Lesson Learned

I totally forgot to type flax up as an ingredient in yesterday’s wrap recipe (wrecipe?). My bad. All is fixed now, but…I wanted to point that out.

Look how flexible they stayed!

I mean, I shouldn’t act like I was expecting a brick…but I thought they’d be a little hard or fragile to bend without nuking first. But no! It was this pliable right out of the fridge, and this is actually one that I cooked bordering on too long. Sure – they’re not your super-soft store bought wraps…but these don’t have preservatives. Can you pronounce everything in those store bought wraps, anyways?!

I stuffed it with garlic hummus, black beans, roasted broccoli, and roasted red pepper. I chose to panini it, but I think I’d have liked it better on the less-crunchy side.

And while we’re talking about lunch, check out the rest of it:

The last of my raspberries, a peach and some pineapple. So refreshing. Not that this chilly day needed it!

Although, I did need refreshment after going to the post office. Guys – I dealt with a crazy person. I wish I was kidding. First he rails on me for having the wrong date on a package. The date on the package was not wrong – he just didn’t know today was the 8th, not yesterday. Okay, no big deal, misunderstanding. I rarely know the day, too! I politely correct him, and he apologizes profusely for about five minutes. Okay – I wasn’t too upset. Not a big deal.

But this minor incident unleashed his inner demon, and he goes on this huge vent to me, telling me how much he hates his job, he’s not treated like a human, he’s owed money, he’s planned trips to other countries but can’t go because of that, on and on and on. Of course, the funniest part was that in between all of his ranting, we’re still mailing my packages. It went a lot like this:

“…and I mean, I’m not even treated like I’m a human here, do you want delivery confirmation? I meant it’s just awful.”

“..uh, yes please.”

“Okay so this one came to $11.55, I mean I’ve got trips planned to Costa Rica…”

ahah. After that ordeal, I needed to restock my peanut butter while I was downtown. After taking what felt like a million tries to parallel park (don’t know what my issue was) I found this in the co-op:

I had my mind on the Green Mountain Goodness and was seriously excited to try it. I’ve been seeing this brand on my co-op trips but always restrain myself since I’ve had plenty of peanut butter at home. Lately, though, I’ve been flying through jars.

I just bought this Saturday! I did quite a bit of baking, but still. Sort of a pain. I’ve become really simplistic when it comes to nut butters lately – I just want a simply salted and lightly sweetened chunky peanut butter, and my sunflower seed butter. So I was sort of bummed that the Green Mountain Goodness just so happened to be out of stock!

Look at that protein! I wasn’t giving up, though, and decided Monkey Business was gonna have to be the winner. They have lots of other flavors, too! I had a taste a couple minutes ago, and so far my socks aren’t knocked off, though 😦 I think the banana is a little too artificial for my liking. But, it made sense when I looked at the ingreds again.

I’m not saying those are bad ingreds – I just think itd be better with, say – dehydrated bananas, not extract. Definitely not giving up on the brand, though, and it’s by no means bad.

Our eight flavors all have 100% Whey Protein Isolate added to provide additional, natural, healthy & pure protein. Our Plain Creamy and Chunky peanut butters do not. We wanted those to just be what they should…Organic peanuts a little sea salt for taste…period. We also do not add any refined sugar, preservatives or other yucky and unnecessary chemicals to our products. The pinch of salt we use is a Low Sodium 100% natural sea salt. The sodium in our nut butters is so low it is virtually sodium free. If you are a vegetarian, you will be happy to know our products do not have lactose except for the “trace” (1gram or less) of lactose found in whey. Our products are all gluten free and contain NO trans fats and NO hydrogenated oils!

So proud of my lil’ state, makin’ peanut butters and err’thang!

Did you know there’s 800 peanuts in one jar?! Thasss a lotta peanuts!

Speaking of finishing things, I polished off these puppies today.

as well as my plaintain burgers (…I froze one for future use, though 😉 )

I paired it with some bulgur tonight – plantain bulgur! Bulghur brought to a boil with 1/4 of a diced plantain, which I mashed up a bit. Seasoned with salt and pepper and then added in baby spinach and some diced mozzarella. Stirred with some BBQ sauce and voila!

Due to my “best for last” tendencies, I’m slooowwwly eating my way through these Boomi and Prana Bars that Nicole sent me a while ago.

Divine Foods believes that satisfying our taste buds with healthy food satisfies mind and body. Divine Foods manufacturing facility is free of wheat, cane sugar, GMO’s, meat, eggs and peanuts ensuring our products are gluten-free, soy-free and vegetarian.

Divine Foods manufactures two lines of all-natural energy bars that are superior in taste and contain no artificial additives, preservatives or sweeteners. Divine Foods’ Boomi Bars are 100% all-natural, gluten-free and contain no GMO, sulphured fruits or hydrogenated oils

Such simple ingredients! And surprisingly, not redunkulously sweet even though the first two ingredients are quite sweet on their own. I love the texture these have – soft and gooey from the dates, but with some crunch from the sesame seeds.

And I think the tidbit about enzymes is really interesting!

Enzymes are specialized protein molecules facilitating most of the body’s metabolic processes – such as, supplying energy, digesting foods, purifying your blood, ridding the body of waste products etc.

Without enzymes in your body, you could have the best nutritional plan around, and supplement your diet with a host of vitamin supplements, but without these humble workers we call enzymes, the vitamins will not be absorbed into your system.

They assist in fighting aging, weight loss, lowering cholesterol, cleaning the colon, breaking down fats, strengthening the immune system, improve mental capacity, detoxifying the body, building muscles from protein, eliminating carbon dioxide from the lungs etc.

[source] So – how to get more, without following a strictly raw diet? Well, watermelon, Kefir, apples, dried fruit, and banana splits are just naming a few! There’s some really great information here, though – a good read if you are interested!

And this bar was quite enzymingly excellent! I can’t say it was entirely pear-ginseng-y but it was still very flavorful. I find bars with dates need a lot of the other flavor in order for it to taste like that other flavor, though – this was certainly more datey than pear-y, which could be either good or bad depending on your preference! Regardless, though – these bars are a definite treat!

And, because I don’t want anyone to make the same mistake I did, don’t think that just because baked apple chunks are perfect on stovetop oats they’ll be good on overnighters. It just doesn’t work. Probably my first disappointing bowl of overnight oats to date.

I guess you just don’t mess with a classic. I consider baked apple oats to be classic – they’re good no matter what. But – especially comforting on rainy mornings or fall or winter mornings. Which, naturally, means hot oats – not cold ones!

Lesson duly noted 😉

What have you recently discovered doesn’t work as well as you’d initially hoped?

18 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

18 responses to “Lesson Learned

  1. It’s awesome those tortillas are so pliable. (I can’t believe I just used that word..too much cartilage talk in anatomy. :P) But it’s rare to find a wrap made with such hearty ingredients that aren’t as stiff as cardboard.

    And weird about that guy at the post office. It makes me think of the transit drivers here. They always spill their life stories to the passengers and all we can do is nod and say “oh, I know what you mean!” Guess he just needed someone to unload his issues on lol.

    Awesome fact about 800 peanuts in one jar! Ya learn something new everyday. 😛

  2. That peanut butter sounds really good, but I agree with you about the banana extract. 😦

  3. Well, they look good! The oats that is. Um, I have so many eh meals trying to get to something good. I thought about you tonight when I had some crepes with bananas, peanut butter sauce and hemp seeds. Seriously, I could bathe in that stuff! I dealt with crazies today too. They came to my door selling me all kinds of crazy! I won’t bore you with details, let’s just say I drove Tony crazy with my constant rants about crazy people. I hope you had a good night!

  4. My best friend just got back from Vermont and got me some Vermont PB in Dark Chocolate (the girl knows me well!). I agree though, the ingredient list was not as straight-foward as it could be, and I was a bit disappointed. But I’m sure I’ll be hooked with the first taste anyway 😛

    Plantain burgers sound really interesting by the way!

  5. teenagehealthfreak

    wow..he got you a little “involved” in his life! wow..that just seems like something that happens on a movie to me! i recently discovered that when you cook a peach in oatmeal..it sucks. so does NOT work like a banana. mmm.your wrap sounds great…especially the roasted red pepper! 🙂

  6. So crazy about the post office guy! Some people need some days off 😉

    Yeah apples don’t work so well with overnight oats.. but it’s all good. They are awesome in hot oats and it’s almost cold weather so…

  7. Can I just simply say I love you for the wrap recipe? I need to tackle that SO very soon. thankyouthankyouuu! Your eats recipes are always divine and so creative!

  8. 800 peanuts!?! Wow, I had no idea. I’m going to appreciate my jars a bit more now. And I had a very nasty interaction with someone at the post office a few weeks ago. It must be a tough job! I’m glad that you were still able to have a positive day…sometimes things like that throw me off kilter. I hope that tomorrow is full of laughter and no crazy people!

  9. Sorry to hear about the overnight oatmeal failure with the apple – thankfully though fall is here and so will the return of hot oats which are perfect for apples!!!! I just bought a ton of ginger gold apples!!!
    Thanks again for the recipe for the wraps – can;t wait to try them out!!!!
    Have a great THursday and hope no more crazy people like the one at the post office!!

  10. Thank you for your advice about photography 🙂 and your wrap looks so soft, I’ve tried to make some one day but they were dry like papers;;;

  11. CONGRATS on the wrap!! You are quite the baker, it’s impressive!
    LOL at the post office man too..I suppose I’d go stir crazy if I had to work in a post office :s I hate the places! Come to think of it, I’ve never ever seen a happy post office worker. I feel for them 😦
    I’ve tried baked apple in oats before – not impressed. Acorn squash/spaghetti squash – flavour let downs. Sunflower seed butter- too sweet!

  12. Yikes! Sorry about the post office ordeal! I actually had a very similar situation the other day – the post office lady was so nuts that she ended up sending my package to my house instead of the address that I had it being sent to! Luckily I noticed right before I left and we switched it… but sheesh!

    I think my biggest disappointment in the foodie world has probably been PB&Co peanut butter. I bought white chocolate wonderful and it’s TOO sweet for me… like, I can’t even stomach a spoonful 😮 I just use it for baking, which actually works well because I can cut back on the sweetener 😉

    ❤ Tat

  13. Haha the post office story made me crack up because there’s a cashier exactly like the guy you dealt with at my supermarket! Her checkout lane is always empty because no one wants to deal with her, but it’s like she targets me and my mom and insists that we come over just so she can complain -__-

    Yeah banana PB is usually a bit disappointing. I tried PB Loco’s version a while back and it was just too too sweet. Maybe I will try and make my own someday!

  14. That’s so funny about the post office guy! It kind of makes you feel sorry for him… I guess he has no one else to talk to.

    Oh wow, banana PB with raisins sounds like it would be an amazing flavour! That’s too bad it was a let down. Hopefully their other flavours will be better!

    Woah hold up! Does that Prana Bar contain any nuts other than almonds? If not, I may actually be able to eat it!

  15. I feel like Im always saying this but I need to go back and catch up on your posts. I can’t believe you made your own wraps! I need to do this!! That is so amazing.

    Glad you liked that bar! I have so many in my pantry because I’ve been making my own for so long.

  16. Michelle

    Wow, some people are just strange. My visit to the post office went super smooth yesterday actually. Like, I only had to stand in line for two minutes, the lady taped up the bottom of my package that I forgot to tape and then it was off!

    The dad of the boy I nanny for started talking about how ridiculous his child’s school is with all of these auctions, bbq’s, ice cream socials and how many times the parent has to go into all of these meetings. I mean they’ve really upped it in the past 10 years since I was in elementary school, but hey, he signed up for it I guess.

  17. That PB has SO much potential! But it does seem a little inevitable that a “fruit flavored” pb be slightly… off? I mean, compared to the wondrousness of fresh banana + pb that we all know and love. Ah well, something like that is definitely worth the try.
    I recently INVESTED in some Sun Warrior (it’s a little, ahem, expensivo), which has been raved about all over the blogs.. and maybe it’s just that I’m not a big protein powder person (or not at all), but it’s just not the WOW I was hoping for :-\ live and learn, I guess…

  18. of course, you sold me again with the tortillas.. mm i love mine super flexible haha ❤

Leave a Reply

