Brace Yourself!

Looks like I’m not the only one who tends to eat in because it tastes better and is a great money-saver, huh? Oh, well – I was all proud of myself for actually trying something new (eating oat) but I guess I’ll just save more money with that backfire!

Okay guys…brace yourselves. Today, I did something I’m always saying I “don’t do” because I’m too lazy…but in all honesty, am always drooling over.

Today, I had a SIAB for lunch. (Yes, I’m starting in no particular order again. I’ve decided I like being random better than going B-L-D)

I might be a convert. It was so refreshing. I really wanted an EGM…but I’ve no spinach.

I’ve become sort of a grazer when it comes to lunches and eating when I’m home. I’m not saying it’s a bad or a good thing, it is what it is. I think today, though, this was so appealing because I was dehydrated from not drinking much more than a Nalgene bottle all morning.

In the SIAB, measures completely approximate:

  • 1/2 banana
  • 3/4 c. blueberries
  • 1 peach
  • 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 2 dates
  • 1/2 c. greek yogurt
  • 3 ice cubes
  • spoonful peanut butter

I topped it with more blueberries, more dates, and 1/4 c. quick oats. Oh, and a drizzle of honey. Aaaand, another smallish spoonful of PB post-photo. I couldn’t resist.

It was quite fulfilling, and now I really want some gums! They look like they make smoothies so thick and dreamy.

Before all that, though, I had brekkist! Well, before anything save for feeding the horses, anyways. Of course blueberries were present once again.

Hey, by the way – let’s have some waffle Q & A, shall we?

I’ve been asked the question “How do you get your waffles so crispy?” quite often, and in case anyone else is wondering, too – I really don’t know why they look so crispy. Looking at the photo, I guess I can see how one who’s never had them might think they’re crispy…but they’re really not! haha. I think it’s just the unusual combo of ingreds for the batter. It’s not quite your typical waffle batter. Or maybe it’s my waffle iron? I just have it on the “3” setting – for medium brown. They’re pretty soft, like a normal waffle.

And then I received one question last night (hey girl!) as to how I get my waffles to not stick. Luckily this is the only one of those questions, but maybe there’s others who have been silently struggling? In any case – I’ve never had the problem myself, but I could understand how one might. There’s no oil in the recipe and, as mentioned – it’s sort of a strange waffle recipe. The only time I’ve ever had a problem was when I added fresh fruit. And it still wasn’t too stuck. Mine come right off – but I use a little bit of canola spray, and my waffle iron is relatively new, with no dulling of the non-stick-ability.

Sorry, don’t mean to get all blabbery on you guys! But just in case anyone else was quietly wondering the same 🙂

Lately, I’ve been enjoying an icing of plain greek yogurt, peanut butter, chia seeds, and almond milk rather than just splotched-on PB, too 🙂

Shortly afterwards, I grabbed a fig with peanut butter and scurried off to the barn. Figs + PB = one of my favorite little big snacks. I wanted to make sure I wasn’t hungry all morning – I was shooting a senior portrait at 11:00, and wasn’t sure how long it would be for. It was actually pretty short and sweet – we were done by 11:40! But, after working with Teddie I had a little rumble in the tummy and reached into my CEBS (or, more precisely – car emergency bar stash) and came up with an old favorite of mine:

Remember when I had these guys all the time?! They’ve been moved to my CEBS since they’re no longer enough to fulfill my hunger for the work day 😉 These bars are very sweet, but very good – like a little treat! Half was perfect for my “sort of hungry but not really but I don’t want to be starving shooting this portrait” mood.

insert smoothie lunch here

oh, and a package!

Hopefully, this one will last longer than my last. Thanks, Jess, for the CSN giftcard!!

Speaking of gifts, look what my mom brought home for me:

Someone from her work brought in co-op goodies. This is from a larger co-op about an hour and a half from us. Worth a trip one of these days! Ours here has food like this, too – but I don’t usually bother buying it because I can make it. But, they were good so hey – I’ll take what’s given!

And some fruit leather. I’ve been curious to try these, too!

Although, none of those goodies can top my snack of banana bread and iced coffee.

I enjoyed my afternoon snack sitting with Georgie and Maya, too. I didn’t share. (Although – I did share a Chunk of Energy with Georgie. She wasn’t so pleased, but she’s sort of finnicky.)

And after sweating all day, all I craved with/for dinner was eggs. I’ve been craving fried eggs like mad lately! I’m thinking it must just be a hot-weather thing – and since I don’t drink as much as I usually do on days I’ve got off, I must just want the salt. Because you bet I salt my fried eggs.

But of course I still wanted fresh crunch! I ended up combining:

  • 2 “fried” eggs
  • romaine
  • roasted broccoli
  • corn from a cob
  • red pepper
  • sundried tomato feta

and I thought I had more ranch dressing left than I did – so I made up the difference with some Ragu!

Also – thanks everyone for letting me know that my tahini isn’t spoiled and that’s just how it is! It’s easier to try to grow a taste for now that I’m not wondering if I’m eating something spoiled 😉 I don’t mind it so much on stuff, but by the spoonful is a no-go!

What’s been your biggest “eee, this is going to be so good I can’t wait to try it?!” foodie moment, only to be totally let down?

______________________

Weelll, Mr. Pony and I had the talk this morning.

You know how sometimes, you can ask a guy to do something – and they only do a half-bum job of it? And you sort of just let it slide the first couple of times so you don’t make them hate you, but then you realize it’s going to keep being an issue until you say something about it?

That’s sort of how Teddie was being about forward. It was a minor issue the first couple of times we rode – but he quickly learned what was expected of him, and we were doing well not abruptly stopping for a bit. The past couple rides it was a minor situation each time – but again, not much of a chance for it to really come to a head since that was the whole “learning to work with distractions,” era. And I’m sort of a bad trainer in that I feel bad disciplining even though I know it needs to be done, so I skirt-tail it as long as I can. I know, I know – this is bad, especially because disciplining by no means beating them over the head with a dressage whip, but moreso a command, not a polite request. (Like I tend to do. Hey – that’s how I am with people, too!)

Today, he did the abrupt stop from a trot so after the second time, I got off, grabbed a dressage whip, and was ready for him the next time he did it. That little bugger tried it again and after a quick flick of the whip he sort of did a little “OH, okay, of course, Mom!” and after a couple more tests he was much more willing to oblige. I don’t want any of the non-horse folk out there to think I’m beating my horse with a whip to go forward, so I’ll just throw out there that a quick but firm tap with the whip on his well-padded behind did not hurt him.

So, it wasn’t a pretty ride – but I think it was an effective ride. We’ll see next time! (And I have checked all tack fit and he’s not sore anywhere, so I am pretty sure the stopping is just a green horse thing, not a pain thing.)

This is already really long, so I won’t go into detail about Georgie and Maya, but we had a lot of fun with those cuties today, too 🙂

25 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

25 responses to “Brace Yourself!

  1. I guess I’m one of the only people who adore’s tahini off the spoon then? Hehe.. no shame 🙂 I’m glad you’re not too disappointed in it… because it’s definitely not the cheapest thing out there.
    I have been going through quite an egg phase myself… scrambled or fried, I just can’t get enough! I always salt them too, so I think you might be onto something with the summer heat/sweat.
    Aww.. I’m glad you decided to set Teddie straight. I know how hard it can be sometimes not to want to do any disciplining… but sometimes all they need is one good tap and you’re good to go 😛 I’m also glad he responded in the way he did, because you never really know what a green horse is going to think of a little tush pushin’. Hehe!
    ❤ Tat
    Ps. “little big snack”  That’s probably one of the most adorable expressions I’ve ever heard.. teehee!

  2. Ohhh I’ve been inhaling SIAB lately. And you’ve definitely got to pick up some gums because they make all the difference. I was a little late in trying them myself, but I’m so glad I finally got around to it, because they really do make a fantastically thick smoothie/ice cream thing.

    And dangit, now you have me craving some fried eggs! I wanted to have some for dinner tonight, but I have some tofu that I have to use up before it goes bad, and my dislike of wasting food beats out cravings, unfortunately 😦 Thankfully, there’s always tomorrow 🙂

    Foodie let downs? Hmmm. Let’s see. I know I have a few… I’ve never been able to develop a liking for chia seeds (they get stuck in my teeth!), and green monsters don’t really tickle my fancy. OIAJ are another one of the bloggie trends that I just can’t get into either. I like my oats in bowls, tyvm.

  3. Way to go with Teddie! It’s great that it was effective – I know I’ve been on a couple horses where that makes them worse. He is such a cutie and seems like one of those that really wants to work.

  4. Hi Jess! I’ve enjoyed catching up on your blog, it’s been too long! I’ll take some of those chunks of energy too, who doesn’t like that. I feel like I need to write an entire page of a comment since I haven’t in so long..but I’ll try to avoid that. Basically any time I make muffins or cookies I feel like I can’t wait to break into them ASAP.

    And eating in is always so so much better! 🙂

  5. Your waffles DO look really crispy, but I’d never noticed!! They’re always a pretty color too- so much more intriguing than the run of the mill Eggo tan. The last food I was let down by was a goraw bar I bought in NYC. I was so excited to try it, and I spit out the first bite. Nasty. Hope you have a great night!

  6. aww, i love z-bars and fruit leather! *nostalgia* 🙂

  7. Dee

    Yay for SIAB’s!!! 😉

  8. Hah, I always thought your waffles came out extremely crispy! The photo just adds this crunchy look to ’em I guess. Mmmm… waffles… for dessert? I could down that.

    I’ve never tried figs with PB, but it sounds like dates + PB, which is an amazing pair, if you ask me. Now I crave more figs.

    My worse “this turned out lame, even though it was going to be BOMB” meal: using oats in a stir fry.. with seitan and edamame. Gosh, I can still taste it. So bland, so sad. It needed something MORE and I had no idea what. I’ll get it right some day, you savory oats you.

  9. Sometimes they need a good attitude adjustment. They try and push the limit to see how much they can get away with. My horse used to stop abruptly and back up..so one time my old riding instructor took a big stick and made her back up all the way around the ring. That changed her thinking!

  10. AH!!! Yay zbar! I seriously could eat 5 a day. They are a new discovery of mine but I eat the nearly every afternoon. Today’s choice was chocolate chip but I LOVED the honey graham.

  11. Summer is definately the best time for smoothies!!!! I adore them and crave them this time of year!!!! I just had my first fresh fig of the season – so sweet and yummy!!!
    Biggest food letdown???? The first time i tried quinoa – i forgot to saok it and ended up with a very bitter tasting grain!!!! Never again did i forget this important step and now i love quinoa!!!
    have a great Wednesday – xoxo aimee

  12. Banana bread and iced coffee is kind of the best combo over. And I have always wanted to try a SIAB, yours looks great! My foodie letdown moment was definitely cashew butter… and an expensive letdown at that!!

  13. Ahh I just became addicted to figs+pb tonight:P And omg The guar and xantham gums make a huge difference, they are amazing, once using them I will never go back (too using none!) I have been having green monsters for breakfast sans banana and using figs so good with cereal/oats/granola…and green monsters with sunbutter=AMAZING.

  14. Holly

    I’m going to have to disagree about tahini… usually, when it’s sitting there in the spoon, it’s all I can do not to inhale it and then not have any leftover to cook with!

    I think my biggest foodie letdown moment was when I tried raw almond butter. There’s something magical about roasted nut butters, because they taste so much more amazing than roasted nuts; raw ones just taste like ground up raw nuts. Ikkk.

  15. OH MY those chunks of energy look so good!! i want a bag of energy chunks!!!! NOT FAIR haha. ❤

    wow im so glad u went for it and made urself a SIAB! looks and sounds pretty fun!!

    sometimes those egg craving hit, and when they do, it can be intense 😛

    xoxo ❤

  16. teenagehealthfreak

    once along time ago my mom bought me some coffee yogurt as a treat.I was so amazed by it and excited. I took a bite and spit it out. It tasted like lemons. It was horrible. and to top it off it was hilarious b/c I was bragging about it at the lunch table at school!!! I was like omg my mom got me this awesome yogurt…totally spit it out!! lol ((5th grade…I guess I was always a foodie deep down…:) ))

  17. CEBS- love it 😀
    Gah, sometimes you have to be firm! Chika used to buck like mad, til one day I gave her a whack for it, cos it was getting dangerous- it stopped her! After all, they are SO much stronger than us, if we don’t take charge over the small little things, they can take charge over us over bigger and bigger things..and then it really is dangerous :/
    Hmm your food question….I can’t think! Caitlin’s banana sandwich on HTP was a bit of a let down 😦

  18. Those chunks of energy with pistachios in them would make my day! What a sweet mom (no surprise considering her sweet daughter). I’ve been craving fried eggs too. I had a plateful at lunch today. Almond milk and greek yogurt have revolutionized my liquid meals….so so good!

  19. your smoothie looks so good! I want some of the “gums” too – it makes smoothies look so decadent!

  20. Your SIAB looks good (but when doesn’t your food look good? ;)). I tried it once and I was kind of let down because mine came out way too thin. And it only held me over for maybe an hour! Let me know how the gums work out for you if you end up buying some!

    Another foodie let down for me was tempeh the first time I tried it because I didn’t marinate it in anything! Silly me. The next time I tried it I marinated it in orange, sesame oil and soy sauce and it was BOMB! Lesson learned.

  21. I really like those Z-bars, especially the blueberry one.

    I was laughing at the “Chunks of Energy.” It’s such a cute name, but I bet it’s true.

  22. For some reason SIAB does not really sound that exciting to me. Maybe if I had some of those gums I’d be a little more excited about it. Hmm who knows?
    I think of those Z bars as dessert! They’re soooo sweet! Great with coffee. Kind of funny that they’re intended for children.

  23. I am drooling over all the food you posted. And my bars have been demoted to emergency only instances too. So many other satisfying foods, but they sure are yummy when I do go for the stash.

  24. Thanks for addressing the waffle issues. I tried adding fresh fruit awhile back and I failed so much that I never tried again :(. However, yours keep tempting me regardless so I might just conquer my fear of my old waffle iron (which may be the problem). Anyway, I love the SIAB idea for lunch! I’ve been on the look out for guar gum and have xanthan hanging out in my pantry for when the time comes. It seems like they work much better together than apart. Match made in smoothie heaven, I suppose. Also, I don’t like tahini straight up, either, so you’re not alone! It is really good when mixed with almond butter and drizzled over winter squash or combined with lemon juice in a dressing, though.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  25. Michelle

    I love how you have waffles all of the time. They’re my guilty pleasure, but that’s usually cause I love drowning them in almond butter and maple syrup! haha.

Leave a Reply

