A Love Story

I enjoyed reading that I am not the only one savagely attacking my corn on the cob. I agree, though – getting all the kernels stuck in your teeth is frustrating! I have to stop after each bite to try to get the pesky stuff out from in between my teeth – I can’t stand the feeling for more than a minute!

It doesn’t keep me away for long, though – I was “cob free” today, but I don’t know how long that will last πŸ˜‰

I decided I needed to try Banana Bread Waffles again...

…but this time decided to try them with my original waffle recipe, rather than making them buckwheat. I missed my “normal” waffles!

Combine Dry:

  • 1/4 c. quick oats
  • 3/4 c. puffed grain cereal
  • 1 T. each: wheat bran, wheat germ, WW flour
  • 3/4 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. nutmeg
  • 1/8 t. ginger
  • baking powder

And Wet:

  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 T. milled flaxseed
  • 1/4 c. almond milk
  • 2 T. vanilla chobani

...and then together.

Next time, I would use a whole banana rather than half. I just happened to have half of one in my fridge from some cereal I had last night and wanted to finish it.

Like the buckwheat ones, these need to stay on the iron a bit longer than it tells you to, and make sure it’s well oiled. I opened the first one when it told me to, and half was on top, and half on bottom. I just closed it again for a few more minutes and it cooked and came off just fine, though.

I almost felt lost not having more banana to top these with - but finally decided a peach, some raisins, pecans, honey, and peanut butter icing would do.

Peanut Butter Icing:

  • 1 T. chunky p.b.
  • 1 T. vanilla chobani
  • 1 T. almond milk
  • 3/4 t. chia seeds

Just met the PB a bit first, and then stir all together! Let it sit a bit to thicken, though πŸ™‚

So, so good...

…and perfect fuel! I went right off to the barn. When I got there, I saw evidence of Teddie, but no immediate glance of the little devil.

First sign of mischief: his ears!

Yep…the little beast demolished his fly mask. No idea how he managed to completely rip the ears off of the rest of it, but I’m a little disappointed.

the remainder.

I mean, it was a really nice fly mask! It even had a nose guard which helped his little pink nose stay safe from the sun’s rays.

Oh, well. That wasn’t the only evidence of Teddie and I, though – I cleaned it up, but if I hadn’t – here’s what A would have seen when she did chores!

Teddie hair! Look how far he traveled.

I find this picture hilarious. After our ride, I let him graze a bit and thought it’d be a perfect time to pull his mane some more. He’s started really hating it if I just pull it in the crossties…but if there’s food in his mouth he doesn’t really care what’s going on. I think he thought I was a pesky fly at first, although as I was nearing completion he sort of picked his head up and turned to look at me. I’m pretty sure he was saying “I’m not stupid. I know what you’re doing, and I’d like you to stop. Thank you.” lol.

I love this.

We had another really good ride today. I think he’s back to his little old quirky self. He’s always had a little bit (at least) of an attitude, but I like the ones with a bit of sass πŸ˜‰ And I used my dressage saddle – what I had wondered if that was what had caused the problem. I decided to try it again now that we’ve had a couple of good rides, and just used it without a sheepskin halfpad. He was better than he was on Thursday, so maybe the half pad caused it to pinch him a bit. I still think it’s moreso attitude than anything, though – but I admit I am sort of a micro-manager when it comes to saddle fit. I want him to be 100% comfortable, so of course think a sheepskin half pad is necessary, even though I know that a saddle that fits well doesn’t need any extra padding. Sort of like a good shoe – it feels better when you’ve got your normal socks on, not thick heavy ones no matter if they’re sheepskin!

Afterwards, I went and cleaned the office and by the time I got home was starved. I’d ran out of the house before I remembered a snack. My “emergency car bar stash” currently consists primarily of Larabars, and I didn’t feel one was worth sacrificing πŸ˜‰

I've had this acai powder for a while now - but always forget to actually use it.

My mom moved some stuff around in the fridge, though, so this was nearly staring at me. I think I forgot about it for a while because acai has started popping up in tons of weight-loss pills.

Uh, yeah, that’s the last thing I want, thank you.

But it’s not so bad! It’s got tons of antioxidants, fiber, protein, and omegas! This sambazon powder isn’t an exctract and utilizes the whole fruit, too – so all of the health benefits are captured!

I used some today in my smiley smoothie!

In the blender:

The spoon test!

Okay, Amanda – I know this looks like it’s cheating and the sunflower butter is helping to support the spoon – but I promise it didn’t sink when it was just smoothie, too! Do I pass the test? πŸ˜› Gum-free power!!

I topped it with a huuuuuge monster date, honey roasted peanuts, wheat germ, and sunflower butter πŸ™‚

But it's not complete without a three-peat! Triple-wheat, garden tomatoes, smoked mozzarella, basil, and balsamic.

I know, I know. You guys are sick of seeing this. Unfortunately for you, I am not tired of eating this. And you will probably be seeing it again. Except…that was already the last of my triple-wheat bread. Luckily for me, I can smell another loaf baking as I type πŸ˜€

The afternoon consisted of going to a horse auction with my mom. Yes, the same one we always go to. The tack is always the same, and it’s gotten really boring. But…the people watching aspect is worth it. It’s sort of horrendous. Oh, and I like to look at the horses. No, no – we are not looking for more! hah.

Even though lunch stuffed me to the gills - I had a hankering for some banana bread with peanut butter and honey. I think I always have that hankering, however.

Even though lunch stuffed me to the gills - I had a hankering for some banana bread with peanut butter and honey. I think I always have that hankering, however.

And I grabbed a Luna Cookie to tide me over. And I am very glad I had it, even though it didn’t do much for my hunger.

Basically a Z-Bar. On clearance months ago for 68 cents! It was hiding when I thought I had polished off the last of my many-ingredients bars. NOW I'm done!

That being said – the auction went a bit late and I got right to work in the kitchen when I walked in.

I found this gem on clearance AND had a $1 off coupon months ago - I think I paid less than $1! For some reason, I am just now breaking into it.

Ironically, I am not a spaghetti person. I know that sounds strange since pasta is pasta, right? But I just don’t care for spaghetti or angel hair. Linguini is fine, though, as is any other shape. Maybe it’s just how you have to eat it? I don’t know.

But when I saw that when they said whole grain spaghetti, they really meant whole grain spaghetti, I had to pounce.

But there was no other shape option in this Racconto pasta, so I sucked it up. In fact, this was the last one on the shelf, and it was just sort of thrown randomly in with the other pastas. I don’t even know why it caught my eye, as I was just driving (hah…driving. driving my cart) down the aisles and there it was.

Is this reminding anybody of some romantic movie? Love at first sight or something?

Throw in some mozzarella, fresh garden tomatoes, and basil - and it's even more of a love story!

To wrap up my love story, while I can’t say I’m sold on spaghetti, I do love this Racconto product. For all those whole grains, a normal person would probably think it would have to taste like cardboard, but that is far from the truth. For my meal, I prepared it as instructed and then tossed it with smoked mozzarella, fresh garden tomatoes, roasted broccoli, olive oil, and garlic. I also had a chickpea cutlet on the side, and topped it with fresh basil.

Sounds like a party to me!

Do you have any favorite sort of pasta shape? Do you have irrational food quirks like mine? I mean – I know if this was in ziti form it would be the same thing, but I would have so much more fun eating it πŸ˜›

23 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health food, lunch, recipe

23 responses to “A Love Story

  1. I have tons of irrational food quirks – most of which I’m trying to over come, such as:
    I don’t like to eat more than 1 banana per day because I feel like I’m neglecting other fruits and they taste so good that there has to be something bad about it.
    I try to balance all of my food groups throughout the day, if I notice I haven’t had a lot of veggies, I pile my next meal full of them (sometimes it gets bothersome as it changes what I’m going to eat all day long)
    I try not to eat too many of one food and try to make everything widely varied throughout the day.

    One that I’m not really working to change, that just happens is that my meals/snacks tend to follow a sweet/savory pattern throughout the day. I eat something sweet, something savory for my next meal / snack follows.

    Nice deal on the spaghetti, by the way. I’m not a pasta fan at all myself but when I do have it I like the 100% whole grain stuff and that looks like one heck of an ingredient list.

    Also, do a couple of waffles with toppings really keep you full? I find that French toast, pancakes and waffles don’t really do much for me and always leave me wanting more, haha.

  2. Hehe I can’t tell you how many times I’ve found “evidence” of my animals before actually finding them… and then they look so cute and innocent when you do finally find them, that you forget that you’re actually supposed to be kind of mad at them. Buggers. And speaking of buggers…

    … yay for gum free smoothies! You’re def. looks like it passes the floating-spoon test πŸ™‚ We need to start a gum-free group or something; that stuff is just everywhere these days, and I’m not sure that a lot of people know about the side-effects…

    It’s funny; I almost had pasta for dinner tonight but all we had was spaghetti noodles… I’m not a big fan of them either (I like fettucine, fussili, and bow tie pasta), so I decided to just make pizza instead. Either way, Italian was on the menu πŸ™‚

  3. I love the photo of you and Teddy – adorable! I usually buy penne or fusili noodles instead of fettucini, spaghetti etc as I am a messy eater as is. I find spaghetti noodles are the messiest!

  4. I will never tire of seeing such cute pictures of Teddie!!! I can’t get enough!!
    Lovely eats from today – i thought of you at dinner – i again had corn on the cob!!!
    My favorite kind of pasta is definately whole wheat and my favorite shape – i like fettucine, spaghetti and fusilli!!! Pasta with fresh basil, oregano and fresh tomatoes is wonderful during the summer
    have a great weekend!! xo aimee

  5. Rayne completely ripped one of the ears out of her fly mask the other day too!… now she just has one protected ear, haha.

    I have a similar pasta quirk.. although it’s not spaghetti at all, it’s elbow macaroni. I just don’t like the idea of those little noodles when I compare them to long ones that you can slurp up πŸ™‚

    ❀ Tat

  6. teenagehealthfreak

    I really don’t have pasta that often..so I don’t know my fave..but I like the thin noodles! i would say i’m more of a grainy type gal…oh wait..i like lasagna…but really the noodles don’t make me swoon over it. ha ha
    I love the teddie pictures again! yeah..it’s amazing what horses can do when they are bored….

  7. I love little elbow macaronis! its the only kind i eat! or the little swirly or bow tie ones, there so good! long thin noodles can be boring to eat, although when i was a kid we used to see who could “slirp” there noodle into their mouth the fastest! this would require a. tons of butter to make it easy to slide in your mouth b. a good 3 hours to eat dinner since we would fight over who finished fastest! who knew pasta could bring such good memories! you horse is so freaking beautiful i cant get over it! i saw horses today and it reminded me of you! (blogged about it haha) anyways, have a great night and your eats look amaaazing! just bought a new waffle iron so im definatly trying out your lovely waffles! ❀ Ashley
    chewingoncherries.wordpress.com

  8. Haha, I definitely showed my hubby the smilie in your green bowl of deliciousness! And love the spoon test, I hope mine can pass… That pasta’s ingredients look amazing! Never seen so many whole green grains in one bag o’ noodles. I’d be quite happy if those were hanging around my local grocery store. Oh pasta: please, please be there next time I need sghetti!

    I want acai powder. I wish things like those were free. or that I could find them randomly on the sidewalk, just waiting for someone to pick ’em up and take them home. Acai!

    have a great weekend!

  9. Spaghetti is probably my least favorite pasta shape, too. I loooove soba noodles, but I wish ‘they’ made buckwheat pasta in different shapes! I’m thisclose to trying to make my own… maybe ravioli!

  10. I am obsessed with your smiley smoothie! And I’ve never seen Luna’s cookies before!! Also I laughed at the fly mask picture because my horse alwayssss ripped his off too. How do they do it?! Little Houdinis!

  11. wow Jess—you have me craving banana bread…and MINT LUNA COOKIE say what!??! how have I never had that?!

    Hope you have an amazing weekend-food looks great as always!

  12. The Whole Foods in Austin has Alphabet shaped whole wheat pastas that I’m completely smitten with. And I need to find one of those Mint Luna Bars too! Wow…that sounds right up my alley. I loved that picture with you and Teddie!

  13. Mo

    Your smiley smoothie made me smile. πŸ˜›

    I personally don’t take into account too much the shape of pastas. But my sister’s favorite pasta shape is ziti and she claims it actually tastes better. Bizarre! I don’t really like spaghetti that much either because I feel like I’m chewing it more than I need to (since the noodles go down rather easily after a couple bites even though they’ve barely been broken down). That’s why I don’t like couscous too much either. πŸ˜‰

  14. Could Teddie BE any cuter?! You two are adorable πŸ™‚ I’ve heard all sorts of great things about acai. I’m still waiting for my next food splurge to try it! ❀ thick smoothies! Eating them in a bowl with a spoon like soft serve is the way to go! And I don't normally prefer spaghetti or linguini either! But that's a pretty awesome ingredients list.

    One food quirk I have is that I hate it when I finish eating my cereal (or even oats sometimes but it usually soaks it up) and I have milk leftover at the bottom of my bowl. I don't know why that irritates me but because of it I'm really OCD about the exact ratio of cereal to milk I put in my bowl!

  15. Hahaa Teddie is one cheeky stud muffin! I laughed so much reading this πŸ™‚ and the pictures are gorgeous by the way.
    I’ve never heard of acai powder, I don’t think there’s been much talk about it over here? Sounds interesting though, I’m going to look into it.
    Ohh and the Luna cookie looks yum! I love cookies for little snacks, they’re so handy and tasty!
    Hmm in terms of pasta, I’m not a massive pasta fan but I do love gnocchi! A little different to other pastas but I really like it..cute little balls they are quite satisfying! My favourite was this pumpkin gnocchi I had but I’d like to try sweet potato too. Otherwise for normal kind of pasta I’m not too fussed about the shape as long as it’s wholewheat. I find spaghetti a bugger to eat though – I have to cut it all up! I prefer individual pieces of pasta πŸ™‚

  16. Rachel

    I like penne or macaroni! Or really, simple spaghetti is fine too:) As long as it’s got the requisite tomato sauce:)

    You and Teddie look so darn adorable together! And your smoothie? WIN WIN WIN. πŸ˜€

    One quirk of mine is that I can’t stand lukewarm food!!!

  17. Oohhh I need to learn how to pass the spoon test without any gum! Like Amanda, xanthum gum doesn’t seem to sit well with my tummy, but I love how thick my smoothies become with them!

    I love rotelle pasta for some reason. I “dislike” eating the normal thin long spaghettis or angel hair πŸ˜€

  18. Gotta love the picture of you and the clever escapist-pony…:-)

  19. I don’t really like spaghetti either! It’s just so darn hard to eat. πŸ˜› I much prefer rotini and penne.

    Hehe it sounds like Teddie has been getting up to some mischief. It’s a good thing he’s so cute!

    I’m jealous of how thick your smoothies come out! Mine are always like water!

  20. I am not a pasta person that much anymore. I used to eat it all the time! Ok, I used to eat way too much before. Pasta shape is EVERYTHING! It is definitely between fettucini and ziti for my favorite shapes. The add ins make the pasta for me! Let’s get back to the waffle…YUM! I have a banana waiting for me to make a waffle with it! Have a great Sunday!

  21. Michelle

    I love when I get stuff for super cheap! I got an almond milk for free one time. Score.

    Linguini is my favorite, followed by spaghetti and angel hair. I guess I like the thick stuff.

  22. Love the picture of you and Teddie!

    My favorite pasta is shells or bow ties. I like pretty shapes πŸ™‚

  23. Pingback: Imyam Balwho? Or…Stuffed Eggplant. | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

