Fast Food and Stuffed Peppers

I can’t stop eating this.

I baked Nicole’s quinoa bread today. Well, I suppose I should say that my bread maker baked Nicole’s quinoa bread today…but that’s besides the point. I mean, my bread maker didn’t measure that flour, quinoa, oats, and oil, right? Right. Sort of.

I digress. It just cooled off a bit, and since I am weird and actually prefer bread once it’s cooled down a bit rather than fresh out of the oven, I’ve already had a slice and a half of “open faced peanut butter and jelly.” Before you ask, why yes – yes I did have a magnificent dinner, too.

(FWIW: The only changes I made to the recipe: olive oil in place of the butter, a mix of white whole wheat and spelt flour to make up for my lack of 3+ c. of spelt flour, and a combo of millet and quinoa to make up for my lack of 1/3 c. of quinoa. It fell, like my last loaf – but looking at Nicole’s pics, I think hers did, too – which I believe is the result of too much liquid to dry ingreds? Either way, I don’t really care when it tastes this good. Looks aren’t everything, young duckling.)

It has a crunchy crust yet the insides are moist, dense, and chewy. The millet gives it a magnificent crunch, and the nutty spelt flour lends itself perfectly to the millet and quinoa mixture. Paired with some ginger-peach jam and sunflower seed butter, you have yourself something that might as well be considered a drug because it makes you feel that good.

Props to Ms. Nicole, the mastermind herself! You should make it.

Fact of the matter, however – is that I can’t play ignorance – and I know why I felt the need to peanut butter and jelly even after dinner and dessert.

It’s because I was a bad blogger today, though primarily because I was a “bad eater.” See…things started out wonderfully with this delicious breakfast – waffles topped with sauteed cinnamon & fig apples with peanut butter sauce…

but essentially, I grazed through lunch. Don’t get me wrong – I don’t feel bad about it or whatever, it just sort of happened. Just goes to prove that even if I’m “not hungry,” I need to eat because I’ll be regretting it come night time! And to prove that I don’t always eat well πŸ˜‰

Teddie was supposed to get a pedicure today (a.k.a. the farrier was supposed to come do his feet) so I was out at the barn early to wait for my dear farrier friend. He was supposed to be there at 9:30-10, and for the first time ever, I was running late. Granted, I still got there at 9:15, but I was freaking. out. that I was going to be late.

9:30…bring him in, clean him up, wait.

9:45…eh, I guess I’ll do some lunge work while we wait, he’ll probably be fidgity and maybe he’d be better off expending some energy anyways.

10:00…eh, maybe we’ll do some ground work.

10:15…ugh. I guess I’ll tack him up. Murphy’s Law: the second I get on him, he’ll show up.

10:30…well, I guess we disproved Murphy’s Law!

11:00…that went well. Now where the hail is my farrier?

Needless to say, Teddie didn’t get his pedicure. Luckily, I am not to afraid to give my farrier flak (relax, relax, we’ve known each other a while and are constantly picking on each other when we see each other) and Ted should be getting his tootsies done on Thursday πŸ˜‰

Random side note: my mom has the week off from work, and while I was eating breakfast she was going through a trunk of stuff…I bet you didn’t know I was obsessed with Billie Joe from Green Day all through high school! I even painted him.

Anyways. After getting home is when my random afternoon happened. I have a photo assignment to “emulate a photographer.” I am “emulating” Bill Owens. Bill Owens is most known for his work Suburbia – the documentation of life in the 1970’s. It depicts houses, social interactions, jobs, activities, etc. etc. And of course, it being the 70’s in a new housing Suburbia in California, you see neat and tidy houses, perfectly kept lawns, delicious dinners, and everything perfect.

So, naturally, I am doing a bit of a different take on it. I mean, it’s 2010…and while you’d think we’d be the same in the tidiness department…portions of this town are downright rundown. So, I, in the similar style of Bill Owens, am photographing those places. Likewise, people now seem to be a lot more open to the idea of good (or bad) food, with minimal effort and technology.

Enter: Chinese food and laptop computers.

The I ❀ Larabar is sort of anti-condusive to my idea, so I will be retouching that out, heh.

Ironically, Chinese is the one cuisine I cannot get accustomed to. I just thought the takeout containers were so perfect for what I was trying to do! That and…I’d rather not give McDonald’s my money, and would rather give it to the local #1 Takeout. Anyways – the food worked for the shoot, but I sort of lost my appetite afterwards. I didn’t even like the bite that was in my mouth. Sort of a bummer because Chinese food is also a “fast food cuisine” that doesn’t automatically equate to being bad for you…I have just never had a taste for it, even as a child. I think it’s largely due to the fact that we don’t have any really good, authentic Chinese restaurants around here. I had this peanut-chicken dish at a nice one in Boston once and I hated to admit that I liked it considering the fact that I put up a big fuss with my then-bf how I did not like Chinese, let alone go out there to eat.

Obviously, this is not taking a stab at people who eat take-out with their computers (hellloooo, am I not relying on my computer right now?) but I thought it was a good part of my comparison/emulation project. And fun, if you ask my mom – she was pretty happy to see Shrimp Lo Mein waiting for her.

And then random grazing started. It included (but was not limited to) a banana with peanut butter…

…and puffins with sunflower butter and dried cranberries. An a sweet potato cookie. And most other munchies I bypassed the camera with “eh, I’m gonna have lunch soon anyway.” since I don’t usually picture my snacks on days I’m home anyway.

Sorry for the earth-shattering disappointment.

And to make it even more earth-shattering disappointing, the quinoa bread was all I was able to bake today! I was chained to my Intro to Business book for the afternoon. (a large reason for the sporadic grazing, methinks)

Well, save for the hour my mom convinced me to part with my book and play with the ponies with her. We took them for a nice autumn-day walk down the road and let them graze a while before she left to get a round bale. They eat more than elephants.

I’ve had people politely demanding the sweet potato cookie recipe – and I’ll probably post it soon. I was hoping to test one more thing (to either make them into muffins or make them more cookie-like, can’t decide but I’m leaning towards muffins. Just want to see if it works though!) but I might cave with more convincing.

Before that, though, I’ll share this Red Millet Stuffed Pepper recipe I concocted. I had in mind Veganomicon’s mention of “Mexican Millet.”

For one Stuffed Pepper:

  • 1 red pepper
  • 1/4 c. millet
  • 1 c. water
  • olive oil, to coat bottom of pan
  • 1/4 of a yellow onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (or less if you’re not an insane garlic lover like myself)
  • 1 T. tomato paste
  • 1 small-medium fresh tomato, diced
  • 1 small ear fresh corn
  • 1/4 t. cumin
  • 1/4 t. dried cilantro
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/8 t. mild chili powder
  • hot sauce, to taste
  • tempeh – I think I used about half a serving, but just use what you want. Black beans would be killer, too – IΒ justΒ used what I had opened, though.
  • mozzarella cheese, grated (cheddar might be more Mexican-esque, but again – I used what I had. )
  • small frozen banana (work with me here)
  • 1/2 c. yogurt

1. Preheat your oven to 400*.

2. Heat your oil in a medium sized saucepan. Add in the garlic, and then the onions. Sautee until they are tender, almost translucent.

3. Add in the millet, and stir. Sautee for a few minutes before adding in the corn, tomato, tomato paste, water, seasonings and hot sauce, and tempeh. Cover.

4. Cut off the top of your pepper and scoop out the seeds and insides. Place on a baking sheet and bake until almost tender. Let the millet mixture simmer for about 25 minutes, or until all the liquid is absorbed.

5. Once the millet is ready and pepper is too, fill the pepper (carefully! it will be hot!!) with the millet mixture and bake for another 10 minutes. Take out, top with cheese.

6. Wait to cool and then dig in. Does anybody remember growing up, and their parents would say “Do as I say, not as I do.” ? Well, do as I say, and not as I do. Wait for it to cool, even if I had to test the waters and see how hot it really was.

Oh, hello.

7. Cover in more (too much!!) hot sauce and light your mouth on fire.

8. Put banana in blender with yogurt and make soft serve to put the fire out.

I love how noticeable it is in my dinners that the weather is changing. I love fresh, light flavors in the summer – basil, garlic, and evoo, salads, cold grain dished -…but am going back to spicy now, apparently!! And stuffing and baking things. I love stuffed vegetables. That’s a heads-up, because I have an eggplant and another squash I plan on stuffing πŸ˜‰

What’s your favorite vegetable to stuff?

Any food you just have never been able to grow a taste for?

P.S. Thank youuuu to everyone who’sΒ voted for me!!

28 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

28 responses to “Fast Food and Stuffed Peppers

  1. Thanks for the props Jess! Mine falls often too, I can’t say I mind because this bread is just that good! I’ll have to try using olive oil next time just to switch it up. Glad you liked! πŸ™‚

  2. p.s. I’m really not following this whole project food blog thing but can you send me the link to how I vote if you get a chance? I wanna vote for you!

  3. I’ve never been able to learn to enjoy cantaloupe or watermelon. I’ve actually tried to like them and I just can’t. I think it’s the texture of them that really turns me off. I’ve even tried freezing them, which makes every fruit amazing, and much to my dismay it didn’t work.

    The only thing my parents stuffed when I was younger were peppers or cabbage leaves with ground beef and onions with an egg binder. I still like to stuff peppers but with different fillings now. I’ve tried to stuff squash but I enjoy it too much on its own to muddle it with other things. πŸ˜›

  4. When you make the stuffed eggplant I hope you post a recipe! πŸ™‚
    I can never seem to cook eggplant quite right… I really enjoy it at restaurants, but when I attempt it myself I never get it quite right. And I love stuffed veggies too!

  5. Now that the comfort food season’s rolling in, I’ve got to start stuffing some veggies…squash, eggplant, peppers, tomatoes. Your pepper looks ohh soooo goood!
    (I wish the leaves were turning in NY- they’re so pretty, I want to be in Vermont right now!)

  6. Great post as usual!!!!! By the way you are a very talented artist – that picture is amazing!!!
    My favorite veggie to stuff??? Well i too love stuffed peppers but i also love stuffed eggplants. I actually made stuffed eggplants on Sunday night – with millet, zucchini (i know you are not fond of zucchini – roasted peppers tomatoes and basil) Your peppers look great – and you were right – millet is delicious!!! A new favorite of mine – thanks to you!!
    Love the pictures of Teddie – ive missed seeing him!!
    I too can never remember actually liking Chinese takeout – maybe its an acquired taste – growing up i never really remembering liking it or eating it very often.
    have a great night oh and i did vote for you !!!! Hope you win!!!!!!
    xoxo aimee

  7. All your food looks delicious!

    I love all stuffed vegetables, but the ones I make most often are peppers. Stuffed tomatoes and mushrooms are also great, although the mushrooms take longer to prepare so I leave it to my mom to prepare πŸ˜‰

    By the way that Larabar sticker is so cool!!

  8. Mmm.. I love stuffed peppers! I have yet to actually stuff a squash or sweet potato though, because I always feel like I will like them much better plain. Is that weird?

    I personally love stuffed peppers and cabbage rolls. If you are a cabbage lover like me, I think you would really trying your hand at cabbage rolls. I know you probably wouldn’t stuff the leaves with ground beef, but I’m sure you would find something wonderful to put in it’s place.. you always do!

    It’s funny you should say that you don’t like Chinese.. because I am in LOVE with it. I could seriously live of of curried shrimp for the rest of my life. Okay, that’s a lie but you know what I mean.

    Have a great night πŸ˜‰

  9. Loove that you call the farrier a “pedicure”! My first horse hated the farrier with an intense passion. Go figure! That bread is beautiful, and I bet it tastes beautiful too! I have recently become obsessed with bread topped with butter & honey. Yummmmmm

  10. That bread looks rediculously good. I made quinoa cookies before that had that “quinoa crunch” and it’s such a fun texture. I’ll definitely have t ogive this a try sometime- maybe next time I’m home cause I’m sure my mom would love it, too!

    Weird the farrier didn’t show up but at least he was able to reschedule for so soon. I bet Teddie will be excited to get fresh new nails πŸ˜‰

  11. I love stuffed peppers but I think stuffed squash might be my all time favorite! I love the looks of that bread! I’ve always wanted to try quinoa or millet bread. I am very jealous!

    P.S great pics πŸ˜‰

  12. Yum. That bread looks delish. I am in love with millet bread and it looks pretty similar – very dense and grainy like that. I have been meaning to make some stuffed peppers for a while now too. What better time than right now when they are good and in season, eh?
    I used to get Chinese take-out with my dad every weekend, but I have grown to dislike it. It’s just too salty, sugary, MSG-ey. Hahah. I’d rather make my own stir-fry.

    Oh, and on a side note from me; I used to be obsessed with Billie Joe and Green Day too. You’re not alone there. πŸ˜€

  13. teenagehealthfreak

    that bread looks awesome!! i must check out the recipe!!!! you know..i’m with you on the chinese..i’ve never been a fan of it either. when i was little i was litterally afraid of chinese food and resturants….everything about it. EGG ROLLS??? i had wierd thoughts in my head about what an egg roll was…i hated eggs…although now i can do stir-fry..my way. but yeah…not into chinese food either.

  14. Love your photographs girl… You’re AMAZING. Period. End of story πŸ™‚
    And I’ve had days like that. Or days where I eat dinner out or little snacks here and there and never take pictures of them. oops…
    Us bloggers are far from perfect but that’s the way it should be methinks πŸ™‚

  15. Mo

    Oooh I must try this bread! πŸ˜€

    I think your take on Bill Owens is awesome. πŸ™‚

    I’ve never stuffed a vegetable, or anything, before. I must get around to that.

  16. Some days I’m a total snacker.

  17. As people have already said…you are so talented! I love hearing about your projects for school…I hope to see more! I’m sorry that Teddie didn’t get his pedicure (I need one myself!) And I’m not the biggest fan of Chinese food either…the sauces just overwhelm me. Thank you for sharing with us!

  18. Oi, Chinese food = me too! A friend of mine was totally hooked on dumplings (that’s Chinese too, right?)and took everybody to the fine restaurant for dinner and I just…didn’t get it. Chinese take away, no, not really, either. I used to work in a Thai place and that was really great, but Chinese, not my fave.

  19. Gaaah I reaaaally want the sweet p recipe for the original cookies, the ones that were cake like! I think they sounds fabulous!! I don’t like crunchy cookies anyway :p
    Oh grr at the farrier..mine does that ALL the time! They really do suck.
    Great photos, and great painting! You are so talented πŸ™‚

  20. I love when you include pictures of the outdoors…that picture of the orange tree is gorgeous. Northern New England is SO PRETTY in the fall, though I haven’t been there in years!!

    I’ve never acquired a taste for mushrooms. I wish I liked them because they’re such a good staple to vegetarian dishes, but the taste literally makes me gag. It doesn’t keep me from trying them every few months just to make sure, though!

  21. Next step, sprouted grain bread πŸ™‚
    I have a really yummy recipe if you’re interested

    http://gamereviewwiki.com/bikinibirthday/2010/08/27/sprouted-quinoa-bread/

  22. I love stuffed peppers. I don’t do that enough. Yours look delicious! I still have not tried millet. I need to get to the health food store and get some or order it. Chinese food can be just too greasy for me. I love the flavor, but not the grease factor. I have never gotten a taste for Indian food. I also do not like to eat with my hands so it kind of grosses me out.

  23. Those stuffed peppers look really good! I love stuffed peppers or tomatoes!

  24. Whenever I’m stuck at home on a rainy weekend or something I get really snacky and destroy all chances of a real meal. I think it’s my appetite rebelling against super-scheduled eating during the work week. And/or my weekend baking tendencies overtaking all “balanced meal” opportunities πŸ˜‰
    Anyway… believe it or not I have not yet stuffed any vegetables. But your recipes are seriously challenging that… esp. that cornbread situation you posted a bit ago. oh my.
    And YES. PLEASE. COOKIE RECIPE! πŸ™‚
    x

  25. I love stuffed peppers and your choice of fillings are perfect! I was a little confused about the banana and yogurt at first, but it made sense in the end. I’m glad you didn’t stuff those in the pepper haha. πŸ˜‰

    I don’t really like green olives. I’ll take black olives any day, but I just can’t seem to like the green ones!

  26. lovely blog πŸ™‚ the stuffed peppers look amazing. i’ve never had millet before but it’s on my list of foods to try ;D
    beautiful bread too. i love my bread machine, but i don’t usually like to let it cook my bread, just knead it.
    my fave veggie to stuff is tomatoes. peppers come in a close second. portobellas are third.

  27. please tell me you actually eat chinese food like that!! haha πŸ˜›

    your banana looks like an airplane flying through the air haha…with peanut butter hitched on for a ride πŸ˜‰

    xoxo

  28. When I was young my mom used to stuff tomatoes with tuna or chicken salad. They were delicious.

Leave a Reply

