fat levels of 12% or 28%. Like peanuts, most of the fat in peanut flour is monounsaturated and polyunsaturated. Compared to peanut butter, the lower fat level in peanut flour helps improve the shelf life of products. Although peanuts generally contain about 25% high-quality protein, removing part of the oil before grinding ups that percentage to around 50% in the 12%-fat flour and 40% in the 28%-fat flour. Moisture content in both flours is typically less than 2.0%.

Fat level plays a role in the degree of peanut flavor, with 28%-fat flour delivering a more-pronounced peanut flavor. The 12%-fat flour is best for high-protein, low-fat applications like nutritional and snack bars, where the bold peanut flavor can help mask off notes in highly fortified foods, as well as low-fat baked goods, notes Bruce Kotz, vice president, specialty products, Golden Peanut Company, Alpharetta, GA. The 28% flour often goes into confections, peanut-butter coatings, fillings, frostings and baked goods.

While my first experiment was to make a peanut butter sauce with it to top banana soft serve – my next experiment was, obviously – waffles! I simply used my original recipe without the WW flour and wheat bran, and added 2 T. of peanut flour!

So delicious! Thanks again, Sarena!

The weather this weekend – er, namely yesterday – was gorgeous! I wish it could just stay like this for eeever. It was sunny, breezy, hoodie weather!

So of course, Teddie had endless amounts of energy ๐Ÿ˜‰ We spent a while just geekin’ around the fields, and he even decided to drag me down a quasi-trail at one point.

This morning’s events after waffle eating involved something else, though! While I’d love to see Teddie everyday…it’s been nice to just have a day to do whatever. Work around here, cook, bake, veg, homework, whatever.

In this case – start the day by baking Ginger Birdseed Bars!

I basically took a 1/8 measuring cup and combined all sorts of nuts and seeds in my pantry along with some protein powder, rolled oats, puffed rice, raisins and uncrystallized ginger…and then used a mix of 1/8 c. milled flax, 1-2 T. peanut butter, 2 T. ginger syrup and a splash of water to bind them.

I baked them a bit longer than I intended to – but I’m going to embrace the crunch ๐Ÿ˜‰ Especially because the ginger syrup is awesome!

I haven’t been cooped up all day, though. There’s still been plenty of outdoorsy time in the form of taking care of and playing with the horses and ponies!

We’ve been hand-walking “the girls” up and down the road pretty frequently, and today they really had a lot of “scary” cars go by them which was a good experience for them. But we also took them up in back on a “trail ride” (still in hand obvs!) and they seemed to really enjoy the change of scenery. They have become such love muffins! Well – Maya always was…but Gerogie’s personality has really come out. Still rather insecure – but sweet.

I went to make my usual Seitan (based on a Veganomicon recipe – big shocker there!) but then noticed there’s a recipe right on the gluten package! I followed the broth mixture (sans soy sauce, of course) because I didn’t have any vegetable broth and the molasses intrigued me.

I ended up mixing:

  • 1/2 c. wheat gluten
  • 1/4 t. sage
  • 1 T. nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 t. granulated garlic
  • 1/2 c. water
  • salt

and then boiled in the molasses + water mixture with a sprinkle of salt.

I used to make seitan alll the time – I haven’t had it in a while! I like this recipe, but it wasn’t salty enough for me – I didn’t really take the soy sauce sodium content into consideration, and should have salted the water more. Oh, well – I can always add more salt after the fact, can’t take it out, though!

While that was boiling, I made this.

But, I can’t tell you what it is yet ๐Ÿ˜‰ Maybe tomorrow. Or the next day. Or Wednesday. We’ll see.

And roasted some vegetables that needed to get out of my fridge! (Rutabega + Broccoli.)

I was so at a loss as to what I wanted for lunch…but when I sat down to this, I realized that this wasn’t what I wanted. I just wasn’t feeling…savory? bread? I don’t know. I picked at it, and then satisfied my sweet tooth.

I picked up a couple of these Sambazon Acai Juice Blends when they were on sale at Price Chopper a while back. I’m not a huge juice-fan so they sort of got pushed to the wayside for a while, but I had to try one in a GM yesterday…

…and had the other half today. They’re actually, quite good!! They’re not quite like a juice as they use acai puree rather than juice, so it’s got a nice texture/consistency to it.

And then I tackled bread again.

I found a yummy-sounding honey oatmeal wheat bread recipe that was right in the breadmaker booklet. I figured if I followed it, it had to work!

sort of. I cut down on the honey a bit and added in 1/4 c. sunflower seeds. And I’ll be darned – It still fell!

I was all excited when I kept peeking in through the little window at the top, too – it was rising so high!! Arrgh. It’s okay, though…because this is a delicious loaf! Very light, moist, and chewy. Now I’m just plain determind to get a pretty loaf, too! Soon I’ll be kneading by hand. I almost did this morning but then changed my mind.

This was ready just in time for the aforementioned dinner. It was a perfect accompaniment!

Next up was peanut flour, round two! I’d been eyeballing Sarena’s Peanut Flour Muffins ever since she posted them. Today was as good as any other! I still have a freezer full of bran muffins, and need some variation in my life. These will be great snacks, though – and didn’t even bother freezing some!

I made a couple changes to the original:

  • called for 1/2 c. gluten free flour mix – I used 1/4 c. quick oats and 1/4 c. white whole wheat flour
  • called for 1/3 c. brown sugar – I used 1/4 c. date sugar
  • I didn’t use the vinegar to sour the milk (didn’t have any)
  • used 1 T. maple syrup rather than the vanilla stevia
  • filled the middle with peach-raspberry jam rather than topping with brown sugar

I also stirred in some dark chocolate chips because even though I’m not typically a fan, I was just feelin’ the dark choco!

…but I think they’d have been better without them! Mreh, well. Just needed to reconfirm my beliefs? Maybe?

And that’s everything! Well, that and taking care of all the animals, homework, house work, making-things-I-can’t-show-you-yet, and enjoying the weekend.

…And being told I’m on a “Bill Clinton Diet.” You know what makes me crazy? Explaining to people why you eat the way you do, only toย receiveย “you’ve lost your mind” looks, but as soon as Bill Clinton talks about his diet, which happens to be quite similar to yours, it’s acceptable.

I haven’t watched that yet, but apparently he talks about almond milk and overall eating quite well. My mom’s bf saw it and is now all about it, after…a year? of me explaining stuff like that.

If that’s all it takes, I guess it’s a good thing, though?

What’s your favorite muffin add-in?

Thoughts on the Bill Clinton video?

31 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

31 responses to “The Bill Clinton Diet

  1. Haven’t seen that video, but thanks for the peanut flour info! I was wondering how those nutrish stats worked out.

  2. I am so glad you like the flour and the syrup! I need to crack the syrup open now and give it a go! You have been baking up a storm…everything looks amazing!

    Oh and I totally love butternut squash more than sweet potatoes…just wait until you try the buttercup squash you got the other day…that is so good!

  3. I was just having the sweet potato vs butternut squash debate with myself today too!! Jury’s still out. I’m almost leaning towards b-nut squash!! And I think you may have just convinced me to buy peanut flour, despite the fact that I have barely any use for it. Haha I’ll think of somehting!

  4. Hmmm I think I’ll be picking up some peanut flour next time I take a trip to TJ’s! So many possibilities, haha.

    And yeah, I get kind of annoyed when some celebrity talks about eating healthy and all of a sudden it becomes popular. I’m like, “I did that FIRST!” But if it gets more people to change the way they eat, I guess it’s for the best.

  5. I tried to watch the video but it wouldn’t load. Probably the site I found it on. Anyways, I read that he went vegan or something and personally, I thought it was pretty cool – but I do agree with you that it’s not fair to get weird looks but when others do it it’s just fine and dandy.

    As you know me, I don’t eat muffins often (basically at all) but my favorite is lemon poppyseed, so lemon juice and poppyseeds would be my favorite add ins.

    And I love your whole wheat flour container!! Is that one of those empty beef jerky containers that you see at the store? That’s such a genius idea! I’ve been saving yogurt containers (the new kind that I buy is a “2” instead of a “6” so I think they’ll be safe to store grains and nuts in) but that container you have for flour is such a good idea oh my gosh. Is there a place that sells them or should I just ask a grocery story if they have extras? ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. 1. Butternut squash definitely > sweet potato!! And great minds must think alike… I had a stuffed squash for dinner today too. Delicata, though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    2. You reminded me that I have a bag of gluten I need to finish, because I think it’s already expired. Oops.

    3. It’s been a very, very long time since I’ve made bread, but I used to do it quite a lot… it’s possible that your dough is over-risen. That can make the loaf fall once it comes out of the oven.

    โค โค

  7. It’s funny that people think what Bill Clinton is doing is new and trendy… but hey- maybe it’ll open some eyes and turn people on to some healthy alternatives? Here’s hoping!

  8. Fav muffin add-in? Raisins! I love the little surprise fruity bursts ๐Ÿ˜›

    Holy cow.. you’ve been on a kitchen SPREE these past few days haven’t you? So many yummy thing, I have no idea what to comment on… but when isn’t that the case? When I first tried butternut squash, I thought they were better than sweet potatoes too… but now I honestly love them both the same. After so many back and forths, I’ve just decided that neither one can win. Hah.

    If the weather was anything like it was here, it’s peeeeerfect riding weather, isn’t it!? So glad you got to spend some time with Mr. Teds. He’s looking spiffy as always ๐Ÿ˜€

    Have a good night!
    โค Tat

  9. I agree about the video to a point but at the same time,knowing how obsessed our society is with celebrities and what they see in the main stream media; if that’s what it takes for people to really see that this lifestyle isn’t so crazy after all then I say GREAT!

    This country is in need of desperate help due to the way most American’s eat so I can’t help but think the video is a really positive thing.

  10. Girl, my dad just came to the same conclusion after reading some book. And i’ve been trying to tell him all this for years. YEARS. Sometimes they just gotta come to it their own way..
    I want some peanut flour!!!

  11. Your stuffed butternut squash looks heavenly!!!! I love butternut squash almost as much as sweet potatoes!! How does the peanut flour taste as a sauce for banana soft serve???? Do you just add water or almond milk??? Have to go to Trader Joe’s to pick some up!!!
    Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us this week!!!!

  12. teenagehealthfreak

    wow…….you go girl..have you been sleeping in your kitchen?? lol! everything looks so great..i wanta try so many things…but i just never have the time/ingridents/etc…but looking at it is fun!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    i’m really not a muffin gal..but i’d say coconut!!!!
    those birdseed bars look awesome…i’ve been WANTING to make some crunchy ones..when i make the random ones i make, they are always chewy!!! maybe i should try baking them longer. have a great week!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I can’t wait to have a real cooking spree this week now that V and I are both on a work hiatus for the time being! I love coming back to read your blog…makes my day! I just got the peanut flour too so I need to do some recipe making, asap. Oh, muffin add ins? honestly I do love chocolate more than anything, so choc chips…I pretty much adore but more for dessert rather than snacking. I love blueberries, walnuts, banana, pumpkin…you name it!

    Oh, and I am so into your bread makin’…I don’t have a maker but have been eyeing some recipes to make these days. You’ve inspired me! I bet it was tasty indeed!

  14. oh, and yeah I kinda love that bill is making it so mainstream to my dad, etc…but ya frustrating that that is what it takes!

  15. Excuuuseee me Jess – but where is that butternut squash recipe?!?!??! ๐Ÿ™‚

    You were quite the baker today! I baked all day yesterday!!

  16. Katharina

    Oh I love that ginger syrup! I left mine at my parent’s house down in FL :\ I think about it often actually bah.

    I love adding streusel toppings to muffins!

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  17. Beautiful stuffed squash!! I did a ton too but I loved it! My hands hate me for the number of dishes I had to do lol. My favorite add-in has to be fruit. It adds a slight sweetness and moisture. Its the best with the doughy muffin slightly warm ๐Ÿ™‚ I just smiled at the thought haha I hope you had a great weekend!!

  18. You did go to town this weekend! I want to get my hands on some of that peanut flour. Your waffles look so tasty (as always) but with the added nutritional bonus of all that protein. Delicious! And it can be frustrating when you eat a certain way that requires constant explanation and defense…but as soon as a “celebrity” tries it, they find immediate acceptance. But hopefully his diet changes will bring more awareness to the importance of healthy eating. I hope you have a great Monday sweet girl!

  19. Favorite muffin? Well, I have eaten only one muffin in my life so I suppose it has to be my favorite. But it was a plain cocoa muffin and I am sure these peanut flour muffins are a thousand times better especially with the oats and jam… I am daydreaming ๐Ÿ™‚ .

  20. Wow I want some peanut flour! I just set a date with Google ๐Ÿ˜€
    Ooh – so Mr Clinton is a vegan? I’m glad he did it for health reasons, not cos he wanted to lose 20pounds – it drives me mad when people go vegan to lose weight! I think when that happens, non-vegans automatically assume that ALL vegans are skinny dieters or rammed with eating disorder or whatever..meh.
    Ooh (again) – that butternut squash/sweet potato things sounds amazing!! And so do your seed bars, and muffins, and waffles, and bread….you are quite the baker!

  21. Hey pretty girl! I cracked up about the Bill Clinton thingโ€ฆ but HOW COOL IS IT that someone so famous is representinโ€™ whole plant foods! HECK YESSSSSSSS.
    Oh and about the peanut flour โ€“ the reason why itโ€™s lowfat is because they strip it of the healthy fats during processingโ€ฆ kinda like taking the milkfat from milk to make whey protein. Itโ€™s not a terrible thing to use, but just something to keep in mind! (where as almond meal is just ground almonds, with the healthy fats still in there)

  22. OH! And I’m all about the dates in muffins ๐Ÿ˜€ I hate raisins in them, or fruit, but dates I love ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it’s cos they goo up ๐Ÿ˜›

  23. Oh NO! Nononono, you’re telling me NOW that butternut squash is good? I just considered buying some that was marked down (it’s not even available normally) at the supermarket, but I didn’t really know what to do with it…boo-hoo, I should have been more adventurous…

    Haha, it’s so funny with the diet/Clinton diet thing – but you’re right. Actually I just emailed it to my bf :-). He’s completely like that – sometimes he reads some tidbit of popular science like “eat more veg” you know, and he’s like, honey, did you realise…and I just sigh: I’ve been telling you this everytime you asked about how you could eat better for the last two years, damnit! Haha…:-)

  24. That stuffed butternut squash looks amazing! I hope you’re going to be posting a recipe! ๐Ÿ˜‰ My goal for the fall is to try as many stuffed veggies as possible!

    Peanut flour sounds pretty nutritious! I wonder if almond flour has similar nutritional stats… I’ll have to look into that!

    It’s sort of ridiculous how people have to see famous people doing something in order for them to think it’s acceptable. I really don’t understand society’s fixation on copying celebrity lifestyles and trying to dress, look, and eat exactly like them. ๐Ÿ˜›

  25. If I’ve learned one thing since getting into nutrition, it’s that nobody listens to family advice unless it’s in print. :mrgreen:

    I love your cooking spree!! So much goodness. And those muffins are calling my name. ๐Ÿ˜€

  26. Ugh, yeah. It’s annoying that you’re weird until a celeb does it, but if it makes people a bit more accepting, then so be it. I’d rather see more people eat healthfully, even if it does come at the cost of the “Bill Clinton Diet!”

    Those muffins look amazing, and I love that they’re vegan. I have some TJ’s peanut flour on hand, so I just bookmarked Sarena’s recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  27. Stuffed butternut squash, waffles, seitan…can I move with you? ๐Ÿ˜€
    awesome food, really. I am sooo jealous. I wish I could make my own seitan, but I only stick to tofu for now ๐Ÿ™‚
    I love muffins with anything, but chocolate chips specially :))

  28. Ahh Bill. Renowned nutritional expert bravely leading the country on to healthier food pastures….. But yes I suppose it IS good that the word is simply getting out to the masses, no matter the vehicle.
    Thanks for the more detailed info on p. flour – I’ve been using it for a spell without knowing much more beyond the lower fat/higher protein deal.

  29. Hooray for butternut – much better than sweet potatoes, I reckon! Just wish we could get peanut flour in England; I love coconut flour but am very jealous of this!

    Eleanor

  30. I am dying to try that peanut flour! I didn’t realize it had so much protein and little carbs! You could use that sucker for anything probably and it would always taste good! =)

  31. Ohh yess, I KNEW you’d get to love butternut squash! ๐Ÿ˜› But me, being the squash freak that I am, want to recommend another one too you if you think butternut is amazing..try Crown Prince squash. Gosh, I die everytime I get my hands on one of these!! Seriously, if you see one, GET IT!
    Urgh I wish we had peanut flour over here. Yet another thing you guys are so lucky to have ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    And will you stop being so incredible in the kitchen?! You’re putting us all to shame! ๐Ÿ˜› Nah, I kid, it’s so exciting to see what you come up with…you are very talented girly.
    Mmm as for muffins. I am a huge muffin fan. I love anything from pumpkin maple, banana, apple and cinnamon, raisin bran, blueberry, peach and raspberry…OKAY i love so many! I’m not a fan of chocolate chip though..
    xxx

Leave a Reply

