Eggplant Strata

I think this is my most blunt post-title thus far. I’m sort of proud.

Some housekeeping, before I forget:

  1. I am so so sorry if any new readers have left comments and I haven’t responded in any way, shape, or form. Something inspired me to go through my comments marked as “spam” automatically today, and found a bunch of legitimate comments and pingbacks. Whaaa?! Couldn’t quite figure it out myself, but I felt bad because some of them are from weeks ago!! So, check your “spam” every so often, kids!
  2. I loved reading everyone’s “if I’m being honest…” comments!! I forgot to mention it in the next days post. I think my favorite might have been Freya‘s: Β she mentioned she had a dream where she peeled a peach…and when someone questioned the act, said “because Jess does.”
  3. I bought age-defying foundation today because apparently Revlon stopped making my favorite foundation. The closest I could find was this stuff called “instant age rewind.” I think I was unconsciously fascinated by the fact that it has goji berries in it. Hopefully I don’t look like a 5 year old tomorrow.
  4. Apparently in the state of Vermont, a “detour” means “ten minutes out of your way, but we’ll get you there eventually.”
  5. Apparently Vermont has a lot of diaper-rashed babies. I was looking for some for Teddie (apparently it helps keep the bugs out of their booty) and there was no store-brand stuff left on the shelves. The Desitin was too pricey for a “it might work, it might not” situation. Sorry buddy.
  6. Make the following eggplant strata STAT.

For dinner tonight, I whipped up this project based on Moosewood’s Eggplant Strata recipe. It is in Low-Fat Favorites, and while I kept the idea the same, I decided to switch up the flavors a bit. It’s great for a hot day, because it’s actually served cold, and the only cooking you need to do is broiling the eggplant – which can easily be done in a toaster oven. Not only that – but it gets better the longer it sits. Helllooo, leftovers.

Not to mention it’s mom-approved.

Eggplant Strata

adapted from Moosewood’s Low Fat Favorites

serves 2-4

Part One:

  • 1 large eggplant
  • 1 T. balsamic vinegar
  • salt

Cut off the ends of the eggplant so that it can stand up. Peel two of the sides off and discard, and then cut into 1/2″ thick strips. Arrange on a pan to broil them, sprinkling with salt and balsamic. Broil for about ten minutes on each side.

Meanwhile, prepare the fillings.

Part Two:

  • 1 cup chickpeas
  • lemon pepper, to taste
  • 1 medium clove garlic
  • salt (to taste – I didn’t add any because the beans are already pretty salty. your call.)
  • 1 t. olive oil

Combine all in a medium bowl and mash, or, if you’re feeling motivated, blend them in a blender or processor.

I preferred them having some chunks, though, and since the processor will be needed for the next step, didn’t feel like washing and drying in between. Call me lazy, it’s okay.

Part Two:

  • 1 1/2 T. goat cheese (I used Peppered goat cheese)
  • 3 T. feta cheese (I used tomato & basil feta)
  • 3 T. almond milk
  • 1/4 of a roasted red pepper
  • 2-3 leaves, chopped, of fresh basil
  • 1 medium clove garlic
  • 3 chopped sundried tomatoes (I used the dried kind, not in oil or rehydrated)

Microwave goat cheese for a couple seconds, just to get it softened. Add in the almond milk and feta, and whisk until combined.

Add in the remaining ingredients, and combine.

Part Three:

  • 1 medium Roma tomato, chopped
  • 7 basil leaves (small-medium sized)
  • 1 medium clove garlic
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Place all in a processor, and puree.

Putting it all together:

By the time all the fillings are made, your eggplant should be ready. Perfect timing!

Let the eggplant cool a bit, and then cut into approximately 1/2″ strips.

Line the bottom of a loaf pan with plastic wrap (this is the hardest part of the whole recipe. Does anyone else despise that stuff?) and then place in 1/3 of the eggplant slices, going parallel to the short sides of the pan.

I made sure the bottom layer (to be top layer) was pretty snug and cozy.

Press in all of the chickpea mash. I had some more roasted red peppers, so added those on top, too.

Layer on another third of the eggplant, remembering to go parallel to the short sides, and then all of the cheese mixture.

Spoon on the tomato mixture,…

and then the remaining eggplant slices. As you can see, my eggplant ended up being a bit small πŸ˜›

Place plastic wrap over the top, and press down firmly. If you have a pan to fit inside, place the pan on top.

And then let sit in the fridge for as long as you want, until you’re ready to eat. Moosewood’s suggests at least two hours, or even overnight. I only waited about an hour and it was still delicious.

To plate, just remove the top piece of plastic wrap, place a plate over the top, and quickly flip.

nom-licious!!

I enjoyed my portion over some local lettuce – hey, I was gonna have a salad, anyways. It made a great dressing!! And some is already waiting for me for tomorrow night. Perfff!

But dinner wasn’t the only exciting thing today. So was breakfast. Yes, yes – waffles, but in carrot cake form!

I can’t remember if I’ve made carrot cake waffles before, even though it’s one of my favorite oats concoction, even if I have gotten rather lazy when it comes to shredding carrots. Why does shredding carrots seem like such a chore to me?

I just used my usual waffle recipe, but added in one small shredded carrot, lots of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger. Oh and I’ve been getting rather forgetful and haven’t been using the applesauce lately. I think I could probably throw ice cream on my waffle maker and still get a waffle, though.

Okay, maybe not.

The funky-lookin’ drizzle stuff was an icing mix of almond milk, chunky peanut butter, and chia seeds. It was delicious…

as were the toppings, which was one chopped, peeled peach microwaved with a chopped Turkish fig and some maple sizzurp. The usual earth balance and ginger preserves were on thurr, too πŸ™‚

aaaand, before I let you go, the funny comment of the day, said by a little girl just arriving at the barn as I was tacking Teddie up to ride:

Oh, good, you’re all done! Uh, not that I didn’t want you to ride…. (voice trails off)

I’d only met her one other time, and apparently Teddie left quite the impression – the one other time just happened to be Teddie’s first time seeing another horse in the ring with him at the same time…and he was a crazy man πŸ˜‰ I think he wowed her with his gentlemanly manners today, though. His ground work is improving by miles, although he’s still like a five year old child who needs his binkie.

I can’t help but laugh: imagine me, middle of the ring, coaxing and trying a million different things to get an adorable pony to drop the leadrope, while he stands there as if there’s not a problem in the world. Hmph. Good thing he’s adorable.

On a positive note, I no longer hope to have the barn to myself just so I can get a ride in. Now if there’s other people riding, too – all the more fun! Of course, go figure – there’s never very many people around 😦 I think this was our busiest week yet.

29 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

29 responses to “Eggplant Strata

  1. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I’ve been wanting to try cooking with eggplant more. πŸ™‚

  2. I am seriously missing eggplant these days so I was glad to see the eggplant strata as the title! The recipe looks so creative and delicious too of course.

    Yum, carrot cake waffles…you are killing me lady…

    Teddie is adorable as always!

  3. Okay, that eggplant strata seriously looks good, and I don’t even think I like eggplant (??) The few times I’ve tried it, I wasn’t really impressed… but I’m sure I could be won over with a recipe like that πŸ˜‰

    “Good thing he’s adorable” — he definitely is, and that’s the line I use with my animals all the time. Sigh. Sometimes it’s just not fair that they have to be so cute and innocent looking…

  4. This recipe looks F-A-B. I thought it’d be eaten warm, but when I got to the refrigerating part, I was like, okay I guess that works?

  5. That eggplant strata looks delish! Aww, he IS cute. πŸ™‚

    Jenn

  6. This looks seriously amazing! Such a great combination of flavours and a fully balanced meal as well. I can’t wait to try it out!

  7. That eggplant looks so good! What, doesn’t everything go on lettuce? I actually did not have lettuce tonight…shocker! I am with you on the carrot. Why does it seem like a chore? I hate doing it though. Love the waffle too! Nice combo!

  8. Great recipe for eggplant – i adore eggplant – i actually just picked up baby eggplant today from the farm – will definately be trying this recipe – thanks for sharing.
    yes, Teddie is absolutely adorable!!!! Love seeing pictures of him!!
    Have a wonderful Friday – xo aim

  9. He is soooo cute! Love that gorgeous hair and handsome face!
    Had an interesting moment in the arena today myself…took my new boy, who is super calm, out for a bareback easy walk around three other horses, walk, trot, and cantering all around. (Just wanted to work on him focusing, going easy, not getting distracted.) I grabbed an old stepstool to get up on his back, but just when I swung up my leg, a part of the stool collapsed and the stool and I went flying right into him. He flipped out, I was only 1/4 of the way on, just enough that he bucked, and I fell off, and all the other riders were taken aback. He’s such a gentleman though- just did everything all over again and we were fine for the whole ride. Whew!

  10. I love anythng eggplant- this looks amazing! It good that you can now ride without worrying if other people are around πŸ™‚ And I know where you’re coming from with the “it’s a good thing you’re so cute” feeling! haha

  11. This sounds fantastic and SUPER creative- def need to remember to try this one!

  12. that eggplant start looks SO creative and divine!!! I’m speechless!!

  13. I love the idea of them waffles! You’re so stinkin’ creative, making me want to use my brain and whip up some awesome eats (especially breakfast, especially chia seeds, especially anything with oats!). & that eggplant recipe looks so amazing! Homemade everything into a perfect little eggplant strata, I love it!

  14. Dee

    Wow! This is definitely something to try! Oh dear gosh. It all looks SO good!

  15. What a beautiful strata…you should feel very proud! I love eggplants, and I can’t wait until they come into season here. We go crazy! Teddie looks beautiful, and I’m glad that you are eager for more company at the barn!

  16. Oh my gosh.. that looks increible. I’m all for hearty cold recipes in this heat. Today I actually had cold savoury oats that had been sitting in the fridge. Yum.. As soon as I get my hands on an eggplant, I’m making this πŸ™‚

    Congrats on ‘graduating’ to being able to ride with other people πŸ˜› I know how great it feels to suddenly not be so limited.
    ❀ Tat

  17. Haha, I’m glad you liked my dream!!
    That eggplant strata looks SUPER!! Maybe it can be my weekend mission πŸ™‚
    Lol I’m glad Teddie’s realised how to woo the human ladies with his good behaviour charm :p everyone will be in love with him soon!

  18. Oh yum! The eggplant strata looks absolutely delicious. Definitely will be making this soon. πŸ˜€

    Teddie is such a handsome guy. πŸ˜€

  19. I just bought the Low Fat Favourites cookbook last week! I had a gift certificate to the bookstore and I remember you recommending Moosewood cookbooks. This recipe looks awesome! I was sold on it as soon as I saw the goat cheese and sundried tomatoes. πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to try it. But uhh, what is lemon pepper?

    Are there any other recipes from that cookbook that you highly recommend?

  20. that strata looks awesome!

    I love eggplant when I get it out, but I never seem to be able to make it how I like it when I’m home. I’m not sure what happens – maybe I’m cursed with eggplant? πŸ™‚

  21. love this..I love eggplant and am always cooking it. Need to try it with the organic eggplant I snatch at the farm I volunteer at I’m gonna mae some tofu ricotta and use some nooch to veganize it!

  22. ohmagosh YUM! your eggplant thing is gorgeous beyond measure! pony beautiful as always. ❀ thanks for sharing, i hope to make this soon!
    lucie

  23. Carrot cake waffles sound amazing!!

    and speaking of anti aging foundation…my grandma bought me some the other day! It was an accident but when she first gave me it, my heart sank a little xx

  24. Michelle

    I love your humor as always. Detours for us is at a minimum 10 minutes, but can go up to 30 or 45 minutes and completely turn you around!

  25. hey! so i looked in my fridge after reading this post and had everysingle ingredient including 5 hrs till dinner time! i cooked this baby up and it was the BEST thing ive had all week, oh my god genus idea and phenomenal recipe girl! love ya keep up the healthy eating ❀ also your horse is adorable!

  26. oh before i forget i also made your maple fig dressing, SO AMAZING! ❀ love your recipess!

  27. dmcgirl37

    whoa! This recipe looks SOOOOO GOOD!

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  28. Pingback: Crazy Days of Summer « Smithereens

  29. I’ve been loving baked/layered aubergine lately so this will have to be my next dinner, thanks!

Leave a Reply

