Apparently

**WARNING***WARNING**WARNING** The following post follows absolutely no logical order of the events in the past 48 hours.

Apparently, I was not meant to ride today.

A little bit bummed. I kept getting delayed in getting to take Teddie out, and then when I did get to start working with him, A decided it’d be a good idea to mow. Not usually a bad thing, right? Well, the mowing that needed to be done was right along the indoor. This resulted in it sounding like WWIII was taking place outside. Not because it was a loud lawnmower – but because there were tons of rocks and they kept getting spat out next to us. The first time sounded like there was an explosion right outside, and I just about jumped out of my boots.

We worked through it until about the fourth explosion, where I decided maybe I best wait for tomorrow πŸ˜‰ Teddie handled it surprisingly well (we were just doing some ground work in the indoor at the time) but I could only imagine riding and happening to be in the same spot as boulders were being thrown at from the outside!

Apparently, I can’t get salads off of the brain, and tonight realized how long it’d been since I had a sweet potato in a salad.

In the bowl: local lettuce, red pepper, 1/2 a peach, most of a sweet potato, roasted chickie peas

Apparently, I always need to come up with some sort of homemade dressing of sorts.

Peach-Curry Yogurt Dressing

  • 1/2 a peach, peeled
  • 2 T. plain greek yogurt
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 t. honey
  • ~1/4 t. sweet curry powder
  • ~1/4 t. poppyseeds

Puree or mash the peach…

My processor hates life, so I just mashed with a potato masher.

add in err’thang…

…and viola!!

YUM!

What’s your favorite kind of dressing? Do you usually make them yourself or go for a good-ol’ store-bought dressing?

I haven’t been using store-bought because I actually don’t even have any in the house, save for some Italian. I’ve entertained the idea of picking some up, though. Any suggestions? It’s gotta be really fabulous, though, to keep me enamored for the entire bottle πŸ˜‰

This dressing went great with the sweet taters and chickie peas. There’s some leftover that I imagine would make a great sandwich spread, too!

Apparently, This salad wasn’t quite enough for my hungry self. After spending an afternoon trying to find an elusive tack sale, we got home late and I went right to playing with Georgie. While my mom and I were out we did all the evening chores and before we knew it, it was 4:15. This means I went snack-free all day today, and I was hangry for dinner. The salad was fantasmic, but I followed it with dinner #2/dessert.

In the bowl: Plain Greek yogurt, carrot quinoa "muffin," sweet potato, cinnamon, quick oats

Apparently, I don’t often enough sing my praise for sweet potatoes. I mean, I always say they’re fantastic and all…but really. A food that can go from a dinner-plate to a dessert plate needs a crown orΒ something

Apparently, plums + banana + cashew is the only way to be when it comes to choosing brekkist toppings…

This morning's waffles.

Apparently, I don’t think this combo lends itself well to peanut butter, and rather, I think of alternatives to include the wonder food…

Like with an icing of greek yog, almond milk, chia seeds, and chunky pb.

And yes, apparently I was thinking of yesterday morning’s overnight oats when I made these waffles this morning.

What's hiding in there??

Although I apparently didn’t feel like a nut or seed butter of some sort was necessary. That’s saying something, folks!

These breakfasts were both very much appreciated after waking up feeling like I’d stacked away a couple hundred hay-bales. No, silly – that was last week! It was a good feeling, though. That’s what some serious yoga sculpt and pilates does to me. Don’t laugh, I’m not as fit as all ya’ll!

Apparently, I should start a weight-loss blog for Teddie after spying him “sharing” Blue’s breakfast. Is anybody willing to help and support him in his endeavors?? (well, it’d probably be more like my endeavors, I don’t think Teddie cares if he has a shapely figure or not.)

Sandwich with tomato sauce, hummus, feta, local lettuce, hardboiled egg. Remaining half of a nanner with p.b. on the side.

Apparently, when no tomatoes are in sight and you don’t feel like opening a can of tomato paste – a good tomato sauce will fit the bill just fine πŸ™‚ After an unplanned long length of time at the barn this morning – I was more than ready for this lunch before hunting for above-mentioned elusive tack sale.

For what it’s worth, we finally found it the “old fashioned” way. We took a friend’s TomTom just for fun…and it led us to a corn-field. Lesson learned: GPS systems are stupid. Either ask for directions or use google. (well, sometimes Google is no use, either. Or maybe it’s just Vermont…)

Luckily, said tack sale just so happened to have a surcingle…and I was just saying earlier that I needed to get one because I wanted to work Teddie in side-reins, and it’d also be useful for the girls (a.k.a. Maya and Georgie)

aaaand, apparently, putting butter on spaghetti isn’t weird after all, and everyone has mean siblings. It’s funny how vividly I can remember being dropped on the cinder block. It was a Monday night (spaghetti night growing up, for your information) and only my dad was home, so he gave me an orange popsicle to numb the pain. My mom came home and we had spaghetti (with butter and sauce, thank you) as per usual. That probably makes her sound like a bad mom for not taking me somewhere, but I was fine by then.

And I probably wanted my spaghetti…

23 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

23 responses to “Apparently

  1. Aww bummer that you couldn’t ride! I am really excited because a friend at the barn asked my to ride her paint horse next week so hopefully that will work out. And it’s funny because I just got a tonn of peaches and was wondering what to do with them, and here you have a fabulous dressing recipe!!

  2. Sorry you couldn’t ride today! I hope maybe tomorrow. That sweet potato and dressing combo looks to die for! I need to try that. I am not much for sweet salads, but I think that would be great on a fruit/sweet potato salad. I love butternut squash too. Dessert or side dish or main dish…it works for all! I don’t buy dressing anymore…I smother my salads in hot sauce and hummus!

  3. Your breakfast looks really good, and I don’t use dressing …if anything just lemon.

  4. Apparently I should have chosen to have a sweet potato for dinner tonight instead of pizza, because now you’ve got me craving one like crazy. Thankfully, there’s still dessert πŸ˜‰

    How is it that you always manage to come up with such creative recipes? I’ve never even thought to make a dressing from a peach, but I bet it tasted amazing with the SP. The dressing I make is pretty simple… it’s just Greek yogurt mixed with dijon mustard, and then I vary up the spices/herbs…. garlic, dill, chives, curry, paprika… or just a good old sprinkling of Mrs. Dash πŸ˜‰ I wish I could recommend a good dressing, but it’s been a while since I bought one, so I’m kind of out of the loop…

  5. Sorry to hear you weren’t able to ride today – but there’s tomorrow!! I love roasted sweet potatoes on salads – they are the perfect topping with a greek yogurt dressing!!
    Peaches sound like a perfect addition – i actually have a tom of peaches that are getting ripe!!!! I almost never buy store bought dressings and prefer to make my own with things like balsamic vinegar and honey.
    Have a wonderful Sunday!!!! xo aimee

  6. Oooof. I am so behind on your posts, girl! I’m catching up though.. no worries πŸ™‚

    I love sweet potatoes so much. I remember I went through a phase where I ate one every night for dinner drowning in tahini. Swoon.

    You salad looks amazing.. although I have a weird thing about fruit in my salads (unless it’s dry).. it just creeps me out!

    ❀ Tat

  7. So sorry you couldn’t ride- hate when that happens!

    I just had a really fun ride, but it was so hot that just saddling up Cochise had my t-shirt completely soaked.

  8. I love your breakfasts! They look so tasty.

    I m always making my salads dips. My favourite is one with lemon, tahini and garlic.

    You gave me an idea of posting about my favourite dips!

  9. Dee

    Oh my gosh! That dressing! Wow! It’s definitely a must try!

  10. Your post is far from my scattered when you compare it to mine! I blogged about three bowls of cooked oats today…stellar! Ha, but really thanks for the award again. Apparently I WAS the mean sibling…oops! I feel like I am quite the opposite these days, so no worries I guess! I only liked the orange flavored popsicles growing up…and starbursts, kinda weird.

    The peaches are so good right now, aren’t they! I love that you had it not only in the salad, but also in the dressing. I am really loving the simplicity of Angela of oh she glows, better than bottled balsamic vinaigrette. It is a basic dijon, olive oil, balsamic mix with some maple syrup! Search for it, I am sure you will love it but it is far from creamy like your delicious looking salad toppers. I like some of the Annie’s dressings, Tuscan Italian and Goddess are really the only two I’ve tried though. I enjoy both sometimes when I want an easy store bought option for crazy days.

    We had sweet potatoes for dinner tonight and I pretty much ate the majority since V was more into the kale chips (more sweetness for me! I’ll take it…). I agree, completely award-worthy!

    Sorry you couldn’t get a quality ride in today but I know you will make it happen ASAP. night lady…

  11. Jen

    Hi Jess! Thanks for always supporting me, you’re the best! By the way I loved the self-portrait in the post from yesterday. It’s so beautiful and so are you!

  12. I am also sorry you weren’t able to ride today. I think your peach salad dressing sounds spectacular. I love using greek yogurt to make creamy salad dressings…it is scary going to the grocery store and looking at the mass marketed salad dressings (the ingredient list makes me feel faint). I also tend to make my own dressings because I like to experiment, but I’m sure there are some great options at Whole Foods…I’ll have to explore myself!

  13. Oohh that peach dressing sounds SO good!! I now need to buy a peach so I can do it πŸ˜›
    Hehe Teddie can go on a diet with Chika! She’s permanently on a diet, I’m sure she’d love some company πŸ˜›
    I looove that sweet potato/oats/muffin bowl thing – you have the BEST snacks!!
    Sucks about the riding 😦 I think you did the right thing though – better to be safe than sorry πŸ™‚

  14. Oh wow, I am SO making that salad – it has all of my favourite things in..sweet potato, chickpeas and that peachy curry dressing sounds to die for! You know how much I love Indian flavours πŸ™‚ sorry you couldn’t go riding but it will make tomorrows riding session extra special! πŸ™‚ xx

  15. I love that you always make your own homemade dressings. I would never think to combine the ingredients you use, but they always look so good! One of my favourite dressings is orange juice, sesame oil, balsamic vinegar, and scallions.

  16. That dressing looks out of this world!!!! Curry is one of my favorite spices out there. And your breakfasts are always so picturesque and lovely πŸ˜€

  17. Such a cute post! And that dressing sounds absolutely delicious! I would never have thought of that. I would totally make my own dressing but I don’t have a fabulous recipe and I’m not as creative as some people πŸ˜‰ But I did find this “ranch” dressing the other day that’s made with Kefir. Interesting, I say. And it was great!
    I agree about sweet potatoes. They are pretty much the best thing ever, as far as I’m concerned.
    love ya!

  18. SO BEAUTIFUL!! I especially love sweet potatoes. πŸ™‚

  19. Michelle

    There is a fabulous raspberry vinaigrette that my mom and I make! Other than that, I do the whole store-bought stuff with Annie’s dressings.

  20. and apparently God gave you a little extra in the talent and creativity department that made you capable of creating the most gorgeous tasty food there is, causing the rest of us to drool and sigh in envy!

    xoxo

  21. *Apparently* we have a lot in common after reading this post! lol πŸ˜‰ Salads don’t keep me very full either..they’ll hold me for about 20 minutes then I’ll be STARVING! And my horse needs a lesson in dieting, too. You’d think she never gets fed by the way she inhales her food and she’s just a tad bit chunky. I know, we could enroll Teddie and CoCo and weight loss camp and feed them salads all day πŸ˜€

  22. spoonfulofsugarfree

    Yum! It looks so good! I have a question….maybe you have said this on one of your other posts, but how do you make your waffles look like that? It looks kinda crunchy, not like a waffle iron. What do you use?

  23. Sweet potatoes and chickpeas sound like a match made in heaven! Apparently I’m quite obsessed with salads, too, because it’s all I seem to want lately. Go figure. On the food that goes from dinner to dessert front, kabcocha is my vote. I actually started eating this baby for dessert (like, say, half a huge kabocha) before I incorporated it into actual meals (it was too good!)

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

    P.S. I’ve totally missed commenting on your blog as of late! To be honest, I’ve been “saving” your posts to read until I have time to enjoy them. Very silly, I know. Anyway, I finally got to it and I feel the need to mention your carrot cake oats. Oh. My. Goodness. Love. Do you have an approximate for measuring spices? I can never seem to get the ratio right. (By the way, coconut butter would make for a lovely addition on top, I think.)

Leave a Reply

