It’s the Weekend

Phew – I made it to Sunday. Now it’s time for the weekend!

Waffles - You better believe I remembered the Puffed Cereal this time!

Has anybody else been cramming their weekends to the brim that by the time Monday rolls around you’re almost relieved for the “vacation” that work will be?! Of course – with how busy it still was by the time I left work on Friday, I’m not so sure tomorrow will be a breath of fresh air.

There’s always Tuesday, though, right?

Topped with the last bit of a random banana, blueberries, and a plum - all nuked and mixed with maple syrup - and cashews. Fun Fact: there was a junebug in them.

Today was a whole lot of busy busy. Mostly sweaty, grimy, “ew my gad i’m so gross right now.” work. But hey, I’ve always maintained the fact that I’d rather do that sort of “exercise” rather than go to the gym. I still would, even after today.

Of course – I got the fun stuff out of the way first, and shot right off to the barn to play with Teddie after breakfast. Perhaps too fast – I allowed myself to sleep in a bit, so when I awoke at 7:15 I must have subconsciously thought “rushrushrush.” Oh, well – luckily I was digested enough by the time we got there (my mom came out) that I was able to have an enjoyable ride. More on that at the end 🙂

Once we got home, though – I set to work raking up all of the hay the horses and the ponies wasted. The last round bale we got wasn’t very flavorful, apparently – and they decided to turn their noses up at it after a couple of days…and since it wasn’t wound very tight, made a huge mess all over the paddock. Add to that the fact that it poured last night meant heavy, wet, yucky hay cleanup. Mreh. That said, after a short while I was certainly ready for lunch.

In the Blender: a banana, spinach, blueberries, a peach, barleans flax oil, greek yogurt, and almond milk

Judging by mostly everyone’s enthusiastic responses to my inquiry about “the gums” they practically are life-changing. But, as I was sitting enjoying this, I decided to check e-mails and such (for the first time today) and found Rebekah’s comment to  be most influential. Girl, you’re right – it already is delicious, so I think I’ll just keep enjoying my green monsters and smoothies the way they were intended – not like a soft serve.

Topped with chopped dates, blueberries, marcona almonds, quick oats, and peanut butter.

Of course, being the experimental chickie I am, I probably would still get a teeny bit to experiment with should I find it when I go to explore the bulk bins this week. Then I can say for certain 🙂

I am definitely becoming a fan of this lunch, I will say that. I probably should have had it before I even started tackling the raking – after this puppy I felt like I was moving mountains!

That joy took a better portion of the afternoon, until we moved on to cleaning out the trailer. We’re hoping to sell it so we can get a two-horse, and being horse people…well, we tend to hoard tack. It also became “overflow tack” storage – so we decided to just list stuff on Craigslist that we will never again need, or chuck it if it’s not worth it.

It was around this time that I started thinking about chickpeas.

Yeah, yeah – maybe I’m weird. Apparently, there’s something about shoveling horse poo and hay that makes me think “ooh, I want some falafel!

It’s whatever.

Anyways – we decided a break was necessary, and I decided that falafel was just as necessary. I even picked out a recipe. (I thought it was spelled falafel not felafel, but okay.) Apparently, however, the bean robber has visited our cupboard because the only beans in our pantry were black beans. Dude, where are my chickpeas?

YES, that is blurred out on purpose.

Freeze. Panic. Have a mid-youth crisis. Think fast.

Veganomicon to the rescue. Okay, I lived through that one. I initially was just going to go for black bean cutlets – but I wanted something new.

Enter: Beanballs.

Black beans & remaining 1/2 c. kidney beans, fresh chives, quick oats, VWG, BBQ sauce, olive oil

The main being using primarily black beans rather than kidney, quick oats rather than bread crumbs, fresh chives rather than any of the dried herbs, and BBQ sauce instead of steak and soy sauce.

All together now!

Okay, question: why do so many vegan and vegetarian recipes call for soy sauce in the most random of recipes? Seriously – I want to know. I hate soy sauce, and always leave it out, but maybe it’s playing some random important role that I don’t know about.

Sprinkled with sesame seeds and baked in the toaster oven. So handy that baby is.

While these baked I went back out and started playing with Georgie. She might be a tough nut to crack…but we’ll get there 🙂

Finally, though, all was done and I retreated inside. Luckily, it looked like a storm was rolling in and so I was able to enjoy an hour just relaxing and listing stuff. had the sun been out I probably would have still been go-go-go, so the cloudiness lent itself well to just chillin’. Like a villain. Uh.

Needless to say, these happened at some point throughout the day:

crackers! give or take ten.

brownie batter with cacao bliss + quick oats + marcona almonds + blueberries + chunk of energy

Aaaand eventually, a dinner that really truly hit the spot. Best salad I’ve had in…a couple of days.

Romaine, beanballs, GARDEN! tomato, marinara roasted carrots & eggplant, and feta cheese.

Note to self: have carrots roasted in pasta sauce a lot more often. As in, more often than never. Because holy cow are they amazing.

With humnut sauce!! Ragu, garlic hummus, dijon mustard, and nooch - mixed and thinned with a splash of water.

Yes, yes – while I was relaxing that last hour I baked again. Of course, this was five seconds of prep time – but worth the lunches and salads it will produce! I just layered sliced eggplant, carrots, and feta cheese in a casserole dish, drizzled with balsamic, and then covered with Ragu. Perrffff.

But not as perfff as dessert.

Choco Chip Gelato + Blueberries.

Leonardo’s outdid themselves with this gelato. I love coconut – pretty much nothing tops coconut for me. But this chocolate chip is – schockingly – taking the cake. Maybe because it’s much more like cookies and cream – luckily, there’s no hard chunks! And the best part is that they’re right here in Vermont!

What’s your favorite kind of ice cream/gelato/sorbet/soft serve/whathaveyou?

_____________________

Ch-Ch-Changes

So since my Mom came out to the barn today, I set her up with my camera (of course!) she’s still getting the hang of it, so the riding shots aren’t quite stellar, but what I was most excited about was a conformation shot so I could compare from a month ago.

Last month

anddd….

Today

Is anyone else doing a double take?! My mom mentioned he looked a lot beefier (she hadn’t seen him for a couple weeks) and I thought he was, too – but look at that muscle along his neck and shoulder! Mind you, I haven’t been riding him “on the bit,” to warrant much of a topline – but we still do lots of bending and stretching, which is certainly helping.

(to be fair to him – it is harder to see definition in the first pic since his mane is on that side and the lighting conditions are drastically different between the two shots. But still!)

Ending on a nice, relaxed, lose rein and playing with how sensitive he is to weight and leg. We both look pissed. It's our game face.

We had another great ride today, too. I think the tush pushin just might have worked! 😉 (Tat – I had to steal your phrase of “tush pushin” – it’s the perfect description!)

Alright – I’m off for a much needed shower. Yes, I’m that gross still. Don’t worry, I’ve changed clothes about three times, so I’m only one-fifth as gross now as I was a couple hours ago 😉

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “It’s the Weekend

  1. Haha! Looks like you had a very productive day… feeling fithy is almost always a good sign of that 😛

    I’m making a mental note to start making green monsters for either lunch/dinner (whichever is spent at home and not work) because yours seem to look even more delicious every time.

    Awww… Teddie looks so awesome! And in comparing the two photos, I would say that he definitely looks a lot less like a pillow 😛 I’m so glad you got a good ride in. Is he walk/trot or just walk at the moment? No judging whatsoever here, Rayne and I are still working at a snails pace.. I’m just curious!

    My favourite type of ice cream is gold metal ribbon… but I think you can only get it in actual ice cream parlours? Chocolate and caramel? Yes please!
    ❤ Tat

  2. Those bean balls look awesome! Not sure about the soy sauce thing, I always always have soy sauce on hand so throw it in anyways, but maybe just for flavour?

  3. I too am loving green monsters these days since the weather has just been so hot!!!!
    Love your bean ball recipe – i just posted a similar one yesterday but i added sweet potatoes to the mix as well!!! Love them on top of romaine and grilled veggies!!
    Glad to hear you had such a great weekend – xo aimee

  4. Amazing eats as always! I just got that cook book and have been eyeing down the bean balls as well! Great twist on the recipe! So busy as always haha your eats look fantastic! Have a great night!

  5. I feel like my to-do list is constantly being added to, no matter what day of the week.

    As for ice cream and other frozen desserts, if there’s banana hard ice cream, I’ll go for that. With soft serve, I go for vanilla with chocolate sprinkles. And for frozen yogurt, I like tart mixed with a fruit flavor, topped with some type of chocolate. I could talk about ice cream choices for a while. 🙂

  6. woah. Never thought of carrots in a pasta sauce, but it sounds tempting… PS I made some of your famous waffles & they were fantastic + fabulous + delicious. I told the world about you on my post (or, ya know, the 4 people that read it that already follow your blog. but still!)

    Have a happy week, waffle queen!

  7. You sure seem to know how to make your day productive! If only I could accomplish as much as you did in a day..haha :D.

    Hmm, you got me on that soy sauce in vegan/vegetarian recipes! I’ve never really noticed, so I can’t help you there. 😛

  8. I feel like I wake up each morning with the day stretching before me…but by the time night time hits, I still have so much more I want to do! I pack a lot into my days, which I think is good for my mental health (most of the time). I love how you roasted carrots in pasta sauce. I never would have thought to do that, but it sounds so good! One of the things I love about your blog is all of the healthy and delicious ideas I pick up. You are making me enjoy my food so much more!

  9. Oohh…Hello new muscle and topline!! He’s looking ace girl, you should be thrilled!
    Hehe, I’m so glad you jumped on the green smoothie bandwagon :p I sometimes wonder how I lived without them!
    Bean balls – amaze. I might try and make a version this arvo 🙂
    Favourite ice cream…banana soft serve, or (pre vegan) Ben and Jerry’s chocolate fudge brownie 😀

  10. Soy sauce is in EVERYTHING, I agree. Most of the time I add it I can’t taste it though…it’s kind of like adding salt + pepper, which just enhances or adds to the flavor.

    Favorite ice cream = peanut butter chocolate swirl from the Jersey Shore, topped with rainbow sprinkles. You can’t go wrong!

  11. Wow look at your muscular boy!!! Awesome progress 😀 And those bean balls looks really good! I have a can of chickpeas that needs to be used up and that recipe looks like a good one to put them to use on. 🙂

  12. Hey, thanks for commenting on my blog 🙂
    I LOVE your blog, you take amazing photographs and I adore your horse, he is so gorgeous! I’ve always wanted a Haflinger ! Sounds like you had a really busy but productive day 🙂
    Teddie has definitely changed in a month, he looks really good 🙂

  13. I’ve been feeling the same way about my weekends lately! Of course, mine aren’t packed full of heavy duty physical work, but they still have me running around like crazy, and it’s hard to find the time to sit down and enjoy a lot of the things I love (ie. blogging). I think I need a little work in the time management department, because after my small computer hiatus, Google Reader really terrified me this morning =X

    Teddie is really toning up; jealous! 😉 Isn’t it great to be able to see the progress after all of the work you’ve put in? Just think how much more he’ll keep improving 🙂

    As for ice cream… my favorite flavor is a simple vanilla. I have a hard time finding ice cream I can eat (they all have traces of peanuts! grrr), so I can basically only eat one kind, and I toss in my own things, like chocolate, berries, syrups, cereals to give it a flavor… good thing vanilla goes well with anything 🙂 I really need to look into getting my own ice cream maker one of these days…

  14. I’ve been eyeing that Veganomicon recipe for some time now. Now that I know what the outcome looks like, I’ll be making it for sure. Yum! 😀

    Teddie really has toned up a *lot*, hasn’t he? He’s so handsome. 😀

  15. Wow, Teddie’s getting jacked! And you must be too from all that raking! 😉 I have a few friends who worked at a farm last summer and they were so toned by the end of it from all that farm work!

    My favourite ice cream is cookie dough. I haven’t had it in ages though because so many ice creams have traces of peanuts in them. 😦

  16. teenagehealthfreak

    hey got an old halter you don’t need??? ha ha …my broke and i’m on the hunt for one! i think i may be able to find one in the barn hopefully. okay so horsey question::::i’m not to this point yet..but i’m dreaming of the day i ride agian…but you see last time i rode my horse had gingervitis((wierd stuff okay))..but anyway i can’t use a bit!!!!! not good..lack of control here. i have an english bit(with the piece that straps across the nose..unlike a western)…will it work if i just take the bit off???..can i do that?? or should invest in a hackamore??

  17. teenagehealthfreak

    **english bridle..not bit

  18. haha chillin like a villain and falafel making, what weekend!! LOL.

    btw i was on a bike ride yesterday and went past a farming area where i saw this gorgeous ranch with stunning horses and thought of you! i didnt have my camera with me but i wish i did cuz i wanted to take a pic since i know ur a horse-loving girl ❤

  19. Dang you have been busy! Dinner looks amazing. I am so in need of a good dinner tonight! As for the soy sauce, I hear ya. I can’t have it anymore, so it is frustrating. They use is as a salt substitute and it adds flavor. I guess killing two birds with one stone, so to speak.

    Your pony has definitely gained some muscle! WOW. He looks great! I hope you have a great Monday!

  20. Even though I just ate lunch, those eats made me hungry again!!! Man, that looked like one tasty loaded waffle!!! 🙂

  21. Danggg Teddie is jacked! Haha and that first photo of your waffles made me salivate. Maybe my favorite waffle photo yet?!

  22. We would have such a ball in the kitchen together. I need to get that cookbook!!! Those felafels and crackers look incredible, so jealous. I have nothing in my fridge, it’s so sad.

  23. ohh look at me being all influential and stuff 🙂

    i was actually kind of afraid to post that, i didn’t want anyone to think i was “looking down on them” or judging or anything. you know me – if there’s an alterior motive behind it, i’m gonna think like a therapist 🙂
    -rebekah
    ps – i cannot WAIT to tear into those bars! i think i’ll have one for breakfast!!!

  24. Dee

    Oh my goodness. I’m not sure if you can tell but I’m only NOW just catching up with my google reader too. Your blog posts are always something to look forward too!

  25. Pingback: Predictable | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

