Triple H!

Day one of five of the northeast heat-wave was the three H’s: hot, hazy and humid!

but perfect weather for waffles! Dare I say it was actually a little chilly when I walked into the kitchen? Hence the hot coffee.

I am going to post my final, officialized waffle “recipe” now – so I don’t have to post it every single day and can link back, m’kay? We’ll call it the clean slate recipe – free for you to add anything you wish!

Dry:

  • 1/4 c. oats – old fashioned or quick work!
  • 1/2 c. puffed grain cereal – I’ve been using Kashi 7 Whole Grains Puffed Cereal, but think they’re even better with puffed millet.
  • 1 T. wheat bran
  • 1 T. (heaping) flour – I usually use WW, Spelt also works
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • optional: 1/2 – 1 T. oat bran/kamut flakes/more wheat bran/chia seeds
  • baking powder
  • opt: cinnamon or other spices, dried fruit (ideally – dates or figs!), nuts

Wet:

  • 1 flax egg (1 T. milled flax + 3 T. water, stirred and allowed to sit while you mix your dry ingreds together)
  • 1 T. applesauce
  • 1 1/2 T. greek yogurt
  • 1/4 c. almond milk
  • opt: extracts, chopped fresh fruit, sweetener

I haven’t been adding any sweetener lately – instead just add some maple or agave to the fruit mix and let everything get a little soggy for a few minutes before diving in πŸ˜€ Whoops – is that weird?

This morning’s toppings involved a whole peeled chopped peach, chopped dates, and half a sliced banana microwaved for a minute with a splash of maple syrup. I also spread each waffle with earth balance and ginger preserves, drizzled (well, as much as one can drizzle) with some white chocolate coconut peanut butter, and threw on some honey roasted peanuts.

Oh, waffles…you make my heart skip a beat.

Ooops – was that weird, too? Eh – what can I say?!

I wasted no time this morning – my mom and I were tacked up and hitting the trails by 7:45! Granted, it took some encouraging to get my mom to want to go (which was odd) but we had a nice time. I had to tell her she was no fun anymore, that got her up out of her chair πŸ˜‰ Funny how it used to be the opposite. Well, earlier this year, at least. I’m glad she kept encouraging me to ride again.

Anyways – I wanted to go so early so that we could get a nice trail ride in on her guys (they are getting quite large and need to see some hills!) and still beat the heat with Teddie. We arrived back right around 8:45, so after taking care of Jiggy and sandwiching some Teddie (hehe) between the rest of my banana from breakfast – I was on my merry way!

And my sister came out with me again! She is leaving tomorrow and wanted to tag along for one last peek at the cutie pants himself. I figured I might as well just deal with my too-big boots to get some presentable photos πŸ˜‰ And I rode him in my dressage saddle today, too! I figured since he’s been ridden western and I have a pretty light seat anyways, he would be okay with it. And he was. I forgot how much easier it is to ride dressage in a dressage saddle. I realize that is obvious, but it’s easy to forget when you’re riding in a close contact saddle all the time.

I was pretty relieved to see that I can ride in it with normal-length stirrups (for dressage) and not wrap my legs around his belly πŸ˜‰ I do still have an awful lean-forward habit though!

So handsome.

Anyways! That’s all for today, I have a bunch more for tomorrow πŸ™‚ He was great, though. It was the first time I didn’t bother to lunge him beforehand, and A actually showed up in the middle of our ride to unload grain, which involved backing right up to the aisles and of course all the grain-like sounds. Didn’t phase him one bit, though I will say I was expecting a little jump or two! He can be sort of a wimp.

I sorted through some of the pictures for a couple of minutes once we got home before breaking for lunch.

Part one was a mix of the rest of the dressing from yesterday’s salad with some partially-mashed chickpeas and red pepper. Spread onto some toasted bread with local pepper chevre and local buttercrisp. This was a fab combo.

I was full for the time being after that, but knew it wouldn’t be long before I wanted some fruit and something else. Until then, I made an iced coffee and dawdled around.

Did I mention today was hazy, hot, and humid? Yeah, I thought so. It was basically one of those days where just standing outdoors caused you to sweat.

Uh, no thanks . I am not one for heat, so I admit it – I spent all afternoon indoors, cool and hydrated.

My mom took my sister grocery shopping, and picked up some goodies (fruit and veg!) for us, too. When they got back a short while later, I dug into some cottage cheese, cherries, chopped plum, cinnamon, and agave alongside a portion of a banana quinoa bar. These bars are getting better every day, oddly enough.

And a short while after that, some more of the bar with some more cherries, puffins, kashi puffed grains, honey roasted peanuts, almond milk, and sunflower seed butter. This is one of my favorite snacks ever, I just usually have it “after hours.”

basil!

I was planning on a simple salad for dinner – throw together some lettuce, other veg, chickpeas, feta, and pasta sauce – but of course I started getting antsy as the afternoon wore on, which resulted in something a little more complex.

I started by making a cherry balsamic sauce by simmering chopped cherries in water, and then adding in some agave, balsamic vinegar,Β garlic salt, pepper, sage, and basil. I would have blended it but I didn’t feel like dirtying the blender and wasn’t sure how it would work! So, instead I just mashed the cherries a bit. Oh well!

What was this sauce used for? Well, to top the salad of course – but also for the bulgur-chickpea salad!

Bulgur-Chickpea Salad:

  • 1/4 c. bulgur wheat (dry measure)
  • 1/2 c. chickpeas
  • 1 t. pepper chevre
  • 2 T. greek yogurt
  • 2 basil leaves
  • cherry sauce
  • chopped snap peas
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Cook the bulgur, and when it’s cooled add in remaining ingredients. Stir, chill, and serve!

I probably used about 2 heaping tablespoons of the cherry sauce?

I started to add in more veggies like red pepper, too – but then stopped because I was planning on having it on top of a salad, anyways. It would be great as a sandwich filling too, though – and then red pepper would be ideal πŸ™‚

Wrapped up the night with some yoga, and that’s all she wrote!

(well, I guess my night’s not really wrapped up since it’s only 7:00 – butΒ youΒ know what I mean πŸ˜‰ )

p.s. – anybody have any experience with this processor? i am debating between that one, the magic bullet, or maybe this one?

39 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe

39 responses to “Triple H!

  1. Mo

    Nah, it’s not weird. But then again it depends on who you ask. πŸ˜‰

    I’m feeling you on the heat. It was like 97 degrees out all day and tomorrow and Wednesday it’s going to be in the 100s. I can’t wait. 😐 Thankfully I plan on doing a bunch of cleaning this week, so it’s a good excuse to stay indoors haha.

    Teddie’s looking quite adorable as usual. πŸ™‚

  2. Yes – can’t believe how hot it has been here as well – it is still 90 degrees and its 8pm!!!
    The bulgar – chickpea salad looks delicious – i will definately be trying this recipe very soon!!!!! Thanks for all the great ideas – you seriously should think about writing a cookbook and include not only your recipes but also your lovely pictures!!!!
    Love the update on how Teddie is doing!!!!!!
    Have a great Tuesday and thanks for the comment on my post!!!!
    xoxo aimee

  3. It was insanely hot and humid here as well. I can take the sunshine.. but the humidity gets to me. I’m glad you didn’t melt πŸ™‚

    That first picture of you and Teddie is precious. He really is a little stud, isn’t he? Glad to here that things went so well… I love it when you are expecting a huge production of a spook only to relize that they couldn’t care less. Hehe!

    ❀ Tat

  4. aw love the horse pictures! I’m definitely feeling the heat and do not have AC…its awful. STAY COOL!!

  5. Your pony is amazing! What a beautiful animal! I am so happy for you that you have the chance to enjoy him. You were so worried a little while back about not finding the right fit! So, you won the BSI…I need your info! Tony and I are totally ready to make that sauce! That was really hard to choose someone!!! Oh and I am on a savory waffle kick now! My kids actually ate them tonight before I could. I had to beat them away to get the next one on the iron! Enjoy your sister tonight!

  6. Isn’t it always perfect weather for waffles?! I actually associate them with winter, but obviously I love me some summer (and spring and fall) waffs as well! You and Teddie make SUCH a gorgeous pair. I love it!!

  7. I cannot wait to try your official waffle recipe! I don’t have wheat germ though – perhaps I can substitute oat bran. I have meaning to try bulgur – I thought I had it in the pantry but it was really barley. Your salad turned out great – I love the idea of adding a sweet cherry sauce.

  8. 1. I love the first photo!
    2. It was disgusting out today. I drove from Burlington back to Ithaca today and I was sweating pretty much the entire time. Ithaca is sticky and disgusting too.
    3. I’m going to advise against the magic bullet. While it is handy to have such a small individual size blender, it’s really hard (or rather just plain messy and complicated) to add extra of anything once the cup is closed and blending (although I hear they now make a mini blender to go on it). And quite honestly, I didn’t think it worked that well… That’s my two cents. Good luck with choosing!

  9. oo thanks for posting the waffle recipe! i love that shot of your basil plant too. a few weeks ago, i was harvesting basil at a local farm and ALL i could think about was basil-tomato pizza… hahaha, and there i was squatting in a row of dirt. and that’s all that was on my mind because of the smell of basil!

    youre so creative with dinner also!!! awesome eats! love how you incorporated the cherries =)

  10. WAFFLES again..you are killing me lady! I really need some in my life this week…but I totally forgot when at my parents tonight to grab the waffle iron…oops!

    I love photos of you and Teddie…makes my night…well now morning. The cherry dishes look delicious as well. Mashed chickpeas are also a favorite. Have a great night or now Tuesday!

  11. Oh I HAATE hot weather like that! When I was in Washington DC (in AUGUST!) it was stupid hot and humid; I had a riding lesson at like, 1pm one of those days…the sweat was dripping EVERYWHERE :p
    Loveeee the sound of that cherry sauce!
    And I totally agree – a dressage saddle makes such a big difference πŸ™‚ gorgeous photos too!

  12. Tes

    Waffle Waffle again! It always look yummy though. Your meals always look so balance and nutritious πŸ™‚

  13. I hate this heat wave! It’s even too hot to lay out by the pool and read. Every 5 seconds I had to jump in. I’m with you on staying indoors!

    I’m sad your waffles have so many ingredients I don’t have. I need to go shopping!

  14. Thanks for the waffle recipe! I’ll make sure to try it, I hope this one won’t be a disaster like the last ones I made πŸ˜€
    The pictures with that beautiful horse are amazing, I would so like to learn how to ride!

  15. Aww, thanks for sharing your waffle recipe!! I just discovered your blog and was looking for the recipe right away, B/C theyΒ΄re just the best looking waffles in the whole blogosphere I think πŸ˜‰

    Have a great day!
    xoxo Mel

  16. I absolutely love the pictures of you and Teddy. He is one handsome guy!

    Stay cool! The heat wave can’t last too, too long *crossing fingers.*

  17. Hey Jess! I am planning on staying inside all day today in this hazy hot and humid heat besides going out for a bit. I need to get a waffle maker so I can try your waffles! I had a hamilton beach 6 cup food processor, I got it for like thirty bucks. It just broke on me yesterday and I got it in Jan-feb, but I do use it almost everyday. I would say not to get the mini one because the amount you cook and bake, it just won’t be big enough for what you need it to do. I’m going to invest in a kitchenaid 7 cup I think sometime this week. The hamilton beach was great to start with to see how much you use it. Sorry that was an entire ramble.

  18. Oh my gosh, it has been unbearably hot and sticky here too! My family actually had to turn on the AC, which we never do.

    Thanks for the waffle recipe! πŸ˜€ I know I’ve been saying this for months, but I’m actually going to try it out now that I have all the ingredients!

  19. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    your blog is so impressive! every recipe sounds amazing & every picture is so beautiful. Your breakfast sounds like such a great combo of flavors. Pretty pictures with the horse too!

    xoxox

  20. everytime I come to your blog and you post your waffles they just blow me away. Seriously, they look so much better than some gourmet restaurants! love the addition of honey roasted peanuts girlie πŸ™‚

  21. Jen

    It’s hotter than a goat’s ass in a pepper patch outside! My kids don’t even want to go out…works for me!

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

  22. Dee

    I really dislike hazy, hot and humid. 😦

  23. Pingback: Scattered «

  24. Oh man! Every pancake recipe that I have tried to come up with on my own has been a disaster. I LOVE pancakes though, so I def. bookmarking this recipe πŸ™‚

    -Court

  25. Pingback: Eggplant Strata «

  26. Pingback: A Weighty Issue «

  27. Pingback: that certain something… «

  28. Pingback: Happy Carrot Day! «

  29. Pingback: Millet and Black Bean Gratin «

  30. Pingback: You got waffles? « Rebeltarian

  31. Pingback: Imyam Balwho? Or…Stuffed Eggplant. | Healthy Exposures

  32. Pingback: Sailing Away « Healthy Exposures

  33. Pingback: Fun Facts « Healthy Exposures

  34. Pingback: Project Food Blog: Challenge 1 « Healthy Exposures

  35. Pingback: Fast Food and Stuffed Peppers « Healthy Exposures

  36. Pingback: Sweet Potato Muffins « Healthy Exposures

  37. Pingback: For The Love Of FOOD « Little Miss Healthify

  38. I wish we were experiencing hot and humid. It’s so snowy here, I’m wicked jealous.

  39. Pingback: Cornbread Stuffed Squash | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

