Scattered

Lets have a scattered post day, shall we?

Kitchen Experiements

I am all out of muffins, and have been for a couple of days now. This is sad to me. I love having one of my muffins for dessert. And I especially loved the PB Branana Muffins I made recently. It’s also been way too hot to turn on the oven.

I was going to make them again, but then remembered the BSI this week is applesauce. And so I changed my plans a little. Yet still failed to come up with something suitable to enter.

Why?

Well, these muffins taste good. But, there were some glitches in the experimenting. Take, for instance, trying to bake a big loaf (instead of the intentional muffin) in a small toaster oven.

Yes. I went there. But!! I’m still going to post the recipe because I am 99% sure if you are just able to bake them as muffins you would have a much greater success rate.

Quinoa Carrot Muffins

  • 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 3/4 c. applesauce (unsweetened, all-natural)
  • 1 T. milled flaxseed
  • 1/3 c. Xagave
  • 1/2 c. white whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 c. whole wheat flour
  • 2 T. coconut flour
  • 1 1/2 t. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. nutmeg
  • 1/4 t. ginger
  • 1 1/4 c. cooked quinoa
  • 1 c. shredded carrots
  • 1/2 c. chopped pecans
  • 2 chopped Turkish figs
  • crystallized ginger (optional, for the top)

Whisk together the milk, applesauce, and flax. Allow to sit one minute, and then whisk in agave.


In separate bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.
Add wet to dry, and combine. Do not overmix.
Fold in quinoa, carrots, figs and pecans.


Pour into muffin tins and bake at (I’m guessing here) 350* for 20 minutes. Don’t take my word for it, though. I sprinkled chopped crystallized ginger on top, too.

They are moist and delicious, but my batch is ugly. I figured that would happen. I baked it for about half an hour…took it out…flipped it over in the pan…baked about 20 more minutes…thought it was done…cut into it…was sorta gooey. Cut it into chunks about the size of a muffin, put on the baking sheet that came with the oven, and baked longer. Then they were done πŸ™‚ Β So, they will certainly be making an appearance again. Except in real muffin form.

The Morning

Everyone was sleeping still when I woke up! And I even slept until 7. Looks like these guys were out late partying.

Maya and ???

Apologies for the poor photography. I didn’t feel like putting shoes on, so shot from the deck πŸ˜›

Jiggy. He's alive, I promise.

Kaia was up, though I don’t know how she felt about it:

Really, mom?

And SaBaay always wants to say hello, too:

She looks so mean. She's not.

For a cat, she's doing a pretty good "cow."

I had to take advantage of the pretty fog we had this morning – sorry! Moving on. I was obviously too lazy to change my lens. Work with me here.

The Eats:

Really good waffles. I'd missed them.

Peaches were on sale for $0.68/lb yesterday. Score. Obviously, they will be much loved this week.

Waffles! Except, I’ve been buying the honey flavored Kashi puffed cereal. Very good, as well. For some reason, these waffles were better than usual, maybe for that reason. Or maybe because it’s been a couple of days and I missed them more than I’d realized.

The Toppings:

And yes, I do still let my waffles get soggy before eating them. The juices from the fruit combined with the agave melting into the waffle is just too perfect for words.

Lunch was amaaaaze today.

A tomato sandwich, but not being a mayo person, I made it with a ranch dressing – greek yogurt, garlic salt, pepper, dill, and chives – and pepper goat cheese.

Why yes, yes that is a boatload of smoked sea salt that my snap peas are swimming in. And yes, yes that is fresh lettuce from our garden. Minor gloat.

Fun Fact: I’ve probabbly eaten my body weight x ten in sweet cherries today. I feel like a farmer spitting out chew when I spit the seeds out, because I’m not classy enough to cut them or de-pit them first.

Best snack ever. If I'm home, anyway.

Kashi, oats, trail power, honey roasted peanuts, sunflower seed butter, cherries, almond milk.

I found a kidney bean in my chickpeas when I was making dinner. Random.

I had leftover quinoa, so naturally that had to star in dinner. I made a quick cold quinoa salad with:

  • quinoa
  • chickpeas
  • sliced cherries
  • fresh basil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • balsamic vinegar

And let it chill for a while in the fridge. When it was time for dinner, I served it over a bed of lettuce from the garden, snap peas, and red pepper and made a quicky yogurt-dressing by mixing greek yogurt, cranberry-orange jam, dijon mustard, and fresh basil. I thinned it with a splash of almond milk. This was a great combo of flavors, if I may say so myself πŸ˜‰

The Ponies

My mom tried her hand at momography while I rode Teddie this morning. Teddie was a superstar once again. Mom was a superstar at momography. Which, as you may know, means a work in progress at photography. I’m just grateful to have someone with me though, so I won’t complain! It’s actually difficult to find someone to take good riding pictures because there’s a certain point in the stride that you need to press that button. Otherwise, it’s just not a pretty picture.

And that’s the “pretty point” in the trot. Although I’m mildlyΒ embarrassedΒ at how popped my collar is. He’s stepping up nicely, though. And honestly, I’m just glad he’s quieter with the bit at the trot, so I’m still not asking for much.

Showing off for my mom. He’s a ham.

This isn’t flattering for either party involved, but he has the cutest face, doe she not? Proud mom here, bear with me.

Practicing our centerline!

As for Maya and yet-to-be-named, they are the sweetest things ever. Especially Maya! Yet-to-be-named is sweet, but sometimes plays “hard to get,” in that she’ll walk away at first but after a minute or two of just letting her think it out she comes over and ends up loving the attention! We took them both out for a little walk down the road in-hand and they did very well, even when Mel and Jiggy charged the fence πŸ˜‰ My mom took Maya and I yet-to-be-named. We have our favorites I think πŸ˜‰ Yet-to-be-named reminds me of a female Teddie!

I’m off to find my cell phone, finish a massive load of laundry (when did I become so awful about putting off laundry?!) and if tonight is anything like last night, do a little bit of yoga, too πŸ™‚

So, I’ve blabbed long enough – what was the highlight of your weekend?!

23 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

23 responses to “Scattered

  1. Ugly muffins? Actually I’m going to say that they look really wonderful! And your cat is beyond gorgeous. I’m acat person, and she looks absolutely regal.

  2. I think your quinoa carrot loaf looks great, but I will say I always appreciate things in muffin form. I was considering making muffins today but I’m out of healthy ingredients! I basically only have white flour and powdered sugar. I’d rather not make that kind of muffin for myself to enjoy because at that point it’s just a cupcake.
    Way to take advantage of the fog! Those are great photos! Sooo many animals! I love it!
    Highlight of my weekend: world cup final and the best work out ever today!
    Happy Sunday!!!

  3. If I didn’t love my oatmeal as much as I do, I would definitely have made your waffles for breakfast by now. As it stands, I’ve saved the recipe and plan on making waffles for lunch/dinner one of these days πŸ™‚ There’s nothing I love more than having breakfast twice in one day.

    I’m all out of muffins as well 😦 I couldn’t even find one buried in the depths of the freezer like I usually do. I was thinking about making some today, but it was much, much too hot for the oven, and I never had much luck with the toaster oven in the past. I spent so much time hoping for warmer summer weather to come, and when it finally did, I’m complaining that it’s too hot to make muffins. Talk about never being satisfied πŸ˜‰ I’ll just live vicariously through your delicious looking carrot loaf…

  4. Ooooh Teddie looks like such a little stud muffin in the first picture! He looks like he’s got quite a nice trot on him πŸ™‚

    I think if you try a jar of tahini, I will probably have to go and buy myself a waffle maker. Haha! Don’t hold me to that though.. I need to save my money πŸ˜› Still, those look incredible.

    Do you make your mom breakfast too? Because if you were my daughter, I would have a pretty hard time simply watching you eat those every morning.

    ❀ Tat

  5. Those muffins are certainly not ugly at all, infact I think that they look very very delicious πŸ™‚ And you are the waffle queen, your toppings look divine!

  6. Monique@She's Going The Distance

    I always put off laundry πŸ™‚ it sucks the life out of you…. I need to do it before bed tonight haha.

    Also, those muffins sound great!

  7. Your bread sounds delicious! I LOVE dense gooey breads! I am also a huge fan of quinoa on top of salads! YUM! Do you cook your beans from scratch? I always do and I find pintos in my chickpeas all the time. Kinda weird, but specifically that mix! You look great on Teddie! My highlight was definitely baking with Max. We were in the kitchen all day together! Enjoy your night!

  8. Glad to see you had such a good weekend – can’t wait to hear the name of the new pony!!!! The carrot loaf does look quite delicious – as does the cold quinoa salad – definately have to try the greek yogurt dressing – what a great idea!!!
    have a great night – xo aimee

  9. Bread was the highlight of my weekend haha!! I love the pictures of that cat…such stunning eyes! Hope you had a good one :)!

  10. Michelle

    I have found a completely different bean in my canned beans too. Weird how that happens.

  11. Wow I’m definatly making that cold quoina salad for dinner tomorrow it looks divine! I love cherries! I’ve been begggging my mom for peaches but we haven’t seen them on sale! Your eats look great as always and I’ll have to try the muffins as well!

  12. SaBaay has gorgeous eyes! They’re like blue diamonds and just soooo mesmerizing. She really knows how to pose!

    That is the first time I’ve seen horses actually sitting down and lying down!

  13. Those look like yummy muffins!
    The highlight for me was going to dinner with my brother and parents.

  14. I love the carrot and quinoa bread. I just spent the afternoon remembering how delicious my wedding cake tasted (which was carrot), but I would love to be able to enjoy something like it without all the fat and sugar. Your posts are always so calming and inspiring…it has been a rough weekend, and this was a nice way to end it!

  15. I am soo glad you posted your muffin recipe because they sound and look amazing! Seriously, I almost drooled (possibly TMI? oh well.) I love that they use quinoa and coconut flour–so inventive! What else have you used coconut flour in? I just bought a bag and am super excited to use it. Speaking of which, I really need to make your waffles, too. Last time I tried, though, I failed. I think they were in the early stages, though, and pancakes have always been easier for me anyway. Well, regardless, they were delicious, like anything you make, so I really have to get on it.
    By the way, your animals are beautiful. I miss my doggies so much :(.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  16. LOVE THESE PHOTOS! no idea technically what the horse should be doing and how the form should be but to this gal, looks fabulous to me πŸ™‚

    but NOOO ur out of muffins!!! i dont ever want to think of days without muffins 😦 too sad lol

    xoxo

  17. I love the picture of the sleeping horses, so peaceful and calm – Jiggy is enjoying his shavasana there, huh :-)? …and your cat is just amazingly beautiful! So much beauty. And the glimpse of the stables in the background really reminds of what it’s like to be around a really nice horse stable. Mmmm, the smelll…good pictures! Thanks for another good post πŸ™‚

  18. The cat pictures are stunning – the cat anyway is stunning though! Is it a breed or a cross breed?
    Gah, getting that point in the stride is SO hard!! My mum coulkdn’t do it when she was with me the other day :p I havea whole new respect for equestrian photographers!
    Do you think the un-named new lady was abused, cos she’s not as keen to come over as the other one? It’d be so sad if she was 😦

  19. Experimenting with baking always results in so many duds! But it’s worth it when you finally make a good batch! I’ve never tried putting quinoa in muffins but it sounds like such a neat idea and a good way to get some extra protein in.

    Hahaha, I seriously loled at that picture of Jiggy! It looks like someone just pushed him over or something! πŸ˜›

  20. Yum to all of this…I love carrot muffins so I know I’d love the loaf/muffins with some quinoa and coconut flour…you are quite the creative one J! Oh, and you have such beautiful animals! I just can’t get enough of them! Sound like another tasty day!

  21. Ahhh SaBaay (what a cute name!) is stunning – what breed is she?? I am a bit of a cat fan hehe πŸ™‚
    And your loaf is certainly not ugly! Good choice on the carrot flavour which I also made for my Dad’s birthday in a cake form wooh!
    Glad you had a good weekend, I didn’t do much except bake and went round a shopping mall for a bit and treated myself since the sales were on and I couldn’t resist!
    xxx

  22. I love all the animal pictures!! They are so beautiful. πŸ™‚ Your quinoa carrot muffin loaf look delish, too.

    Jenn

  23. Omgosh, you’re way too nice. Thank you for your super nice comments! All that coming from someone who is such an inspiration! You really are. I don’t know how I could have become a vegetarian if I didn’t start reading your blog and all the amazing food you post. You make every meal so colorful & so much fun. I find myself trying new food combinations because I remember seeing it on your blog.

    Anyway, that sounds like a delicious recipe for carrot muffins! I tried your almond butter & jam muffin recipe and it was yum. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

