I’m Afraid

Last night, I hit a wall at 8:30. This morning, I found myself pulling my eyelids apart at…7:54?!

On the Menu for Breakfast? Carrot Cake Oats!

Ah, yes – now I think I’m good and caught up! It’s amazing what 11 hours can do for you πŸ˜‰

While at first I had a mini freak-out because the world was surely going to end when I didn’t leave at 8:30 for the barn (insert eye-roll here) I realized it wasn’t a big deal, and was glad to feel so refreshed.

So – if I’m going to be late anyways, why not just enjoy it?! Carrot Cake Waffles are too few and far between – and I knew they were just what I wanted this morning πŸ˜‰

Carrot Cake Waffles

  • 1/4 c. oats – quick or rolled
  • 1 T. wheat bran
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • 1 T. (heaping) WW flour
  • 1 c. puffed millet
  • 3/4s of a large carrot, grated
  • baking powder
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. nutmeg
  • 1/8 t. ginger

[combine in bowl, and add:]

  • 1 T. milled flax (mixed with 3 T. water and set aside to thicken)
  • 1/3 c. almond milk
  • 1/8 c. vanilla chobani

I topped them with the majority of a banana, the rest of the grated carrot, and some raisins that I nuked with some maple syrup for a few seconds. Poured over some Organic Valley Vanilla Yogurt and sprinkled on some pecans and chia seeds for good measure πŸ™‚

The yogurt was a little too runny – but I didn’t feel like letting it sit with the chia seeds this morning. But – it would be perfect after that, and easier than mixing greek yogurt, milk, and chia seeds for my “icing” πŸ˜‰

My new favorite snack - dates with almonds (almonds that I keep at the barn). Or - a deconstructed Larabar!

These dates are easily the best I’ve ever had. I’ve been getting organic ones from the co-op, and they are so much bigger, softer, chewier, and not as sweet as the ones from Hannafords. You know how dates can be too sweet? These ones have a wonderful mellow sweetness to them, if you will.

Not only that, but they are such. good. snacks. I had some (stuffed with almonds) while working with Teddie, and even though I didn’t get home until 12:30 (I would normally be hungry by noon – of course, breakfast was later!) I wasn’t hungry in the least.

Speaking of the devil – Teddie was lovely today. We’ve moved from being a bronc pony to being a freight-train. We’re working on it, but since he’s been very agreeable and otherwise really, really good lately, I’m not too worried about not being able to stop him sometimes. heh. Of course, probably wasn’t the brightest idea I’ve ever had to take him to the outdoor (after some indoor bendy/collection/transition/hello I’m up here work) under these circumstances. Call me brave, crazy, or stupid. I’m still not sure which – but he did try to save us from the pony-and-rider eating roundbales that were down there. I am thankful that he a.) has a good pully rein and b.) when he’s scared out of his pants he just launches forward and spins rather than bolting and saying “see ya later, you’re on your own.”

So anyways, I decided to do someΒ cooking/baking until I got hungry for lunch once I was home. I made part of dinner – which you will soon see, and another loaf of bread.

Uhh, apparently substituting oatmeal for 1/2 c. of bread flour is a cardinal sin, and this is what I wound up with:

uhhh...yeah...one thing I WILL enjoy about cooler weather is the ability to go back to cooking and baking with a real oven!

I went with the triple wheat bread with the aforementioned substitution. Luckily, it doesn’t taste bad at all, but…it’s going to be a PITA to make a sandwich with, that’s for sure!

Speaking of being a PITA to make sandwiches with – I had a deconstructed sandwich with the last two slices of the honey oat bread I made.

Yellow and red tomatoes mixed with olive oil & balsamic, fresh basil, salt & pepper, and smoked mozzarella chunks. Honey oat bread toasted and spread with garlic hummus.

Naturally, a green monster was the perfect companion.

Confession: Up until now, I’ve never bothered with ice or frozen fruit, since my blender can’t do ice and I don’t usually have frozen fruit. I didn’t have many options today other than to use the last of a bag of frozen berry mix, and I just loved the chill factor!

Blended: Spinach, frozen berries, vanilla chobani, almond milk, oats, and dates. On top: Organic Valley Vanilla Yogurt, wheat germ peanut butter, marcona almonds, and dried berries.

And I had fun pouring a design into it, of course – next time I’ll have to actually get creative πŸ˜‰

The afternoon was spent cleaning out the horses and ponies, and working with the ponies when my mom got home. And a visit from UPS! My second of the day – the first was when I was finishing up with Teddie…I had to sign for the package, too, and the man was too afraid of him to get close enough! I admit that horses aren’t a silly fear to have – I mean, it’s logical enough! But I’m just usually around horse lovers, and everyone sees Teddie and about melts at his cuteness…so when this big, muscular man was afraid to take another step so I could sign, I found it sort of endearing. I’m not saying I immediately hatched a crush and want to marry the dude, but it was just this cute little “I…I’m afraid.” after I said Teddie wouldn’t do anything. Sort of sad…here I am, a girl much smaller with a small [and adorable] pony, and he didn’t want to pet him 😦

I can’t say too much – I’m a wuss, too.

Anyways.

Kuzi over at Kroeger Herb contacted me recently, wondering if I would be interested in trying some of their products as well as hosting a giveaway! (so – stay tuned!) I got lost on their web page browsing all the herbal health supplements, concentrates, oils, etc. There is so much information!

I don’t often rely on supplements and try to get what I need through food, but find the herbal ones quite interesting! In fact, I’ve even got Teddie on raspberry leaves! They’re supposed to…uh…help with his thinking that he is “more of a man” than he really is πŸ˜‰ I was sent Healthy Gut, Garlic, and Kava Kava.

Healthy Gut is “a strategic combination of herbs that works in conjunction with the body’s systems and intestines to promote a healthy, strong and balanced digestive system and a proper pH.Β  Provides soothing action for a hot gut, helps maintain proper absorption and supports the natural detoxification process.”

Garlic is said to be good for the heart and immune system, and Kava Kava is a calming/muscular supplement. I think one of the interesting things about herbal stuff is that some people might swear by it, and others may say it’s a bunch of bologna – that the effects are imaginary. And of course, as with everything, there are potential side effects. Do your research πŸ˜‰Β Based on mine- the main thing garlic pills are good for is with helping to control cholesterol. And Kava Kava? Well, I certainly found some interesting info, but it tends to be used to lessen anxiety and insomnia.

Entirely unrelated (sort of…it’s still about garlic, though!!) – did you know that some people react to garlic with pain?! My boss always said garlic didn’t sit well with him – and I always felt bad because I love the stuff. But, the same pain-sensing nerves that our bodies use to react to chili-peppers and hot foods like wasabi is what senses garlic, too. The reason some people may sense the “pain” but not others is because the nerves that respond to the garlic are only a portion of the ones that respond to hot peppers.

Do you or have you taken any herbal remedies or supplements?

Moving on.

Yes, yes – onto dinner. and a great one it was! One of my mom’s co-workers brought in a huuuuge spaghetti squash for us. It made the tiny teeny ones we’re growing look even more pathetic 😦 This big bowl was just 1/4 of it!!

I made beanballs to go with it (and did something wrong once again while cooking – I don’t think I added enough VWG? They taste lovely, but they are much mushier) as well as had a slice of bread. For the squash, though, I sauteed a clove of garlic, a tomato, spinach, fresh basil and snap peas in a bit of sesame dressing (sesame oil, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar) and once it was heated through mixed in some smoked mozzarella chunks.

And unpictured ear of corn was also consumed, but I wasn’t sure how many more corn-on-the-cob pictures you guys could take. Just so you know, there will be more tomorrow πŸ˜‰

26 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health food, healthy living, lunch

26 responses to “I’m Afraid

  1. I’m “afraid” of horses as well. It’s not a huge fear, but the fact that their calves and legs are bigger than my body is sort of intimidating. I get nervous when I’m around them at my friend’s house (his Mom raises them for show).

    I’ve never taken any herbal stuff myself but my Grandpa is crazy into it and would rather take them than prescription medicine. He says it helps but I’m not too sure if I could take his word for it. πŸ˜‰

    (On a side note, I’ve been wanting to make your cashew-carrot curry spread for ages now, seeing as it looks like a great sandwich filler, but I wanted to ask if I should use raw cashews or roasted? I didn’t know what you intended to stand out more flavor-wise and when I follow a recipe for the first time I try to replicate what the author’s intention was. Thanks!)

  2. … I love how you have Teddie in such a soft bit despite him being a bit strong sometimes. If there’s one thing I hate, it’s when a rider shoves a pelham in their horses mouth to try and slow them down. Not cool.

    I’ve actually taken some ‘deconstructed larabars’ to work with me on occasion as well… so much less time consuming than actually making a bar! Plus, I like it when I get to chew some different textures now and then πŸ˜› Unfortunately, the dates I have right now fall into the ‘too sweet’ catagory that you were talking about…

    I’ve never taken any supplements like that… I do take calcium sometimes but not really anything else. I have heard that garlic is wonderful for the immune system though πŸ™‚

    ❀ Tat

  3. I love that picture of your pony kisses. Teddie is too. darn. cute, and I can’t imagine how anyone could be afraid of him. But then again, it’s always the cute ones you that have to watch out for πŸ˜‰

    I’m not big on mainstream medicine, but the herbal stuff has always interested me. My mom was really into it while I was growing up, so I guess that’s where my interest stems from… I remember her curing many of my colds and flus with garlic and other equally stinky herbal remedies πŸ˜‰ That being said, the only supplement I take now is vitamin B and calcium, and then occasionally I’ll take some valerian root if I’m having issues with stress or insomnia. I don’t know if it actually works of if it’s just a placebo kind of deal, but I find it helps most of the time.

  4. Dee

    I think you killed me with those carrot cake waffles. *thump*

    Yep… You did. Just felt my non-pulse. πŸ˜›

    LOL!

  5. Ok, I want to try those supplements. I am all about some healthy gut! We were talking about fears today. Jay’s teacher is putting fun facts on the board for them and one of them was the word for the fear of peanut butter getting stuck to the roof of your mouth. I definitely do not have that fear. Mine is of snakes! I am totally in love with horses though. Oh and cows! Enjoy your evening!

  6. So happy to hear how well Teddie is doing – he really is coming along. He is just too cute – i can’t see how anyone would not fall in love with him instantly!!!
    I myself do not take any herbal supplements but have heard that many people use them with good results. I really try not to take any medicine at all – i do like the idea of alternative medicine and more natural supplements – i find it to be very interesting!!

  7. Mo

    Teddie is just too cute! ❀

    It's interesting to know that those dates aren't as sweet. I can't eat dates just by themselves; I need something to offset the sweetness otherwise I feel like I might as well have just eaten a spoonful of cake frosting!

    Herbal supplements are interesting but like you I'm kind of wary of them because I get that kind of stuff through eating nutritious foods already, so I'd feel like I was wasting my money. πŸ˜› But that's cool; the kava kava thingy especially sounds interesting!

  8. teenagehealthfreak

    i’m going to have to try that almond stuffing date thing…i’ve got a load that i don’t know what to do with…honestly..they’re just too sweet. i guess i didn’t get a good kind. ehh. your gm is beautiful..as those waffles. and of course Teddie rocks the page! πŸ™‚

  9. I don’t take any herbal supplements…but I did take a tinctura for a few months when I was having anxiety problems. I picked it up at a local apothecary and it did wonders! I’m glad you caught up on your sleep and had a good day with Teddie. I’m sure those delicious carrot cake waffles helped get your good day going!

  10. carrot + oats combos baked/waffled: heaven. I’m pretty sure your carrot oat waffles and my carrot oat cookies could be best friends! Your green monster almost looks like it’s in a bread loaf pan, and it inspired me to add boat-loads of spinach to a batch of bread-making ingredients and see if a green loaf will come out. Hmm.. if only the hubby wouldn’t be turned off by it!

    Hope you have an awesome start to your weekend! πŸ™‚

  11. I want carrot and banana breakfast! I’m definitely trying that. Love your UPS man too πŸ™‚

  12. Who takes all these gorgeous Teddie/you pics!? I am so jealous!! I would love some of Chika and I like that…if you ever fancy a trip to England to do a photoshoot, you know who to call πŸ˜›
    Oh yes, I heard that pain thing too! Thank GOODNESS I don’t get that with garlic – I have about 6 cloves a day! Chika has it too – it keeps the flies away:)
    I reckon that alot of herb stuff probably doesn’t technically work, but has a placebo effect, which IMHO is just as good – so I think we should use herbs if we believe in them!

    lol at the delivery guy..too funny! I’ve had that once when i was leading C in – the guy wouldn’t come close, but I couldn’t just drop the reins, so I had her hanging off the end while I was at full stretch capacity to sign…so annoying!

  13. Teddie + You = LOVE!!! seriously, you guys are too cute :-p

    those waffles look delish as usual! since reading your blog i keep meaning to make some, but i dont have a waffle maker…. yours look so good i think id be disappointed if i attempted a recreation!

    I never knew some people feel pain from garlic, thats so strange. im a BIGtime garlic lover, im working my way thru a big batch of french garlic that i brought back from my holiday (boy do those french know theyre garlic!!!) im sure im not doing my social life any favours, but what can i say?! its too good to resist….!

    I dont use many herbal remedies, but i fully believe that certain homeopathic medecines like arnica, have brilliant healing properties…. id much rather try something natural before resorting to conventional pharmaceutical drugs.

    Its weird how some weaknesses can be attractive! i helped a guy who was lost recently and there was something so sweet about his vulnerability… i guess its nice to be the strong capable one sometimes! πŸ™‚
    xxx

  14. hey girl – had to chime in on the food/pain issues πŸ™‚

    a few foods are actually pretty well known to contribute to pain disturbances – mainly nightshade veggies (eggplants, tomatoes, etc), onions, and garlic, to name a few. if you’re interested, google “inflammatory foods” and see what comes up! most of them are no brainers, like hydrogenated oils and fatty foods, but if you feel you are sensitive, check it out!

    big hugs πŸ™‚

  15. Teddie is too cute. And he looks so well-loved and happy. πŸ˜€

    I was out cold last night at an early hour too! And I woke up feeling so refreshed and energized. Love that feeling. πŸ˜€

  16. I skip the coconut oil and use olive on the carrot oat cookies πŸ™‚ And Heidi mentions playing with lemon zest, too, which I imagine would taste fantaaastico!

  17. That sounds like such a glorious sleep! I always freak out if I wake up later than normal too because it totally throws off my “schedule”. But I guess it’s worth it to get some extra zzz’s!

    I’ve never taken any herbal supplements, but my friend swears by them. I definitely believe they could work, since herbs have been shown to have certain therapeutic properties. And I like the idea of putting herbs into my body rather than drugs!

  18. Wow that Carrot cake oats look unreal!!!
    As a HUGE fan of corn, can’t wait to see it again!! : ) have a goooood day!!

  19. Michelle

    I take so many supplements, but each has their own reason.

    A mulitvitamin just in case I’m low on something.
    Calcium because I get really bad calf cramps that wake me up at 4 in the morning because of a lack of calcium.
    Fish oil because I don’t really eat fish! I just never have loved the taste. So in addition to a bit of flaxseed meal that I eat with oatmeal, I take this for some Omega 3’s
    Melatonin–only when needed. Sometimes I truly can’t sleep.

  20. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award & Aladdin’s Lovin « Earth Muffin β™₯

  21. Whoa you must have really needed the sleep!! Must have felt fannntastic, too! πŸ™‚ Glad to heard Teddie’s been so great lately. Maybe he’s learning to love the work since you two are spedning so much time together. Bonding works magic with horses..or all animals, really. πŸ™‚

    Love the homemade bread! My mom and I used to make homemade bread together all the time but it’s been a few years.

  22. Pingback: Revelations | Healthy Exposures

  23. Congrats!! Chobani linked to your post on their facebook profile – you’re famous ;-). Oh, and I enjoyed your story of the UPS man.

  24. Pingback: Featured Blogger: Healthy [Delicious, Beautiful] Exposures « Chobani

Leave a Reply

