Liar

Uh, okay. I lied. I’m actually not going to reveal what that mysterious orange substance is. I just need to get that off my chest. So if you came here in wonder, hoping to discover what else I made last night – you’ll just have to settle for my endearing charm and sarcastic wit. Sorry kids.

What are those things?

Now that I’ve come clean on that situation, I can get on with my regular posting. And first day of August. Holy cow. August. I celebrated the new month in the same way I celebrate every other day: waffles. I surprised the pants off of you all, now, didn’t I?

Topped with a chopped peach and blueberries nuked with some maple sizzurp.

It was actually a chilly start to the month – but unfortunately, my morning weather man informed me that this gorgeous weather would not last for long, and heat and humidity is in store this week. I am just plain overjoyed.

Not.

And a sunflower butter icing: sunflower butter, vanilla chobani, and a splash of almond milk.

I am really enjoying the Vanilla Chobani that I begrudgingly (at the time) ended up with. While I’m a little bummed that I can’t add it to savory things, I am definitely enjoying it while I have it! It’s very subtly sweet and when I first opened it I sort of wanted to bathe in it, it smells that dreamy.

Yes, that was weird. No, I don’t take it back.

After the fab start to my day, I went to see the little Turkey.

Turkey Turkey Turkey

We crossed yet another accomplishment off of our list today! I’ve been sort of putting off taking him out of the indoor, but it was certainly time. Indoors get boring, and I’m sure part of his initial rebelling lately has been boredom. I just tend to be a bit of a pansy sometimes, and the idea of taking a green, young horse outdoors with no barriers around me was a little nerve racking. But, he worked hard yesterday, and I don’t know why I’m so afraid because if he dumps me, the meadow is a lot softer than the arena dirtsand.

hardy har harr.

Precious.

The little guy had quite a fun time, though, and was well behaved. We have to work on our stopping out in the open, apparently, but heck – who needs brakes, anyways? I kept it short since he was quite well behaved, but it had more to do with the fact that there was absolutely nobody around so had he gotten a little uppity and something happened, he’d probably stop and eat the meadow before anyone saw a loose horse with tack and no rider while I’m lying in a hay field.

Just so everyone knows, I don’t actually ever plan on falling off, I just make sure to take precautionary measures while I am alone. Never know when a boogieman is going to jump out at your flight-instinctive 1,000 pound animal.

So, since all went well with Turkey number one, I was home pretty early and tackled Turkey number two (Georgie) with one goal: saddle up and ride!

Okay, maybe not exactly, but at least saddling up. When I got on her the other day it was just sitting on her without a saddle, my mom on the ground, that sort of scenario. Today I tacked her up with no bad reaction and hopped on!

I kept my mom close-by just in case (typing that sounds funny because really, there’s nothing she could have done had anything gone South) but Georgie was a trooper. Already better than when we saw her “ridden” πŸ˜›

Funny angle makes me look really big on her here.

Whoops – I’m definitely rambling with the horsey business today, aren’t I?

Apologies, apologies. Continuing on!

Soup for lunch!

Okay, okay – not soup. I guess I just enjoy my green monsters in soup cups, eh? Not quite a buddha bowl, but it’ll do πŸ˜‰

In the GM: spinach, 1 peach, 3 (last of!) strawberries, vanilla chobani, almond milk, barleans strawberry-banana flax oil, dates.

This GM was a fruitΒ extravaganza!! I loved it. And this was the first time I made a GM while everyone was home. My sister was the only one in the room and I was prepared for the worst when she asked what was making it so green – but when I simply said “spinach.” she compared it to the Green Machine smoothies!

Well that was easy.

Topped with: raw quick oats, dried apricots, blueberries, marcona almonds, Mae's tropical coconut butter, and a drizzle of blackberry honey creme.

After reading the comments (mainly this article) on Amanda’s recent post – I was a little hesitant to keep using raw oats. But I just love them so much, and it seems like one of those “things” where some people will say it’s totally okay, and others say otherwise. I feel like when it comes to situations pertaining to “good for you vs. bad for you” we almost have to pick our battles. It seems everything has two stories. And not only that, but scientists are constantly discovering new things that they are declaring bad, with limited backup data. I acknowledge that coffee may not be the best thing for me, but I think being happy physically is as important as being happy mentally. Deprivation does not bring mental happiness, thank you.

So, I will continue to enjoy my raw oats. Sure, maybe I’ll be a little more mindful – but lets be honest.

There could be far worse things to consume.

What’s one thing you’ve heard good and bad about, but enjoy too much to let it really affect your decision? A daily thing, I’m not talking “oh, I love anΒ occasionalΒ Big Mac.”

Snackage. What, doesn't every college kid snack on baked broccoli and carrots with Ragu, hummus, and parmesan? No?

I spent a bit of the afternoon putting up some fencing and of course cleaning out the horses – but also found sometime to just chill. It was quite nice. It was starting to get really hot out, anyways – and when the weather is as gorgeous as it had been the past couple of days I can’t bear to be inside! But, I needed to work on mucking up some rough ideas for business cards for A. I shot some more photos of the barn, pastures, and horses to use so that was an afternoon project for today!

I honestly hadn’t even thought about dinner all day, either. The most food planning I did for the week was baked up some eggplant and carrots in Ragu. Otherwise, I was perfectly content just veggin’. Literally and figuratively. Har!

So, naturally – a sweet potato came to the rescue. As much as I love being able to microwave a sweet potato in five minutes for an after-work dinner, nothing beats being able to take the time to bake one in the oven. Such a difference.

For the beans, I just mixed black beans with a dollop of dijon mustard and apple BBQ. I mixed in some chopped carrots and raisins and it resulted in quick and easy “baked beans”! The raisins were certainly a fun addition, and after I was halfway done I thought pecans would have been a lovely addition, but oh well. Additionally, I am apparently on a parmesan kick lately. Anybody ever had a fresh ear of corn with just a dollop of butter, enough salt for an army, and parmesan? Try it. You’ll thank me later. (Of course, I’m assuming everyone won’t use as much salt as I πŸ˜› )

18 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

18 responses to “Liar

  1. I love eating my green smoothies out of bowls, i do it all the time! Its the only way to have one IMO πŸ™‚ And turkey looks so cute! Reading about you riding makes me think of how i used to ride, i really miss it!

  2. You are such a tease! I am glad you had a productive day! That always feels great! I am totally with you on the coffee! I need an IV of it! Especially today! Now I am going to check out the think on raw oats…there is always something about food…

  3. Loved hearing all about your day with the ponies – just lovely!!! I can’t wait to get back to riding again!!!!
    Your dinner looks delicious – nothing beats a sweet potato baked in the oven – and eggplant and tomato sauce – a definate favorite in my book!!!! I just had eggplant with sauce tonight – perfection!!!
    So what did become of the infamous orange substance from yesterday????
    Have a great Monday and keep enjoying those ponies!!!!
    xoxo aimee

  4. I gotta tell ya… before I started reading your blog, I had no idea at how much work and consideration had to be put into training a horse. I did quite a bit of riding when I was younger, but it was all on trainer, decently-behaved horses, and I never saw the behind-the-scenes work. The progress that you’re making with Teddie (and the ponies) is pretty darn amazing though πŸ™‚

    And yeah… I’m still not too sure about the whole raw oats thing. I’ll probably still give it a try considering I’m so curious, and we’ll go from there and see if I become an addict like I am with cooked oats. I know what you mean about the whole back and forth, though. One day something is good for us, and the next day it might kill us. I think the best thing we can do is trust our bodies and see how they respond. Coffee would definitely be my good and bad thing. Whether or not it’s good for my body or not, it’s damn good for my mind, so I’ll keep enjoying it every day πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve been eating lots of raw oats lately as well (just in yogurt… I sill haven’t tried a GM 😦 Arg! Kicking myself here..)and I love them! I love how they are so crumly and subtly sweet. Yum.

    Congrats on the two horses! By the looks of it, Georgie is going to be a real easy girl to get along with. Of course, things are always how they seem now are they? Anywho.. your doing fabulously πŸ™‚

    ❀ Tat

    • PS. I’ve been meaning to say this like three times now and I keep forgetting. In regards to your disspointment about finishing your ginger preserves: Have you ever thought about making your own jam? It’s actually pretty easy (I’ve never done it, but I’ve seen it on the Food Network. Go figure.) because all you really need to get is natural fruit pectin. Anyway.. I just thought it might be something you’d be interested in.

      ❀

  6. I agree, there are worse things out there than raw oats. πŸ™‚
    And way to leave me hanging on the orange stuff! I hope it involves sweet potatoes.
    I love when Teddie sticks his tongue out! Horses are so endearing.

  7. Mo

    Aww, now I’m really curious as to what the orange stuff was, exactly. πŸ˜›

    I actually only got into raw oats and I haven’t been having trouble with that anyway, because it’s really only about a tablespoon in a bowl of applesauce. I’ve never noticed any kind of adverse effect anyway so whatever!
    Hmm, the only thing I can think of that I use regularly that people are sort of yes-or-no on is canola oil. I’ve heard that it’s horrible for you and that it’s the healthier than EVOO. o.O I just rationalize that I use so little of it each time I use it anyway and many an RD have said it’s a-okay so I just ignore the “omg canola oil is ze devil” talk. πŸ˜›

    Teddy is getting quite handsome!

  8. teenagehealthfreak

    oh I eat raw oats too on my yogurt. yum. I still drink coffee too…I agree….it’s happiness in a cup!!! πŸ™‚ and yay for horsey success!! i’m happy for ya!..i’m starting to understand the feeling again! πŸ™‚

  9. I love that picture wit his tongue sticking out! Priceless! πŸ˜€ and falling off is definitely no fun at all. My old instructor always said “you can’t call yourself a true rider until you’ve fallen off 7 times.” If that were the case, I’m a prrooooo. πŸ˜›

  10. Michelle

    That is so exciting about Teddie!

    I was eating waffles this weekend and thought of what you would top it with πŸ™‚ hehe.

  11. Aww I just love hearing about how Teddie is doing so well, I bet it must make you so proud to see him improving and it’s all thanks to his dedicated mom!
    Ohh I’m so intrigued as to what the orange stuff was! You’ve left me hanging now lol!
    I’m not sure about the whole raw oats thing..I don’t really like the taste anyway, I find it too hard going if you get what I mean? I am addicted to just eating dry cereal like all the time though at the moment..it’s soo addictive!! I just keep grabbing handfuls during the day lol!
    Mmm I do love a good sweet potato and beans. I bet I can beat you on the salt though..I pile it on! I know it’s bad but I’m addicted to salt, I don’t know why?!

  12. Yes…you are a tease! I’m excited to hear what that orange substance is…whenever that might be! It was fun seeing pictures of you and your mom working together. You two make a great pair. I hope you have a beautiful Monday full of good riding, great eating and lots of smiles!

  13. I say ramble away with the horse stuff πŸ™‚ it’s so good to read! Horsey AND foodie people have the best blogs :p (hmm..you’re the only one I can think of that really combines the two..!)
    I think raw oats are fine – granola is basically raw right? And we blend them in smoothies which is basically still raw.
    I’ve heard sooooooooooo much good and bad about soya, but in the end, I don’t care. I have soya every day (yogurt mainly), but I’m so healthy in every other respect I don’t think it’ll do me any harm. I don’t drink, smoke, eat crap…it’ll be fine πŸ™‚

  14. I had no idea that there are potential problems from eating raw oats! But I’m going to continue to eat them on occasion anyways. We’re constantly getting contradictory reports from scientists about foods and it’s so hard to sort out the truth from the fiction! Take coconut for example. Is it a good fat or bad fat? Either way, I’m still going to eat it and enjoy every bite! πŸ˜€

  15. I’m with you on the raw oats…I’m going to keep eating them, at least a few times a week. There is so much contradictory information out there, it’s hard to figure out what’s worth listening to, you know?

  16. I love all the horse talk. It makes me so happy, and it’s second best to actually riding for myself. πŸ˜‰ Someday. Someday.

    I never heard of raw oats being bad, but I’ll have to check out that article you mentioned! πŸ˜€

  17. Katharina

    Bah! You liar :p lol Just kidding! Mmm I’ve been loving peaches lately, and I actually had a peach and blueberry combo.. along with some other fruits πŸ™‚ All of the descriptions of your eats sound sooo yummy!! Especially that apple BBQ sauce. Who makes that? And you reminded me that I have to work on my business card as well. I should pull out my sketchbook tonight. I will do that after I comment and that way it’ll be in front of me and all I have to do is get a pen and open it lol.

    I remember the first time I almost fell off a horse they never taught me what to do just in case so I held on for dear life and managed to pull myself back up. Then after that everyone at the stable was clapping and then they told me what to do “just in case”. Well the next time the horse got spooked I just jumped off lol. Oh boy.

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

