Grateful

There’s no way I could start this post without a huge “eeegads thank you guys so much i love you!!

I’m on to the next phase in Project Food Blog!! I know it’s only the first level – but I wasn’t even expecting that…now I’ve really got to plan something great for the next challenge that’s due on Sunday, no less!! Yikes…my busy weekend just got busier πŸ˜‰ This challenge will have me exploring “The Classics” – preparing classic dishes from another culture. And not just your usual French and Italian – something I rarely challenge myself with! Now keep your fingers crossed I don’t lose my creative mojo! I’m pretty happy to have a challenge, so again – thank you guys! ❀

I know, I know – you’re tired of the same old overnight oats. But I just cannot get over this simple combination.

In fact, I think everything was pretty simple today! Sometimes, it’s just the way to go.

This was mashed banana overnight oats…oh, who am I kidding. You know the drill by now!

Dates stuffed with mixed nuts, some rolled in hemp seeds!

This morning started out so weird. Well, let me rephrase – once I got to work it felt so weird.

I started my day stopping and seeing Teddie. Lately I’ve been helping A out with morning chores a little bit, basically cleaning the run-ins. It’s something I actually enjoy doing (call me crazy, but I think many horse owners would agree there is a strange satisfaction to doing all the hard horse work that goes along with ownership!) and I still get to see Teddie.

And this morning was beautiful. It was unseasonably warm, actually, and the cool breeze on my bare arms made me just want to stay there all day. I think Teddie quite enjoys the more relaxed company lately as I clean, too. While everyone else goes down to graze, he stays up and “watches” me clean. Of course,I give him many pats throughout! I just can’t pass his handsome face more than a time or two without some pats on that lovely wide blaze of his.

A rather protein deficient but still good lunch: a panini with baked eggplant & pasta sauce, fresh tomato, garlic hummus, and feta, along with a plum...

Once I got to work, though, I felt so out of it! Very unlike me. A bit lightheaded and my eyes felt really…strange? My stomach felt upset and overall I felt rather…weak? It was sort of freaky, and I was almost wondering if I should go lay down or something! The feeling passed, though, for which I am quite grateful. I hate being sick! I don’t know what was goin’ on, but I think the lightheaded and eye thing had to do with the lights in the building?

...and a sweet potato cookie for dessert

I am looking forward to sleeping in a bit tomorrow morning, though! I’ve been going to bed too late!! Bad Jess, Bad!

I’ve actually been really…I don’t know how else to say it without making it sound like I’ve been depressed (which, I haven’t, btw)…happy lately. Like, I’ll drive home and just be feeling so grateful for everything. Not to get all mushy or anything – but I think it’s definitely the weather that is bringing it out!

The fall is so gorgeous, and I love driving home in the beautiful fall light and the changing trees.

Simple bowl of bulgur, eggplant, tomato, cannelini beans, red onion, and feta. Simple yet GOOD!!

Of course, I’m not too thrilled that night is falling as I drive home now! I remember when I could go outside right now and have another hour of daylight left (it’s 7:30) but now I wouldn’t be able to see my hand in front of my face!

That doesn’t mean I didn’t take advantage of one of the last warm days of the year, though, and enjoyed this delicious dinner with the FreePress and watching my mom and Kaia “golf.”

Remember when I used to have a red onion with every sandwich? It's been so long!

…onion definitely make me nearly bawl my eyes out lately, though!! They never used to bother me, but now they really do. The red onion was quite nice to welcome back, though. I just read, though, that if you refrigerate your onion before cutting it it won’t have as strong a smell!

Don't worry - it's just a whiffle ball!

haha, even Mouse made a shot. The whole fam was out tonight!

Sorry for being all mushy and sentimental tonight! haha. But, I’m off to do my homework – of course, by that I mean Project Food Blog and not “real” homework πŸ˜›

Something you’re grateful for today?

18 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, lunch, recipe

18 responses to “Grateful

  1. Congratulations! That is awesome! I am so grateful that my little nephew is doing well. That little stinker is about to be taken off of the oxygen and hopefully go home in a couple of weeks…then I can go see him!

    Good luck on the next round Jess…I know you will do great!

  2. Congrats on PFB round 2!! That’s amazing! And I am def not sick of seeing your overnight oats.. or of eating mine!!

  3. I am so THRILLED that you made it to the next round – you totally deserve it and i can’t wait to see your lovely creations for the future!!!! I am grateful today to have found your blog and to have met such a great person – have a great weekend!!!!

  4. Congrats! … Not that I ever doubted you πŸ™‚

    Holy yum. Remind me to make that for dinner tomorrow? Hehe…

    No need to apologize for mush. I agree as well that the season brings it out. Who wouldn’t be happy and grateful when they are surrounded by warm colours and fresh air? There’s nothing quite like a barn in the fall… even if you are doing chores (which I happen to enjoy as well :P).

    Rest up… I can’t wait to see what you come up with on Sunday!
    ❀ Tat

  5. Ah congrats on making it to the second round! I knew that you would, though. πŸ™‚

    I’ve been feeling those same grateful feelings as you lately. I’m just happy with everything in my life now, and I sometimes just start grinning out of nowhere when I think of it. It’s great, isn’t it?

    Have fun with your “homework”. Excited to see your next PFB entry!

  6. Congratulations, Jessica!! That’s so awesome on making it to the next round. πŸ˜€

    I think it’s so cute when they watch us do barn chores. I remember working at the riding camp and CoCo would just watch me go back and forth and snickering everytime I walked past. πŸ˜›

  7. yay!! so happy you moved on!!! πŸ™‚ your dinner just looks so yummy..and simple..but it just…..yum! hope you have a great weekend, i’m sure you’ll come up with something great to do!!!

  8. I’m grateful for stability – a job, a house, a wonderful husband. I live for structure.

  9. Congratulations! I’m so glad you made it to the second round. I’m trying to come up with a post too…so little time! I’m sorry you were feeling a bit “off” today. I felt weak and sick yesterday, but thankfully it passed. I will be sending healing thoughts your way…I hope you wake up tomorrow feeling refreshed!

  10. Yay! Glad you made it, and glad you’re happy about it! Looking forward to seeing what you’ll come up with for sunday πŸ˜‰

    Fall gets me that way too πŸ™‚ – except here. it’s coming on winter now: it’s that itty bitty difference, the leaves have gone brown and it’s dark out in the morning, sigh.

    I know what you mean, I did an internship in a commercial (as in, a riding school/rented stable/horse training type of thing-stable?) stable and I thought maybe two weeks of carrying hay and pushing wheel-barrows was going to clear up the horse-issue for me…but not so! I loved it, haha. Didn’t pursue a career in horses anyway, though, but it was so great.

    Oh my, it’s already saturday…I have work today, so doesn’t feel like it. I have to go boil some carrots now 😦 I found out I started the cashew nuts too early on in the diet – at least I’m guessing that’s what happened, ouch – and I had to let your cashew carrot spread go! Heaving sob! So I’m trying the same with pine nuts, which should be better tummy-wise…fingers crossed.

    Hope you’re having a magnificent weekend, challenge and all πŸ™‚

  11. Yaayy I’m so happy for you! As soon as I saw the results were out I went to see if you got through πŸ˜€
    I’m sorry you felt all weak and crappy 😦 Maybe I passed on my illness to you through the wonders of the internet!!?
    Beautiful food, AS ALWAYS. I can’t wait to see what you come up with this weekend!!

  12. Those are pretty little dates. Good luck with round two.

  13. Congrats Jess!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ You deserve it! I will never grow tired of your lovely food! It’s always a pleasure to read your blog!

  14. Congrats on making it to the next level! I expected you would. πŸ˜€

    I love that feeling of just pure happiness. Fall definitely brings it out in me. How could it not with all the gorgeous trees, perfect temperatures, and comforting warm drinks?

  15. I had seen you made it to the next round! Congrats!

  16. Sarah

    I feel grateful today too. Three things I am grateful for: a wonderful husband, a crazy and unexpected job offer that brought me to Australia to live, and a strong, healthy body that’s able to do a lot – yoga, weightlifting and bike riding today, to be exact!

  17. Aww Jess I’m so happy for you!! You deserve to be put through to the next round and I know you’re going to really give this challenge a good go because you’re so talented! I wish you all the luck in the world. I can’t wait to see what you make πŸ™‚
    Sorry you’ve been feeling a bit rubbish..there must be something going round?!
    Gosh, beautiful food as ALWAYS girlie, and any chance of the sweet potato cookie recipe soon? πŸ˜› Okay, I admit it, I’m DYING for it here!!
    xxx

  18. Congratulations! Good luck for the rest…
    I know what you mean about how beautiful it is now; you only get that gorgeous light at this time of year although the cold/dark is NOT good!
    I also agree with liking the cleaning-out side, and I like knowing when it’s a freezing night that Dave’s tucked up inside πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

