It’s Raining Ponies

Cousin It found its way into our backyard today:

That’s a lot of hair. But, before I introduce you to our two newest comrades, lets do a lowdown on today.

I loved overnight oats yesterday morning so much that I decided to make some for this morning, too. Waffles aren’t very time consuming at all – but when it’s this hot, every second in the kitchen counts, and I wanted to get to the barn before another sweltering day.

I used the same base as yesterday, except with more Peppy Kernels and regular chia seeds instead of Ruth’s. I love the goldenberries and the mulberries of the trail power mix, and let to sit in the mixture overnight makes it that much better.

I tried to make the toppings pretty, but it’s really hard to do when an entire plum and banana is involved, and that’s hardly half of it. Eventually, I just said to heck with it ๐Ÿ˜‰ On the top:

And yes, I did microwave the fruit and plum. I’m probably a raw foodist’s nightmare – I love microwaving my fruit if it’s going on oats or waffles of any sort!

My bad mom story of the day: I went out to work Teddie-kins before it was scorching – I figured he’d be fine with 20 minutes of walk/trot work. He was being sort of a punk – not naughty, but was more stubborn than usual. We would be going along fine and then he would just stop when we got to a certain point. So, he’d get the boot and off we’d go on our merry way until we got back to the same spot and, all of a sudden, stop. Boot, go, stop. ugh. By then I’d probably been riding him twenty minutes and we were both drenched, but, as with any young animal or horse – you don’t stop until you’re able to end on a good note. Finally, we walked a full circle and trotted a full circle past the “sticky” spot. I stopped to dismount (far away from the “sticky spot,” mind you) and that poor horse stretched out (as they do when they go to pee) and practically peed Lake Champlain. You have no. idea. how awful I felt. Although, he was still a gentleman – never offered to buck or kick out even though I’d have to boot him pretty good to get him to move. If I were him I’d have sent my derriere flying and said “yeah, I wanna see you run around this indoor with a full bladder.” Some horses just don’t like to pee undersaddle, and he’s probably one of them – or at least until he’s more comfortable undersaddle.

Bless his soul.

On a positive note, I cross-tied him today without any problems! And made sure he got a nice hose-down and plenty of grass after my “I’m a terrible mom” moment.

Now that I’ve taken five minutes talking to you about horse pee, lets talk about lunch. (Gosh, I’m weird. I’m surprised you guys stick around.) I guess this could also classify as breakfast #2. I’ll letย youย decide.

As you may remember, I’m out of bread until tomorrow. Did I mention that tomorrow, there’s a loaf of bread with my name on it? Yeah, special ordered that baby. I hope they make it with extra love.

Of course, considering the poor man makes each loaf individually with a tiny Kitchen-Aid mixer, he probably wishes I would move away already or something ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyways. Driving home I thought about eggs, and really wanted an egg sandwich. It’s hard to have an egg sandwich when there’s no bread. Enter: Down Home Buckwheat Waffle. Yes, please. ย And a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. With a banana for bread. Because that’s how I roll.

I made a ranch-esque spread consisting of greek yogurt, garlic salt, pepper, basil, and chives which adorned the waffle along with some roma tomato slices. And a yummy crispy-fried egg.

And iced coffee, since I was obviously fantasizing about that driving home, too.

This lunch was pretty spectacular, if I may say so myself.

I cooled off for a bit before warming myself back up with some yoga sculpt. I don’t do yoga very often – I’ve been doing about 30 consistent minutes every Tuesday and Thursday, maybe some Saturday and Sunday, and if I feel like it a couple minutes at night MWF. But honestly…I already feel such. a. difference. Love.

Anyways. The snackery that occurred: (minus the random handfuls of cherries and dried apricots)

Kashi Puffed grains, sunflower seed butter, dried apricot, greek yogurt, honey roasted cashews, Xagave.

Charlene at The Organic Whey notified me of this whey protein powder, and asked if I’d be interested in trying it. I heard a big truck pull into the driveway when I was dripping with sweat from mucking out the horses and lugging down water for the ponies soon to come, so I was pretty excited to seen this on my doorstep when I went back in.

Especially because I was hungry again but not sure what I wanted! Enter: protein brownie batter! My mix was

It was so. good. I tried this with Tera’s Whey bourbon vanilla the other night, but even though I love Tera’s Whey flavors – it turned out pretty gross! This, however – hit the spot. Probably because it’s not flavored or sweetened, which is going to be awesome to add into bars and muffins and such!

Comparisons, click to enlarge. And also note the serving sizes are slightly different, so take that into consideration.

Tera's Whey

The Organic Whey

I’ll have to keep an eye out for some recipes to put it to use in! For me, I actually like that it has less protein than most…I try to get in my protein with the food I eat, so powders/supplements aren’t really necessary, but I don’t think they’re necessarily bad for a diet, either.

I also made a tabouli-esque salad during the day for dinner tonight.

  • 1/4 c. (dry measure) bulgur wheat
  • 3/4s of a finely diced roma tomato
  • 2 fresh basil leaves
  • garlic salt
  • chives
  • balsamic vinegar

I served it over a bed of local lettuce, and intended to add chickpeas to it for some protein. I forgot about that idea halfway through…so, imagine this bowl half-eaten, but with a bunch of chickpeas and feta added ๐Ÿ˜‰

…and then, as we were finishing up dessert, it was pony central!

Remember the ponies I mentioned a couple of weeks ago? Iย wouldn’tย be surprised if you didn’t. It was a while ago! We were beginning to wonder when they were ever going to deliver them, or if they’d decided not to sell them to us. We’d called enough times and they had our number so finally we started thinking they’d sold them to someone else or had shipped them already.

But, they came tonight! They were soaked with sweat getting off the trailer because it was so hot. Poor guys. ย They’re not too skinny, but for Haffies could certainly use some pounds – and definitely some love! I mean…their tails are practically dreadlocked, and just look at this poor girl’s mane and forelock! Don’t think she can even see!

…but she’s got absolutely gorgeous, kind eyes hiding underneath there.

The mare with all the hair is actually the younger one – and is the daughter of the other mare, above. I’m thinking mama is probably crossed with some other pony breed possibly. She’s actually got a pretty cute trot on her, too. She is a little more stand-offish, but I think they’ll both warm up when they learn what affection is!

They haven’t been handled much, but lead and are friendly enough. We saw the mom dragged out of her paddock back in April when we were horse shopping. They just tacked her up and got on her, possibly for the first time ever, but at the very least the first time in years. She didn’t do anything bad but honestly didn’t know what to make of it.

They will be a project for us, that is for sure – but projects are fun ๐Ÿ™‚

25 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

25 responses to “It’s Raining Ponies

  1. Oh my gosh, all of your pictures are THE MOST beautiful I’ve EVER seen on a blog! Hope you don’t mind… you have a new follower! Your pony is so gorgeous too, wow. Love the overnight oats. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Lucie

  2. First off, that waffle with egg…holy crap does that look good! I swear you are the one person that I could eat with and feel like I am eating like a normal person! (you can keep the whey powder though…you wouldn’t want to be around me if I ate that!)

    Second, I was just talking to Tony about you and the ponies this morning. Those are some of the most beautiful animals I have ever seen. Wow, you guys are so good for taking care of them. What a great thing to do!

    Have a great night Jess!

  3. Hey, girlie!

    I’ve been lurking for a while now and decided it was finally time I said hello. Love your blog, love your eats, and love your pictures. You’ve got some mad skills in the kitchen and behind the camera, and your buckwheat waffles have been tempting me for so long now! I’m not quite sure I’m willing to give up my oatmeal breakfasts, but I’m thinking that waffles for lunch sounds like a great idea…

    Those ponies are absolutely adorable, and I just wanted to tell you that your Teddie is extremely handsome ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Dee

    Oh my goodness! All the food looks amazing!

    Am loving all the iced coffee love. Seriously. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ps. wow! look at all that hair! they’re both gorgeous though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. LOVE your lunch waffle!!!!! cool how its savory with the egg on it.

    also, the pictures of the ponies are making my heart ache…. SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

  6. yay for getting bread!!! Even though I’m slightly obsessed with your egg-wafflewich!

  7. I like that you still got your waffle in. Never would have thought to top them with eggs.

    Glad to hear what you thought of that whey powder. I tried one kind years ago, and it was way too rough on my stomach, so I’ve avoided all others ever since.

  8. I had been wondering about the ponies, I am so happy for you guys and them!!!

  9. mysweetseason

    I just gotta say, your pictures are amazing!

  10. your meals are always so wonderfully balanced and look so delicious!
    what gorgeous ponies!!

  11. The ponies are beautiful…I’m sure you will do great with them. And I loved your waffle sandwich…Ryan and I use to eat these with Eggo waffles, but I would love to make a healthier version.

  12. Rachel

    Your breakfasts always look DIVINE. I’ve been meaning to try out your recipes ever since I’ve found your blog (been lurking for a while now!)…maybe this weekend will be spent in the kitchen:)

    Teddie looks really sweet!

  13. Oh, the ponies are beautiful! It must be such a great experience – can’t wait to hear how things are going to go with them ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Nat

    Hi, I’ve been following your blog for a while (another lurker ๐Ÿ˜‰ )- found it through Freya (BritChickRuns).
    I remember you writing something about the ponies, but I thought that you then got Teddie and not those two! It must be heavenly to have your ponies nearby like that! I think it’s very noble that you tok them on! Am I right in thinking that you have like 6 horses/ponies between you and you mum?
    Love your blog…beautiful photography and I like your writing style!
    Your Teddie is gorgeous!!! I haven’t got a horse (one day…sigh), but one of my dogs is also called Teddy and is of a similar colouring to your Teddie…well, kinda ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Oops, this is already getting a bit long…just wanted to say ‘hi’ and let you know how much I am enjoying your blog! All the best, Nat

  15. Haha, that pee story was funny ๐Ÿ˜› Chika ALWAYS pees straight after I get off, even if she doesn’t actually need to go..it’s very odd.
    Breakfast photos = amazing ๐Ÿ™‚
    How exciting for the two new ones to arrive! What are your plans with them? School them up and then sell? They’re very beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Tes

    Love the ponies… they are so cute!

  17. aww they are beautiful too! And I hope you got over your bad mommy moment, it was short I’m sure! I finally bought bulgar…now tell me exactly what the heck to do with it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Aww, the new ponies are adorable! I actually kind of love the one’s super-long mane- it reminds me of a surfer dude. Whoa, brah. Your breakfast looks beautifully delicious!

  19. Ooooh! I am so excited for you! Those two new ponies are absolutely adorable. I know sometimes it can be a little unerving to not know the whole history behind a horse, or how it’s been treated… but the feeling of gaining their trust is so worth it! I hope you are able to spend some nice time to bond =D

    …. and I pretty much laughed out loud at the Teddie story. Try not to feel too horrible.. how were you supposed to know? He’s quite the little angel for being so tolerant though. Looks like you’ve got a gentleman on your hands!

    I don’t know if I am drooling more over the waffle or the dinner salad. You are amazing in the kitchen girl.. I want some!

    โค Tat

  20. Love the new ponies – i am so jealous!!!!!! The pictures are amazing.
    Overnight oats – perfect during this steamy weather we’ve been having.
    Thanks for posting the bulgar recipe – sounds delicious – ill have to give it a try. Hope u have a relaxing fun-filled weekend!!!! xoxo aimee

  21. What beautiful new ponies…you and your mother are so wonderful for taking care of these lovely animals. I wish I had the resources to take care of some! My boyf and I can’t even get a kitty these days because we are never home….boo!

    I think it is great that you like to warm up your fruit, even on overnight oats. Now you have me craving eggs and it has been sooo long…the tabbouleh salad looks great too…I am usually overwhelmed by the parsley in usual versions so this sounds like a great alternative.

    have a great fri lady!

  22. You always make overnight oats look so good! But I tried them the other morning and I wasn’t a fan at all. I must be doing something wrong. ๐Ÿ˜› I used almond milk + yogurt for mine. Do you use almond milk + chia seeds for yours?

    The new ponies are so cute. I love how you and your mom are always taking in new horses! ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. when i finish off my bread im going to buy some gluten-free waffles. they got some new ones out a week ago that ive been dying to try. i must put an egg ontop for sure!

    omg horse hair!! seriously needs some good beach braids in there lol โค

  24. HAHA I LOVE your pb&j banana! That’s so cute!

  25. again i’m gona say it. WHAT A BEAUTIFUL HORSE!!!! annnnnnnnd *end cooing*

    xx

Leave a Reply

