Makin’ it Over

You read it right. Today, we speak of makeovers.

Yikes.

I hadn’t shown my face without a helmet or horse in a while – I wanted to let you guys know I’m still stayin’ fly with my zocks and past-due for a trim bed-hair. Lately, my laundry contains more polo shirts, zocks, and breeches than it does “work clothes.” Yes, I also realize it’s a bit silly that I’m more concerned about wearing a tucked-in polo shirt to the barn than I am to work.

But that’s all besides the point. Teddie’s surprise that I mentioned yesterday may or may not have to do with my hair, too, desperately needs.

Hmmm....what could it beeee....?

Yes, a hair cut. Teddie’s totally rockin’ a new-do. He’s more stylish than I am. It’s not done yet, we’ll be going shorter – but these things take time 😉

He kept following me. Made it hard to photograph. That's water from his hose-down, not sweat, btw.

Dun’ his new locks look lovely? Haflinger enthusiasts worldwide are surely shunning me, and since a long mane is pretty traditional for his breed, I just love the look of a short, tidy, pulled mane. It makes any horse’s neck look better than it is – and Teddie already has a nice neck, so why not enhance it more?! Not to mention – he’s probably a lot cooler. It’s been miserable the past two days. I think I rode for about 15-20 minutes before calling it a ride – he more than behaved himself, but I could tell he was getting cranky.

I don’t blame him.

Waffle Makeover

To gear up for a hot day at the barn, I had a waffle makeover, first.

I’ll bet you could guess where I’m going with this, especially with the coconut sprinkled on top. I made coconutty-almond oats. Pretty much the same as my usual recipe, but … well, better.

Coconut-Almond Waffles

Dry:

  • 1/4 c. oats – quick or rolled
  • 1 c. puffed millet (or any puffed grain cereal. alternatively, you could probably just use another 1/4 c. oats)
  • 1 T. wheat bran
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • 1 T. WW Flour
  • 1 T. shredded coconut (I used sweetened)
  • baking powder (I just sprinkle it in…)

Wet:

  • 1 flax egg (before starting, mix 1 T. milled flax with 3 T. water – by the time you combine the dry ingreds you should be set)
  • 2 T. vanilla chobani
  • 1/4 c. coconut water
  • 1/4 t. almond extract
  • optional: maple syrup/honey/agave/brown sugar – I have not been adding any lately because I top them with enough fruit/jam/etc that none is needed in the waffles themselves. If you’re eating them plain you might want some, though.)

heaven. that is all.

I topped mine with a peach and some blueberries, nuked for a couple seconds, more coconut, peach-ginger jam, and marcona almonds.

Which begs the question: Is it possible to make a coconut jam? Or does it only produce coconut butter? If just coconut butter – why is this, when it is a fruit? So many questions.

Greedily consumed? Yes. Greedily enjoyed? Very much so. Did it help with the gross heat? Debateable.

The weather had a makeover while I was driving home. Oh, joy – rather than being stupid humid, it was then stupid humid and raining. You know how sometimes rain is refreshing in the heat? No, not when it’s this hot. Then you just feel gross.

What’s a good thing to pick you up from gross?

Green Monsters. Durk-a-dur.

In the blender:

In the process, my photography took a makeover. I went for the “out of focus” style, yea?

Maybe I'll undo this makeover...

Topped with chunky PB, blueberries, dates, oats, coconut, blackberry honey creme, and marcona almonds.

Why the sudden marcona almond obsession? Well, for one because I saw them on clearance, and for two, due to this I discovered they are far superior to any other almonds in taste. But why are they different? From The Kitchn:

Marcona almonds are a special product of Spain… They’ve been imported to the US for years, but have only recently gained a wider audience thanks to a growing interest in Spanish cuisine among chefs, food writers, and other foodies.

These almonds are more rounded and plump than the California varieties we’re used to. They also seem to have a softer and somewhat “wet” texture, similar to macadamia nuts. The marcona almonds we’ve tried have a sweeter, more delicate taste closer to the flavor we associate with almond extract.

And I would certainly agree. I just love them! I’ve seen marcona almond butter at my co-op, and wonder what that’s like, too. I’m not a fan of raw almond butter, but maybe raw marcona almond butter is worth a try? Have you ever tried them?

Snack Makeover: is that a savory snack, not sweet?! Is this for real?! Yes - homemade crackers with curried cashew carrot spread (BEST.COMBO. EVER.) and broccoli with hummunus.

I randomly gave my room a makeover by getting around to cleaning it. What can I say – at first I was looking forward to the rain being an excuse to just do nothing all afternoon. Turns out, I can only stand “doing nothing” for so long. I’m glad I have a job.

And then of course, came the paddock makeover which rendered my shower an hour earlier completely useless. Yeah, don’t ask why I bothered. I usually don’t.

Let me clarify: I always bother with showering, I never both showering in between doing chores.

My tastes, however? Did not undergo a makeover.

I had no idea what kind of grain I wanted for dinner. First I was thinking spaghetti. Then I moved to bulgur. Then my mom asked about quinoa. Hey, actually…quinoa sounds pretty good! Okay, so I went for a faux grain. Since I’m apparently into quoting today, this is what Whole Foods says:

Most commonly considered a grain, quinoa is actually a relative of leafy green vegetables like spinach and Swiss chard. It is a recently rediscovered ancient “grain” once considered “the gold of the Incas.”

Maybe I live in the dark, but I did not know that.

Anyways. I made a simple, not-unique salad, but it was still quite good. My boss hooked me up with a bunch of basil from his garden. We keep killing our basil plant, so I was happy.

  • 1/4 c quinoa (rinsed and prepared as instructed)
  • 1/2 c. chickpeas
  • 1 medium garden tomato, chopped
  • 3 medium basil leaves
  • 1/2 of a small yellow pepper, finely chopped
  • 1-2 T. mediterranean herb feta cheese
  • 2 large rounds of baked eggplant (I baked an eggplant in a bunch of Ragu earlier in the week)

Not unique. Very basil-y. Very delicious.

I just made up the last of my quinoa, and so half went for another salad – very different from this, but also very good. I’ll probably have it tomorrow and post.

Dinner at 4:30? Okay.

In the bowl:

  • lettuce from the garden that was almost rotten (yum)
  • farmer’s market lettuce
  • mkt. sugar snap peas
  • garden tomato
  • mkt. baked eggplant
  • feta
  • most of the salad
  • dressing: Cedar’s garlic hummus mixed with Ragu.

I love that dressing combo. Cedar’s is hands-down the best hummus ever. No lie.

And yes, as you may have noticed, I did a blog makeover during my rainy afternoon, too. I don’t think I will ever be totally happy with my layout, though. And know nothing about CSS. Does anyone know of a good designer I can hire?

aaaand, now that I’ve eaten earlier than your grandma, I’m hoping the heat has taken a makeover so I can go play with the George-porge. And give Maya the same makeover Teddie had.

27 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, foodblog, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe

27 responses to “Makin’ it Over

  1. Hehe I can’t tell you how often I’ve had the grain debate when dinner time rolls around. Rice? Oats? Quinoa? Bulgur? Millet? Buckwheat? Omigosh! In the end, though, I don’t think it really matters… grains are delicious, no matter which one you pick. Quinoa was a good choice, though 😉 And your coconut/blueberry/peach breakfast was another winning combination.

    That really sucks about the heat :\ It gets pretty hot up here sometimes, but it’s dry, so we never have to deal with that muggy/humid/wet feeling. It was like that when I was in Europe last summer, and I literally thought I was going to die. You’re lucky you don’t live in a busy city, though… Dealing with that kind of mugginess on top of the suffocating stench of car exhaust and smogginess is just… not nice.

    But! your blog is looking nice 🙂 I’ve really been meaning to switch my layout up for a while now, but I just can’t seem to get around to it. I guess I like the way it looks, but I’m always getting bored of looking at the same old thing… I’m actually surprised I managed to keep it for this long; even my room undergoes a makeover at least every few months…

  2. 1. you are SO cute.
    2. teddie is beyond gorgeous.
    3. your blog looks great.
    🙂
    lucie

  3. I feel so sheltered in the world of grains… I have so many yet to try!

    Aww Teddie’s mane looks adorable! Hopefully I will tackle Rayne’s one of these days…. honestly? I’m a little scared. I can’t even believe that I am saying this because I used to be so fearless when it came to things like this but I just have a feeling that she is going to react badly. I don’t want her to flip over in the barn or anything :/

    I didn’t even know that there were different types of almonds out there…. and you thought you lived in the dark?! Yikes. They look really interesting though, are they skinless? I’ve never seen them around.

    ❤ Tat

  4. Now that I’ve read your excerpt on marcona almonds (that they’re close to macadamia nuts), I officially must try them! And marcona nut butter sounds AMAZING! I like Teddy’s short ‘do- so spunky! Have a great day 🙂

  5. The make over looks great! You are so good at that! I bet the basil in there was incredible! I wish I had some! The great thing about eating an early dinner…you still have time for a great dessert! Have a great night!

  6. Dev

    yuum all of your eats look great girly!

  7. Aww grains, are wheat berries considered a grain? Could I stir fry them? I wonder, but I really just like ’em over my AM oatmeal, goofy me.

    I like the new bloggie look! Play with random backgrounds, add boxes, remove boxes, html is insane and has no limits. You could make this page look like the google homepage, but with your blog below it, if you wanted to. 🙂

    Have a happy day, and thank you for the uplifting cheerful words on my sad-face post. I’m over being a wee-whiner, and back to being a content Nicole. God is amazing!

  8. Jen

    Absolutely love your new layout, chickadee! I feel like it’s very you…ha… from what I’ve learned of you from your posts anyway.

    P.S. your waffles make me sooooooooooooo insanely sad I left my waffle iron under the sink at my old apartment. 😦

  9. Love all of your makeovers from today – especially the blog layout!!!!!!! Makeovers are always so much fun!!!!!
    Interesting fact about the almonds – ill have to give them a try!!!!
    Nothing beats fresh summer basil – it just makes everything taste better!!!
    have a great friday – xo aimee

  10. The new layout looks great! I’ve never tried marcona almonds but I love macadamia nuts so they sound awesome. I have to try the hummus & marinara combo as a dressing – hummus used in any sauce is good in my books.

  11. Teddie looks fabulous with his new do! 😀 And I feel ya one the rain thing- I love it but not when it makes the situation worse. It’s like taking a hot shower after sweating at the gym..not fun. Rain also has the tendancy to make it even *more* humid the day after. Ohhh my gosh, Fall hurry up!! And stay, please?!

  12. cook for me! everything you eat looks sooo gooood.

  13. Mo

    I’ve never had Marcona almonds but my mom’s obsessed. She HAS to get them every time we’re at Trader Joe’s, even though they’re quite pricey.

    Your quinoa salad looks amazing. Sometimes not being unique turns out rather well, doesn’t it? 😉

    And lastly, I really like this current layout!

  14. I love your new layout! bright and cheerful 🙂 and how good do those coconut-almond waffles sound??? oh wait, you ate them already. hmm..about the coconut jam question–you got me on that one!

  15. Teddie’s mane looks fab! Did you cut it or pull it or a bit of both? I don’t really think it’s worth keeping horses ‘traditional’ (if they’re meant to be) unless they’re gonna go in the show ring. Otherwise it’s just a lot of fuss taming such a huge amount of hair 😛
    Love the new layout! And if you find a blog whiz, let me know! I want a make over… 😛

  16. Teddie’s haircut looks great! And I really like your new blog layout. 🙂

  17. Teddie looks so handsome! Omg, that must’ve taken some time!?

    Hey, you are pretty too, of course, haha 🙂

  18. I like the blog makeover! And I especially like Teddie’s new hurr. He gets cuter every day I swear!! Your quinoa salad looks great… I need to whip up more salads like that! They seem great to take on-the-go.

  19. Teddie’s haircut looks great! He must be a lot cooler now. I always wonder how the heck furry/hairy animals survive in this kind of humidity!

    Your dinner looks amazing! I actually have some chickpeas I need to use up so this looks like it will make a perfect lunch today. 😀 I always have that grain debate too and I usually end up going with brown rice. I have no idea why though, seeing as it takes like 5 times longer to cook than any other grain haha.

  20. He’s so handsome 🙂

  21. you look so good in pink!!!

    omg marcona almond butter!?!? i freaking love those things but they’re so expennnnnsive. is the butter expensive?

    love all your makeovers! i bet you’re feeling good and fresh! speaking of bedroom makeovers, i built my new BED last night! it was an adventure and i thank god i have my super genius asian roommate to help me bc reading directions is NOT my thing. i just tried to jump right into it and he was like “ummm no christina. that’s not right.”

  22. Teddy’s haircut is adorable! I like that he is veering from the stereotypical Haflinger look. What a rebel 😉
    Quinoa is one of my favorite grains. Nice and light and fluffy… plus, it’s nature’s highest source of protein, according to Disney World’s breakfast bar. Not sure how accurate that is, because I have never thought of Disney as a nutrition source, but hey. Works for me.
    Have a fun time redo-ing everything! I love the way starting fresh feels.

  23. Aww you look so cute in your picture and I am loving the socks haha!! I am a big fan of patterned socks! 😛 And I am loving the new layout – definitely a massive improvement 🙂
    Teddie looks so handsome with his new hair-do!
    Urgh I am ALWAYS debating what grain to have for my dinner – and yet I still have SO many to try! I always end up going for the bulgur when I’m stuck because I know I just love it but I really should mix it up more…I still haven’t tried quinoa can you believe?!

  24. WHOA BLOG!!! I love when you do your blog makeovers they are so fancy and puuurrddydyyy!!! Love the peach/blueberry combo! It’s a favorite of mine for sure 🙂 Happy weekend Jess!

  25. Have you tried Vita Coco coconut water instead of Taste Nirvana?

  26. runeatride

    Your gorg 🙂 beautiful eyes! And I have Zocks too! I love em’ mine are purple and pink and bluish with horses on them . Teddie looks really cute with his new mane ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

