Did You Know?

Did you knowthat I am hopelessly obsessed with mashed banana overnight oats, topped with figs, walnuts, and peanut butter sauce?

…that bananas are, technically speaking – an herb?

Did you know…that dried figs are right up there with dates when it comes to amazing? They are a great source for energy, because they are packed with slow-burning and easily digestible sugars – which keeps you going for hours!

that figs are pretty high in calcium, for a fruit, at least?

My mom wasn't sure WHAT to think when she saw this package!

Did you knowthat in times of famine, some countries have survived off of hemp seed?

…that in China, it is available in movie theaters the same as popcorn is in the U.S.?

Dates stuffed with walnuts - the perfect work snack.

Did you knowthat walnuts are one of the oldest tree foods known?

…that walnuts have one of the highest concentrations of omega-3s?

This lunch is probably getting old to see...but not to eat! What can I say? We have a loooota tomatoes!

Did you know… there are over a thousand different kinds of cheese?

Did you know…that after this feta and mozzarella is all done, I will be making it a point to only purchase locally made cheese? (holla!)

Plums...quite possibly my favorite fruit!

Did you knowthere are more than 140 varieties of plums sold in the U.S.?

Did you know…elephants are the only mammals that cannot jump?

This KIND bar was very good. A bit on the sweet side (I love cranberries and their tartness!) but good πŸ˜‰

Did you knowI thought free-radicals and antioxidants were really confusing, until I read this:

Antioxidants are substances or nutrients in our foods which can prevent or slow the oxidative damage to our body. When our body cells use oxygen, they naturally produce free radicals (by-products) which can cause damage. Antioxidants act as “free radical scavengers” and hence prevent and repair damage done by these free radicals. Β Health problems such asΒ heart disease, macular degeneration, diabetes,Β cancer,etc are all contributed by oxidative damage. Indeed, a recent study conducted by researchers from London found that 5 servings of fruits and vegetables reduce the risk of stroke by 25 percent. Antioxidants may also enhance immune defense and therefore lower the risk of cancer and infection.

[/source]

Did you know…that KIND has a lot of really yummy-looking new bars out? Hmm…I’ll have to make some knock-offs! πŸ˜›

Did you knowthat broccoli bowls have become my automatic go-to dinner when I can’t think of anything else? This bowl featured a lot of roasted broccoli, two scrambled eggs, red pepper, and a tomato with a hummus-nooch sauce. And quinoa bread πŸ˜‰

Did you know…egg yolks are one of the few foods that naturally contain vitamin D?

What do you know?!

(p.s. did you know – that voting ends tomorrow? clicky here if ya wanna help a girl out!)

32 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, health food, lunch, oatmeal, Uncategorized

32 responses to “Did You Know?

  1. I love this post! I have heard that in marathons, you can eat figs or dates the same as you would eat Gu (which makes sense!).

  2. Wow Jess.. I actually learned a lot from this πŸ˜› Thanks!
    Dates are definitely one of my favourite fruits! I don’t mind figs, but I haven’t had them lately. Last time, the little seeds kind of freaked me out! Hah.

    Those oats look awesome, but no matter how hard I try I just don’t do bananas (other than in banana bread for which I am a total sucker). I’m thinking applesauce would work similarly? Yes. Applesauce =).

    Now, my turn. Did YOU know that almonds are close relatives to the peach? That’s why their outer shells resemble peach pits so closely!
    ❀ Tat

  3. Hoooray for egg yolks! Love ’em.

    I learn so much from you Jess!

  4. Mo

    JESS. I loved this post. I honestly didn’t know half of these things. Banana is an herb? Seriously? o.O I had to google that to confirm (because I’m such a distrusting person :P) and wowww. So I guess I can call banana my favorite herb? Maybe that’s why food scientists say that banana’s flavor profile goes well with parsley’s? Hmmmm.

    I knew the elephant thing, though. I feel very deserving of a gold star.

  5. I did not know bananas were technically speaking an herb, how fun!

    Did you know that capers are flower buds and that Albert Einstein was quite the ladies’ man, having had many affairs during his marriage?

  6. What a great post – and i learned so much!!!!! I too am loving figs right now – perfect for energy!!!!
    Did you know that ears of corn always have an even number of rows of corn kernals???
    Thought you might like this since i know how much you enjoy corn on the cob!!!

  7. haha love the random facts!! I actually learned about the elephant one a few days ago. πŸ˜›

    Hmmm..things that I know..

    Women are better than men at identifying smells.
    It’s possible to lead a cow upstairs but not downstairs.
    And a mosquito has 47 teeth.

    πŸ˜›

  8. just catched up on like 4 of your posts. Ahh I love your posts…and random facts like in this post are my fave. I am addicted to dried figs. I do not like fresh figs. But dried figs=my love.

  9. Haha, what a fun post! Did you know that American cars beep in the tone of F (learned this in music class today)? Or that children grow faster in the springtime?

    Must try overnight oats with a mashed banana. I’ll let you know how it works out πŸ™‚

  10. This was a really fun post I loved it!! I’m too tired to be a wealth of knowledge right now, but maybe someday Ill have something interesting to say!

  11. Haha, I learned a lot in this!! Bananas are an herb?! And the hemp seed thing is cool too- no wonder so many Asian cultures are healthier than ours!

  12. I don’t know what you do but your overnight oats always look SO AMAZING. Girl. Can you come make me waffles and overnight oats?! Pretty please?!

  13. Bananas are an herb?? This is news to me! Your overnight oats look so. good. Ooh and I’m excited about the new KIND bars.. and your recreations of them!!

  14. teenagehealthfreak

    ya learn something everyday, nice post to read. did you know that cilantro draws mercury out of the body?? did you know that i’m obsessed with cream-top yogurt??? (and eating is as i type πŸ™‚ ) did you know that i think i may be a hippy deep down?? haha…this is sort of a joke. did you know that nearly 27 million americans eat at mcdonalds a day??? wow..banana = herb.. interesting. πŸ™‚

  15. Sarah

    What a fun post! One of your facts reminds me of something I know: Antioxidants don’t actually do what we think (or for scientists, thought) they do. I can send you an excellent chapter from a book on that if you want…very interesting – it’s amazing how myths can persist!

  16. Did you know I love hemp seeds?! Bananas are an herb? I love learning things about food! It is so much fun!!! Thank you for your sweet words about my family! It really means a lot Jessica!

  17. I just spent three hours in class tonight…and I feel like I learned far more from this post! I so enjoy learning new facts about food. I kept on shouting these out to Ryan as I read through your list…who would have thought that bananas were an herb. Thanks for sharing sweet girl!

  18. I wish chia seeds were available here :/
    Bananas a herb? That’s really cool πŸ˜€ I love those herbs

  19. So much info! I cannot believe I used to NOT LIKE dates. The horror. But I think the ones I tasted as a kid where probably the plastic-feeling syrupped ones…anywho, dates and figs are da thing! And yes, I actually knew that about figs! Thanks for all your sweet comments on my blog πŸ™‚
    And good for you with the local cheese – I hope you have some good local varieties. Cheese – awesome food too πŸ™‚

  20. Rachel

    Now I know…all the more reason to eat ’em! Wish chia seeds were more affordable here…and bananas=herb besides being a superfruit? YES.

  21. Little Bookworm

    Really interesting post – learnt a lot. Your overnight looks lovely (I love putting mashed banana in overnight oats too! :))

  22. Hehe fab post! You know a lot πŸ˜€
    You probably did know this…but did you know, vitamin b12 comes from dirt, not from animals? The only reason vegetarians/vegans can’t get b12 is cos all the fruit and veg etc we eat is so clean! But animals just eat everything au natural, so they get the b12, hence why you get it from animals sources πŸ˜€

  23. Banana is an herb? lol Who would have thought!
    And heres mine: Most people will eat almost 1500 pounds of food a year, that’s pretty crazy if you picture what that looks like!

  24. Thanks for the fun facts. πŸ™‚

  25. I did not know any of those facts…except that elephant one! I remember the day when I found out Babar lied to me… πŸ˜› I want to try that mashed banana overnight oats.

  26. I didn’t know a lot of this stuff… especially that bananas are herbs! What?!

    I did know about antioxidants and free radicals because I learned sooo much about them in all of my cell biology and biochemistry classes! That’s why I always try to have really antioxidant rich foods after a night of drinking, since alcohol creates free radicals in our bodies! πŸ˜›

  27. What a fun post!
    Did you know that we share about 1/2 of our genetic code with the banana?

    ~Missy

  28. I am learning so much from this blog!! jamazing.

    Did YOU know that… scientists have concluded that it takes 10,000 hours of practice to become a “master” at something? daunting and yet optimistic – even I can become a master ice carver, if I choose to start today.

  29. healthnit

    i like the style of this post…i learned a lot of cool facts!!!!

  30. Such interesting facts! I always make a point to let people know about egg yolks actually having multiple health benefits. I think they’re way overlooked. πŸ˜€

    Also, your breakfast looks *ah-mazing!*

Leave a Reply

