If You Knew Me…

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that for the first time in ages, I hit the “snooze” button on my alarm clock cell phone three times this morning. Getting up and taking Teddie for a light hack was not happening.

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I actually grunted a little rolling out of bed…man, was I sore/tight from yesterday.

Breakfast: Overnight Oats. My mix usually contains 1/3 c. quick oats, 1/2 c. almond milk, 1 t. chia seeds, trail power, and cinnamon - depending on the flavor I'm going for πŸ˜‰

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I always feed the animals before I feed myself.

If you knew me in real life, you probably wouldn’t know that I tend to drool a little when I sleep – but I do.

I was feeling the tropical-esque vibe, so topped them with wheat germ, a peach, half a banana, coconut, and cashews.

If you knew me in real life, you’d know I don’t spend hours choosing what to wear or how to do my hair every day. In fact, I’ve got a streamlined process that involves just ten or so minutes of my time.

I tend to go through phases, as you can see - and once I remember a long lost love, I simply can't get enough of it for a couple of days. Case in point: coconut.

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I tend to look sort of angry when I am concentrating/working. It’s just the way my face goes! I can’t help it…

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that the only show I watch on TV completely attentively is Two and a Half Men and the nightly news. Everything else is mainly background noise – even cooking shows! Actually – I find Man Vs. Food pretty fascinating sometimes – so three.

I am not a "lemon lover." No lemon squares, cheesecake, cookies, sorbet - nada! So it surprises even myself that the lemon bar Larabar is probably in my top five flavors.

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I forgive all too easily, and yet dwell all too easily, too. I blame myself to often for things that aren’t entirely my fault, and tend to feel guilt pretty easily.

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I am always paranoid about other drivers not paying attention. I don’t scare myself behind the wheel as much as the other drivers do.

You knew this was coming! Smoked mozzarella, garden plum tomatoes, basil, and balsamic

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I’ve gone to tonnnns of concerts, mainly back when I was a “hardcore” fan. There were muuullltiple times when I thought I was surely not going to make it home without some sort of maimed body part from the pit, but miraculously – never. On another note – if you knew me in real life, you’d know I’ve never broken any bones (knock on wood!)

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that the only two times I’ve been pulled over by a cop is when I wasn’t even really speeding or being a bad driver – once because I crossed the yellow line (supposedly – I don’t think I did, and i I did – only by inches. But, it was past midnight on a thirsty Thursday – cops were just looking for drunk college kids. He just found college kids.) and once in the same scenario, but instead I was going the speed limit he just didn’t realize it had changed πŸ˜›

This wasn't as gross as it looks. Plain Chobani, a white flesh nectarine, honey, and coconut.

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I’m sort of a wuss. The flying fear is one example – but so is being out in a thunderstorm, boats, swimming in big lakes, and things that go bump in the night.

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I’m a reeaallly slooooww eater.

Banana and chunks of energy.

If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I am not a kid person. If someone wants me to watch their kid for a second while they run to the bathroom or something, I freak out a little bit inside.

If you knew me in real life, then you probably wouldn’t actually know any of this! I tend to be pretty quiet and reserved, and was always the shy kid in class. I preferred smaller parties/get-togethers and doing things with a few close friends rather than a large group. I am still like that.

The other half of last nights dinner πŸ˜‰

If you knew me in real life, you would know that I am super-neat and organized and “everything must be perfect” about some things – and really messy about others. For instance…my room? my bathroom? my car? a mess. My food cabinets? My horse stuff? My photos? immaculate. Although when I get to organizing something that is unorganized – I make sure I do it right! Right down to vacuuming every nook and cranny πŸ˜‰

I forgot to snap a picture until after the dirty work was done πŸ˜‰

And if you knew me in real life, you’d probably have no idea that I have a food blog – and that it’s changed me for the better.

…if I knew you in real life, I’d know that….?

33 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

33 responses to “If You Knew Me…

  1. that was so fun reading all about you! i really can’t imagine you going to concerts since you seem so laid-back (through your blog :)).

    if you knew me in real life, you’d know that whenever someone calls my name i always have a “surprised” look with my eyes opened sooo wide (they scare my friends sometimes..haha)

  2. Mo

    Awesome post! One thing that especially resonated with me is the part about being the shy one in class and preferring small get-togethers to large parties and things like that. That’s me, exactly. πŸ˜› I’m actually really outgoing when I’m with people I’m comfortable with but in a class or a group where there are a lot of people I don’t know that well, I’m a little hermit. XD Oh, and the one where not a lot of people who know you in real life know you have a blog. I think I’ve told my immediate family and one of my friends. The rest have no clue. πŸ˜‰

    Hmmm… after much deliberation I can’t come up with anything interesting for an “if you knew me”. 😦

  3. So nice to learn a few things about others, it makes you feel more connected and strengthens friendships. πŸ™‚

    I really dislike the term “in real life” because I’m pretty sure I know you (not personally, but you get the idea) and I’m pretty sure this life I’m living is real, thus I know you “in real life.” I don’t like to think that distance makes or breaks a friendship – it most certainly can depending on the situation, but I don’t think never meeting someone in person yet enjoying their company over the internet makes them any more or less of a friend.

    I’m not really a kid person either, and I clarified that with my summer job, haha. I’m afraid to hold baby animals let alone a baby human, I’m always scared I’m going to hurt them on accident.

    And you say you were a “hardcore” fan? What kind of music did you used to listen to and what do you enjoy now? I like pretty much all kinds of music, except for polka, but my favorites include classic rock, metal and easy listening (think: Journey, A7X and Enya, haha).

  4. That was so clever! Ha, people probably wouldn’t know that I have a food blog either. I’m exactly the same with regards to being SUPER SHY and take a while to warm up to people. Some people in my classes don’t even know I exist! I’m also the same with being a super neat freak with some aspects, then sloppy with others.
    Great post!

  5. You’re amazing! But, truly, if I knew you in real life, I’d probably just eat all your food. Corn on the cob after math: classic shot, 10 points! Love your only TV watching, so much better than wasting away hours in front of the tube. Less is more, I say.

    If you knew me in real life… you’d know that I used to paint on everything in high school. My shoes, my backpack, my t-shirts, my notebooks, even my steering wheel! Hardcore, walking piece of art. I loooved it! I moved on to my parent’s basement: the fireplace, every single wall, old wood furniture. Now? I stick to canvas πŸ™‚

    I have to jump on that eggplant fella reeaaal soon.

  6. What a great idea for a post – i love learning more about the “person behind the blog!!!” – its funny even though we’ve never met i feel like i know you already!!! i’ll have to think about something interesting about myself – right now im too tired!!!!! have a great Tuesday!!!!

  7. It was nice to learn a little bit more about you, Jess πŸ™‚ I always love coming across people who I seem to have a lot in common with. I’m extremely shy and reserved as well… I don’t have an easy time opening up to people, and have a hard time connecting with others in general; this usually makes me feel completely out of place in big social situations, so I tend to prefer hanging out with one or two really close friends over a big group of people. It’s strange, though, because I went through a hardcore partying phase in the past, and looking back, I barely recognize myself… I used to be out until 1 every night, and now I can’t even stay awake past 10:30… How times change πŸ˜‰

    And I also tend to blame myself for everything, and feel guilty over a lot of things that aren’t my fault. I have a hard time getting over things, but that’s usually because I really beat myself up for not doing things “right”… Time to stop hoggin’ all the credit for being a screw up, and let someone else share the blame as well πŸ˜‰

  8. I love your posts! I am really shy too! My kids are too. Sometimes I worry that people will think they are are rude since they don’t act like crazy kids. I am such a home body. I like quiet. I hate spur of the moment things…I need time to plan. I worry about EVERYTHING! I am so with you on being neat in some areas, but mess in others. Lately I have been overwhelmed by the other stuff. I really need to get my stuff together. Dang woman…you really brought it out of me tonight! I hope you are enjoying some rest!

  9. I could have written that second last one for myself… I am a complete slob in some respects, and obsessively organized in others.

    I absolutely adored this post, especially the honesty and sincerity. Sometimes I wonder if there is some type of ‘food blog gene’ that makes us all incredibly compatible… because I can relate to so many of these. Or perhaps it’s just horse people? Haha.

    I’m actually planning to make your stuffed eggplant with a zuccini base instead tomorrow night if all goes well πŸ˜‰
    ❀ Tat

  10. I enjoyed this post! Last photo = PHENOMENAL. πŸ™‚
    And I don’t like lemon anything either but maybe I should give the lemon lara a shot!

  11. teenagehealthfreak

    wow i loved this post!!! SOOO fun to read!! hmmm…i’d have to think…if you knew me in real life…you’d know that I am a worrier..i worry over ever little thing! wow…it’s amazing how…well like i keep my blog world seperate from my “real world”…it’s just easier that way!..some people have yet to understand.

  12. This is a great post πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing all that. Mouthwatering pics as usual…

    Whew, it took me forever not to fall into a panic-induced coma when somebody expected me to look after/communicate with their kid, hahaha. I think when you’re an only child or like me the last in a row of much older siblings, it just doesn’t come naturally.

    Oh, and I love it that you corrected the cop re. the speeding limit. Once, on bike, I got pulled over by the same cop twice in a week – yes, I live in a capital but it’s still a smaaaal city πŸ˜‰

  13. nic

    If you knew me in real life, You’d know that…
    ..we have so much in common that I freaked out a little bit reading all your “If you knew…”!!
    Don’t wanna read that much about “me” in one sitting! πŸ˜‰
    But…. YOU ARE AWESOME… me not so much!! πŸ˜‰

  14. LOVE this post! I’ve missed reading your blog πŸ™‚
    I got to say, I agree with pretty much every thing you wrote – small groups not large, messy room/car, but very neat cupboards, horse. Slow eater. Look angry when concentrating (/if I’m not smiling!). Shy. Never take long to pick what to wear or put make up on. HATE lemon flavour things! I don’t watch any TV shows other than ER – again, only as backgound noise!! Ummm…yeah, basically I agree with everything!!

    Gah i SOO wish you’d gone to the HLS!!

  15. ohh I loved reading this post, it is such a great was of telling people a bit about yourself, I feel like I know you now πŸ™‚
    I’ve very similar in how I am actually, like preferring small groups than big parties and stuff, and tv i very rarely watch it.
    I’ve not yet been pulled by the police, i’ve only passed like 2 months ago, but every time I see a cope car im pretty sure my heart misses a beat haha.
    I love the photos too all your eats look so yummy, so jealous you have Laras. England don’t have them it sucks.
    Love Jess xxx

  16. I loved this Jess! We are alike in many ways…many the drooling one πŸ˜‰ I am also shy in person before I get to know someone and I get pretty embarrassed when my sister tells people about the blog that I don’t know.

  17. That last picture of you and Teddy is absolutely gorgeous! What an awesome picture. πŸ˜€

    I love this post and I can relate with a lot of it. Like being scared of other drivers on the road. And preferring small, intimate gatherings of a few close friends vs. a large crowd. πŸ˜€

  18. Loved this post! Fun getting to know some stuff about you! We actually have a few things in common , I’m messy about somethings and neat about other aswell. My barn is definitely cleaner than my room! πŸ˜‰ I’m really shy aswell and I’m not good with little kids either, but my job kind of demands that I be haha
    If you knew me in real life you’d know that I’ve had the same group of friends since Grade 4, and we are all still super close πŸ™‚

  19. This was such an interesting post! I think I would be glad to know in real life πŸ™‚

    If I had to write a post like this, it would be very similar. Except for the “neat and organized” part maybe because I’m a complete maniac and everything in sight must be in perfect order or I can’t function.

  20. I loved learning more about you in this post! I could definitely relate to some things – especially about preferring small gatherings over large ones. I used to try so hard to be a social butterfly and go to large parties, but they always made me SO uncomfortable. And I have a crazy flying fear too. Death by plane crash? No thank you!

    If you knew me in real life, you’d know that
    … I am the worst at making decisions. I can spend ages in a grocery store deciding between two types of yogurt. And when it comes to bigger decisions, I’m just hopeless. πŸ˜›
    … My family makes fun of me for being book smart, but not street smart.
    … I have seen the Lord of the Rings movies an embarrassing number of times!

  21. Michelle

    Haha it’s fun getting to know you. Ugh. I got pulled over on valentines day when I was late to a yearbook meeting cause I’m obviously an awful person.

  22. I absolutely loved reading this post! We sound very similar in many ways, such as prefering small intimate gatherings over large crowds…and drooling a little while sleeping. πŸ˜‰

  23. Love this post!
    If you knew me in real life… you’d know I absolutely can’t make decisions, always over prepare for anything requiring preparation, and am really cranky in the morning if I wake up past 9am!

  24. Did you happen to see the “If You Knew Me” on MTV? I didn’t watch it, but my boyfriend told me about it and said it was really touching- kind nice that they’re getting away from the Real World I’m-a-whiny-baby junk lol

    Anyway, really awesome post! I like the one about feeding animals before feeding yourself. We were always taught that at the stables, too. It’s a good character trait if you think about it- putting others before yourself..especially animals since they’re usually viewed as “inferior”. Which isn’t true at all!

  25. What a wonderful post…I so enjoyed learning more about you, and I would be honored to know you in real life (because you are awesome) I want to meet you so badly! I also look angry when I’m working or concentrating, and I am right there with the forgiveness, guilt thing. I am working on it, and I know that you are too! I hope you have a lovely day!

  26. if you knew me you would know i actually SPRING out of bed. u’d know that im pretty hot headed and stubborn tho. i also MUST HAVE MY MUFFINS! and i will not accept the lady at the bakery to hand me a muffin without picking out THE BIGGEST ONE in the case! LOL

    xoxo

  27. I actually feel like I’ve gotten to know you so much better through this post. I’m the same kind of neat/organized person, I don’t give a second thought to my hair 90% of the time (I only blow dry if it’s socially unnacceptable or too cold to wear it wet) people think I’m pissed off when I’m concentrating, and up until very recently, I was always the shy kid. I feel like bloggers have a lot more than a passion for food in common πŸ™‚

    If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I’m way more impatient than I let on. I mask it well, but I’m constantly frustrated by the clock.

    Loved this- hope you’re having a great week so far!

  28. Very nice post :-). I especially love the final picture.
    I’m shy in real life too ;-).

  29. I love this, so cute! It is so interesting to read the things that make you unique.

    If you knew me in real life, you would know that I REALLY MISS RIDING, and hate moving for only one reason: it takes time to find a new stable!

  30. GREAT post! I have some very similar attributes in real life! Drool check Taking five minutes to get ready check. I think it’s funny too because I TOTALLY wanted the lemon zest Larabar yesterday and only had Key Lime so that was my afternoon snack instead. I know we are “bloggie” buddies but we always seem to be on the same brain wave haha! Take care Jess—and get some rest! Teddie would want you to :)!

  31. I was reading this and I kept thinking “me too!!!” Especially this: “If you knew me in real life, you’d know that I forgive all too easily, and yet dwell all too easily, too. I blame myself to often for things that aren’t entirely my fault, and tend to feel guilt pretty easily.” Girl. I couldn’t have said it better myself. And I apparantly walk around looking mad at the world. Hm.

  32. If you knew me in real life you’d know that I’ve been watching X-Files for the last few years, and am up to Season 8. Yes, I plan to watch the entire series.

    You’d also probably know that I like to go to sleep early, and wake up fairly early; daytime hours are my favorite.

Leave a Reply

