Daily Archives: September 3, 2010

Broccoli Obsession

Hah…a recent (as of today) Google search hit for my blog was “broccoli obsession.” Darn – you guys have got me all figured out! I was just musing today how it seems I can’t go more than a day or two without the funky-lookin’ green veg gracing me with its’┬ápresence. And I mean – I guess you can’t blame me. After all, it is ranking among the healthiest veg you could eat! Check this out:

  • helps protect from colon cancer
  • minimizes risk for cataracts
  • helps protect against stroke
  • boiled broc has more Vitamin C than an orange and more calcium than a glass of milk (compared ounce to ounce). I’d been starting to worry about my calcium lately – and I had no idea broccoli was such a great source!
  • a medium spear contains triple the amount of fiber than a piece of wheat bran bread
  • stimulates your body’s production of stage-two enzymes which is what the body uses to combat cancer. this neutralizes potential cancer-causing bad guys.

Broccoli is considered a “cruciferous” vegetable. Other vegetables in this family include kale, brussels sprouts, and cabbage – and likewise, they have similar cancer-fighting properties. Broccoli sprouts are even more nutritious – ten to one hundred times as rich!

But, did you know – that since broccoli is a cruciferous vegetable, that some poor souls actually taste broccoli as bitter?! It’s from the compound “PTC” which either tastes very bitter to a person or has no taste. It’s all dependent on your genetic makeup, and is largely a dominant trait.

Have you ever had broccoli sprouts?

What’s your favorite way to have broccoli – or – is broccoli bitter to you?


And after all that talking about broccoli…I didn’t even have any today! Sad life.

I did – however – have cookies for breakfast – which is just as good. Almost.

I also completely forgot about all of the raspberries I just picked yesterday. And they would have gone so well! Instead, topping this bowl of overnight oats was:

  • mango
  • banana
  • SuperCharge Me! cookie
  • cashews
  • wheat germ

Even lacking the raspberries, it sure was dii-vine. I’d missed mangoes – and while I’m still not getting sick of peaches or plumcots (surprisingly) – it was nice to have a change of pace!

Apparently, I decided to demonstrate poor equitation in this moment.

I was also really glad to spend some quality time with my Teddie this morning! Even though I was at the barn the past two days, I didn’t get to do anything with him – and I missed his adorable self! I just brought him in and got him all handsome and happy – scratching all of his scratchies! He made me proud by keeping his mane verrrry clean from his bath on Tuesday :) I wasn’t able to do past his barrel because he wouldn’t stand still and I didn’t have a place to tie him – so we’ll just pretend he’s clean all over ;)

You know…for just being a couple crackers – these hold me over quite well as a morning snack! And I feel a little more at-ease for not having something sweet at every meal or snack time.

Work flew by today, and my appetite was a little low for some reason, after being starving this morning! I was really looking forward to trying a new bar this afternoon – but I never got around to it, and all of a sudden it was time to go home!

Alas, lunch was swell.

What’s hiding between these two silly looking slices of [delicious] bread?

Well – I am either brazen, naive, or slightly stoopid...

…because that would be a sandwich consisting of enough black beans for a bodybuilder or two, as well as sweet potato and raspberry-fig dressing. I know the dressing looks kinda gross – but it’s just from being snug against the lettuce all night.

Accompanied by:

and apple and peanut butter. Except, I never really “got” the whole vibe of eating apples with peanut butter. The apple is so juicy and crisp that it just overrides the peanut buttery goodness. I would prefer my peanut butter plain, next to the apple.

I got a slight want for something but not a whole bar, where a packed and unpictured chunk of energy came into play.

I was sort of lost for dinner, too – but knew a fridge cleanout was necessary. I still had some creamy tomato-pesto sauce and a large portion of eggplant. And a blackbean burger I made aaaages ago in the freezer. I think it was one of these. I can’t remember the last time I made them – before summer, I think – but it kept well! And I was pretty impressed with my handiwork – I formed that in a perfect circle patty, just about! Sometimes I surprise myself. Anyways:

Eggplant, garlic, tomato, basil, and tomato paste sauteed in some olive oil. Millet on the side. Creamy Tomato-Pesto Sauce and feta over top.

I still can’t cook millet right. That or I’m impatient. And we won’t talk about the fact that I accidentally made quinoa first. Wouldn’t have been a problem – I’ve no problem just eating quinoa instead – but I didn’t rinse it and didn’t feel like eating soap for dinner.

But hey – luckily, I love eggplant and bean burgers and feta and creamy tomato pesto sauce! But, what do you do with your millet?

19 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, foodblog, health, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe