Fantastic!

Kidlets!! It’s Wednesday already!! What helped to make my day fantastic and simply fly by, you ask?

Well, aside from a busy, busy day at work and some lovin’ from the pony this A.M., there were some fun and fantastic new food, too πŸ™‚

Like this goji granola that I picked up from the co-op the other day.

So good – it’s almost like a chunked up granola bar more than granola, though! That’s a good thing, if you ask me – though I still have no idea what all is in it.

I did have an idea as to how it should be enjoyed, however.

Overnight oats, of course! My typical base for overnight oats consists of:

  • almost 1/2 c. quick oats
  • 1 T. chia seeds
  • 1/2 c. almond milk
  • generous pinch of cinnamon
  • trail power

And last night, I added in someΒ blueberries and mushed them up a bit, too.

It goes without saying that this was purely fantastic. In addition to the aforementioned goji granola, I also topped with:

  • 1/2 sliced banana (nuked)
  • blueberries (nuked)
  • wheat germ
  • honey roasted peanuts
  • tahini
  • drizzle of honey

Still not sure that I think tahini is fantastic – but the good thing is that it certainly didn’t ruin the bowl for me. Rather – I didn’t even really taste it much? Weird.

And of course, iced coffee is always fantastic.

I made up for Monday with a fantastic sammie today. Basically, because I am forever in love with broccoli and hummus sammie’s ever since I first savored one. This was simply a hardboiled egg, roasted broccoli, garlic hummus, and feta – pannini’d at work and enjoyed in the sunshine.

I’ve carried over my grazing tendencies at home to work – and have been having less and less of a structured lunch and snacks. With this lunch, though, I enjoyed a fantastic fruit salad of sorts.

Blueberries, a peach, wheat germ, and a drizzle of honey. Too good. Just…too good. I’m always fruit obsessed, but lately I’ve been almost out of control.

Especially because, just a short while earlier, I enjoyed a lovely granny smith apple.

Except, Amanda, I think you’re rubbing off on me. All I could keep thinking while eating this was how good it would be with caramel pudding. Alas…

Also fantastic are these chunks of energy. (I think that’s an adorable name, too, Elaine!) I SO need to replicate these myself.

I mean – after just one of these puppies I was running marathons around the lab like I fiesty five year old, and even ran to the deli to get bread on my break!!

Actually, that’s all a lie. I drove to get bread, and I wasn’t running around the lab, either. (But I might as well have been…)

And we all know how this bread is always fantastic. Except…apparently they get dropped in a bag of flour now, instead of wheat bran. Mildly disappointing, but isn’t hindering me from enjoying it!

It was made with my name on it. Special order. Jealous?

And who doesn’t love clearance nuts? Marcona almonds, in particular.

Yeah…think I’m a new marcona almond fan. Yum.

Aaand, last but certainly not least, is a new favorite (and fantastic) combo. Yes, I am as angry as you at how out-of-focus this photo is.

I’m just gonna deal.

And now that I’m thinking about it – you’d all find it comical how much I despised broccoli (and veggies in general) as a child. I’m pretty sure broccoli is now my favorite veggie. And beans – I don’t think I cared for beans, either.

But I digress.

The only thing rivaling the mix of goat cheese, roasted broc, hummus, and seitan is this combo of roasted broc, feta, hummus, and kidney beans. With marcona almonds on top. And a bread wedge. (or a flour wedge…it was the heel slice and there was a loot of flour…)

What helped to make your day fantastic?

22 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

22 responses to “Fantastic!

  1. I think this post helped make my day fantastic because it most certainly was NOT.
    I’ve tried little chunks of energy like that from my local coop. Deeeeeeelish! Definitely pack a punch!
    I’ve always been okay with vegetables, but now I’m borderline obsessed. I’m okay with that πŸ™‚

  2. Mwaha! If I have to be forced to deal with a pudding addiction, you can bet I’ll be doing my best to spread it around; I don’t want to suffer alone! Seriously, though; apples and caramel DO sound fantastic…

    … as do all of your other eats. I’ve been taking in mass amounts of fruits lately too, and I blame summer. Gotta get all the fresh stuff while we can before winter comes around and takes it all away 😦 And I was the same way as a child. Hated veggies. The only ones I would eat were like… corn, potatoes, and carrots. Now, I love them all and consume broccoli on pretty much a daily basis. My tastes have changed so much since I was little, it’s like I’m someone else. But I much prefer it this way. Way more exciting than the meat and potatoes I was eating while growing up πŸ™‚

  3. What are macarona nuts? The bread looks wonderful. πŸ™‚

  4. Glad to hear you had a terrific day!!!! I too have been enjoying lots of fruit – i blame it on the warm weather we have been having – plus its so fresh this time of year – i just can’t get enough!!!! Even your “out of focus” picture still looks fabulous as compared to my photography skills!!! It’s funny how are tastes change as we get older – i guess we just become more adventurous!!! have a great Thursday – xo aimee

  5. sadly, good food is always the highlight of my day. But what is life without good food I ask? Love the use of Tahini in your oats!!

  6. What made my Wednesday fantastico? Seeing the picture of your fruit topped with wheat germ! I’ve been sprinkling that stuff on oats + desserts, but never thought to decorate my fruit with it! Thank you thank youuu

    PS: BROCCOLI IS AMAAAZING. Ever tried it on pizza? Shoot!

    Have a great day!

  7. Broccoli is probably one of my favourite veggies too… especially on sandwiches which I have you to thank for πŸ™‚

    I’ve been meaning to tell you that I tried overnight oats with quick oats the other day after your little happy accident… and I hated it. Crazy, huh?

    ❀ Tat

  8. Thank you for your sweet comments to me! I really appreciate your friendship!!! As for beans…how could you not love them? I am totally putting beans down my kids’ throats lately. Such a great food! I need to try the overnight oats again…I got some peaches today, so I will try them soon!

  9. Every single photo in this post had me wanting to lick the screen. That granola sounds awesome! I have a whole bunch of goji berries in the back of the cupboard in desperate need of being used up so this has given me an idea! πŸ™‚

  10. teenagehealthfreak

    my toquito, my aunt’s company..and my load of figs from my nana!! glad to see you had a good day too!!! πŸ™‚

  11. Again…your oats look like HEAVEN in a dish!

  12. The fact that my boyfriend whipped up an amazing dinner again made my day!

    I was so ready to believe that you really did run to the deli to get bread after your “Chunks of Energy.” I was thinking: “Oh boy, I need those ASAP! It seems to work like coffee x 100000000” Haha πŸ˜€

  13. Oh girl, you have had a fantastic day! I love hardboiled eggs, but I’ve yet to stuff them into a sandwich…brilliant, as always! And I think that fruit and I are the best of friends…I’m eating some at every meal because it is just so good right now!

  14. happinessisfreedom

    Hello!
    Your pictures are always fantastic, just like your eats, I wish I could dive in one of them ^^
    That granola looks so yummy!
    The thing that made my day was meeting an old friend while waiting for the traffic lights to turn green. He was on a lilac Vespa scooter and when the light swiched to green he left singing and “dancing” on his scooter. (He was one of the shyest persons in my class).
    Have a nice day!
    Juliette

  15. You put tahini in your oats!? Wowzer, that’s something I haven’t heard of before! I always thought tahini was more of a savoury type addition thing to a meal (that makes NO sense) – like, an enhancer..like….idk..soy sauce – brings out a favlour or something? I think I should just stop typing..:s
    Hmm…my day was good cos I got bargain blueberries πŸ˜€

  16. You never cease to impress me with you delicious eats and fun creative recipes! Keep at it and the warm fruit ontop of cold oats sounds relish! xoxo Ashley

  17. I’m totally with you on the fruit obsession! They’re all I feel like eating lately. That’s such an awesome idea to jazz up your fruit with honey and wheat germ. Also I looove Nora’s idea to add mint to fruit salads.

    My day was fantastic because it ended with going out to dinner with my family and stuffing my face with sushi! πŸ˜€

  18. Between the granola and the bread, I am drooling. Seriously. You always have the most marvelous eats. πŸ˜€

    My morning bike ride helped to make my day fantastic. πŸ˜€

  19. i love starting my morning off with ur posts! omg goji granola making my eyes pop out ❀ so yummy!!!

    yesterday i went vintage shopping with my mom and she bought me lunch, that made my day! ❀

    xoxo

  20. That looks like SUCH a wonderful fruit salad xx

  21. Dee

    LOVE your pictures as usual girly! πŸ™‚

    ps. I like the out of focus shot! It gives a little oomph! πŸ™‚

  22. Pingback: Words Cannot Describe «

Leave a Reply

