To-Do’s

*deep breath* phew! i am knocking things off of my to-do list like mad! let’s not talk about the fact that none of these are major to-do’s…but i’ve been running all morning/afternoon so i actually feel rather accomplished! *insert big grin here* i’m not much of a gloater, but i have some fun things to share, so let’s hop to it.

to-do #1: sleep in.

waffles! with iced coffee.

check. okay, so not entirely intentional – but for some reason i did not want to go to bed last night. just wasn’t tired, and was having too much fun reading up on horsey and bloggie things. i faced some reprimanding from the four-legged friends for their late breakfast, and then got to work on mine.

topped with: earth balance, ginger preserves, cashews, and nuked chopped plum and sweet cherries

since it was 7:30 already, i was sort of regretting not having overnight oats waiting for me, but when all was said and done, i reminded myself that there is no reason i need to be at the barn right at 9:00. teddie doesn’t care. A doesn’t care. the other barn girls don’t care. i have all day. either way, i’ll still be early. so, for the love of pete – just enjoy these delicious waffles as you normally would.

.

and "icing" of greek yogurt, agave, chia seeds, and almond milk.

does anyone else ever think “rush, rush, rush!” to get things done, and then stop to realize – there is no need to worry and rush? i think i just fell so into the habit of wanting to get there right early off that i forgot that it’s not like it’s work. i can go whenever i please, really – just as long as i enjoy myself!

not to mention, getting there a bit later than usual helped me cross off a relatively dreaded to-do: riding/working teddie with another horse in the ring at the same time. (this is long, but may be interesting to some) up until now, we’ve worked on some simple ground stuff while another rider is finishing up, or working in the next aisle over…but i’d yet to ride him at the same time another horse was being ridden. i know he getsย excitableย seeing another horse, but not awful. so, i wasn’t sure what would happen, and at first was debating just calling it a day…but i didn’t. while we were working alone, lunging and ground stuff, he was very quiet and relaxed, but the second another horse was brought in the next aisle all ground manners went out the door and he turned into a bull again. oh, hormones. he started testing the cross-ties though very minorly, so i took him off (i’m all for young horses learning things, but i’m just not at the point where i’m willing to put both of our safety at risk to learn this lesson, horses flipping themselves while tied is just a little too risky for me.) and tacked him up in-hand. he waltzed around as much as he could, wanting to go flirt with girl-pony, but eventually settled down. when girl-pony came in, he was fixed on her, but was surprisingly attentive to me. thank goodness. i finally got on and while he was still pretty fixed on her, i still had his attention and we ended up having a pretty good ride in hindsight. i didn’t ask much of him, figures, walk, whoa, and some trot – and afterwards sort of regretted not giving his pony butt a good workout, but oh well. one hurdle tackled, and he really wasn’t that bad. it was mainly just his ground manners that went out the window before and after the ride. i also made sure to stay on until girl-pony left the ring and then the barn entirely, as i wanted to see if he would flip out with her leaving, but he was good. (see, sometimes i look for trouble, haha. honestly, though – i’m more comfortable dealing with stupidity from the saddle than from the ground.)

after our ride he was still really pushy, but i just turned him out, cleaned up my mess, and then chatted with A a bit before taking him back out to work on some ground manners in unfamiliar territory. he’s really good when he’s relaxed and familiar with the place, but pushy otherwise. he was good, so i let him graze a bit and called it a day. hey, i take the good with the bad – i like a challenge as long as i don’t feel like my safety is in danger ๐Ÿ˜‰

to-do #3 was made to happen as soon as i got home.

before you think i’ve lost it entirely, hear me out. Foodbuzz is asking all featured publishers to generate a post around a theme. the theme being banana splits. at first, i went “meh, maybe.” after reading more, however – i saw the they would be making a donation to the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund for every post with the theme. when i saw that, i went “well, why not?not being a typical banana-split chika (so overdone!), i’m hoping this still counts.

banana split bulgur? okay, sounds crazy. work with me. bulgur tastes similar to steel-cut oats, so why not? not only that – but i honed my inner elvis. i don’t really think i have an inner elvis, but work with me here. his thang was the pbbh, right? peanut-butter, banana, and honey? so why not, except with bulgur for bread?

that’s what i thought.

for the “ice cream” (i even used an ice cream scoop!!) i simply prepared a serving of bulgur – (1/4 c. bulgur to 1/2 c. water and a dash of salt) and then when it cooled i mixed in maybe a teaspoon of ground cinnamon and (guessing) a scant 1/4 c. of greek yogurt. i was debating between adding in peanut butter and adding in real peanuts, and while i certainly could have done both – i ended up just mixing in a handful of honey roasted peanuts. i was afraid the peanut butter flavor would be lost in the bulgur unless i used an ungodly amount. (wait – is there such thing?) and drizzled everything with honey.

this was a really good lunch. i am gloating. sue me.

while i was on that banana split role, i tackled to-do #4: make bars. in the toaster oven, if all went as planned. it did. well, i made edible somethings, but i’m not sure if i made a really healthy cookie or bars. i’ll let you decide.

banana-split bulgur bars

you will need:

  • 1/4 c. bulgur [dry measure]
  • 1/4 c. milled flax
  • 1/3 c. agave/maple syrup/honey [i used xagave]
  • 2 T. wheat germ
  • 3-4 T. peanut butter
  • 1/2 a banana
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 c. chopped cashews (or other nut)
  • 1/2 T. chia seeds
  • 1/4 c. trail power
  • 2 T. the organic whey
  • 1/4 c. oat bran
  • 1/4 c. cherries (dried or fresh*)
  • 1 T. dark chocolate chips

first, prepare your bulgur by boiling over medium heat in 1/3 c. water until the water is gone.

meanwhile, combine the flax, agave, wheat germ, and peanut butter. slice in the banana, and mush up in the mixture.

once combined (some chunks are okay) add in the cinnamon, cooked bulgur, cashews, chia seeds, trail power, whey powder, oat bran, and cherries.

combiiiiiine er’thang.

and while searching for a pan/dish to bake them in, come up with 500 plastic flexi straws. (?????)

i really would have liked to have been able to use my “bar pan” (re: mini loaf pan) but i needed something to fit in the toaster oven. durn. so, i just baked them in a casserole dish and cut afterwards. the nalgene gives reference to size. i tried to do the hand thing, but that’s hard when you’re holding a camera with a 50mm manual focus lens. then i thought to do my [socked] foot but realized that would be ย incredibly weird.

i put them in the toaster oven at 400* and set the timer to 15 minutes while i worked on to-do #5 (i think we’re on five, anyways?) which was ground work with georgie. who the hay is georgie? georgie is what we have dubbed the former pony called “yet-to-be-named.”

georgie says haii.

so, let’s review. we have teddie:

we have georgie and maya:

maya on the left, georgie on the right.

and we have jiggy and mel:

(who i also made sure to say hello to while i was out.)

i played a bit with georgie, just rubbing all over her, leaning all over her, swinging the leadrope all over her legs, back, but, and belly, giving to pressure, and whoa-ing. i did a little bit with maya, too, mainly because she was getting upset that she wasn’t getting played with, too ๐Ÿ˜‰

quick!! who's who?!

georgie is my favorite. my mom and i are so biased.

anyways, after god only knows how long, i came back into the kitchen. i set them back in for about five more minutes, cut them, and then baked them another ten or so.

so, my apologies for the sketchy baking time. just work with me. i’d guess maybe 20 minutes at 375 or 400 in a normal oven?

for my first time 100% winging it, these are pretty darn good. usually i have some sort of gameplan or loose “guidelines,” if you will…but this time i honestly had the idea of making bulgur into bars. i really wanted to use sunflower seed butter but i’ve only got about ~1/4 of a jar left, so i didn’t want to almost finish it. (oh, the horrors.) i think they’d be awesome with more nut butter, and even moreso if the nut butter was actually sunflower seed butter. i realize that’s almost an oxymoron.

anyways. i started writing this post after these came out of the “oven,” only to be disurpted multiple times to cross-off more to-do’s: laundry, cleaning out and taking care of the four leggeds, working with them more, and now starting on dinner.

we won’t talk about the fact that my bathroom and room still need to be cleaned, i need to go through old clothes to figure out what to donate and what to try to sell, i wanted to hang up business cards around town, and i need lettuce.

ciao!

what have you crossed-off your to-do list today?

28 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

28 responses to “To-Do’s

  1. Your banana split looks amazing! That is perfect in my opinion! As of right now, I am halfway through laundry. As you can see, I got distracted! Ugh…now I am back to doing laundry!

  2. That banana split is such an interesting sounding combination! Bulghar and banana? Never in a million years would I have done that, I salute you ๐Ÿ˜€
    LOVE the pics of Georgie – so pretty!
    Is Teddie a stallion/rig? It sounds like he gets verrry excited by the ladees ๐Ÿ˜‰ Good job on controlling him though – when the hormones take over, horses seem to lose all respect sometimes…very odd!
    Uuhh my to-do list,..go to work and unpack the Vita Mix. I’m just about to do the latter ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Clever banana split recipe!
    I read the e-mail and thought meh too. I have an idea in my head but for some reason foodbuzz is underwhelming me these days. Oh well.

  4. Great banana split! I am looking forward to creating one as well – just haven’t thought of the perfect idea yet!!

    Things I crossed off my to-do list today:
    – Read for fun
    – Go through my freezer, organize, toss etc..
    – Work out

  5. ohhh its like a cherry banana split with nuts โค
    that SCREAMS summer time and says "eat me eat me!"

    i think thats a normal temp. i sually do 30 min in 350 so i guess 20 in a higher temp totally works!

  6. Dee

    DANG! go you for banging out that to-do list! And OMG the food in this post looks TDF!

  7. love your nanaer spilt…i bet anyone would feel better after this delight, nice new look, your always so creative, I can’t even keep up with commenting…take care
    sweetlife

  8. So I’m in love with your banana split… too cute!!! And it sounds INCREDIBLE!!! You’re so creative girl, you put the rest of us to shame. And I want those waffles so badly I can hardly stand it!
    Love you!

  9. Yowza; what a day! And what a banana split… I think I need a tissue. I’ve thought about making banana split oats before, but I’m kind of stuck on the sweet taste of banana cooked into oats. Your bars look divine as well. Seriously, how’s it possible for someone to be so creative in the kitchen?! Not fair!

    When I have a lot of things to scratch off my to-do list, I tend to always be in a rush as well. It’s like I’m afraid I won’t have time to get everything done, which never really turns out to be the case, but it does cause me a little too much stress. Today was one of those crazy running around days. Lots of errands, lots of random house tidying, some baking, and a good amount of cooking. Now I have to tackle Google Reader, which is a feat in itself…

    Oh, and your ponies are all so adorable ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. why is all your food so beautiful??????! it’s insane. like the banana split?! you’re talented. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Wow – how do you do it??? You not only take care of the horses each and every day but always manage to come up with the most creative and absolutely delicious and unique meals – the banana split looks spectacular – never would have tried bulgar and yogurt!!!! As do the bars – definately have to give them a try – thanks for posting the recipe!!!! Love the name Georgia – it suites the pony perfectly!!
    Have a great night!!! xo aimee

  12. Waffles and iced coffee were made for eachother! And I looove all your horses, that one photo of georgie is especially cute. I am so impressed with your “banana split”! I’ve done that once with overnight oats but this looks even better. And Elvis definitely knew what he was doing!!

  13. Wow GREAT job on the banana split! You almost fooled me right there!

  14. Your horses are so precious!! I love the picture of Georgie ๐Ÿ˜€ And my horse is the same way when working in the ring with another rider. We’ll usually do our best to get a ring to ourselves because she goes crazy when another one’s there. she kind of does the opposite with the opposite sex, though. Instead of flirting, she throws her ears back and sometimes kicks. :/ lol!! Ok..so the kicking’s not funny, but her mindset that boys still have cooties kind of is ๐Ÿ˜›

  15. I finally picked up some bulgur…you have no idea how many recipes of yours I have bookmarked with it! Your animals…always make me smile. I definitely want to start making some bars for work…those look delicious lady!

  16. I think you just inspired me to write my to do ist. I keep thinking of all the things I have to do and never end up getting to it! ugh frustrating. Love that banana split! So original!

  17. I LOVE your banana-split bulgur bars!! You are just too creative :-).

  18. Your banana split should win an award…I agree, you are so creative! I have a hard time letting myself sleep in too…I get consumed by all the many things I feel like I need to get done and I can’t let my mind drift back to sleep once I first stir in the morning. I’m working on it though!

  19. Wowww. I am so blown away missus! How do you do it?! Everything you make I fall in love with! The banana split is genius and I am making your bars today because I just can’t wait! Bulgur is my favourite food so you’ve really got a winner with me with these foods today!! Thankyou thankyou thankyou ๐Ÿ™‚
    And georgie is the cutest name ever – good choice!!
    Eeee I’m so excited to get baking now!
    Xxx

  20. I’m starting to think that I really need to try bulgur… an quinoa..
    Your blog always makes me want to try so many things, and after my sunbutter experience I am not about to stop trusting you.

    … You have quite a horse family now! I’m so excited for you to be playing with the new guys. I love Maya’s lip in the picture ๐Ÿ˜›

    I can totally relate to getting in that ‘go go go’ mood only to realize that you don’t have to hurry at all ๐Ÿ˜› I crossed another session with Rayne off my list yesterday… except I completely avoided pulling her mane which is something I really need to do. I’m kind of scared that she is going to make a huge fuss about it, so I keep putting it off. Not cool. >_<

    โค Tat

  21. I love the name Georgie! It reminds me of that nursery rhyme “Georgie Porgie pudding and pie, kissed the girls and made them cry…” ๐Ÿ˜›

    Both the bulgur banana split and bars look awesome! I’m going to need to go buy some bulgur now. My pantry is seriously overflowing with new grains and flours since I started reading blogs!

    Yesterday what I crossed off my to-do list was making tempeh in a way that tastes good and going out for sushi with my friend.

  22. I think it’s awesome that you questioned your need to rush. It took me so long to learn how to do that. I think the laid back European lifestyle helped me along ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your bar look bangin! You said they’re half cookie, half bar so they’ve got more a chewy texture? If so, I will totally make them soon because although a good snap-crackly granola bar is good, I usually prefer something soft and chewy! Yumm.

    No to-do list for me – still 2 more days on vacation!

  23. spoonfulofsugarfree

    Oh My gosh! Your pictures look amazing! I love you banana split! What a great idea-especially for those who can’t have ice cream.I also like your bars. I’m always looking for an easy. yummy bar recipe!

  24. Sweet banana split!! I have the HARDEST time waking up in the mornings. So NOT a morning person.

  25. mysweetseason

    Oooh I’ve never had bulgur! The banana split looks different but definitely delicious!

  26. Pingback: My Eyeballs Are Tired «

  27. THANK YOU for doing your part towards ovarian cancer research. i haven’t mentioned it on the blog before, but that was one disease i have beaten in the last year ๐Ÿ™‚
    -r

Leave a Reply

