Still Goin’

I’m still goin’ from the busy weekend and busy day…but only because I’m a glutton for punishment. I could have slept all day today if I so chose…but where’s the fun in that?

Instead, today, I relied on old standbys in the kitchen, prepping foodstuffs for the week.

There's something you haven't seen in a while.

First up once I got home from the barn, was bread. Those of you who have read me for a while now, know that a. I’m bad at making bread, and b. recently found the best bread ever. Those of you may also know that I was disappointed in my most recent loaf.

This encouraged me to give it another go. This recipe was my “victim.” I mean, c’mon…I was following a recipe straight from the bread machine book. There was no way I could fail.

Right?

We’ll see.

Chunkier Chunks of Energy - Oatmeal Raisin form!

Next up was an oatmeal raisin variation of my chunkier chunks of energy.

I’m pretty oatmeal raisin obsessed lately. I mean, lets think about it – it’s the perfect flavor! Not too sweet, warmth from the cinnamon, heartiness from the oat. Yes, please.

For this variation, I used honey rather than maple syrup, added a heaping 1/2 t. of ground cinnamon, a pinch of ground nutmeg, and 1/3 c. raisins instead of the papaya or coconut. I also used less honey than the 1/8 c. maple syrup. I thought they could do with less sweetness.

You know the recipe's a winner when it's made more than once in a matter of weeks.

I also put a bunch of split-open bananas that my mom brought home from work to good use in Amanda’s banana bread. I don’t think I’ve had a better banana bread experience yet! The girl’s a genius.

I baked in my toaster-oven again, and yielded two smallish sized loaves. Direct into the freezer after a couple of tastes and dessert for the fam 🙂

I’m all out of spelt flour, though – and subbed with white whole wheat. I also used honey rather than maple syrup, and peanut butter rather than coconut butter. And added – you guessed itraisins and pecans.

I also threw together my eggplant strata in a larger batch than last time, and some chickpea cutlets. You’ll see the strata soon – and I didn’t cook the cutlets yet. By then I was almost out of steam, and figure they’ll keep just fine if I bake/fry them as needed.

I resisted the urge for oatmeal raisin waffles for the plum that was screaming to be used.

So that was [part of] my afternoon – how did it all begin? Well, the waffle way of course! It is a Tuesday, after all.

Afterwards, though – it was of course Teddie time. I haven’t really gotten into detail as to what our “issues” are just because I haven’t had the time – but I’m hoping today was a step in the right direction.

Topped with banana, plum, maple syrup, cashews, and chia icing

On Saturday, he basically gave A and I the big middle finger when we asked him to do anything. Which is funny, because he warmed up amazing – wonderfully supple, if not a bit spooky, as I’d mentioned. Then it all went downhill. He’d just randomly slam on the brakes and kick out. After about 20 minutes of this, I was beginning to feel like I was really pushing my luck, so just hopped off with the intention to lunge his booty off. A walked in at the knick of time and offered to hop on.

As I mentioned – he was just as monstrous for her, and he really never got over whatever his issue was. He even nailed the wall a couple times. I hope it hurt.

She finally found an okay note to end on, though.

I bought my lunch at the same store I bought the horse's lunch today. Hah! Just kidding. Couldn't forget about Kaia though!

Sunday, I wasn’t looking forward to how it was going to go, but remained optimistic because that’s the attitude that gets you places. He wasn’t as bad – did fine at first, but still did the stopping thing. Rather than be a real brat, though – he’d just sort of stop, shuffle around without going forward, and then finally sigh and go. I kept it light, and when he’d gone around in an agreeable manner, took him for a walk down to the outdoor and around it a few times.

I'd been missing my Green Monster lunches. It'd been too long! For this one, I blended a banana, a peach, spinach, vanilla chobani, a couple of dates, and flax oil. Topped with quick oats, marcona almonds, dried apricots, peanut butter, and honey!

So then today I decided maybe it’s pain that’s causing him to act this way. I realize at his stage in training it’s very common for horses to test their limits, but I also want to make sure he’s not acting out because something is hurting him. While I’m pretty confident in my saddle fitting knowledge, I was wondering if maybe my saddle was pinching him a bit. Or, maybe he was just tired of the indoor (and working) and working without another horse. So, I tried him with my close contact saddle.

He was much better – would still test me but all he did was stop and with a little pop he’d resume his walk. We squeeked out a pretty agreeable trot, too, and then I hacked him around outside a bit.

So, long story short – maybe it’s my saddle, or maybe he just needed an attitude adjustment. I think it’s sort of a combination of green-ness (wanting to test his limits) and boredom. That and – Haflingers are practically known for being a bit lazy.

I had some of my strata on a bed of farmer's market lettuce with some Ragu and a big dollop of garlic hummus.

Ironically enough, my friend asked me if he could use me and Teddie for a “photo story” assignment he has for his photo class. So Thursday you’ll see some Teddie pictures! I told him his story might involve a bucking pony, but if you ask me – that’d make a pretty good story. I’ve always maintained that if I get dumped, I want it on film, you know? So we’ll see how it goes 😉

There was an ear of corn leftover from last night, and I claimed it before anyone else could. In typical Jess fashion, I enjoyed it with some butter, salt, and parmesan cheese.

Sorry this was such a horse-intensive post, but I just felt like even though only a couple of days had passed since I gave an update – a lot has been missed! That and, I’m always sharing the “glitz and glamour” of young horses, when in reality – training bumps always pop up. Usually, when you least expect it!

I was quite eagerly waiting for my bread to be done - and timed it so it was just as I was finishing dinner. Perfect! Now I had something to soak up the leftover "dressing" with.

But, while maybe Teddie hasn’t been smooth sailing the past couple of days, this lovely lady is doing great!

Georgie says Haiiii.

I’ve been working with her at least every other night, usually involving hopping on and walking around a bit. And my mom sat on Maya (tacked up) for the first time tonight!

They both seem like they’ve been handled a bit roughly, so we’re taking it slow. They’re both very affectionate and we’re really enjoying working with them, though! I can so picture Georgie as being a perfect little hunter pony. Maybe you wouldn’t think it from the pictures since she is…well, a Haflinger – but she’s got a beautiful, floaty trot and a naturally nice head carriage.

So – now that you’re all horsed out, I feel like I’ve finally caught up with life! I was terrible photographing anything other than my main meals that made it into my gullet today – whoopsies!

27 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

27 responses to “Still Goin’

  1. Sooo after all this time, your waffles STILL make my drool!! Ok not literally but you get my drift 🙂 Missed you girly! I’ve still been reading your blog, even if I haven’t been commenting.
    I can’t make bread either. Me and anything involving yeast do NOT go together. Don’t know what it is.. or breads of any kind really. It’s sad, really.

  2. Nice looking bread shots. I’m a little out of the loop, what’s the “perfect bread” you speak of? I’m still trying to perfect a 100% WW sandwich bread recipe… grrr….

    And that green smoothie lunch looks massive! I’ve never had one of that size because the ones I’m used to (which are still quite large with the toppings used) don’t really fill me up at all. How well does that behemoth work for you?

  3. I personally love horse filled posts 😉 I’m sure Teddie will be fine soon, he’s just testing you! Ah, the joys of training young horses 😛 Can’t wait to see more Teddie pictures!

  4. I’m glad that you’re having a better time with Teddie. I’ve never worked with horses, but I do a lot of training with my dogs, and I know how frustrating it is when things are going well and then you hit that wall all of a sudden… especially when you can’t figure out what in God’s name is causing it. Hopefully his behaviour will only keep getting better for you 🙂

    The combination of cinnamon, oatmeal, and raisins is probably one of the foodie combinations that’s nearest and dearest to my heart. Luckily, I had my cinnamon, raisin, [Weetabix] fix this afternoon, or I’d be craving some of that action big time… although I DO have this strange urge to bake some oatmeal raisin cookies 😉

    And I’m taking it that the bread baking was a success? I’ve always wanted to try my hand at making my own bread, but I’ve never worked with yeast and the whole process seems so complicated and easy to mess up. My mom used to make homemade bread, and there really is nothing like a fresh loaf… so I think I’ll have to get over my fears and give it a go again.

    Hope you’re having a great evening, Jess!

  5. hahaha read this you’ll laugh http://www.yumsugar.com/Jamba-Juice-Fights-Back-McDonalds-Smoothie-Deal-10070279 I guess people are really fooled on the healthiness of the smoothies.

  6. Oooh.. I enjoyed this post so much =) I’ve been waiting for a proper update on your little mishap the other day! (Like seriously, I’ve been thinking about you… creep much?) I’m glad to hear that things went a little better… and I hope you figure out what the problem is soon. My guess is that he is just trying to test how far he can push you when he gets tired, but you never know. I know I am always quick to make up excuses for Rayne when she is being a bit of a cow, but it’s usually just her being green 😛 When she was doing her little pouncing fits, I thought for sure it was a back problem… but alas, she’s just a scaredy cat!

    I’m not even going to comment on any specific food, because it all looks so amazing. Cook for me please?! Hehe.
    ❤ Tat

  7. That’s awesome that Teddie is being used for a photo story! Can’t wait to see the photos. And you can seriously never go wrong with banana bread! Also, I’m ashamed to say I have never operated a bread machine. I need to change that I suppose!

  8. Yay! You made more bread! Glad you “got back in the saddle”. Sorry, I had to! Oh, I can’t wait to see those pictures! The photo story sounds awesome!!!

  9. teenagehealthfreak

    glad teddie was better today! i know the feeling. 🙂 I caught Scottie today..and just made him stand very still with the halter on…while petting/speaking to him. ((this was to show him that he’s not always going to do work when i bring out the halter.)) for about 15 mins….then i took it off…gave him a pat/treat and walked away. get this- he followed me as far as he could (gate)..yay!! and your bread looks great! 🙂

  10. What great treats you made today – you sure were a busy bee today!!! The bread looks fabulous – ive always wanted to try and bake my own bread but was always intimidated by the whole process – the banana bread too looks delicious – anything with cinnamon sounds good!!
    Glad to hear you had a great day with Teddie – love the pictures!
    Have a great Wednesday!!!!!!! xoxo aimee

  11. Oooh! Your bread looks so good! I’m looking for the perfect whole grain bread recipe! I’ve yet to come across a good one. They always turn out really dense and not good 😦

    I saw horses today at a farm fair/exhibit/convention and thought of you!

  12. I loooveee fresh baked bread 🙂 My mom and I make this “soap box” bread..I think that’s what it’s called. But you bake it in a closed container so a special pan is needed for it. Anyway it turns out super super dense cause it doesnt have much room to rise and it’s incredible.

    Sorry Teddie’s still acting up. I know when I first got CoCo she wasn’t used to riding that much and she’d act up like that just to see if she could get away with it. She’d hault, walk backwards, turn in circles..do everything but what I wanted. Turns out she was just being stubborn because she didn’t want to work/was bored. Hope things get better for you two!

  13. Michelle

    I thought that I was bad at baking, but it was just because I would change the chimstry of the recipe and it wouldn’t work as well.

  14. I’m glad you are not giving up on bread baking…because from the look of your loaf, you are pretty good! I love how freshly baked bread makes me feel (and how it makes my house smell so delicious). I hope you have a wonderful Wednesday love!

  15. Mo

    I want bread now! I haven’t made any in far too long.
    I take it it turned out well, though? I have trouble following recipes, especially bread recipes for some reason, but I’m always on the lookout for good recipes for me to “follow”. 😉

    I’m sorry Teddie’s being so difficult; I just hope it’s not pain that’s doing it. 😦

  16. Wow *triple* wheat bread? That sounds scrumptious! Breads are so tricky. I don’t have a bread machine so I have to knead, knead, knead till I feel like my arms are about to fall off.

    You were quite the baker that day!

  17. Horsed out? Never! As long as there’s still the odd food shot in there 😉 – I swear, I have gotten a lot more decadent with my breakfasts after seeing yours! I second oatmeal and raisin (although I can’t have it now) it is a marriage that really deserves the label a match made in heaven.

    I love it when bread finishes right on time! yay!

  18. It wouldn’t be at all surprising if his saddle was hurting – I mean his body must be changing loads atm with the new work right? When we bought Chika, she had a properly fitted saddle (we got her from a saddle fitter!) but a year later we needed to start again cos she’d changed so much!
    Loove the food, as always 🙂 I can’t bake bread either! I tried rolls once, and they came out looking like shiny glazed pancakes :s so embaressing!
    Good luck with the horses over the next few days anway – I’m gonna miss your blog!! 😦

  19. Mmmm so much carby goodness going on in this post!! Love the different kinds of bread…delicious 🙂 You posts always make me wish I knew how to ride. My best friend does, and it seems that equestrians always have such a huge passion for their sport!

  20. Your green monster lunch looks DIVINE. Thanks for including some Vanilla CHO in there- glad you like it! Looking forward to some more awesome food shots from you!

    Best,

    Emily
    Communications Manager
    Chobani Greek Yogurt

  21. I hope your bread turned out! Good for you for trying again. I really want to try your eggplant strata…i love eggplant 🙂

  22. That bread looks really good!! I want a slice 🙂 It looks like success!

  23. You put Martha Stewart to shame with all your baking! Where do you find the time and energy?! 😉

    I’m glad things went better with Teddie yesterday! I hope he didn’t give you trouble again today!

  24. Way way way too much good stuff going on in this post! Sheesh! Soooo many recipes I am going to have to make… for sure! Oatmeal waffles? Chunkier Chunks of Energy? Omg. Eggplant Strata!?
    Delish!!

    Oh, and what was that chia icing? Recipe???

  25. I missed the chunkier chunks of energy post. They look so good! Bookmarked 🙂

  26. Dee

    omg! yum! look at all the good food in here! *drools*

Leave a Reply

