Hit or Miss

I knew waking up this morning that breakfast was going to be a hit or miss. I used something other than almond milk for my liquid for the first time, and tried coconut water instead. Mixing them last night had me worried. I thought for sure I would miss the creaminess that almond milk gives them – adding coconut water would be like adding regular water…would it be too runny? liquidy? not-creamy?

You never know until you try.

and boy, george am I glad I tried it! In the base overnight sat:

  • almost 1/2 c. quick oats
  • chopped dried papaya
  • 1/2 c. Taste Nirvana Coconut Water
  • 1/2 T. chia seeds
  • a couple blueberries (mashed up a bit)

In the morning, I mixed in a big spoonful of vanilla chobani and topped them with:

  • wheat germ
  • pear-almond jam
  • marcona almonds
  • and a boatload of blueberries (some mashed) nuked with maybe 1/3 of a banana

I challenged myself to keep my toppings simple this morning…and sure, I think I succeeded (for once) but I so wanted to top it with shredded coconut, too (duh!) but completely forgot until I was just about done – in fact, this chicka reminded me with her beautiful bowl of mango coconut barley!

The coconut water in the base wasn’t too runny at all – and in fact, it was still surprisingly creamy! And the slight sweetness from the coconut water (even though unsweetened) was enough for me – which is why no honey or maple syrup joined the party this morning.

Some snackage - the rest of the banana, loots of blueberries, and the unpictured "trail mix" from monday

Today was back to being stupid humid and I was pretty grateful to be working in a cool place. In fact – it was so cool that I had goosebumps all morning! I was able to warm up after enjoying my lunch in the sauna. A.K.A. outside.

Repeat from Monday, sans lettuce: hardboiled egg and carrot-cashew curry spread. SO good!

There is a gas station directly across the street from the area I sit to eat lunch, quite visible to the man who runs it. Cars seem to come in waves – and I always wonder what he thinks about my sloppy eating ways when he catches a break and is sitting outside. I am quite a sight with this sandwich – as you can imagine, I had yolk and bits of carroty spread falling everywhere. Not to mention this bread isn’t as moist as it usually is, so that was crumbling, too.

Probably should go back to eating everything with a fork and knife, huh?

Of course, it’s rather vein of me to think he’s watching me eat lunch, but I know if I saw someone sitting down and feasting while I was sitting in my own sweat and pumping gas into cars, I’d be pretty interested in what this little girl across the street was eating πŸ˜‰

This is probably not a surprise to any of you – but I was so excited to try one of my bars sent to me from Nikki! In fact, I actually picked it out last night so that I wouldn’t waste ten minutes debating this morning πŸ˜› I finally settled on this Wallaby Bar.

I’m not sure if it’s weird or not – but I love looking at the labels of food from places other than America. Even American products with different labels for different countries. But I think it’s too cool that these bars list percentages, too! For instance, macadamia nuts made up 19% of this bar, and cashews 17%.

And the part I loved most? Calories are listed as Energy! I think that’s such a better way of putting it than calories. After all, calories are energy!

And the fun comparisons didn’t stop there – of course there was taste, too! I just loved it. It was definitely different than I was expecting – a lot of bars I find are held together by something sweet be it date paste, agave, brown rice syrup – that sort of thing. Not this one! It was all nuts, and had only 7g of sugar, all of it natural. I loved how it just let the nuts be the flavor, nothing sweet, but still had that subtle, lovely hint of vanilla. And great chew vs. crunch factor πŸ™‚ All in all – big win for Australia. Thanks, Nikki!

While I was working today, I had to run some errands for us – one being getting one of the new fruit smoothies from McDonald’s for my boss. Anybody tried them yet? I haven’t but I think my boss is practically living off of them and his kids love them too.

I tried finding ingredients just now, and instead found myself mesmerized by this.

back on track, though – I was just wondering if there’s a catch and there’s more in these smoothies than they’re letting on? I mean, I think it’s great that they’re getting a lot of hype – we all know people aren’t going to give up McDonalds, but if these smoothies are one of the healthier ones out there (some are like tricks, aren’t they?) they seem way more kid-friendly. I mean – I keep seeing my boss or one of this kids sucking on a smoothie rather than a soda or coolatta.

Moving on to dinner – I used to be against leftovers, but lately I’ve been loving them. Because leftovers don’t need to be boring! Since I’m usually the only person I cook for, rarely do I make “extra.” This is out of not wanting leftovers, and not sure how it’ll turn out. Lately, though, I’ve enjoyed making enough for two nights, or pre-roasting or baking a bunch of veggies to use throughout the week. Especially handy lately has been making something like beanballs or salads that can be used in multiple different ways, so I’m not having the same. exact. thing. every single night.

And then, of course, there’s Millet and Black Bean Gratin – which is just fine on its’ own two nights in a row πŸ™‚ I paired it with some farm-stand corn on the cob (with parm cheese! have I told you all how lovely some parm cheese is on corn on the cob?!) and a little bit of Ragu.

And now it’s all gone. But I definitely need to start packing in the corn on the cob before it’s all gone! I think I’ve still got a while left – but you never know! What’s one thing you’re making sure to get your fill of while it’s fresh at the stands/market?

P.S. Teddie and I have a surprised for you tomorrow πŸ™‚

24 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

24 responses to “Hit or Miss

  1. My philosophy is that anything with coconut is amazing! Your breakfast looks great! As far as farmers markets and such, I always make sure to get my fill of fresh squash and tomatoes! “Regular” tomatoes just don’t compare.

  2. you are so right food is energy, I always got told when i was sick food is like fuel/gas when you don’t give your body enough fuel it won’t run! And I suppose you can look at it if you overeat you will cause car troubles hahaha. Glad you enjoyed the recipe..I would patent the smell alone it gives off! “millet corn bread scent” hitting stores soon.

  3. Woah. I totally just played with that smoothie spinner for too long. I also feel really pathetic because I don’t have cable and I live in an incredibly small town at the moment… so I didn’t even know that McDonald’s came out with new and ‘healthy’ smoothies. x_x. Can you say sheltered?

    My sandwiches always have little peices of egg or turkey falling out of them.. and it always makes me feel like such a spazz at work! Haha.. I just remind myself that it probably tastes much better than all of my surrounding coworker’s cold pizza leftovers, no matter how easily it seems to slide down their throats.

    I’ve recently been having that ‘always thirsty’ thing going on, and I really want to try coconut water to see what all the hype is about. One of these days… when I return to a town with a proper grocery store I guess πŸ˜›

    ❀ Tat

  4. there are really no farmers markets near where i live, but there is a local farm stand. like you, whenever i see the words “local corn” i grab a bag and start loading up- it’s unbelievable how sweet and tender it is! i also love to pick up different colors of cauliflower- green, purple, and orange. i find them so fun!

  5. I always get kind of anxious when I’m trying new things, as well, which keeps me from trying new things as often as I would like. I have no idea why either… most of the things I try leave me thinking “why the heck didn’t I try this sooner!?” I’m glad that your coconut water experiment was a success, though. Coconut is just one of those things that seems to do no wrong.

    It’s been so long since I’ve been in a McD’s, that I had no idea they even came out with healthy smoothies. I’ve got to say though… I’m pretty skeptical of anything from McD’s being healthy. I know they’ve been trying to clean up their image and jump on the whole health bandwagon thing, but I still have my doubts. Still, there are days when I totally miss their fries. Those little crack sticks were the best fast food fries, in my opinion.

    I really wish that I liked leftovers… it would mean that I get to spend a lot less time in the kitchen. Unfortunately, dinner always has to be different for me. Breakfast and lunch can be the same day after day, but never dinner. And I have no idea why…

  6. Dee

    Girl… I’ve missed your photos! Lovely as always! πŸ™‚

  7. Glad to hear how much you liked the coconut water – i too always get nervous when trying a new recipe but i guess your right – you never know unless you try!!!
    I love farmers markets during the summer and eat just about everything from fresh tomatoes to fresh corn on the cob – i actually only eat corn during the summer when it is fresh!!!! Anything fresh always tastes better. Hope u have a great Thursday!!!
    xoxo aimee

  8. Very interesting. I feel like I can never have overnight oats unless I have almond milk. Perhaps I better think outside the box? :o) “Boy, George am I glad I tried it” made me laugh, and I don’t know why.

  9. Interesting adding coconut water to oats…love the “you never know until you try” mentality. It brings about the best discoveries!! I am feeling u on the leftovers. If my channa masala leftovers taught me anything it was that some things get better when they sit! STAY COOL!!

  10. Mmmmmm, coconut water in your oats…what a FAB idea! Your oats always look so good.

  11. I’ve thought about trying one of those McDonald’s smoothies, but I’m so often disappointed when I try them out. I usually don’t add sweeteners to mine (I have quite the sweet tooth, and find that I get plenty of sugary foods that I enjoy the fruity sweet of smoothies). But if you do try one, let us know what you think.

  12. teenagehealthfreak

    ooo..your oats sound coco-licious! that bar looks too good…so jealous. i’m feeling the pears, figs, peaches..and u know anything at the “stand”..or from my neighbors yard..ha ha. i’m sad. i’ll miss the surprise! darn…leaving in the morn. i’ll get it…right when i get home though. πŸ™‚

  13. mm i saw her mango barley too, and it looked so tasty!

    hmm i think adding coconut water would be fabulous! i think ur right, never know til u try at least πŸ™‚

    teddie has a suprise for us!! this is gonna be good! hehe ❀

  14. Lol this post took me SO long to read – I had to keep clicking on all the different links, then getting lost in the big world of web :p
    I alwaaays stock up on fancy squashes when I can, and parsnips, and berries when they’re in season πŸ˜€ I have LOADS of blackberry bushes near me, so come (now! They’re out now!!! :O) autumn, I pick tons and freeze them πŸ™‚

  15. That used to be my favorite Wallaby bar! Really good, eh? πŸ™‚ Thanks for your sweet words on my blog…hospitals are always scary, but I was fast asleep. They found nothing, though, kind of both good and bad.

    Leftovers are the best! I often think they make the best meals…so many things actually taste better after a day in the fridge…and you’ve tasted it the day before so you can mix it up with something new that’s just right for the flavour, mmm. I am most definitely trying the coconut water on my breakfast asap. Kind of sad I had breakfast already, ha! Can’t wait to see what Teddie has up his sleeve πŸ™‚

  16. I had no clue that McDonalds came out with smoothies, I haven’t seen any ads for it or anything. I’ll have to try coconut water in my oats, I would have been nervous too!
    Can’t wait for your surprise!!

  17. I love fresh corn! It is so good raw on salads too. It’s like nature’s little sweet croutons! I hear ya on the humidity! You can’t breathe here!

  18. I never would have thought of adding coconut water to overnight oats. Brilliant! πŸ˜€

    Can’t wait to see what you and Teddy have for a surprise. :mrgreen:

  19. Trust me, I’m a mess when it comes to sandwiches too! Especially wraps. I’m a sight to see when I eat wraps.

    Ooh I MUST try coconut water in overnight oats! That sounds amazing!

  20. That’s a good idea to try coconut water in overnight oats! I’ve always wanted to try oatmeal made with coconut milk. I would love getting that intense coconut flavour in my oats. Mmmm.

    I had no idea McDonalds has started making smoothies! We definitely don’t have those in Canada yet. I’d be a bit sceptical about how healthy they really are though. It is McDonalds after all. πŸ˜›

    I make sure to get tons of berries during the summers! I’ve been going through about 4 pints of berries a week lately!!

  21. I love how creative you are with fruits and veggies! I have to try more of your recipes. And that cashew-carrot curry spread looks very interesting. I am tempted to prepare some πŸ™‚

    The only healthy drink our McD offers is orange juice. No smoothies for us.

    And the only fresh thing I make sure I always have is my favorite rye bread.

  22. Michelle

    I totally fill up with berries at the produce stand. My mom is insane over raspberries and I’m a big fan of blackberries.

  23. Ohh coconut water in overnight oats! You and Amanda are really making me want to try that stuff. & LOVE how the bar’s calories are listed as energy, instead of The Evil One. Calories are not the Enemy!!

    Aaand shoot. When I saw those McDonald’s commercials for the smoothies “real fruit, yogurt, real fruiiit!” I immediately thought “don’t forget to mention the 5 cups of high fructose corn syrup, and other odd things most likely added.” I’m about to look up the real ingredients one of these days, too. But hey, at least McDonalds knows they’re awful and they’re trying to change.

    Hmph. There is no hope.

  24. mal

    hey sweet new layout! i love your blog πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

