Cashew-Carrot Curry Spread

Spread?

Or dip.

Hmm. I suppose this could go either way. I am most likely to use it as a spread, however – but you can eat it by the spoonful if you feel so inclined. So yes, this is that mysterious orange substance I spoke of. Sorry to let down those of you who were thinking sweet-potato something or other. Anything sweet potato is pretty exciting, so hopefully this wasn’t too much of a disappointment!

Cashew-Carrot Curry Spread

yields: a whole lot of carroty goodness

Ingredients:

  • 4 small-medium sized carrots
  • 1/4 c. cashews
  • 1/4 c. plain greek yogurt
  • scant 1 t. dijon mustard
  • heaping 1/2 t. curry powder
  • 1 medium clove garlic
  • 1/2 T. honey
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Destructions:

Chop the carrots into smaller pieces and boil in salted water until easily pierced with a fork or knife.

Drain excess water and allow to cool for a couple minutes.

In a food processor or blender, blend the carrots, garlic, cashews, greek yogurt, and mustard until combined. It doesn’t need to be pureed necessarily.

Stop and add in the remaining ingredients, blending until you get to your desired consistency.

End result!

How to use this concoction?

In sandwiches!

Well, today I discovered it is outstanding with a hardboiled egg. No, that’s not a bunk egg – it just looks funny since it was squished against the bread all night πŸ˜‰

It would also be lovely dovely paired with homemade crackers! I do not, however – recommend pairing it with a peach. Yes, I have been eating peaches like they’re going out of style.

Brek'ist

I’ll take any fruit that ranges from 69 cents a pound to 99 cents a pound depending on the week, thankyouverymuch. Luckily – I do love peaches even if I still cannot get past their skin.

Base: almost 1/2 c. quick oats, 1/2 c. almond milk, vanilla chobani (mixed in in the am), trail power, cinnamon.

I’ve also discovered that the only fruit that can successfully take the important role that a banana plays is the blueberry. Another miracle fruit!

Topped with: wheat germ, peach-ginger jam, skinless almonds, goji granola, and nuked blueberries and chopped peach mixed with maple sizzurp.

This homemade peach-ginger jam cannot be described. So flavorful! Sweet, but not overly so – enough that it’s still got the zing of the ginger.

Some extra bold iced coffee joined me this morning. Lately, I have not been wanting to fall asleep at a reasonable hour. I like to go to bed by 10. This makes waking up at 5:40 ish a non-issue, and as I’ve said – I don’t mind being a grandma. But these past few nights I’ve been not able to fall right asleep and had sort of restless sleep, too. I don’t get tired until later, and even then, my mind keeps running.Β When my alarm sounded, I said “Oh HAAAAAAIL no.” and snoozed another twenty minutes. 5:40 wasn’t completely necessary today as it was a day-off for Teddie, so it was okay. And appreciated! Hopefully, though, I can kick this issue to the curb!

Chunks of Energy

While I was at the co-op, I saw that we had some of the real Chunks of Energy and was thisclose to getting some to try. But then realized. That’s my problem. And didn’t.

Although, can we just talk for a second about one of my pet peeves? Okay. Rude cashiers. Seriously. If you hate your life, at least try to make the most of it – you’ll be amazed at how not letting your bad mood take over your mind makes your day oodles better. Especially at a co-op! There’s this guy who’s been there the past two times I’ve gone, and you can tell he just has no where near the level of enthusiasm as most of the workers there do. Which I find especially off because it’s a volunteer position – it’s not like he has to do it for money! He kept practically throwing my food down once he punched in the number.

Maybe I’m just weird because I’m one of those people who loves greeting customers with a smile upon my face while working, and being the polite customer when checking out at stores. Maybe because I know how annoying it is to work with difficult, grumpy people, and know that one nice customer makes the whole day better. Or maybe I’m just happy. Yeah, I’m probably just happy, too.

Anybody else wanna share a pet peeve of theirs?

I made some "trail mix" to have at work - with Annie bunny grahams (hehe...every-bunny needs some bunny grahams!), skinless olive oil & sea salt almonds, papaya, and raisins.

Fun fact: when I was much younger, I used to help this woman with a bunch of rabbits. She showed and bred them. I even had one I trained. Did you know they have to be trained to sit pretty an all? And let me tell you – rabbit bites hurt. I had a scar for years. Anyways. We would feed them dried papaya as a treat, and I would always sneak some for myself. So now I feel like a rabbit for eating so much papaya lately. Although it’s kind of ironic because I’m not the hugest fan of it plain (or fresh, for that matter) but love the tropical twist it lends to bars πŸ™‚

Hummus-Feta-Veg mess with 2 scrambled eggs (with almond milk and parm cheese)

Hi, my name’s Jess, and I’m a hummus and veg freak. Yes, I had to do this again. I was almost drooling on the drive home at the thought. I’ve done this with beans, seitan – next up was eggs! Scrambled ultimately won this time. In the bowl:

  • corn (from a leftover cob)
  • roasted broccoli
  • roasted carrots
  • roasted sugar snap peas
  • couple globs of Cedar’s Garlic Lovers Hummus
  • Ragu
  • feta

But!!! That’s not the last from me – I’m saving the best for last!!

I came home to a package from across the pond! I. am. so. excited.

Nikki and I did a bloggie swap – and I am SO excited to dig in to these bars!! It’s really neat to be sent something that I would never be able to get my hands on over here. I will certainly be letting you all know about each as I eat them πŸ™‚

Peace out girlscouts πŸ˜‰

27 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

27 responses to “Cashew-Carrot Curry Spread

  1. Mmm that dip sounds really good!! I love creative uses of veggies πŸ™‚

  2. I’m not a fan of rude cashiers either, but my biggest pet peeve is bad drivers. Oh. my. God. Okay, so maybe I drive a little too fast sometimes (as soon as I get into a car, I’m in a hurry… even if I’m not going anywhere in particular…), but seriously, some people should not be on the road. If you insist on going 20 under the limit, why not just walk? Or bike? Why get in the way of people who want to pass you? Why drive the same speed as the guy next to you instead of just driving behind him? Why not be a little more considerate? Gah. Even just thinking about it gets on my nerves… Okay, calm now.

    Your dinner bowls always make me so hungry (actually, most of your meals do), and I’m sitting here eating dinner as we speak! Good thing I decided to include hummus, broccoli, and cheese in my meal tonight, or I’d be a lot more jealous πŸ˜‰

  3. Giirrrlllll….totally feeling you Curry love. I had Channa Masala…again. Life is too short to neglect the spice drawer. Love your food as always!! Looks fantastic!

  4. I figured that bowl had some yummy carrot concoction in it! Sounds delicious! I do a roasted carrot hummus that just makes me so happy! I have a real sweet spot for orange fruits and veggies! I can’t stand rude cashiers or baggers either! I had a bagger last week cramming breakable foods into my shopping bag last week! UGH…come on, I am paying for that! I am enjoying a peach on some dessert oatmeal right now! YUM!

  5. teenagehealthfreak

    I DETEST people that smack gum!!! or smell like arm-pits. those are my pet peeves..seriously invest in deoderant!!! he he…I need cashews. πŸ™‚ love the pictures as always!!!

  6. One of my biggest pet peeves at the grocery stores is when the cashiers insist on helping you bag your groceries an then proceed to put heavy cans in the same bag as something as fragile as berries or bananas!!!!! Just hate that!!!
    Lovely dinner as always – i just had hummus with a grilled portabella and eggplant – delicious – can’t get enough hummus these days!!!
    Interesting story about the rabbits – i had no idea that rabbits could be trained !!
    Enjoy your package from the swap – i love blogger swaps – very fun!!!
    Have a great Tuesday and hope u get some sleep tonight!!!
    xoxo aimee

  7. I am also a hummus freak, it was my dinner tonight (among other things). I basically ate an entire can of chickpeas myself. My pet peeves are people talking on a cell phone while waiting online but I also agree with angry cashiers. I’ll also add to the list cashiers that are rude. I went to the Hallmark store and asked them if they had any second marriage cards and the girl told me that “They didn’t because that was weird and if the first one didn’t work the second one probably wouldn’t either”. My sister had to drag me out of the store before I screamed at her. hah

  8. Biggest pet peeve at the moment? Litterbugs. How hard is it to keep your trash with you and pop it in the nearest garbage can? Not hard at all. Sheesh. Rude cashiers are definitely up there on my list though… I am the type of girl who loves to greet and serve people with a smile, and I know how good it makes me feel so I get really frusterated when I see someone looking miserable πŸ˜›

    I am the exact same way when it comes to sleeping – In bed at 10 and up by 5:30 at the latest… I can only imagine how you must feel to start having restless nights. Good luck!
    ❀ Tat

  9. I’m sooo with you on the rude cashiers. And just rude employees in general. They make me not want to give them my business. I would go out of my way to a different store just so an employee with a bad attitude can’t ruin my day. No one needs to deal with that! You’re doing them a favor by being a customer otherwise they wouldn’t even have their job.

    My biggest pet peeve other than that is that shakey, jerky leg thing that some people do subconsciously where they bounce their leg/knee up and down. Especially if their seat is touching mine and it makes my chair vibrate! Or if it’s in the corner of my eye during an exam. I usually have the worse luck sitting next to people like that during something that needs my concentration.

  10. YUM!!! and yay i think i guessed carrots too!! ❀

  11. hi! i’m new, but i’ve read your blog for awhile now πŸ™‚

    i TOTALLY know what you mean about rude cashiers. i am a cashier myself, and not only do i hate going into other stores and having to deal with bad attitudes but i also hate witnessing it at my own store! it takes so much less time and energy to just grin and let it go πŸ™‚

    my biggest pet peeve is when people tell me to smile. what am i, a doll?! i can’t fake smile. i just can’t! lol. granted i have been given this suggestion since about the sixth grade, so i guess that’s long enough to get on your nerves, huh?

  12. My bigger pet peeves is flies! Can’t stems them especially the ones that make the loud buzzzzzzing noises! Or casadeas, bugs that hangout in the grass at night and yell towards your window so you can’t fall asleep at night! Ugh drives me up a wall! Your carrot dip sounds amaaazing! I’ve been loving peaches as well although I ran out a couple days ago and can’t seem to get more 😦 loving all your eats I’m totally a hummus addict, if I don’t have it at LEAST once a day I feel incomplete! Have a great day πŸ™‚ ❀

  13. That dip looks wonderful! I love dips with a nut base. My recent pet peeve are people who wear too much cologne or perfume at the gym – sets off my allergies like crazy.

  14. So carrots it is! As you know, I can’t stand raw carrots, but I love them when they’ve been simmered or baked. I’m going to have to give this a try. I also get annoyed when cashiers are rude. In fact, I get annoyed when I meet rude people of any variety. I think that the world has so many beautiful things to offer, and as human beings we should strive to treat each other with respect and love. I know I’m not perfect, but I try to greet each stranger with a smile…I only wish that they were always returned! Lovely post!

  15. Oooh, the dip sounds so good! I will make it asap – I just came back from a summer trip and I mentally bookmarked a carrot/sesame dressing to try and re-create when I got back. This sounds even better πŸ™‚

  16. YAY for the blog swap!! I’ve tried every single thing she sent you, bar the Wallaby bar! I love seeing British stuff on American blogs. Le Sigh – I want to do another swap now 😦
    Gah, I hate rude customers/servers too – I ALWAYS smile, say hello, have a nice day, say how LOVELY the (hideous) shirt is they’re buying etc etc when I serve. It makes them happy πŸ™‚
    Pet peeves…I have way too many (I’m easily irritated :p). Off the top of my head, I’d say slow people who walk in the middle of the street and faff and stop, so I have to keep stopping suddenly myself, or winding round them. Drives. Me. Mad.
    !

  17. i’m sorry about the sleep, love. i’ve been having issues, too. isn’t it the pits?

    this is going to sound so hippie, but one thing that i know helps is when i listen to my body’s natural rhythm. if my body says lights out at 9pm, then i should go. if i don’t, then i won’t be able to fall asleep until the next “tired cycle.” it’s usually 1.5 hours later for me. and if i wake up anytime after 4:30am, i’m toast. i can’t fall back asleep. so i pray for that not to happen!!!

    good luck beautiful!
    -rebekah

  18. Ohh I’m so glad you got my package!! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to hear what you think of them! It’s exciting to see something I sent you on your blog because you can make it look good with your amazing photography skills haha!
    And as for the dip..you know how much I love curry so you totally lived up to my expectations yet again lady!
    I totally agree with you on the rude cashiers. They just make me so angry! One of my pet peeved, okay I have two..firstly is people on those mobility scooters who don’t know how to drive them. I seriously think you need a license to be able to hire those out. I was out with my family and this woman came hurtling down out of control on one down a slope and straight into my leg/ankle. I thought I’d broken a bone because those things weigh a tonne and I was in agony. Her excuse was that she had hired it put from the place we were at so she didn’t know how to control it. Why didn’t they show her?!! ARGH! Another pet peeve is those old people who look down on younger people and expect them to move out of the way for them like they are gods. Just because you’re old doesn’t mean I have to be pushed into the road!
    Xx

  19. Sorry about your bad sleeps girl! I find that usually after a couple nights of putting up with that, my body realizes it needs to catch up on some zzz’s and I get a night of awesome sleep! I hope that happens for you. πŸ˜€

    I hate rude cashiers too! I find they’re usually crabby teenagers who think they’re too-cool-for-school haha. I acquire new pet peeves daily. Yesterday I got really annoyed when my parents tried to make conversation with me while I was absorbed in a book. I hate that!

  20. That spread looks divine! i make a very basic cashew-carrot spread, but love your addition of flavors.

  21. Michelle

    I always get the nosy cashiers, but I can see how my groceries are quite a bit different than most. I always buy so many fruits or vegetables, while most college students are buying cases of pizza and top ramen.

  22. Pingback: Hungry Monster | Healthy Exposures

  23. Girl im a hummus freak too! I love love love it i cant get enough πŸ™‚ Your cashew carrot spread look so yummy too!

  24. Pingback: Trial and Error « One Step Closer

  25. Pingback: Curry Time « Smithereens

  26. Pingback: Randomly Sweet « One Step Closer

Leave a Reply

