Who You Callin’ a Sugar Doll?

One of my favorite bloggers, Sarena, was given the Sugar Doll Blogger Award, and I am honored to be one of the people she chose to pass it on to. Thanks, Sarena!

Here are the rules…

Tell 10 little known facts about yourself and then pass it on to 3-5 other bloggers!

I always seem to think of oddities about myself at the strangest times, and then when I’m asked for the oddities I come up short…but lets see what I can come up with!!

  1. When I was really little (maybe…7??) my sister was carrying me like a dog, and dropped me on a cinder block, causing me to have a dead front tooth. Luckily, it was still a baby tooth, but that didn’t make it hurt much less.
  2. Likewise, when I was really REALLY little (as in, I don’t remember this, but my mom was telling me the other night) my sister pulled my feet out from underneath me, causing me to fall back and hit my head. My mom picked me up and apparently my eyes were rolled back in my head and she thought she was going to need to bring me to the ER. I’m guessing I came to pretty normally/quickly, though. My sister must have had it out for me.
  3. Again, when I was little, I was totally one of those kids who would eat butter plain. I distinctly remember waiting for the spaghetti to come to the table, my plate all ready for a big hot pile with a hunk of butter…but the butter would be gone by the time the spaghetti got to the table šŸ˜‰ Of course, it’s not until a couple years ago that I was told buttering spaghetti was weird.
  4. If I’m microwaving anything, I hate ending anything if it’s not a multiple of 5.
  5. I go through a million different hairstyles. I had a pretty long phase where I was a total scene-girl, too:
  6. Not a very good example, but the only one I could find.

    Likewise, I can’t tell you how many nights were spent at local band shows, and then staying up partying until 5 am. Luckily, I get bored of things quickly.

  7. Speaking of which, I think this blog, photography, and horses are the only things I’ve stuck with for longer than a couple of months.
  8. I used to be really artistic – I got into art because I loved painting and drawing, and it wasn’t until my sister got a camera that I became interested in photography. I picked it up, and now she doesn’t do it much anymore, and I don’t draw or paint hardly ever. Ironically, neither of my parents can draw a stick figure.
  9. Sometimes I really worry about myself driving. Since I drive an hour each way to work, that’s a lot of time to think…and sometimes I’ll all of a sudden realize “how did I get here already?! what happened to ______________”
  10. I don’t like following trends. I don’t really care if my clothing is cool. I’m more apt to want the coolest horse and camera gear. I’m fine in basic tees and jeans. Although looking at the above photo is making me wish I could wear flats to work because I think those are just the cutest shoes ever. And it’s actually making me a little bit uncomfortable how many people are wanting to become professional photographers just because they have a dSLR but don’t know how to use a camera/take a shot to save their souls. (This is not directed at anyone. Moreso the people that come into work sometimes šŸ˜› )

Aaaaand with that – I am bestowing this uponnnnn: (I realize this is more than 5. It’s the following trends thing, gotta break the rules!)

Claire at A Fresh Dille

Freya at Brit Chick Runs

Rebekah at Clarity in Creation

Nora at Live Life, Eat Right

Tatianna at Tatianna Lives

Chelsea at One Healthy Munchkin

Jess at The Process of Healing

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Who You Callin’ a Sugar Doll?

  1. Awwh thankyou so much for the award! It means a lot šŸ™‚
    I love the facts about yourself – sounds like your sister was a bit mean to you!!??
    I’m with you on the trends thing (never follow them..) and I’m the same at sticking with stuff too! Horses, food. fitness. That’s about it!
    I liek your multiples of 5 thing too – I have to eat stuff in even numbers each side of my mouth :p

  2. I think my son Max is like your sister…I hope Jay makes it through childhood with his brother. Although my little sisters were the same with me…rough! I don’t follow clothing trends either…I am definitely a jeans and tshirt kinda gal. I like to wear heals though! I think it is because it makes me feel taller! I am in the long phase on my hair now too, but I am itching to chop it all off for a short Mary Jane hair cut. This was a great list. I am so glad you stick with blogging! Have a great day Jessica!

  3. Ahh plain butter?! Haha well my sister used to eat plain MAYO, so in comparison butter doesn’t sound too bad. Ohh the things kids like!!

  4. Ouch it sounds like you had a lot of injuries at the hands of your sister! Mine was the same way… she used to like to bite me! šŸ˜›

    Haha there must be something about kids and plain butter! I liked to butter my crackers and put sprinkles on them.

    Thanks for passing the award onto me girl! Have a great day!

  5. I’m the same way when it comes to anything timed… it needs to end with a 0 or 5, or the world as I know it might come to an end. And don’t even get me started on butter. When I was little, I used to mix butter with brown sugar and eat it like that… I think it was because I had a taste of it when my mom was baking, and liked it. I remember eating so much of it one time that I literally got really sick. Apparently, you can overdose on butter… just putting that out there.

  6. Congrats on the award!!!!! I love hearing personal stories – I too love t- shirts and jeans and especially flats – comfort is key in my book!!!!! Have a great weekend!!!
    xoxo aim

  7. i ate my pasta the same way as a kid. my mom cooked very simply.. so when she made spaghetti it was either with a spoonful of butter ontop as it melted over the pasta.. or it was mixed in with a boring plain tomato sauce.. for some reason i really love it too!

    xoxo

    have a great weekend (sugar doll!) ā¤

  8. I do that when I drive too! I even do it when I walk. Apparently it’s a psychological thing where once you go the same route so many times, you start to just go through the motions. It makes me worry I’m not paying enough attention and makes me wonder how many people had to swerve out of my way, haha.

  9. Hmm we always put butter on our spaghetti… I had know idea it was weird! Of course, I’m told I used to be found snacking on sticks of butter in the kitchen as a tot too!

  10. Dee

    Oh dear! Your sister really did have it out for you (or so it seems!) Lol. In all seriousness though whilst I was never dropped myself, my youngest brother was! He literally was in my dad’s arms on the sofa and my dad fell asleep. Luckily I was in the same room so when I heard the thud and then the baby start wailing I immediately ran into the room and started yelling at my father. LOL!

    My brother would hate me if he knew I was sharing this! Heh! šŸ˜‰

  11. Michelle

    I always love random facts about people. Your sister sounds a whole lot like my siblings haha.

  12. Oooh I love facts about yourself! Your sister sounds like she was such a little monster!! You look so cool as a scene-girl, but you look cool however you have your hair anyway, you’re very pretty šŸ™‚ I’m the same with my hair. I have had millions of hairstyles and change it all the time because I’m so easily bored! I’m never satisfied with it haha. I’m so glad you’ve stuck to blogging and photography because you are seriously talented at both and you inspire people with them šŸ™‚
    Nicky xx
    P.S THANKYOU so much for sending the package, I’ll let you know when I get it šŸ™‚

  13. thanks for passing on the lovely award lady! it sounds like you were treated pretty rough by your sis when you were younger. I was pretty ridiculously mean to my lil sister back in the day and I still feel bad/hear stories about it. The butter thing cracks me up…I don’t think I could stomach it but I guess Amanda could as well. I partied a lot back in the day too…a lot. I now can hardly drink 1-2 glasses of wine without getting tipsy and/or a headache.

    And I am sure it is frustrating with lots of people trying to be “real photographers” just because they buy a dslr…I must admit I still want one but want to learn all aspects of it and would probably never call myself a pro. You definitely are quite artistic lady! I grew up as the daughter of two artists (director…so photog…painter…sculptor…fine arts major) and with a sister who was also an artist who now does fashion design…so I always felt the least creative and artistic even though I know I must be in my own way. I just felt I could never do as good as a job I guess. Love the facts and now have to figure out who to give this lovely award to…hmmm.

    happy saturday lady!

  14. dmcgirl37

    I worry sometimes to when I drive! I like that picture of you by the way šŸ™‚

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  15. Pingback: award-winning breakfasts. « A Fresh Dille

  16. …. Ooooh thank you so much for the award Jess! šŸ™‚ You are too sweet!

    I totally used to eat butter plain too… I seriously would just grab part of the brick from the fridge and gobble it up šŸ˜› Hehe! Perhaps the healthy animal fats helped us develop some sort of artistic edge? That’s the only explaination I can think of seeing as my mom can’t even draw stick figures either!

    That picture of you? Stunning!
    ā¤ Tat

  17. you are too sweet! now i gotta wrack my brain to think of facts i can say about myself and not get arrested… šŸ™‚

    ps – i think you are totally adorable, trends or not. and isn’t it funny how when you’re a freshman in college, you’re like PARTY PARTY PARTY!?!?! and then, you grow out of it and are like WTF am i thinking??? lol

    i guess they call that “maturity…” hmm.
    -rebekah

  18. Awww thank you for the award girl!!!! You’re so sweet!!!

    And I SO use to butter spaghetti too!!! Spaghetti, butter, Parmesan cheese… oh yes.

Leave a Reply

