Accident Waiting to Happen

I am practically an accident waiting to happen today.

Ever since 10:30 last night, I’ve been dreaming up what my project is going to consist of for our first photo assignment. Seriously – why do creative vibes always come at the least convenient of times? I was thisclose to popping out of bed right then but knew if I actually went through with what I was thinking, I wouldn’t get to bed until after midnight.

Not late for some people, but when you wake up at 5:30,6 it is.

I couldn't focus my camera this morning to save my soul...but at least I bought a new flash diffuser today!! Regardless - this was a divine bowl of mashed banana overnight oats, with a plum, maple syrup, cashews, and peanut butter sauce. Yum!

So of course all the while I drove to and from work today, guess what I was thinking. I was actually a little concerned for my own safety for once. I really need to work on that.

It didn't help that it was such a dreary day...as I was getting dressed I saw Mouse made himself at home in my bed. He really made me want to crawl back into it!!

Maybe I’ll play around with it tonight. I bought a new flash diffuser and an infrared remote today which will make my life easier 🙂

The best. wrap. ever. Pesto wrap with roma tomato, garlic hummus, feta, and mozz.

Another interesting portion of my nutrition reading that I was doing yesterday involved the body and its food. You’ll probably all read this and think, “d’uh, Jess,” but for some reason – I’ve never thought of food in this way, and it just made so much sense to me! But, basically, it talked about the energy that the body gets comes indirectly from the sun. Plants capture the sun’s energy so well, right? Well – when we eat those plants, we get that energy to use and store! It works the same way when you eat animal tissue – though a little more indirectly since they’re like us in that they get it from the plants (…who get it from the sun.)

Vanilla chobani with dried figs and banana.

So, lately while I’ve been eating my veggebulls, I’ve been thinking about the power the sun gives me 😉 It also made me really question the low-carb, low-fat diets…I mean – they are the most important when it comes to energy! I know everyone differs so I’m not going to make a blanket statement…but it just confirms my love of the carb 😉

homemade CRACKuhs.

Anyways. I’ll stop regurgitating information to you now. Although, I do wanna share some new stuffs I’ve started taking. I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately and looked into getting some multivit and calcium supplements. In the past I’ve sort of been of the belief that all of this can be achieved through a sound diet – but food lately, even whole, has become much less nutritious than it used to be. And really, I don’t have many foods that are calcium-rich, anyways.

I stumbled upon various different supplements, and finally settled on these from Peter Gillham: Organic Life Vitamins and Osteo Calm.

Let me prelude this by saying I am a five-year old at heart and would prefer gummy vitamins, drinkable vitamins, or something fun rather than something to swallow. Otherwise I’ll just forget.  But hey, that’s okay!

The Liquid Revolution

No matter how good the vitamin or mineral supplements are that you start with, they are only as good as they are bioavailable. Supplements must be absorbed and assimilated into the bodyand be available at the proper area in order to be of use. All pills and capsules have to dissolve into liquid form before they can be absorbed and assimilated. Some people with weaker digestive systems (and digestive ability often weakens with age) don’t fully break these down and the result is only partial or no absorption, so the pill or capsule doesn’t do much, if any, good.

I wouldn’t say that that statement is 100% true, only because it makes it sound like pills are a waste. In reality, a good pill will break down in your system just fine!

Because it contains so many nutrients, you won’t have to purchase and take numerous pills and capsules in order to give your body what it needs to stay active and healthy. And, unlike pills, Organic Life Vitamins contains no binders and fillers. The original Organic Life Vitamin formula blends the finest ingredients including organic ACTIValoeTMwhole-leaf aloe vera, organic noni juice, multiple vitamins, ConcenTrace® trace minerals, a full range of amino acids, antioxidants, OptiMSM® MSM and chromium picolinate. The improved formula enhances the original formula with an additional 24 whole food antioxidant veggies, superfruits, berries and fruits including acai, mangosteen, goji berry and organic pomegranate. [click]

And the other, OsteoCalm.

We hear a lot about calcium and how important it is to our bones. But what we don’t hear is that the balance of calcium and magnesium is a critical factor not only to bone health but to overall health in general. Magnesium helps the body absorb and transport calcium into the bones and makes bones stronger and more flexible. Approximately 50 percent of total body magnesium is found in bone.

There you have it, folks. I am not condoning the use nor commending the use of dietary supplements…rather, putting this out there. From what I’ve read and had I can say they seem to be a great option for someone looking into starting on a supplement – but to each his own! (footnote: don’t believe the “lovely taste,” claim – they’re not gross, but they’re not lovely, either!)

And, lastly – I was glad to have leftovers for dinner so that I could get right to finishing my business homework afterwards! I loved this Mexicana spaghetti squash, tropical salsa, cornbread and corn on the cob (which was right from our garden!) I think everything was even better the second time around 😉

Do you take any vitamins? Why or why not?


21 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

21 responses to “Accident Waiting to Happen

  1. I take a multivitamin, calcium supplement, and iron supplement. I used to just take a multivitamin, but I’m fairly anemic most of the time and even with one high-potency iron pill a day I just barely meet blood donor requirements for iron content in the blood. The calcium was because I looked at my diet and saw that there were not a lot of sources of calcium being incorporated despite my efforts. I would probably be taking a lot more if I hadn’t started incorporating things like flaxseed meal and chia seeds into my diet.

  2. I remember learning about that in my first nutrition class and it was really interesting the think about! Plus, our bodies get energy (kinda) directly from the sun with vit. D. Sure, that doesn’t give us energy..but it allows us to absorb calcium which is needed, so it counts. 😛
    And I thought the same about all these low-whatever diets. Our bodies *need* 55-60% of our calories to come from carbs just for our brains to function properly! Why would you limit the intake and risk running low on mentality and energy just to lose a pound or two? We just need to eat healthy and what our bodies crave..without that being cake and cookies of course. 😉

  3. I take a multi vitamin and I take calcium occasionally (which I should be better about since I can’t do dairy), but I eat such a wide range of foods, I think i am getting the good stuff. I get inspiration as soon as my head hits the pillow. It always keeps me from sleeping! I hope you get some rest tonight!

  4. I zone out all the time when I’m driving – it’s bad. But usually when I’m home I drive mainly on dirt roads so it’s really not that bad, I swear 😉 haha and I’m totally with you on gummy vits! So much better than normal ones! I don’t take any currently, but I should probably look into buying a multi vit

  5. I loved what you learned in your nutrition class about the benefits of the sun!!!! I love carbs – just had a nice big dish of whole wheat fusilli with fresh tomatoes and eggplant!!!
    I occasionally take a calcium supplement – when i remember (i know im bad) but i think that vitamins can definately help and calcium is so important to prevent osteoporosis!!! I would rather get the minerals from my diet but i think that vitamins are definately not a bad thing.
    Have a great night and hope you get some more sleep!!!! xo aimee

  6. Your oats look amazing!

    I enjoyed the part of your post about nutrition, very interesting! I had never thought about the fact that plants gave us “sun” energy when we consume them but it makes a lot of sense.

    No, I don’t take vitamins at the moment but I do however take probiotics daily because they help a lot with some digestive issues I am prone to.

  7. I have to say that I LOVE your blog!!! Photography is a HUGE part of my life too, and the way you’ve combined food and photography is truly awesome!! Totally adding you to my list of inspiring blogs!!

  8. I bought some calcium supplements last month with the same intention as you but after a few days they totally got pushed to the back of the cabinet… Thanks for reminding me about them 🙂
    It’s so cool you’re studying nutrition, learning doesn’t feel like a chore when it’s something so fascinating and important.
    Have a great day and please check out my blog if you get the chance
    -Nicole
    And by the way I also had spaghetti squash with my supper, that stuff is goooood!

  9. i take a womans vitamin daily…but I “detox” from it every now and then, just to let my body fight its own battles. oh that picture of your cat makes me miss my cat, Licorice! she…i think got ate by an owl…last year she dissapeard on my b-day! 😦 oh and i had a plum in my barley (cause you always does stuff with ’em in the morn..so i did…AWESOME. nice. loved it. ) 🙂

  10. I have a plum in my fridge specifically to top my overnight oats with! Can’t wait. I actually don’t take vitamins but honestly it’s a lazy thing. And I like to think I get everything I need form eating well! My mom is always telling me to start taking vitamins though so I might cave soon =P

  11. I take a calcium supplement because of my osteopenia. Well, I’m supposed to… i’m kinda bad about it because it involves taking a total of 8 pills a day that are vegan/raw and taste like vomit. BUT they are supposed to be the best out there. Must get on that…

    Dried figs…Mmmm..

  12. Michelle

    I take a daily multivitamin and Tums for calcium. I get very bad calf cramps and need the extra calcium support. My doc was thinking about putting my on iron pills, but I got my iron up enough to donate blood (and even get complimented by the lady taking my iron level)!

  13. I am so conflicted about vitamins. My mom has osteoporosis, so I’m very concerned about my calcium intake. However, I’ve heard that your body absorbs calcium much better when you are eating calcium-rich foods as opposed to taking supplements. Therefore, I try to drink and eat a lot of dairy, almond milk, and calcium rich veggies. But I probably should think about taking a supplement too. And I’m sorry about your lack of sleep last night…I love the creative juices, but not when I need my rest!

  14. Thats really interesting about the sun – I learn something new everyday hey?!
    I take a multivitamin and I should take a calcium supplement as I have osteopenia but recently I ran out of pills and I’m too lazy to go back to the doctor because I hate them so I’ve been trying to drink more milk and eat more yoghurt and calcium rich veg like spinach and broccoli although I know it’s not enough as supplements are reallyy high in calcium in comparison..I think I was on the 3x normal intake!

  15. i have to take a whole bunch of pills every day for my blood/digestion problems and i have to say… i wud MUCH rather take a gummy vitamin or a drinkable alternative! i found some american gummmy vitamin sweets in my healthfood store and i swiped aload of the samples “for my little sis”…..
    I DONT HAVE A LITTLE SIS!!!!! i just wanted to try them without looking like a weirdo ‘adult who buys kids vitamins’… hehehe. im a big kid too 🙂
    xxxx

  16. littlemissminny

    I prefer getting all my nutrients from real food. But I do drink a multivitamin, in a form of that tablet that goes all fizzy in the water 😀 I’m not sure how to explain it, I guess you know what I mean. I kinda like the taste :))

  17. Ohh have you tried the Adora calcium chocolate vitamins? They actually DO taste good! Like pieces of chocolate in fact 😀 but with 50% RDA calcium!
    I take a B vitamin complex (when I remember :p) purely cos I’m vegan..though weirdly, b12 is not produced by anything (not even meat, like everyone believs). It’s actually a dirt thing, and cos animals eat..well, grass, dirt etc etc they get it. But veggies and that are too clean now, so we can’t get b12 from them. Tres weird 🙂

  18. I do take vitamins! Mainly just calcium though.. because I need to watch my bones after being underweight for awhile. I think it’s helped, because last time I got an xray they said my bones were pretty tough. Oh yeah! I also take b12 and b6 because they are supposed to be really good for energy levels.. though I don’t think I really need them considering how many veggies I eat.

    I think it’s so great to look at food as ‘energy from the sun’! I mean, I did the whole low-carb thing for awhile and the way it makes you feel should be an obvious sign that it’s not a good thing to do. I will never, ever, eat low-carb again. Granted, I could probably use even more carbs than I eat now.. but I’ll get there 🙂

    ❤ Tat

  19. Huh, I’ve actually never thought of food in terms like that either! I do love nuts and avocados and other fats, but I always feel more energetic after a bowl of cereal or sweet potato. Now I know why.. energy from the sun 🙂

    I don’t take a multivitamin because I’ve always maintained that my diet is balanced enough that I don’t need one. But now that I’m not eating as much dairy/eggs and already don’t eat meat, I’m thinking I should at least start taking B12 and iron supplements.

  20. Hey girl! Sorry I’ve been so bad with commenting lately. Life has been crazy since getting back to school. I’m still reading though! 😀

    I take iron, vitamin D, and fish oil because I feel like I need them. I also take vitamin C, but that’s just because it tastes good, hehe!

  21. you know how i feel about supplements, girlfriend, so i won’t even bomb up your comments with my thoughts.

    on a carb-y side-note: the best i’ve ever felt is on a high-carb diet. hands-down. cutting carbs is a terrible idea if you are an active person, or are in school.

    i will make that blanket statement 🙂

Leave a Reply

