Project Food Blog: Challenge 1

Ahhh, project food blog. Maybe you’ve already heard about it a million times over. In which case – you already know I’m about to tell you why I should be the next food blog star, and who I am, as a food blogger. Project Food Blog is sponsored by Foodbuzz and voting for this particular challenge opens on the 20th ofΒ September.

Truth be told, I have a hard time telling people what to do and so I’m not going to tell you to vote for me…but I wouldn’t complain πŸ˜‰

Truth be told, I am far from a professional, and use the terms “fry” and “saute” interchangeably. You’re probably lucky I understand the difference between boiling and simmering. I use a long-handled tea spoon to stir my batter, whether I’m making waffles, muffins, cake, or bread. And until recently, “shredded” and “grated” carrots were the same to me. Little did I know…

Truth be told, I have no fancy gear. No real culinary skills. No grasp on the scientific reactions between baking powder and liquid. My passion is nutrition – but I am not an RD andΒ merelyΒ read as much as my tired eyes allow me to on the subject.

Truth be told, I probably do a lot of things that would make a professional drop dead and roll over in their graves twenty times.

and truth be told…

I’m okay with that.

You know what I do know, though? And am more certain of than anything else right now?

If I only inspire one person from this challenge – I already won. I am fueled by you guys. Hearing from you, growing bonds with you, and sharing ideas…is what means the most to me. I cannot explain the feeling I get when I read e-mails from people thanking me.

I’m not afraid to try crazy things in the kitchen, to let my mind run wild.

I’m not afraid to do what your grandmother certainly wouldn’t have done in her kitchen.

I’m not afraid of having a few failures before “winning the gold.”

I’m not afraid to stray from the recipe and go off on my own…but I’m not afraid to follow a recipe, either.

But what am I afraid of?

Failing because I didn’t try. So here I am. Master chef? No, not I. Having fun in the kitchen all while learning about myself, about food, and fueling my newfound passion? That I am.

and I like to have fun behind the camera, too.

I can safely say, I have found my passion. Healthy living, cooking, creating, photographing, and communicating.

So, here I am. In the world of oatmeal…

…sweet potatoes…

…and doing my own thing, too.

Like waffles…

…paninis…

…of the sweet potato variation…

…veggie burgers…

…pizzas…

…pastas…

…super salads…

…gelato for breakfast…

…and gelato for dessert…


…and of course, muffins. Lots and lots of muffins.

And, naturally – we all know Teddie is the true mastermind behind Healthy Exposures πŸ˜‰ Won’t you join us?

So that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. But what about you – why do what you do?


37 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch

37 responses to “Project Food Blog: Challenge 1

  1. LOVE thi, girl. Well done.
    You most certanly had to include the waffles!

  2. You are amazing… and I really hope you know that πŸ™‚
    Honestly, each and every day you inspire me, Jess. To be a better cook, to be a better rider, to be more creative, and to treat my body better.

    Similarly, I blog for the connection with people too, and I’ve only just recently realized how much I truly love it. I’ve met so many amazing people, and you are without a doubt on that list.

    Good luck in the challenge… not that you need it πŸ˜‰
    ❀ Tat

  3. This is what i love about your blog = your true honesty and sincerity!!!! Not to mention your unique ability to make just about anything look absolutely delicious!!!! YI look forward to reading each and every day – not only for your awesome recipes and Teddie chronicles but how you inspire me to take care of myself!!!
    I too love blogging because of all of the wonderful people i have met and you are definately one of them!!!! Good luck and i really hope you win – you deserve it!!!
    xoxo aimee

  4. teenagehealthfreak

    gelato for breakfast. hahaha. gosh i just burned about 100 calories laughing that off! lol…little things just make me laugh. i guess it was just so randomly in the middle of things…ANYWAY. i definatly want you to win this challenge…i think you work sooo hard at your blog and it shows..so yeah. you should be THE ONE> πŸ™‚

  5. I think the best kind of cooking is the sort that you do: where you’re not following an exact recipe or making sure you get the technique exactly right, but instead you’re experimenting with what’s fun to make and good to eat! I’ll definitely vote for you πŸ™‚

  6. Good luck for the challenge!
    Not only does your food look crazy delicious and your photography skills amazing, you come across as being very honest, true to yourself and funny πŸ™‚
    Reading your posts are always a pleasure, so thank you for sharing and keep it up!

    Viviane xoxo

  7. I’m still trying to figure out the answer to your question and it haunts me on a regular basis. I eat healthy because it makes me feel good. I cook and learn about nutrition because they’re relaxing and calming. I run because it’s good for me and the high can be wonderful at times. I aspire to help others because I believe that’s the reason God put me on this planet. I do things awkwardly because I’m recovering from an ED and I have OCD tendencies about what I eat. I worry about little things because my mind has nothing better to do.

    But for now. I read blogs like yours for inspiration, for enjoyment, for hope, and for connection and friendship. Your passion really shows from this post and I find that it’s very well written. I wonder if I could do this Project Food Blog challenge, but then I think and realize that maybe instead of doing that, I can support those who truly deserve it.

    If nothing else, you have such a gift for photography and displaying your creations, and that in itself is something to be extremely proud of. πŸ™‚

  8. Your so adorable! My favorite part of this is the cute picture at the end hehe! i love oranges! i do what i do because i love it… i love cooking and experiemtning with new healthy foods and getting a feel for what i like and dont like. I eat healthy because my body feels better when i do so, i cant really explain why i have a heaping hot bowl of fruity perfect nut butter lathered oats every morning besides the fact that its so damn delicious! haha i love my life, i couldnt be any happier than though expressing my personality and passion for health through what i eat and photograph. Ive tried so many of your recipes and lets just say, you havent let me down! (: cute post once again your an amazing girl!

  9. You have beautiful photography and gorgeous writing to go along side it! I wish you the best – you are doing such a great job!!!!

  10. dee

    wow that sweet potato looks GOOOOOOOD. I love sweet potatoes for savory, and yams for sweet. mmm. started my blog back up today ^_^

  11. Thank you for sharing your life with me. I am really excited about hearing everyone’s stories. I am going to publish my food buzz challenge tomorrow. If you get a chance stop by and check it out and let me know what you think. Have a great day.
    Ashlee
    http://www.ashandlewplus2.com

  12. Um, I love you and your eats. Can I print all of your beautiful eats on 8x10s at Costco and frame them for my kitchen’s walls? I think that’s the most lovely idea I’ve ever had! Besides, you know, the idea of finally making homemade pita bread…

    I vote for YOU!

  13. Aww, I already said it, I think you are the perfect food-blogger because of your attitude and I mentally thank you for that every time I read a post. I will check this foodbuzz out and vote for you and Teddy the Mastermind for sure πŸ™‚

    I do what I do because I would never be able to meet the people in real life that I can “meet” in the blogosphere and who are keeping me company, keeping me sane, when eating and enjoying food feels like a real challenge. The reason why I blog too and don’t just read, is to try and give back a little something in exchange for all the info and ideas and general sharing out there.

  14. When you cook, you use imagination and enthusiasm to create a masterpiece. If this is the criteria, then you are the best food blogger. I don’t care about rules and terminology (my English isn’t good enough to notice the difference anyway). You enjoy what you do and your mood is contagious. Isn’t this what truly matters?

  15. Jess you are truly amazing and I can’t tell you that enough as you know. You have inspired me in so many ways with recipes, learning about nutrition, listening to my bodys needs, photography..you have been such a big influence on my recovery and I truly believe that if I hadn’t started reading your blog, I would not be in the place I am now and I would still be in the depths of my illness. And I value your blog so much more than the ‘big’ bloggers because you are REAL. You make mistakes, that’s what humans do, you don’t always fully know what you’re doing but just along with it because you’re having FUN and it’s so exciting to read about! I vote for YOU 100%!
    As for why I blog, I guess I’m still finding my way with it. I’ve had amazing support, I’ve tried a couple of recipes, I’ve let out some of my feelings..I’ve started a new chapter in my life at uni so it could all change!

  16. Awesome intro – you are without a doubt going to get my vote. Your food, photography and you – all SO fabulous! You know yours is the only blog that I religiously read and comment on, regardless of if I’m up at 5am or have a manic day ahead!? Cos it’s so brilliant! You really do deserve to win that $10k πŸ˜€
    (ps – there’s a difference between grated and shredded!!?? Enlighten me! I thought shredded was the american way of saying grated lol!)

  17. you ARE a winner, no matter what! and i think you can gain proof of that from the positivity that SEEPS from all of the above comments!!! :-p
    Truly tho, you are a star and i want you to know that you have inspired me both nutritionally and emotionally! i love your blog and always look forwards to reading your new posts… not only to see what new foody ideas you’ve come up with, but also to hear about what you’ve been upto…. you seem like such a warm friendly person, someone i would love to be friends with in real life! πŸ™‚
    I wish you ALL the best, cos you deserve it hun
    xxx
    xxxxx

  18. I loved this post! I think you are amazing at everything you do! I love how you share your creations and what inspires you. I love that you are so creative in more ways than one and you do inspire me in more ways than in the kitchen! I definitely hope you make it to the next level!

    Have a great weekend Jessica!

  19. Your blog looks beautiful, you look beautiful and, as always, your words inspire me. I hope you make it to the next level (I’m still debating about joining in on the fun!) but I know that whatever happens, you will continue to bless so many people, myself included!

  20. The crust on that pizza looks divine! And I looove anything coconut flavored. I’m also sold on anything with figs + nuts!

  21. Your blog is incredible – beautiful photos. That panini made my mouth water and I love the way you used gelato.

  22. thejennybean

    So awesome! The waffle pictures get me everytime! good luck with the contest πŸ™‚

  23. Even if you’re not a professional, I’m totally in awe of your knack for experimenting with recipes and creating such unique meals. Not to mention your gorgeous photography skills! πŸ˜€

  24. Love it!!! I want to participate in the challenge but I am having no luck coming up with an idea for a post. BUT it’s silly not to try for fear of not being able to compete with the “bigger” bloggers.
    You are awesome!

  25. WOOOOO! Good luck with the challenge! You’re my favourite blogger (not just food blogger) EVER. I only really ever look forward to seeing your posts when I’m scrolling through google reader! Just thought you should know πŸ˜€

  26. Love love this entry, Jessica!! It’s fun and real πŸ™‚ Great job!

  27. Little Bookworm

    Love this post, really interesting. I love the photo of Teddie as well, so cute! Just saw the header you made for Freya at Brit Chick Runs. I thought I would just tell you that I thought it looks amazing. πŸ™‚

  28. Nathalie

    You sure got my vote! I love your blog- your food is amazing, I have tried so many of your recipes and they are always delicious! ALWAYS! The photography is nothing short of amazing and you are a very witty writer and come across as such a nice,genuine, smart, honest and funny person! And of course, I also love the Teddy Chronicles and all other horsey things on your blog.
    Btw, I love the header you made for Freya! If I ever start a blog I may just beg you to help me out! I’d try to bribe you with 9Bars and the like πŸ™‚

  29. Girl, all your eats look fabulous!

    And I love your cooking philosophy. Those famous chefs that we all know and love didn’t start off with safety or always sticking to the recipes. They tried something new. Adventurous. Unique. They created and mastered their very *own* recipes, and that’s what really makes them a chef.

    I need to branch away from safety sometimes. You are my inspiration for that. πŸ˜€

  30. Your food is simply unbelievable. To me it’s some of the very best I’ve seen on these here internets. Beautiful, beautifully photographed, but also ALWAYS delicious-sounding. Word! x

  31. Pam

    Voted for ya girl…hope ya win! Love your new pony!

  32. so…I randomly clicked on your blog when i was voting for my friend over at Healthy & Sane! I just voted for you because I adore this post, these pictures, you creative take on food and your multiple nose rings. (I’m serious – so cool!) best of luck!!!!

  33. Hello Jessica!! Have you tried that coconut oil yet??!!! Dying to know how it tastes like!! : )

  34. Great entry, and I esp loved your all your photos! You just got my vote! πŸ™‚

  35. There are so many beautiful photos in this post, I can’t wait to see some more. Just voted for you!

    Lick My Spoon

Leave a Reply

