Full Moon

First off – I was practically beaming with excitement reading your comments about Teddie’s new muscular self. It’s so exciting that even non horse people can see the huge difference – so I definitely had a proud mom moment with each one πŸ™‚

Secondly – Sarena enlightened me as to the soy sauce situation! Makes so much sense now – flavor and sodium. I got the flavor part (but still hate it) although I never thought it would have to do with sodium, but I did also find it odd that most of the recipes didn’t call for salt. Well, now both my questions have been answered! Thanks, lady πŸ™‚

Berry Banana-y Overnight Oats

But – moving on to the day. My boss has always maintained, ever since I can remember, that Full Moons bring out the most…interesting…of customers. We can always tell when one is coming or whenΒ oneΒ is happening based on the sanity of our customers. I’ll fully admit that I’m probably a little more out there than some people. I blame it on being artsy. It’s not a bad thing. It just is. So, we get a lot of people like that – no big deal, they’re all fun and easy to deal with.

Then there’s days like today.

Base: almost 1/2 c. quick oats, 1 T. Ruth's Chia Goodness, 1/2 c. milk, yogurt, trail power, frozen berries, cinnamon

I noticed my boss’s sly grin and skeptical eye expression right off the bat this morning, shortly after him hanging up the phone.

“What’s that look for?” I ask.

Full moon,” is his simple response.

And that’s all he needs to say for me to realize what’s in store for us.

Topped with more blueberries, sliced banana, sunflower butter, goji granola, ginger preserves, maple syrup, and honey roasted peanuts.

Some completely sane and some strange customers later, we notice a tractor trailer idling outside the building, and had been for quite a while. After a good fifteen minutes of this, my boss goes to investigate.

We’d become their stopping place so that they could fax back and forth documents.

Let me say one thing: I hate judging people, and rarely do I do so. Which is probably contradictory to what I’ve said earlier about crazy people, but that’s based more on what I think of people after getting a while dealing with them and finding out what they’re all about. What I’m talking about in this situation is judging people based on appearance.

The man we dealt with had me shaking in my boots, made the hair on the back of my neck stand, and I just wanted to go running from my position at the cash register to the back of the workspace.

Fruit leather! This was my first time trying these. I quite enjoyed it - just enough to satisfy a sweet craving when you don't want a big snack.

After our first interaction, I buried myself with work in the back.

What I don’t get is why tractor-trailer drivers choose to let their engine run for a good two hours (at the minimum – I’m not joking) rather than shutting it off.

I could go for some more enlightenment. I don’t want to get too detailed because I don’t want to come across as rude and offensive – but that certainly had me rattled for the majority of the afternoon. I will say, though, that I think I’m a pretty good judge of character. People don’t typically creep me out, and I think today was the first time I ever felt like something was just off about the entire situation.

Baked eggplant, hummus, feta, romaine

Luckily, though, that was all after a lunch that I was able to thoroughly enjoy. I even ate outside today, soaking up the beautiful rays of sunshine and enjoying the gentle, cool breeze. Well, until a line of traffic got backed all the way up so that cars were at a standstill, thus allowing for a man in a truck to enjoy watching me consume said sandwich. I’m guessing he was jealous.

Nectarine and Greek Yogurt with honey and wheat germ, crackers, chunks of energy.

Consumed with lunch was a delightful bowl of nectarines, plain greek yogurt, honey, and wheat germ. This was delightful. And hey, guess what! I bought gas for just $1.89/gallon this morning because my mom and I spend too much money on groceries πŸ˜€ Yeah – I’m a geek. That made my day.

After trailing behind a hay wagon for the better part of my drive home (really, people – pull over when you’re going that slow. There was plenty of room), I couldn’t wait to dive in to dinner.

Unfortunately, I think my appetite may have missed the memo and I felt like I’d hardly made a dent in my sweet potato-beanball sub. That’s not to say it wasn’t drool-worthy, however. I thoroughly enjoyed each and every bite before heading out to play with the ponies.

Teddie from yesterday.

Luckily, full moons didn’t affect my food or horses/ponies today πŸ™‚

Anybody else have any full moon experiences? At least, I’m pretty sure it’s a full moon – I didn’t see it on the calendar I was looking at, but based on the people who walked through the door, I’d believe it.

18 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

18 responses to “Full Moon

  1. I’ve never really paid attention to the type of people that I meet in correlaton with the full moon, but I am definitely a believer when it comes to things like that πŸ˜‰

    Sorry you had the pants scared off of you today. You don’t sound rude or offensive… I really think that you can just ‘sense’ when something isn’t quite right, At any rate, it sounds like you handled it perfectly by just getting out of there πŸ™‚ Props.

    Can I just say that the first photo on this post is stunning? I don’t know much about photography… but the way it is focused is just amazing. The oats themselves don’t look too bad either πŸ˜›

    ❀ Tat

  2. Yikes, that guys at your work sounds super creepy!! And I never put nut butter on my overnight oats, just hot oatmeal, but that photo is tempting me to try it!

  3. Dee

    That sweet potato looks AMAZING! Um, yum!

  4. I really hope that’s tonight is not a full moon!!!!!! In my line of work (delivering babies) the big joke is that all pregnant women deliver during a full moon – hope i get some sleep tonight!!!!!
    That really was a strange encounter today – guess a full moon does affect people!!
    Love your lunch idea – baked eggplant is yummy – especially topped with hummus!!!
    Just had your blackbean patties for dinner tonight – delicious!!!!!!!! Have a great night and give Teddie a big hug for me!!!!!! xoxo aimee

  5. Michelle

    That is so creepy! I haven’t really ever noticed people acting crazy around full moons, but that doesn’t mean they don’t!

  6. I had no idea that it was supposed to be a full moon, and I don’t usually pay attention to the people I come across when there is one, but one thing I do notice is that my sleep gets totally skewed when it’s close to being a full moon. I have trouble falling asleep and staying asleep, and usually have strange dreams. This has been happening to me for the past couple of nights, so I guess that would explain it. Creepy. This is part of the reason I can’t watch horror movies; my imagination runs wild and… then I can’t sleep for a week or so πŸ˜‰

    Your food always looks so good and makes me hungry… and that’s AFTER I finished dinner, too! Not fair! I’m basically dying over that sweet potato sub =X

  7. hahah full moon! that explains why my family was acting so nutzo!

  8. I completely hear you…people get crazy during full moons!! At least you get a good story out of it haha!!

  9. Mae

    That sub looks to die for!! Seriously, yum. You and the pony are looking great πŸ™‚

  10. It’s indeed full moon today! I keep track because full and new moon days are days where Ashtanga yogis don’t practice (they think you’re more likely to injure yourself, and you’re more emotionally unstable).

    Wow your sweet potato-bean ball sub looks amazing!

  11. Isn’t it amazing how shaken up we can get by these strange interactions. I’ve had my fair share of full moon moments with strangers…but thankfully none today. I’m glad you were able to refocus through eating outside and riding.

  12. Ooh that does sound creepy! I live in the middle of nowheere, and the amount of times people have stopped at the end of my drive with the engines running…(yeh, probably lost – but still!)
    I haven’t noticed anything full moon-y though, but I never know when one is coming anyway πŸ˜›
    LOVE the sweet potato bean ball sub thing!! So fab looking πŸ™‚

  13. Your food has seriously made e hungry. After being away for the weekend, I really need some good home cooking! I don’t associate strangeness in people with the full moon since everyone we know is strange. I don’t judge, I just have to take them for what they are. I guess that is part of working in a creative industry! I stopped trying to figure people out…there is no rhyme or reason!

  14. I’ve never paid particular attention to how other people act around a full moon, but sometimes I think my sleep gets thrown off around that time. For example, today I slept in until 7:40. Whaaaat? That’s unheard of for me!!

    That man sounds super creepy! Sometimes I get weird vibes off of people too.

  15. yeah, I definitely think the full moon affects people – I had a few crazy phone calls yesterday and was wondering the same thing.

  16. That sweet potato bean ball sub looks way good!!! I’m going to have to try that πŸ™‚ The baked eggplant looks tasty as well!

  17. I’ve heard about the weird full moon occurrences, but I don’t pay any attention to moon cycles so I wouldn’t know!! So many blogs talk about it that I’d like to start noticing though!

    $1.89 for gas? Um, can I please move to VT now? I’d have been excited too!

  18. I really try not to judge people either..but sometimes it’s *really* hard not to. Especially in cases where it’s more like you’re listening to your intuition then necessarily judging them like in your situation. And you got gas for $1.89?! Lucky duck!! I spend way too much on groceries..how can I get in on this deal? haha πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

