Good with the Bad

I didn’t really realize this until I looked back through my pictures…but today had its fair share of mediocrity…mainly due to me thinking I’m being creative and exploratory. Lesson: Don’t be creative, or exploratory.

Luckily, there was more than enough good to balance out the bad.

Things That Are Always Good:

1. Overnight Oats.

Namely, overnight oats with banana. Except, we already know that breakfasts are never just okay when it comes to that combo.

To sit overnight, I mixed in some “antioxidant blend” frozen berries. In the morning, I stirred in some Greek yogurt, and heated a small ripe, sliced banana…

and then everything played together with some wheat germ, ginger preserves, galaxy granola, and sunbutter.

2. Iced Coffee.

‘Nuff Said.

3. Cute Ponies.

Has anybody seen Teddie?

I was bummed when I first got to the barn and discovered that there was no early morning lesson after all, which meant that I could have worked Teddie today…

Never mind, I found him!

But it was just as well. This was a morning that totally reminded me why I ride. (not that I’d been questioning that lately.) I spent half an hour just standing there, scratching all his scratchies. He loved his crest scratched especially πŸ™‚

Every time I would go to stop and leave, he would keep making these soft little whickers – sometimes, he is just too dang adorable!! I don’t know how I did it, but eventually I left to get my behind in to work.

4. Busy work days.

Like today! I love staying busy.

5. Day-Old Banana Bread.

Even better than fresh banana bread is day old banana bread. It is the perfect mid-morning snack, if you ask me. Even though lately I haven’t been needing much of a morning snack – I still tend to want a little something when I have work. I think it might just have to do with the fact that I eat breakfast an hour or more earlier than I would if I’m not working?

6. Dates.

I was pumped to discover that my co-op now sells dried dates. I’d usually have to go to Hannafords just for dates, and they’re usually pretty dry and…well, old. These ones, however – are amazing. Since I went to pick up a few things on my lunch break, I ended up having some of the dates I bought for snack instead of the Larabar I packed!

7. Coconut water.

I tried coconut water for the first time today! Of course I couldn’t leave the co-op without a couple of unplanned goodies, right? Hey – it’s better for me than an iced coffee that was waiting for me in the fridge! Instead, I drank electrolytes and potassium!

This Taste Nirvana coconut water was really good! I was a little apprehensive when I first smelt it – it smelled so starchy or something! I can’t quite put my finger on it. Doesn’t this one with the pulp sound really good, too?! And has anybody ever drank aloe vera? Based on what I’ve read, coconut water is a great way for keeping your body fueled, cool and hydrated. They’re low in sugar – and look at the solitary ingredient… it’s probably better for you than most electrolyte drinks out there, too! If you’re not looking for rehydration, though – coconut water is also said to be helpful with carrying oxygen and nutrients to cells and fighting off viruses. And that’s just the beginning.

8. Co-ops in General.

…I found some new, yummy looking granola!

I wish there was an ingredients label because I don’t really know what’s in it other than goji and mul-berries, almonds, and I’m assuming rolled oats. And I’ll just assume it’s one of the better-for-you granolas out there than most that seem to be taking over shelves πŸ˜›

9. Fruit.

In any way, shape, or form. Today, however, I was reminded of how good Granny Smith apples are.

Good ol' Granny.

Not to mention I came home to find my mom up to her armpits in fresh picked blueberries! I’m sure you can imagine what dessert entailed.

So, all that looks pretty stellar, right? Unfortunately, you’ve gotta take the bad with the good. Unfortunately, the bad ended up being the main parts of my meals.

Not-So-Good:

1. Dry sandwiches.

So…not bad…but for some reason, this sammie just needed something! I think part of the problem is that the bread is getting old…the other part was that the egg yolk made it seem drier than it was, and the last part being that I didn’t use enough hummus 😦 It just needed more hummus and some tomato sauce! I packed it last night, though, and didn’t want a soggy mess.

2. Grilled Veggie Sandwiches from Delis in “my” city.

I had no idea what I was going to make for dinner all day, and at one point thought I was going to be working a half hour later than usual, too. So I decided I was just going to splurge and get a sandwich from the same deli I get my bread from. I’d been eyeing their grilled vegetable sandwich for a while – and I won’t lie…I had really high hopes. I don’t know why…I mean, I make grilled veggie sandwiches all the time!

Their grilled vegetable sandwich had grilled portabella, bell pepper, zucchini, and fresh tomatoes and red onions with a garlic mayo. I swapped balsamic vinagraitte for the mayo, though…and that was probably the best part 😦 It felt a little too food-truck-ish to me, I guess? The grilled portabella was quite tasty, though. I added some corn from a cob my mom saved me, and rather than having one huuuuge sandwich, took off the top [really soggy] slice and ate it open-faced. I should have gotten the dressing on the side so it wouldn’t be soppified, but oh well. It just reiterated what I’ve been telling myself: I can make better what I’d want to get out, anyways.

I ended up scrapping almost everything except the bread, tomato, red onion, and portabella. I can’t bash too much – I think it was just as much fault of my own. I was thinking of grilled as in…grilled on the grill veggies. This was moreso sauteed in olive oil veg.

Do you eat out often? Do you usually get what you can make yourself anyway, or go all out?

3. Short changing people.

I was mortified – when I went to pay for the sandwich, she said $7.15. I even had her say it twice cause I wasn’t sure I heard her the first time. I counted my money twice. Why, then, did I think I was giving her $8 when I gave her $7?

There was totally an awkward moment that in hindsight, was her waiting for me to give her the rest of her money. She goes to get “my” change out of the tip basket, and I think “that’s weird, but maybe she doesn’t have quarters or something.” So tell her I don’t need the change anyway, I was going to put it in the tip basket.

It then becomes apparent to me that she was simply trying to find the $0.15 I shortchanged her. I apologized profusely, tried handing her another $1 that she refused (obviously I just left it in the tips basket) Β and scurried out as fast I could.

I totally have this thing, too – where I’m always worried I counted my money wrong or something (even though I’ve never done so.). That totally rubbed salt in the wound.

4. Tahini.

Yeah, tahini. The whole reason I went to the co-op on lunch today.

I. am. so. bummed. Major disappointment. Except I’m hoping maybe it’s just spoiled tahini – it’s got a bitter aftertaste to it! Or maybe it’s not spoiled, but that’s just how unsalted or sweetened tahini is? I know I don’t care of unsalted almond butter in the least. Anyone wanna weigh in?

28 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

28 responses to “Good with the Bad

  1. I’m betting that there is absolutely nothing wrong with your tahini… it’s one of those ‘love it or hate it’ products, and a lot of people can’t stand the fact that it’s a bit more bitter than any other nut butter. I hope it didn’t cost you an arm and a leg! :/

    I absolutely adore those moments where you could just spend hours scratching and petting πŸ˜› I bet Teddie was just swooning over you today.. what a cutie! Rayne has a huge scratchie spot on her neck, and she is hilarious to watch. I want to videotape it some day.. haha!

    ❀ Tat

  2. Aww! That picture of you and Teddie is too cute. It reminds me of all of those “The Dog” photographs, where the dogs have big noses πŸ™‚ And that’s so sweet that you just spent time scratching him. I have the hardest time when it comes to walking away from scratching my pup behind the ears or on the chest. She comes up to me, puts her cute little head on my knee, and it all goes downhill from there… there’s just no walking away! At least not without feeling super guilty about it. I definitely wonder why they have to be so cute sometimes…

    It sucks that you had to suck up the bad along with the good, but sometimes it’s the bad things that can make us appreciate the good ones just a little bit more. Dry sandwiches are the worst, which is why I try to avoid putting hardboiled eggs in them, or I add a lot of avocado to keep things smooshy. And I wasn’t a big fan of tahini when I first tried it, because it’s definitely got that bitter taste to it… but when you mix it with other things, especially something sweet, it’s not that bad.

    Hope tomorrow is full of more goods than bads (or no bads at all!)

  3. Now this was an entertaining post! Your oats look perfect as always. I still have not gotten back in the saddle on the overnights, but I will. We don’t eat out often, so normally I would get what I wouldn’t make at home…like Chinese. Sometimes we go to the burrito place, which is a salad and yeah I make that at home all the time, but we go for the kids.

    I totally double check my money. I did the same thing not too long ago. It is so awkward! I think you did the right thing though!

  4. Sorry to hear you didn’t have the best of days – hopefully tomorrow will be better!!!
    I hate dry sandwiches which is why i usually add fresh tomato slices however the downside is that you have to add it at the last second to avoid the bread from getting soggy!!! I think i dislike soggy bread more so than dry sandwiches!!!
    Great pictures of Teddie – he is just too cute!!!
    xoxo aimee

  5. tahini is bitter but i like it, idk. you made me laugh with all the negatives (i’m sorry) it was funny! πŸ™‚ hope you have a great day tomorrow!
    lucie

  6. Cute horsey! Sad day, though. Hey with the sammie: avocado! Shoot, just add it right before eating it (if it’s prepacked, that is) and it adds such a rich, creamy, texture, I can hardly stand it. And if some falls off the bread onto the plate, it immediately becomes a dip for your veggies. Divine!

    πŸ™‚ Have a happy day tomorrow!

  7. Teddie is a cutie πŸ™‚ I was almost in the same boat tonight. I literally had no idea what to make for dinner. I thought something would just come to me and then nothing…I wound up eating “settling” for what I thought I wanted. I don’t eat out ofter because I don’t want to spend extra $ but if I see something I want…I have to try it. The plus side is now you know! If you didn’t try it you would just keep thinking about it. haha

    GO MOM FOR BLUEBERRIES!!! LOVE BLUEBERRY SEASON!

  8. Ahh! I would have been really embarrassed too! But don’t worry! Sometimes we all miscount a little bit.
    This is going to sound a little snobby but I don’t really like eating out all that much. I generally have really high hopes and most of the time I just think I can make it better, like you said. Oh well! Guess it saves us money in the end! ($7 for a sandwich ain’t cheap)

  9. teenagehealthfreak

    i’ve had aloe vera!! it’s one of my moms “magic tricks” lol..she makes me drink it when i get a coldd, sore throat..whatever(it makes it better over night- no lie)..but she however drinks it a lot..and she loves it..it’s very different..refreshing..like a cucumber almost…

  10. I’m always afraid of awkward moments at the cash register! I always think I’m taking too long to count out my change or something and I’m holding up the line so I panic. At least you tipped her! But dang, that was expensive for a disappointing sandwich.

    Whenever I eat out, I usually get something I’ve never tried before. And I know it sounds silly but I also usually get something that’s easy to eat. Things like wraps are messy and I’m already a messy eater and it’s so embarrassing eating in front of people with my food spilling out of my mouth haha.

  11. I hate it when you order a pricey sandwich, having high hopes of it, and it turns out either a soggy mess or with a bland taste.

  12. Jen

    Don’t feel bad about the cashier experience! We all make little mistakes….she was the totally weird and mellow dramatic one for not SAYING anything then taking the money out of the tip jar like a martyr!

  13. Awww I’m gonna get a flight and come and steal Teddie..he is just so cutee!!
    Mmm day old banana bread and granny smith apples and prunes are definitely some of my favourite snacks..shame about the sandwiches though! I hate dry sandwiches but it’s so hard to pack sandwiches the day before with everything you want in them without them being soggy 😦 and what a bum that the one you bought wasn’t great either! I used to eat/buy things out aalll the time but I guess now I think differently because yeah it’s nice to try new things but if I am disappointed I always think ‘i could have made something soo much tastier to my liking and cheaper..what a waste!’ so now I much prefer my own food and have stopped being so lazy!
    As for the tahini, blegh I hate it because it’s too bitter! But I do have a sweet tooth :p
    Xx

  14. So I’ve been wanting to try coconut water for a while now…I’m glad that you liked it, and I’m going to try to buy a carton while I’m out tomorrow. Your pony pictures were so sweet today! As for eating out? I usually leave disappointed. I find that I can almost always prepare something better tasting at home (plus it is cheaper and healthier too).

  15. Ohno, I hate food disappointments…the sandwich and tahini. Obviously, there are worse things, but still…

    Yeah, tahini is really special! Maybe try it in hummus? Oh but if you mix it in something remember to try a small batch so you don’t have to throw it all away :-(. I loved it straight away. On bread, a thick, thick layer, yum….I want some now!I saw a tahini ice cream recipe somewhere? Haven’t tried that though πŸ™‚

  16. Tes

    I hope your cooking with tahini get better… πŸ™‚
    Wow you just remind me to go and get some coconut water πŸ™‚

  17. Yeah, tahini has a major strong, bitter flavour! I once tried it straight up and was SO grossed out!! In hummus though..so delicious!
    Sorry for the sandwich fail though, that sucks! I had some ‘grilled’ vegetables yesterday too – I chucked them cos they were too soggy! You just can’t get them as good out 😦
    Haha, Teddie sounds like such a sweetheart πŸ™‚ I LLOVE finding the scratchy bits on horses, it’sso cute! When I get one on Chika, EVERY TIME I try and move away, she starts grooming me like mad again. It’s the sweetest πŸ™‚ They melt your heart don’t they!?

  18. Love that picture of you and Teddie!

    I’ve had similar experiences of being so excited for a veggie sandwich at a restaurant, only to discover that my own version is WAY better. You wouldn’t think it’s possible to mess up a simple grilled veggie sandwich, and yet somehow it is!

  19. nic

    LOVE that pic of you and Teddie (like everybody else obviously!)!! πŸ˜€
    That’s all I can say at the moment!!
    Ok I need to add… I LOVE your posts and look forward in reading them every day!!
    Jep… That’s all!! πŸ˜‰

  20. I’ve definitely counted my money wrong before, only usually they’re not nice enough to fish into the tip bowl for it! I love eating out, but it’s almost always at restaurants I couldn’t replicate at home. As much as I love to cook, I’m not brave enough to tackle sushi, Italian pizza or gourmet vegan delicacies! Hope your week is of to a great start!

  21. The picture of you and Teddie is *adorable*. Love it!

    And I also love coconut water! πŸ˜€ I haven’t been able to find it anywhere around me lately, but I like to pick some up whenever I happen to be near a whole foods or trader joes. πŸ˜€

  22. That’s expensive for such a disappointing sandwich! I hate paying that much for food that I know I could make better myself. That’s why I don’t really like eating out at most restaurants that my friends like. I’d much rather splurge on a mindblowing $35 salmon dish than buy a mediocre $15 pasta meal.

    I totally agree about the day old banana bread. I find it gets even moister the longer you let it sit.

  23. I had overnight oats AND iced coffee this morning. A perfect wake me up without a doubt.

    Honestly, I don’t even love fresh baked banana bread all that much but next day (and the next, and the next and even the NEXT) are AMAZING.
    And I concur about granny smiths. They used to be my all time favs but then I ate them way too much and got sick of them. I ate one randomly the other day and it was delicious all over again. I think I just needed a break but now I’m ready to bring them back into my apple eating!

    Too bad about the bummers. I do NOT like dry sandwiches… to be honest I PREFER them soggy haha. As for tahini, I’ve only ever tried one (sketchy weird foreign) brand so I don’t know what GOOD tahini is supposed to taste like. Hmmm.

  24. Nothing worse than a dry sandwich!!! x

  25. can i just say i thought it was funny that the coconut water had “gluten-free” on the label.. as if consumers thought there was gluten in it. but its still smart i guess, better to know than to wonder right.. hehe

    i have to admit that yeaaaa the grilled sandwich doesnt look so appetizing. too bad! actually im sure if u made ur own it would look INCREDIBLE! and u know it would taste sooo good!

    xoxo

  26. Teddie’s so cute! He seems like he has such a big personality. πŸ™‚ Just being able to spend time with them is the real joy and sometimes it takes those days to realize riding’s not work. Both the horse and rider needs a reality check every now and then!

  27. Pingback: Fantastic! «

  28. Pingback: Millet and Black Bean Gratin «

Leave a Reply

