This Is Winter (& Fritters!)

I swear – the past two days, Vermont forgot it’s still summer (or – is it still summer? or was it fall on the 21st? no idea.) and has put me in a deja vu remembering last fall.

did i wake up and immediately find a hoodie and socks? why yes, yes i did.

Breakfast: overnight oats topped with a plumcot (question - is a plumcot the same thing as a pluot? i know they look different...but they both seem to be plum-meets-apricot love exchanges?) and half a banana. + wheat germ, cashews, and a saucy peanut butter-yogurt soup!

did i brew myself a k-cup of hot southern pecan rather than iced souther pecan or french vanilla? why yes, yes i did. did i just see that pumpkin spice coffee is back in green mountain’s coffee lineup? yes, yes, and yes.

that being said - i still enjoyed a bowl of overnight oats rather than the hot variety.

the closer fall and winter creeps, the more i wonder if i’ll be able to go back to overnight oats. i’ve grown so fond of these overnighters – even after initially looking at them as far inferior to the stove-top variety. they’re like different breeds of oats – can they even be compared fairly?

mixed nuts stuffed in dates, figs with peanut butter.

this morning was even so dark that i feared none of my pictures would come out without motion blur! which is why i’m leaning on stock photos, too :P i’ve gotta get my steadiness back!

luckily, however, it wasn’t too bitter outside – although the wind nearly blew me to canada! speaking of wind – as i channel surfed last night, i saw a football game on…when i paired that with the wind howling just outside my window and my fluorescent lamp, i felt like i’d flashbacked to winter.

i don’t know why certain kinds of light make me think of certain seasons, but work with me here.

ginger snap larabar. i don't care who you are - if this doesn't taste like christmas to you, you're...wrong?

in fact, we even had two (count ’em!! two!!) customers in at work putting orders in for christmas presents! it made me start brainstorming on the way home, too. i’ve got nothin’.

i'm just overjoyed with the beauty.

then i remembered a story my boss had told us, and thought maybe a gift certificate to friendly’s was just the ticket.┬ámy beloved family members can go man-versus-food on me and eat their new concoction that is, wait for it, a cheeseburger between two grilled cheese sandwiches.

dude, is that even legal? because i feel like…it shouldn’t be.

just imagine this as half a loaf + half a banana. do you see it?! there is something very autumnal about bran bread, too - but maybe now i'm just finding fall at the drop of a hat now, aren't i?

the flannel i chose to wear was very fall-reminiscing, and i forgot to mention the mud i had to trench through while feeding the horses. did you guys know that vermont actually has five seasons? i guess you could even say six. it goes mud season, spring, summer, mud season, fall, and then winter.

i realize that's the most pathetic bread ever. it's the last of my failed loaf (that tasted good) and of course i didn't make more yesterday.

and now…fritters. i guess i’m not really sure if i should call these fritters or bean burgers, though i’m leaning towards the former. maybe i could call the burtters? frigers?

anyways. they’re an adaptation of a veganomicon recipe. i know isa knows what up – but i had to make a few changes and think i quite like them.

if you’re like me and don’t like succhini – do not fear, my friend. you can’t taste it. if you’re allergic though, you should still probably stay away.

i served mine tonight with some herbed bulgur - serving of bulgur cooked in water with a diced tomato, garlic salt, chives, oregano, and pepper.

Tomato-Zucchini Fritters (or burtters, or my favorite – frigers)

  • 2 slices good bread
  • 1 T. chives
  • 1/4 t. garlic salt
  • 1/4 c. pecans
  • 1 c. dark red kidney beans (i think garbanzo beans would be good, too)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 T. lemon juice
  • 1 T. tomato paste
  • 1 T. fresh oregano
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  • 1 T. milled flax mixed with 3 T. water
  • 1/2 t. dried dill
  • 1/2 T. chopped fresh mint
  • 1/2 c. (packed) grated or finely shredded zucchini, squeezed to remove excess water
  • heaping 1/2 c. seeded and diced tomatoes, drained
  • olive oil
  1. preheat your oven to 375*, and toast your bread. while that is toasting, finely grind your pecans. transfer to a bowl, and when the bread is toasted, put in your processor and process to breadcrumbs. transfer to a bowl and stir in 1/4 t. of the garlic salt and the chives.
  2. in the processor, combine the beans, garlic, lemon juice, tomato paste, oregano, salt and pepper. it should be mostly smooth, but some chunks are okay. transfer to a bowl.
  3. add in 1/3 c. of the breadcrumbs you made, the ground pecans, flax egg, dill, mint, zuc, and tomatoes. the mixture should be thick – if you find it’s quite soft, add more bread crumbs. it may vary just based on how much water you were able to get out of the veg.
  4. set aside and grease a cookie sheet with a thin layer of olive oil. with your hands, form patties with the bean-veg mixture, and then coat with a light coating of breadcrumbs.
  5. bake in the preheated oven for 40 minutes, flipping at the halfway mark.

i’ve had these both last night and tonight with the same yogurt-tahini sauce i made to go with the sweet potato falafel. it is a wonderful pairing!

…and very much like winter. i know, i know – i’ve already talked about all this. part of me is really excited for fall to come. fall flavors. fall colors. fall weather, even. baking without heating the whole house – baking bread from scratch, even! cozying up in bed with comfy down comforters and a hot cup of coffee, tea, or cocoa. burrowing inside blankets, or staying warm by the fire with the pup and kitty while outside is a gloriously beautiful winter wonderland. i just love the sound of snow.

however…as i’ve said many-a-time…cold and i do not get along. i didn’t ride last winter. do i have what it takes to tough it out this winter?


Filed under breakfast, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

34 responses to “This Is Winter (& Fritters!)

  1. Frigers! I love it! I am so ready for fall…I need it so badly! I am totally buying 10-20 pumpkins just to roast! Don’t even get me started on the grilled cheese burger…gross! Have a great night Jessica!

  2. I know exactly what you mean… I am living in beach country right now, and the minute the sun fades it’s like the temperature drops ten degrees and I instantly feel the need to grab a sweater. It’s not even close to the frigidness that I am expecting to come, but still an intense reminder that summer is coming to an end. I am so excited for fall though! It’s my favorite season.. which may or may not have anything to do with the fact that my birthday is in October :)

    … Do you make your bread in a breadmaker? I really want to try making my own but I don’t have one, and I didn’t know if maybe you made loaves in the oven or not :P <3 Tat

  3. Amanda @ HopeHasAPlace

    Haha, I like “frigers!” But do you pronounce it frih-gers or fry-gers? ‘Cause I’m saying frih-gers in my head. I want to get this new terminology right! ;)

  4. I like “frigers!” Has a nice ring to it. ;)

    I’m not usually a fan of cold, but I am dying for fall right now. My apartment has horrible air conditioning and I’m sick of sweating it out every day!

  5. Here in NY it too was quite chilly today and rainy!!!! Fall is definately right around the corner !!! I am looking forward to the fall – especially apple and pumpkin picking, wearing warm cozy sweaters and wool socks, pumpkin spice coffee from Green Mountain (so good) and fall squash!!!
    I love the all season but do NOT like winter – especially the ice and snow!!
    Love overnight oats too and your tomato friggers look great!!!
    I would love to try to make your bran bread – can u post the recipe!!!!!!
    Have a great night – aimee

  6. your amazing, end of story! where did you get this recipe or come up with it! it looks absolutly phonomenal! im actually, drooling at the mouth! haha wow i have to make that for my family some time soon! i think you can ride this winter! if its something your truley passionate about (which it seems liek you are) id say go for it!your eats looks amazing! espcially breakfast, arent pucots amazing! i bought one from wholefoods and ate it in the store, and went back for another giant bag haha so sweet! i want fall, i love pumpkin and ive been craving it more than anythign lately! i cant wait for warm winter stews and veggie cassaroles, yummm im excited already!

  7. I’m looking forward to when it starts to cool down and *stays* cooling down here! It was nice last week but in the 90s again today. But then I’ll be kicking myself for saying that when it’s freezing, rainy, and windy!

    The seasons definitely make me crave different food- like pumpkin pie!! Oh my gosh I’m starting to dream of it already. :D

    Oh, and that hamburger should be illegal. Or at least taxed! lol..I heard they were debating taxing fast food with a “sin tax” but was sort of against it..cause you know, where do you draw the line as to what “fast food” is? Technically Subway’s fast food. But something like that thing..gross..should definitely be taxxeedd out the wazoo.

  8. teenagehealthfreak

    i’m the same about’s like i’m constantly cold and uncomfortable!!!! but i think you can do it!!! i think Teddie will win your heart over! and that burger. yeah…should totally be against the law. wow. that’s crazy! i wish it was cooler here…i’m burning up.

  9. I can’t imagine it being so cold over there when it’s SWELTERING in Taiwan! Last time I checked it’s still August, right? ;) Just the thought of winter coming soon again makes me shiver….literally. Although you can probably call that season in Taiwan or in California “winters.” Those type of “winters” are probably what you’d call a lovely autumn where you’re at.

    The fritters look like the perfect comfort foods for chilly days! I expect there’ll also be a comeback of your beautiful oats soon, no? :)

  10. oh my gosh! i just met someone from vermont today, and we were talking about how it’s cold there (because it’s so hot here!). today was 105 F, but the heat index was 100. :( how about we share the heat?

  11. I don’t want summer to go! I’m kind of scared, actually. I don’t know what I’m going to do without the abundance of summer fruit and veggies anymore in the winter. D: The summer in Vancouver this year was sooo short. And I don’t get along well with the cold either! We’ll make it! Hopefully. Blogger support! :D

  12. I’ve always wanted to try a plumcot/pluot! And I’ve seen fritters everywhere lately… now I randomly crave them!

  13. I can’t wait for fall an winter just for the food. I also just realized the fruit I put in my cottage cheese the other day must have been a pluot. The only bad part was since I didn’t know what it was I didn’t know it wasn’t ripe until I cut it up and added it in. So I ate it anyway.

  14. Your post made me oh so nostalgic for fall. I don’t think I’m going to get much of one here in Texas so I may just have to live vicariously through you. I have been making a few fritter recipes over the past few weeks, and I love your new “friger” recipe. Too cute and mighty delicious, I’m sure!

  15. i have to admit i was a little sad when i realized it wasent the dessert fritters u were making (i was starting to get super excited about the idea of an apple fritter on here) but when i saw ur version and read through the recipe i have to say im not let down and they look REALLY good! id love to dip them in a little salsa or ketchup too which would be so yummy!
    haha the grilled cheese, cheeseburger.. crazy!!!

  16. haha, the frigers are beautiful – and so is the bran bread – I laughed about “mud season” too, sometimes we have that, sometimes we don’t, but summer is definitely coming to an end here too! We had immense amounts of rain (like roads, cellars, train tracks, everything flooded) and now it’s just about storming…as long as the sun is out I’m enjoying it though :-). Hope you have some pretty days with the ponies, too – where I work I can watch lots of horses and riders on the way out and back from late summer rides, it looks soooo…..I’m sure you know what I mean. A good, beautiful ride, it’s the best :-). Uh, except when it’s muddy, of course, haha…

  17. happinessisfreedom

    Here in Italy it’s still summer, but it’s a weird one, because every day, when I wake up it’s sunny, hot, etc. When lunchtime comes, every single day, the clouds come along with it.
    Anyway. I think fall has a special light as well, and obviously also his colours (brown, beige, etc) and your wonderful pics let me really think of it. I would love a warm and cozy evening on the couch with a cup of tea!
    The fritters look amazing and yummy!!

  18. Oh you are making me so nostalgic for winter! The last paragraph is like all my favourite things :) BUT the ridingthing sucks! I find it so tough to ride when it’s freezing too – cold, sore hands cos my gloves aren’t thick enough, frozen taps, muddy but frozen fields…gah. Win some, lose some right!?

  19. I love winter and this post reminded me of how much I love it BUT I can’t feel even fall coming yet. It’s hot and sunny where I live, the beach is full of people and it hasn’t rained for a month or so which makes it hard to daydream about winter :) .

    Oh, zucchini! Lunch was less than two hours ago but now you make me hungry again :P .

  20. i’m with you – i LOVE fall, but curse the cold for months and months. i’m a huge baby!!!

  21. burtters!? frigers!?! haha, you made me chuckle with that one :-)
    I love fall too (or autumn as we brits call it!) but it also fills me with an impending dread at the thought of cold winters…. i like the idea of being cosy in front of a fire or curled up in bed with a good book, but sadly the reality is not as nice as the fantasy! its more like having to be up at 6am to get ready for work, leaving the house when its still dark and not coming home ill its dark again, with the few light hours of the day spent at work… it means wearing THICK gloves and scarved and hats and boots and coats and THERMALS to make my daily walk into work bearable, but then sweating it out as i go through the day indoors still wearing my multi-layers!
    Ahh, now i think about it, its not all that bad… last year it snowed so much that they closed the school and i got almost a week off work!!! I love snow, its like the one redeeming weather feature in all that coldness… ooh that and gingerbread. holy yum! :-) xxx

  22. I hate winter! All the snow,and wind and cold. I don’t even like to talk about it! haha
    I hate that summer is obviously ending, it’s really cold at night here now. I love fall though, I just fall didn’t mean that winter was near!
    Fall also means I leave for college though – which means I can no longer ride my horses :( :(

  23. It’s been chilly in PA, so I can’t imagine the cold in NYC! I’m so sad that winter is arriving quickly…

    If you want to go back to real oats for breakfast in the winter, try overnight oats for lunch. They’re super filling and comforting midday…you can never have too many oats!

  24. This is my first time on your blog and I just wanted to say hi! It’s chilly her in MA too! Booooo!!!! I love the fall but not in August! lol Looking foward to following you! :)

  25. It’s been so chilly here too! I must say I kind of like it though. I’m really looking forward to fall too.

    Haha if the wind ever does blow you to Canada, be sure to drop in and say hi. ;)

  26. It’s getting colder here too! Bah. I love fall, but I do not love winter. I honestly didn’t expect summer to “end” so soon. I’m hoping for a reprieve in the next few days!

  27. Michelle

    I am not a cold weather person. Thankfully the sun has stayed a bit while longer in Seattle, but I don’t know how long its going to last :(

  28. Oh Jess, please post your recipe for that banana bread soon – I’m dying here!!
    Urgh here in the UK we only had 2 weeks of ‘summer’ (ha, well summer for us!) anyway! I do love Fall though for a number of reasons..I love all the colours on the trees, I love the clothes for Fall as I’m really not a summer clothing person! I love all the vegetables that are in season too. But I really don’t like being cold and wet :( And I am going to miss a lot of summer foods like berries and peaches..
    Gosh your recipes recently have been truely inspiring as always!! I didn’t comment on your sweet potato falafel post and oh my goodness, they look totally yum! You’re so talented at making breads too..I really want to start making my own breads. Do you have any recipes for oven baked bread??
    Oh and that cheeseburger grilled between two grilled cheese sandwiches is just WRONG. It makes me feel slightly disgusted haha!! Definitely an illegal meal…

  29. I was just thinking the same thing about Overnight Oats! It was FREEZING this morning and, granted that I already had planned overnight oats the night before, I couldn’t even imagine eating hot oats today. I think when the snow hits or when it is pitch black out when I wake up it will change my mind

    **Love the fritters girl. You are SO creative!

  30. Hey, I’ve been reading for a while, so I thought I’d finally post.
    I know how you feel with the ridiculous weather, it is still ‘summer’ here, but we are currently experiencing high wind speeds and rain that has a certain monsoon effect to it. Paired with some grey clouds and you have British summer! I think I love it deep down though, minus the just drying out from one rain-attack and suddenly finding myself soaked.
    We have a serious overload of zucchini at the moment, thanks for the creative recipe :)
    Sophie x

  31. I’m just about ready to eat hot oats for breakfast too. Not liking this cold and rain in Western Mass either (though I have to say, going for a run in the rain is really refreshing). I hadn’t had tea in ages, until yesterday, and I might make myself a cup of hot cocoa tonight. And it’s still August!

    That cheeseburger/grilled cheese meal is disgusting. When will places realize they need to stop making such enormous meals?

  32. Jen

    Not sure why, but frigers is making me giggle so hard my kids are wondering what’s wrong with me!!


  33. I love dates and peanut butter-I need to try pb on figs! Stuffing the dates with nuts is such a great idea, thanks!

  34. Pingback: Revelations | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

