Sailing Away

Aha – don’t ask me why…but tag-“sailing” all day is pretty exhausting. Do people in big cities ever have tag sales? They are not hard to come by around here. Of course, living on a desolate dirt road didn’t really benefit us in this situation and no big sales were had.

Bummer.

Some people actually take it really seriously. We advertised that we would be “opening” at 9 am. We had someone parked outside (just hardly out of site, yet obvious when we went outside) at quarter after seven. Really?! A friend was joining us with stuff and she wasn’t even here yet!

Anyways. I couldn’t stay most of the morning as I had to hurry off at 8:00 to shoot a senior portrait and also play with Teddie. I couldn’t ride him today (was a bit bummed – it was gorgeous, but it’s supposed to stay this way for a couple days at least) as A was teaching a lesson in the outdoor and she didn’t want to give the student trouble if her pony caught sight of Teddie in another meadow. I could have ridden in the indoor but I don’t want to exhaust him of it, so just lunged him for a little bit instead. Happy medium, I guess – I still wanted to give him some exercise at least!

But, enough rambling. The nommage!

You’ll have to bare with me as I play with food photography paired with a flash. My hardest part is focusing! Since it’s essentially pitch dark in the room I’m sort of winging it when I focus. That’s probably not necessary, though. Maybe I’ll make a light box tomorrow 🙂

Anyway – this morning’s waffles were pretty stellar. No, they were not any different. But, they were just pretty dang good, nah’mean?

I topped them with a super ripe white flesh nectarine, shredded coconut, peanut butter icing and “holiday jam.” I am loving this jam – it’s a blend of strawberries, cranberries, maple syrup, and spices. Although, I will say – I’ve been toning down the amount of “drizzles of sweetener” I use (have you noticed?!) and the waffles with the jam and a really sweet, very ripe nectarine it was almost too much. Almost.

When I got home, I was starved! My mom had left to make a Subway run for everyone, but I wasn’t too disappointed I missed the ordering…I can make a mean “sub,” myself!

Mooney Farms sent me a couple of their products to try that I received yesterday. I was very excited to make a cottage cheese with pesto and fresh tomato toasted sammich!

Most store-bought pestos are verrrrry oily. This one is no exception, and will be used rather sparingly. However, that’s okay because it is so flavorful and delicious! A little really does go a long ways, anywhow!

This Bella Sun Luci Sun Dried Tomato Pesto Sauce was quite enjoyable! I flashed back to when I was told about mixing cottage cheese with pesto and new that’s what I’d have to do today for lunch once again. Especially now that I’m all out of mozzarella!

I simply mixed some cottage cheese with a splash of balsamic vinegar, basil, pepper, and a small spoonful of sun-dried tomato pesto. I had some sliced garden tomato and toasted homemade whole wheat bread to construct the rest of the meal!

However, that peach was as dry and…weird…as it looks. So, I chopped that baby up and razzed it up with some vanilla chobani, wheat germ, and honey roasted peanuts. Perfect solution.

The afternoon was spent joking around, snacking unpictured and laughing. And people watching. ‘Twas fun.

When I saw Mama Pea’s Creamy Lemon Pasta on Michelle’s blog the other day – I knew it had to be done, and tonight my belly was screaming for it!   Tossed with 8-grain pasta was roasted broccoli, dark red kidney beans, roasted carrots and Mama Pea’s sauce, slightly switched up to contain garlic hummus, lemon juice, nutritional yeast and water to thin.

A garden tomato was sliced over top shortly after. Definitely necessary.

I loved it. However, I don’t love spaghetti. Seriously – it’s too hard to eat! Ziti, penne, shapes like that – they know what’s up 😉

Do you ever go tag-saling? Any good finds?

The End!

13 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, foodblog, health, lunch, recipe

13 responses to “Sailing Away

  1. Sorry you didn’t get to ride Teddie today but good news – the weather should stay this nice all week!!!!
    I think its hysterical that someone was waiting for 2 hours before the tag sale even started!!! Sounds like “Black Friday”!!!!
    Roasted broccoli with pasta looks fabulous!!! I roasted an entire head today too – love slow roasted broccoli!!!
    Have a great Sunday!!!!!!!!
    xo aimee

  2. I am just not a pasta girl any more. I love hummus as a sauce on everything though! Glad you had a good day. Your photos always look good…you are so silly for saying otherwise! Enjoy your evening Jessica!

  3. Should I know what a tag sale is? I feel very, very dumb right now.

    Oi! No joke – I JUST got a container of cottage cheese that I was planning to make a sandwich with! Haha.. great minds think alike, I guess? Yours looks divine, as always.

    Sorry you didn’t get much Teddie play time.. but even a little bit is better than nothing (I should know. Whoops!).
    ❤ Tat

  4. I love the two pictures of the horses! Front, back, beautiful. 🙂

    I’ve never tried mixing cottage cheese with favory flavors before. I usually just stick with maple syrup, honey, cinnamon, or something like that. But the pesto mix sounds delicious!

  5. teenagehealthfreak

    we don’t ”tag sale” all that often…every now and then. we actually had one during the summer. i totally bought some white flesh nectarines today!! i’m excited to try it…you totally inpired me to get one! 🙂

  6. Isn’t it funny how some peaches can be absolutely delightful and other peaches can be bland and dry? I imagine that peaches are as diverse as people. I’ve never even heard of tag-sailing before…how funny it is that we live in the same country and yet all have such different experiences!

  7. I have no idea what tag-saling is..I’ve never heard of it! I’m sure I would if I could!?
    Creamy lemon pasta looks SO good!! I’m gonna go look up the recipe now 😀

  8. oooh, that pasta dish is rrrrright up my alley, yum!

    I don’t know what a tag sale is…:-( – but I see from the comments that doesn’t necessarily make me a total dunce.

    Love the close-up muzzle shot! Is that the best pony-part in the world or WHAT? mmm-mm.

  9. I’ve never heard of the term “tag sale” before. Is it sort of like a garage sale/yard sale? If so, I love going to those things for all the great finds. Last year I got an almost new panini press for $3! 😀

    Hummus + lemon juice is one of my favourite sauces ever! I’ve never tried it on pasta, but I always use it as a salad dressing or in stir fries.

  10. Haha, I’ve never heard of a tag sale either! But from your description I assume it’s something like a yard sale or flea market?

    I adore pesto, and the sandwich you made with it looks super yummy. Loving your blog!

  11. I like the cottage cheese sandwich idea. I wonder if you open face toasted it if it would get kinda cheesy?

  12. Sales are my worst nightmare.
    Over here, there is a shop called Next, and it religiously starts its ‘big summer sale’ at 5am. Thus, people sleep outside to wait for it to open. I’m glad we are like minded in sale shopping.
    Sophie
    xx

Leave a Reply

