Back on Track.

So, today marked the first day of me being back on track. And I was successful.

What am I talking about? Well – I’ve realized that somewhere along the line, I stopped packing myself good lunches and snacks for work, and snacking during the day. It wasn’t a conscious restriction – but moreso, I’d be either too busy (if I was home/at the barn) and wasn’t really hungry. But – all this led to being hungry all night long. So last night, I paid extra attention to snacks and meals when I packed my lunch. No more “eh, I’m not too hungry, I’ll pass on snack.” No more “but I’m full with just a sandwich!” I’ve been more active lately, and ironically – less hungry. And since I get full really quickly and don’t like large meals anyways – I need to just be uncomfortable for a couple days until my body readjusts to what should be my normal intake.

And I started with a brand new (to me) breakfast!

Can anyone believe that up until today, I’d never tried a breakfast cookie? For some reason last night – I didn’t feel like making the typical overnight oats. Add to that, the fact that when I get stuck on one flavor variation (re: oatmeal raisin) I will see how many times I can have that flavor but in a different way.

And obviously, I couldn't just eat it plain.

My cookie contained:

  • 1/3 c. quick oats
  • 1 T. chunky peanut butter
  • 1 T. Bourbon Vanilla Tera’s Whey
  • generous pinch of cinnamon, pinch of nutmeg
  • ~1/2 sliced & mashed banana
  • raisins
  • 1/8 c. almond milk

Don't you want to dive in to that?

In the morning, I mixed together some vanilla chobani with almond milk and chia seeds and spooned it on top of the cookie – along with the rest of the banana, wheat germ, slow roasted pecans, and a drizzle of honey.

Verdict? It was a lovely change – but the first impression was that it was much softer than I thought it would be. My next thought was “this would be so good pan-fried like a pancake!” Thinking about it now, I think it would probably be too sticky for that, but it may well be worth a try 🙂 I’ll have to try freezing it for a few minutes before eating it, too.

Have you tried a breakfast cookie? What’s your favorite combo?

Morning snack: hardboiled egg, chunks of energy

I totally forgot about the hardboiled eggs my mom had boiled up this past weekend. Once I could finally get the durn thing peeled it made for a great snack! I can never get her to salt the water – makes them so much easier to peel.

Lunch today was heavenly, and I was very grateful for the gorgeous weather that blessed us all day long. I was able to enjoy it all while soaking in some rays, and miraculously – not melting at the same time!

First up: carrots with hummus

This was a whole lot of carrot. I left some (half?) that I’ll probably have on Friday. (the 13th – eek!!)

Next up: plain chobani, honey, white flesh nectarine, and the leftover "chia seed icing" from breakfast.

This lovely combo reminded me not to forget about plain chobani – with a drizzle of honey, it is just as lovely as the vanilla chobani I’ve been pounding through like crazy lately.

And not only that - but white flesh nectarines do not have words to describe how perfect they are.

Sorry I left you all hanging as to how the bread came out yesterday. I was on such a pony update roll that when I tried to weasel a verdict in there it just didn’t fit.

Main star: toasted homemade triple-wheat bread with peanut butter and almond-pear jelly.

My first impression last night (cut while it was still so hot it about burnt my hand, mind you) was that it was just okay. Afterwards, I had another slice – toasted with some jam.

And my opinion started to turn around.

I love this peanut butter - and it's pretty inexpensive, too!

And after this lunch? It’s pretty darn good bread, especially for me! Being the self-proclaimed bread snob that I am, I can’t say I would be head over heels for it without it being toasted or panini’d – but once that’s been done to it, it has a great taste and lovely texture. Yes, it’s dense and has a thick crust – but still moist and chewy. I did make a few small changes to the recipe (I was playing it safe, remember) so here is the recipe.

Triple-Wheat Bread – for the bread machine

for a 1-lb loaf. Add to machine in this order (or as your specific machine calls for)

  • 1 c. warm water
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 2 T. molasses
  • 3/4 t. salt
  • 1/2 c. bread flour
  • 3 T. bulgur wheat
  • 3 T. wheat bran
  • 3 T. oat bran
  • 3 T. wheat germ
  • 3 T. quick oats
  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 t. bread machine yeast

I couldn't decide what I wanted bar-wise, so I went for my very last "junk bar." Re: soy protein bar. I think this was my last!

Not saying these taste bad – but I am just watching my soy protein intake. These bars are actually pretty tasty. And crunchy. Heh…I wonder why they’re called tasty little crunchies? Okay, and I love that there are two to a pack. Because there was more surface area to spread peanut butter on. You know I had to.

Random side note: check the new grill!

Driving home, I had a dinner plan all set – but when I walked in the door and saw more corn on the cob, I gladly set them aside to be replaced by a repeat of last night since they didn’t quite mesh with corn on the cob.

Corn on the cob with butter, salt and parmesan (have you tried it yet?!)

Apparently, my mom is as obsessed as I am! This was a great ear, and the best part is that there’s one left for tomorrow 🙂

Corn sort of gets a bad rap since it is so starchy. You guys know I love my carbs, so that isn’t a huge turnoff to me – but in case you’re worried, don’t be! It is still full of nutrition. Not only has regular consumption of corn been associated with better cardiovascular healthy – but due to the thiamin content, it is also said to help aid in the metabolism of carbohydrates. Thiamin is also really good for your memory! Dang – maybe that’s why I’ve felt so sharp lately? 😉

and the last of my eggplant strata - over a portabella.

Anyone else see lasagna in the above picture instead of strata, or is that just me? 😛

Hope everyone else had a lovely day! I know mine ended on the right note – weedwacking (re: grazing the ponies 😛 )

30 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe

30 responses to “Back on Track.

  1. Weedwacking aka grazing the horses…love it!
    I find the more active I am/harder I work out, the less hungry – it’s so frustrating when you know you SHOULD eat more, but there’s no appetite..grr!
    Have a lovely 4days with the horses and so on anyway 🙂 I can’t wait to catch up when I gte back!! 🙂

  2. Your bread looks wonderful! It’s been awhile since I’ve pulled out my bread maker – I just have to pick up some molasses so I can whip up your loaf. I love sweet corn on the cob in the summer – such a great treat.

  3. I find that an increasein activity usually makes me LESS hungry too… butthen as soon as I start munching on something I get STARVING. Funny how that works, isn’t it? I still think it’s pretty awesome that you are being so responsible for your own thealth though .. props 😀

    I haven’t had a single cob this year! There’s loads of fresh stuff around but I seriously haven’t even thought about stopping to grab any!

    ❤ Tat

  4. Great post filled with so many yummy treats!!!! I still haven’t tried an oatmeal breakfast cookie – looks great – ill have to give it a try!!!
    Your bread looks amazing – i wish i had a bread maker so i could try making my own – it looks so much better than store bought bread and im sure it tastes amazing!!
    Love fresh corn on the cob this time of year – its actually the only time of year i eat corn. Much tastier than frozen corn. Perfect to pair with your eggplant strata.
    By the way – does salting the water really make a hard boiled egg easier to peel??? I never heard that – interesting tidbit!!!
    Have a great Thursday – xoxo aimee

  5. The breakfast cookie looks so good. I haven’t tried one either before. I think I will give this one a try. I like that it’s simple.

  6. My appetite disappears when I get more active as well. I’ve been finding that since I started working out, I don’t get physically hungry as often, but if I don’t make sure to eat enough anyways, I start experiencing the emotional/psychological symptoms of hunger. I get cranky, a little bit food obsessed, indecisive… and then I’ll go from being not hungry to absolutely ravenous in the span of 5 minutes. So yeah, I try to keep eating on a regular schedule 😉 And I’m glad to hear that you’re figuring out something that works for you as well.

    I’ve never tried a breakfast cookie, because I’m pretty satisfied with having my oatmeal in bowl form BUT, I do really love corn. I’ve been eating mostly the frozen variety, but I’m going to have to pick up some cobs from the stands that are popping up all over. Corn has always been one of my favorite veggies, and it makes me sad that it gets such a bad rap… like poor white potatoes 😦 But there’s still plenty of good to be found in both.

    Hope you’re having a great evening, Jess!

  7. The bread looks delicious! I haven’t tried the breakfast cookie because I am kind of a volume girl and I was afraid it would not fill me up. Also, I don’t have any vanilla protein powder and I don’t think the hemp would be great in it? I had my corn in the form of soup tonight! So good! Have a good night Jessica!

  8. that breakfast cookie looks good!

  9. Dee

    YAY go you for being back on track! 🙂

    ps. I love the carrots picture! the orange just POPS!

  10. I always find it VERY difficult to get back on track. Good for you 🙂 and that yogurt parfait looks fabulous 🙂 I also adore fresh fruit!

  11. i’m glad your bread worked out, looks good. that happens to me too..where i get sooo hungry at night…but i’m never hungry during the day…i eat just enough to fill me up. oh well..can’t say i don’t love the nightly oatmeal. 🙂 never had a b-fast cookie..looks pretty good though!

  12. I can relate to this so much, these past few weeks have been rough for me, but it is just the best feeling when you get back on track with your eating! Congrats!! Not only does it make you feel better physically, but emotionally too. And it’s quite yummy of course =)

  13. Michelle

    I LOVE breakfast cookies. I have a super early morning tomorrow, so I think I’m actually going to go downstairs and make one now 🙂

  14. This post was really encouraging. I sometimes struggle with eating enough during the day. I don’t feel hungry…and so I don’t eat as much as I should. As a result, I end up starving by night time and then my body gets out of whack. It was helpful to hear your perspective and determination. You always inspire me to live well and listen to my body!

  15. It may be your first breakfast cookie, but yours look better than any I have seen by far! Mmm…pan-fry it. You’re a genious! 🙂 You should definitely report back to us what that’s like.

    Ironically, I find myself less hungry when I’m more active too (sometimes). It could be that your body is so busy with everything else that it forgot about your tummy…haha. That was just a lame theory I pulled out of my butt.

  16. i agree the more active and busy i am the less hungry i get, i think the more “lazy” i am the hungrier i get idk? but it is so improtant to listen to your body and eat even if your not that hungry becasue your body needs fuel no matter what, and for me, its hard to get back on track with eating properly once i start to eat less etc….any ways!…that breakfast cookie looks amazing, i always love your toppings/add-in’s to your breakfasts! 🙂 i really can not believe i am a breakfast cookie virgin 😉 I have been wanting to make one for agess but never have lol idk why? i am going to get on this asap 😉 becasue yours looks soo good, as does all your eats!

    xx
    eliza

  17. I totally agree with Monet about how you inspire me to live well and look after my body. I find it hard to eat during the day and end up bulking up at dinner time because I’ve just been too busy to notice my hunger but you’ve shown that if we take time to focus on our health, we can change our habits that are not good for us including not eating enough to keep us fueled as in time it will catch up with us. You are an inspiration to everyone on how to look after yourself so thankyou 🙂
    I’ve never had a breakfast cookie..I’m scared it will go wrong because I’m not very experienced even with just oatmeal as I’m so boring and just have cereal! I really want to change..
    Ooh your bread looks so yum! There is nothing better than freshly baked bread..and the smell is my favourite smell in the world! I really want to bake some bread one day, I don’t have a breadmaker but I might try and find a recipe for the oven..

  18. Mmm I love corn on the cob! I’ve never heard of corn having a bad rap though. It’s almost as ridiculous as people being scared of bananas! 😛

    I’ve never tried a breakfast cookie for the same reason I’ve only made overnight oats once – I hate preparing my breakfast the night before haha.

  19. All your eats look so yummy, I could literally come and have any one of them right now. And the breakfast cookie wow, I have never had one myself so I really must try it because yours looked absolutely gorgeous.
    I know what you mean about the snack thing and not feeling hugary, i try to eat little and often it keeps the metabolism up but you then dont feel full from just one meal.
    Im glad ive found your blog you seem lovely. 🙂 thank you for the comment on my blog aswell. 🙂

    Love Jess xxx

  20. i’ve never made a breakfast cookie either! need to try soon.

    mmm pumpkin flax bar — makes me think of fall. i’m so ready!

  21. wow i can relate as well! ive been snacking lightly during the day and then hungry at night because of it. ive forced myself to have bigger meals earlier on but sometimes its so hard because i really dont want it.. yet i know i’ll just be making up for it at night if i dont. thankfully i woke up yesterday really hungry for breakfast, it was a welcomed sign 🙂

    i wanna make a breakfast cookie too!! ❤

  22. When I posted yesterday about chia seeds, I of course had you in the back of my mind…I KNOW that your blog is the one to go to for chia seeds ideas. 🙂

  23. Oh my! That breakfast cookie looks delicious! I envy your day of glorious foods!

    xoxo
    Maggie

    mybreakfastblog.com

  24. It seems like everybody lately has been posting about breakfast cookies. Like Amanda said, I prefer my oats in a bowl, so I haven’t tried this yet, but maybe I will someday.

    My appetite seems to change depending on the season, and exercise. I’m usually more active in the summer, but have less of an appetite. But when I’m active in the winter (skiing, showshoeing), I have a ravenous appetite. It makes me think my body responds more to the temperature than activity.

  25. I LOVE breakfast cookies , my go to combo is a 1/3cup mix of quick oats & steel cut oats, 1/2 a mashed naner, pb, almonds ,raisins, cinnamon and a bit of water then another half a banana sliced on top and sugar free syrup added in the morning 🙂
    I’m the same way in regards to activity level & appetite. I find it decreases so much the more im moving around!

  26. I’ve had a breakfast cookie once and added some chocolate protein powder to the mix. It tasted *exactly* like a no-bake PB and chocolate cookie. Which is essentially what it was, but without all the butter and sugar. 😛 I love it..the only problem is it wasn’t volumous enough so it didnt really work to keep me full. It was nice to change it up a bit, though.

  27. All of your snacks look great! Especially those energy chunks. At work I always pack tons of snacks or else dinnertime rolls around and I can literally eat every item in my pantry. I would even crave things I barely like! So snacks it was for me. Beautiful bread too!!

  28. oh my gooosh that eggplant lasagna/strata/creation looks so delicious! I used to make eggplant lasagna every other week, it was a hubby/wife favorite, and I miss it so. I will bring it back, for sure.

    Haha, when I saw the bfast cookie I laughed in me chair. It looks so yummy, for real. But I have never tried ’em either, and was just on fitnessista’s blog and thought of making one for tomorrow since my quinoa bfast has been eaten up. But, I really miss my oats, so I might just overnight those guys and save the bfast cookie for another day as a.. snack 🙂

    By the way, your drizzle of honey looks pretty pro.

  29. Pingback: Imyam Balwho? Or…Stuffed Eggplant. | Healthy Exposures

  30. Lexi

    Hey there 🙂

    I just found your blog via another blog; it looks wonderful!

    A few quick questions…

    1) By bulgur wheat, I’m assuming you mean plain ole whole bulugr and not some sort of flour, right?

    2) Is bread machine yeast considered instant yeast or active dry yeast?

    Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

