Forgetting Something

I’ve had sort of a weird day. Not weird as in…funky weird…weird as in “Am I forgetting something? I feel like I’m forgetting something.” weird. You know that feeling, right?

Maybe it was because I didn’t get to bake or cook anything creative like I wanted to. Maybe it was because I didn’t get to ride Teddie. Maybe it was because my day was full of a lot of “hurry up and wait” scenarios.

Or maybe it was because I didn’t have a delicious bowl of banana soft serve with peanut butter sauce, figs, and walnuts until after dinner. I’m going with the latter, because that feeling has now left me.

This was something to write home about. Er, or in this case – to blog about.

Remember when I made sweet potato fries with raspberry sauce? It was actually a slightly different recipe – but what I’m getting at is that it won a blogger BSI that was hosted by Sarena. She was gracious enough to seriously hook me up with all sorts of goodies, too – which I received today!

When I arrived home tired, hot, hungry, and thirsty…I was greeted by this lovely present and I forgot all about being hot, tired, and thirsty. I was still hungry, though.

Peanut flour has been sweeping the blog nation, and I have been dying to get my hands on some! Sarena made it happen.

And is it really that noticeable that I have a mild ginger obsession?! Haha…I think I tamed it a little bit this summer just because of the season…but going back into fall and winter, it’s bound to start back up. I don’t think the uncrystallized ginger, ginger syrup, or ginger chews are going to be holding me back any, either!

This uncrystallized candied ginger is so good! I’ve only ever seen the crystallized kind around here – and I didn’t know I was missing out and that the uncrystallized is this much better!

And yummy hot coffee ginger chews. These will be perfect for work…sometimes I just get a little…mouthy, nah’mean?!

I didn’t realize right off that the ginger on front was actually a ginger character. Is this not the cutest marketing you have ever seen?! I only imagine, like…an entire building devoted to the ginger people.

I have some bars dreamed up for that ginger syrup 😉

I love fall...and I love waffles with sauteed apples and cinnamon and figs even more!

Back track to this morning. It was Teddie pedi (aha…get it?!) day…the farrier was  coming to trim his tootsies! My mom and I decided to drive in together since she had to get some stuff in town, and I would get Teddie taken care of, and then afterwards we would go to a big restaurant-supply store.

Naturally, the farrier, A and I spent all morning gabbing, and then even more once my mom got back! So, I didn’t get to ride…just lunged him a bit beforehand and did some ground work, and he got to graze the majority of the time we gabbed, the lucky devil. We finally bid our goodbyes at 11:45, which was much later than I’d bargained for.

So, we just did some quick shopping – and let me tell you, that store was sort of an eye-opener. I’ve been before, but never really paid attention to the quality of the food. Basically – it’s a big bulk store, but not like Costco…like, supply to restaurants. So big cans of tomato sauce, oils, sauces, dressings, etc. Basically…everything that consisted of pure corn syrup. It sort of skeeved me out, really.

But! hear me out, here…the main reason we go occasionally is because you can basically steal spices, seasonings, flour, and even some nuts and seeds. We made out with huge jugs of cinnamon and many other spices for about $5 each, which is pretty exciting if you ask me. I was bummed I just barely bought flour, though. If it was closer I’d probably go more often for stuff like that, but it’s sort of a pain to get to.

And of course, while we’re there, have got to hit up the produce. Some organic, some not. Some local, some not. Among many other things, I walked away with a new squash – a buttercup! Oh, the excitement 😉

And that would be why I was tired, hungry, thirsty, and hot when we got home. I made the quickest thing I could think of, and what I was craving: PB & J! Err… BBQ tempeh, raspberry-peach jam, and sunflower butter on homemade quinoa-millet bread. And a plum. And the aforementioned desserts 😉

The weather this afternoon was far too gorgeous to spend inside baking or doing school work. The ponies were calling for me and my mom was home so we could play with them…I just had to!

…But I could at least be productive and bake some eggplant while I was out! I really wanted to stuff it, but I wasn’t feelin’ eggplant tonight and it needed to be used.

Rather, I was feeling brazen enough to tackle the rutabaga and was seriously craving some kale-apple saute.

And if I had to boil something on the stove, then I had to be inside, and so I had to get some needed Nutrition reading done!

This was a fun chapter because it was all new to me – all about digestion. I really hate how they use the term “squirt” so loosely, though. Is “the pancreas squirts enzymes into the small intestine…” really that scientific? Some words just sort of weird me out.

Squirt is one of them. What’s some of your every-day terms that just weird you out?

Back to the rutabaga. A couple of you suggested mashing it…so mash it I did! I boiled half of it with a clove of garlic until it was tender, drained, and mashed. Added in some almond milk, olive oil, dried chives, dried dill, salt, pepper, and a big spoonful of garlic hummus and mixed it all up.

I also tried a fritter-type thing by grating some with a small carrot and mixing with some milled flax, a splash of water, and some flour.

I really liked the rutabaga mash – but not so much the fritter. The carrot just way overpowered it. I’ve never had rutabaga (as mentioned) before so I was winging it on flavors, but now I know! I have some left that I’d like to roast, unless someone suggests something else!

The lover of the dish, though, was this Kale and Apple saute. It was one of my favorites last winter, and I am sure it will be again this winter.

Sweet Kale-Apple Saute

  • 4-5  big leaves kale, torn into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 medium sized apple, chopped
  • 1/4 of a red pepper, diced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/8 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4-1/2 c. chick peas
  • 2 T. dried cranberries **
  • 2 T. chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 T. maple syrup
  • 1 T. dijon mustard
  • 1 T. balsamic vinegar
  1. Place the kale, apple, and pepper  in a large non-stick fry pan with a small amount of water. Cook down over medium heat, and season with salt, pepper, and cinnamon.
  2. In a small bowl, combine the syrup, mustard, and vinegar.
  3. Pour the dressing over the cooked-down kale, and add in the chick peas and cranberries. Allow to cook through.
  4. Serve with chopped walnuts

**this is even better with fresh cranberries, I just can’t find them yet! You might need to add a little bit more maple syrup to the dressing to counter act the tartness of the cranberries, depending on your preferences!

What’s your favorite way to have Kale?!

And, for your reading pleasure:

Ginger has been used as a natural remedy for many ailments for centuries. Now, science is catching up and researchers around the world are finding that ginger works wonders in the treatment of everything from cancer to migraines. Here are ten health benefits of this powerful herb:

Ovarian Cancer Treatment
Ginger may be powerful weapon in the treatment of ovarian cancer. A study conducted at the University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center found that ginger powder induces cell death in all ovarian cancer cells to which it was applied.

Colon Cancer Prevention
study at the University of Minnesota found that ginger may slow the growth of colorectal cancer cells.

Morning Sickness
review of several studies has concluded that ginger is just as effective as vitamin B6 in the treatment of morning sickness.

Motion Sickness Remedy
Ginger has been shown to be an effective remedy for the nausea associated with motion sickness.

Reduces Pain and Inflammation
One study showed that ginger has anti-inflammatory properties and is a powerful natural painkiller.

Heartburn Relief
Ginger has long been used as a natural heartburn remedy. It is most often taken in the form of tea for this purpose.

Cold and Flu Prevention and Treatment
Ginger has long been used as a natural treatment for colds and the flu. Many people also find ginger to be helpful in the case of stomach flus or food poisoning, which is not surprising given the positive effects ginger has upon the digestive tract.

Migraine Relief
Research has shown that ginger may provide migraine relief due to its ability to stop prostaglandins from causing pain and inflammation in blood vessels.

Menstrual Cramp Relief
In Chinese medicine, ginger tea with brown sugar is used in the treatment of menstrual cramps.

Prevention of Diabetic Nephropathy
A study done on diabetic rats found that those rats given ginger had a reduced incidence of diabetic nephropathy (kidney damage)

Source!

Ginger – love it or hate it?

p.s. it’s your last chance to vote!!! clicky clicky

27 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, health, healthy living, lunch, recipe

27 responses to “Forgetting Something

  1. I need to pick up some of the peanut flour- but I always forget when I’m in TJ’s… ugh! This is why I write stuff down…

    But yes- Sarena makes some awesome stuff with that flour. I’m sure you’ll have fun with it, too! 🙂

  2. Ok so every time I go to TJ’s I see that peanut flour and want it soo badly! But in college I’m not sure how much use I’d get out of it..? I seriously dream of peanut flour pancakes these days. And I agree- the ginger character is adorable!! I’ve contemplated buying them and I don’t even like ginger that much =P

  3. One of my current most-squicky words is ‘slather’ — and since I read food blogs, I get hit with it fairly often; it’s like everybody decided that was the ‘in’ word this year. I want to shout, ‘Just say SPREAD! You SPREAD the peanut butter on the toast!’

    As for kale, I love it sauteed with onions and seasoned with chili powder, cumin, and garlic (basically my go-to spices for most things!).

  4. Love it! I got some of that syrup for me too! I can’t wait to try it! Glad you got the package! I was a little scared after the syrup incident from last week. I got a buttercup squash two days ago from the store! I LOVE them!!! I had one for the first time last year…so good! I am a huge fan of kale chips, but I also love it sauteed with garlic.

    Have a great night Jessica!

  5. Oh man I’ve had those days. It’s a bit like an out of body experience. What a sweet package! I love those ginger chews.

  6. LOVE ginger! It reminds me of Christmas 🙂

    And lots of words both me, actually: most with the “uh” sound, meme, ogle, and PAMPER! Ugh, I hate that last one so much. It just sounds so… GROSS! I refuse to say it outloud, haha.

  7. Mo

    Ahhh, yes, I saw the peanut flour in TJ’s a few months ago – it was pretty well-priced, but I didn’t know what I wanted to do with it so I decided against it. 😛 If I find some cool recipes using it I’ll definitely consider getting it!

    Haha I’m not the biggest fan of ginger (gasp!) but I’d love to try that ginger syrup!

    I totally get the “forgetful” feeling, by the way. It’s very strange. o.O

  8. I LOVE ginger…but I do not like the sweetened kind they serve with most sushi…I wish I could find an unsweetened pickled giner…but I digress.

    Kale.

    I can’t get passed kale chips for some reason but your post has inspired me to try the sauteed with apples.

    Thanks lady!

    ~Missy

  9. “Moist” is a word that creeps me out.

  10. Peanut Flour? Where have I been? Umm peanut butter cookies would be ridiculous with that baby.

    I’m loving all your swag – surprisingly I’ve never even had ginger before… ::gasp::!!!

  11. My favourite way to have kale right now is blended in a green monster!

    Can’t wait to see which recipes you’ll come up with the peanut flour 🙂

  12. I havent been able to find peanut flour but I looovee soy flour- which I think has about the same nutritionals (80 kcals, 15 g protein..right?) Getting a package with all those goodies would have made my day! I’ve never seen ginger syrup before..it sounds delicious.

    Cool facts about ginger, too! I think I’ve only ever eating it with sushi. In which case I’ll devour a massive pile of it. Yummy stuff 😛

  13. Hmm – peanut flour – looks interesting – i to have seen it all over the blog world – im interested to see how you use it!!!!
    Love all the health benefits of ginger – i actually tell all my pregnant patients to eat ginger in the first trimester to help with morning sickness and works like a charm – plus it tastes good!!!
    Good luck with Foodbuzz – im rooting for you!!!!

  14. You we’re seriously BORN TO BLOG!
    You take amazing photos, you’re passionate about what you write and you just capture my attention from the first line!

    cR@Zyy~~

    Ok, in all seriousness, you have an amazing blog going. And I’m going to Vermont this weekend so peanut flour will definitely be on my list of things to look out for. Hmm, what else? Oh ya, I tried ginger candy a while back and I hated it but you make me want to try it again!

    Ok, I’m done with my totally incoherent post 😛
    Have a good evening
    -Nicole
    (Thanks for the comment on my blog, btw, I really appreciate it!)

  15. teenagehealthfreak

    oo peanut flour!! coolness..i should tell my teacher about that…she just relized she has Celiac’s disease!!! she’s been coming to me for all sorts of help, i feel loved…so i need to tell her about pnt flour! never had rutabaga…looks interesting..one of those things i wanta try but never have the extra money to get around to it! i LOVE kale chips..and i like to just steam in and put some salt/pepper/rice vinegar on it!!! yum.

  16. Favorite way to eat kale? Kale chips. Um, just an excuse to eat a lot of ketchup. It’s all good though 🙂
    I can’t STAND the word mash. I don’t know. Down here in the South, people say “mash” the button and whatnot… something about it just rubs me the wrong way. I make no sense sometimes.

  17. I adore ginger! I wish I had some ginger snaps right now. Maybe I’ll get creative in the kitchen tomorrow…there are so many reasons to eat ginger! But I’m most curious about the peanut flour…I’ve never heard of it before, and I can’t wait to see what you do with it. I hope you have a great Friday, love!

  18. Oh my! Ginger is our friend, it would seem? An d that makes the ginger man even cuter – not only is he good lookin’ he’s smart, too…I tend to forget spices for a while, then rediscover them, like ginger, I haven’t had that in a while. I think maybe I need to put the spices up front in my kitchen so I’ll remember? Thanks for the kale recipe! I never know how to prepare kale because I’m loving it raw and I never tried…but can’t wait till I find some kale and try 🙂

  19. hmph. Looks like ginger is quite good for you then!? That sucks, cos I HATE it. Last time it was on my hands (when I was making a ginger cake for someone) I was gagging. It’s just horrible!
    I’m very curious on the nutri stats with the peanut flour..is it much higher in protein than other flours? I’d love to get hold of some but I’ve never seen it in England 😦
    I hate the word…well, I can’t even type it! It’s a word beginning with P and has two Os. I seriously hate it so much. Hearing it makes my stomach turn :s!!

  20. I love ginger.. but only when it’s in the background, and mostly in savoury dishes (remember one of my last comments where I said I was addicted to chinese food?! Yea… bring on that ginger!) I certainly love spice cakes too though, so I guess I like it in pretty much everything 😉

    Peanut flour!? I’m jealous 🙂 I’ve seen it everywhere and I am so tempted to buy it… but I think my mom would be kind of weirded out if I ordered it off the internet. Speaking of postage, I promise I haven’t forgotten about you… I’ve just been one lazy blogger! I should be mailing your package soon 🙂

    Hope you get to ride Teddie today to make up for it… although I am sure he loved the time off to stand with you and graze 😛
    ❤ Tat

  21. I have been searching for that peanut flour at Tj’s and I can’t find it. I really want to try it.

  22. Lucky you with all those new ginger goodies! I’m seeing a lot of ginger waffles in your future. 😉 I really like ginger too… last winter I found an amazing ginger cake recipe that I’m dying to make again this year!

    I definitely am looking forward to trying out your kale-apple saute too! I like kale in any form – even raw! 😛

  23. i need to find some candied ginger, i keep finding recipes that call for it. so i know as soon as i find the stuff i won’t remember which recipes they were hehe.
    i’m not a huge fan of ginger, but my sister-in-law made some peach-ginger jam and i love that.

  24. Ohh I LOVE ginger! And especially uncrystallized ginger, definitely SO much tastier..probably because the sugar just overpowers the taste in crystallized and it just tastes unnatural to me maybe? I used uncrystallized in my ginger cookies and gosh, the flavour just blows me away everytime. I find ginger is better in sweet things like cookies, bars, cakes etc though as opposed to savoury main meals. I look forward to hearing what you make with your ginger goodies though! I am VERY jealous. And I’m equally jealous of your peanut flour!! We don’t get such a thing here in the UK…to add to the ever growing list it seems..
    xxx

  25. Peanut Flour?!? I never have seen that before, I am definitely going to hunt some down though and try it out 🙂
    Awesome blog, I found you off my friend Christina Butters blog and I will definitely be stopping by again 🙂

  26. WOOHOO! peanut flour!!!! fig newtons, waffles, cookies. you are gonna be in love girly!! AHAH love ll the ginger stuff 😛 and the character is sooo cute. Put the peanut flour in smoothies also YUMYUM.

  27. i love how ive been seeing that peanut flour on a lot of blogs. clearly it must be fabulous stuff!!! this looks AWESOME!! ❤

Leave a Reply

