Good Ideas, Bad Ideas

breaking news: i slept in today. as in, past 7:00. 7:30, to be exact. i think the heat’s really been doing me in. well, that and i stayed up pretty late researching a bunch of random tidbits, but that’s besides the point.

i was a little glad i was able to sleep past 6:30 since i had stayed up so late. sometimes i can’t. secretly, i was really proud of myself.

so of course by then it was pretty warm out which required an iced coffee. i’ve been digging the green mountain brew over ice k-cups even though i was a bit apprehensive at first. the trick is to just use a lot of ice – it doesn’t water it down but you’ve still got cold coffee right off the bat. good idea.

interesting tid-bit? while i don’t add a lot of almond milk to hot coffee, and never any sweetener – i like my iced coffees with a lot of almond milk and maple syrup to sweeten. actually, i prefer them with cream, but since i have iced coffee more often at work i just leave the cream there.

now that you’re aware of that random business that you probably weren’t too interested in, i think you should be interested in these yummy strawbeezy waffles.

i died.

my mom sliced up berries for shortcake like, a week ago – but i’d just kept slicing them up individually because i assumed she”d added a bunch of sugar to sweeten it, and they’d be too sweet for me. she informed me the other night that she actually used only a packet of truvia, and i’ve been eating them since. whether this was just because she was sick of strawberries and wanted someone to eat them i am unsure, but they were just sweet enough – and of course had a lot of juice! i used 1/4 cup of it in these waffles. good idea.

the last of them topped the waffles.

  • 1/4 c. rolled oats
  • 1/2 c. kashi 7 grain puffed cereal
  • 1 tablespoon wheat bran
  • 1 tablespoon ww flour
  • 1 tablespoon wheat germ
  • baking powder
  • cinnamon
  • chia seeds
  • 1.5 tablespoons greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon applesauce
  • splash vanilla extract
  • 1/4 c. strawberry juice
  • splash almond milk
  • 1 flax egg [1 tablespoon flax + 3 tablespoons water]

i topped each waffle with some earth balance and ginger preserves, and then some teddie peanut butter, honey roasted cashews, and strawbeezies.

this may have been the only meal of the whole day where there was absolutely no bad ideas. what do i mean?

this was lunch. minus the banana.

since i finished breakfast so late, i just wanted to get out and on my way to the barn. my mom couldn’t go out with me today and gertrude had an appointment at the car doctor at 1:00, so i wanted to work teddie before that. since i still had to clean out the horses before i left and fill their water tub and it was already 9:30, i just grabbed this clif bar and a banana. bad idea.

click to read.

this was actually my first clif bar – i’ve got a couple but don’t find them necessary for a normal work-day for me, so something inspired me to grab one to tide me over between the barn and the mechanic’s. i wasn’t too worried – i could eat when i got home if it was necessary. i was only getting a vehicle inspection, nothing major. in and out.

well, it held me over just fine – all afternoon, really – but it’s far from what i would consider a balanced lunch. not a good idea, but i also know there could be far worse! that and, you all know how i feel about bars with this much sugar and soy. aside from that, it was good. sweet – but good. tasted like eating cookie dough, actually!

of course, my body rebelled against the veggie-free lunch, so i roasted some broccoli when i got home, and had some apple bbq sauce for dippage. good idea.

not only that, but my mouth was basically watering as i kept imagining another iced coffee. another good idea. hey, guess my snack wasn’t such a bad idea 😉 of course, a copious amount of strawberries also took place throughout the course of the afternoon.

after a bit of random blog-surfing, i thought it would be a good idea to take jiggy for a short hack down the road. uh, yeah – bad idea. we didn’t get but a couple of yards before being absolutely swarmed by massive horseflies. eck. i dismounted at one point to help swat them away due to the fact that he has a typical appaloosa tail and can’t reach them himself.

getting back on was comical considering the fact that he may as well be a sky-scraper all the way up there. okay – minor exaggeration, as he is still pretty short at 15.2hh, considering horses today. but, given that i’ve been riding 14 hh teddie-kins, i may as well have been on a giraffe, as far as i’m concerned. (a hand is 4″ for all scratching their heads.) even funnier is that burly is even taller, though still “small” at 16.2.

burly! fuzzy winter burly. old picture. this is now the indoor.

anyways. i turned around after just a couple minutes, brushed him out, and took care of them before coming in to make dinner.

dinner started out as a really good idea. see, i was thinking about the bsi: raspberries that sarena is hosting, but pushed it aside since i haven’t gotten raspberries yet.

well, the thought kept coming back, so i rolled with it and instead just made it with strawberries. so, you’ve seen it before – but i made a maple-fig-strawberry dressing. good idea!

the bad idea? canned corn.

i dunno – it just looks so innocent sitting there, all by its lonesome, no other canned veggies to keep him company.

the reason why is pretty obvious – i really hate canned veggies. i have no idea what inspired me to get canned corn instead of frozen. probably because it was only 59 cents or something, and that made me forget all about how awful canned corn is.

newsflash: canned corn is awful. it’s just so overpowering! so while i’m sure the combo of corn, black beans, red pepper, and broccoli in the aforementioned dressing could have been a good idea – with the use of canned corn rather than good corn, it was a bad idea. well, i take it back. canned corn is the bad idea, nothing else.

that being said – i ate about half of this and went back for the other slice of bread.

and dessert, d’uh!

pb branana muffin, coconut gelato, sliced strawberries, teddie, coconut

i guess i just subconsciously wanted plenty of room for dessert. the teddie was a bad idea (i just am not a fan of strawberries and pb, i suppose) but overall – i consider this a fantastic idea.

______________________

and of course, playing with teddie is always a good idea! he was very good today, though to be honest – he didn’t have much chance to be bad :\ i didn’t ride him very long as i saw someone going to catch their horse, presumably to bring in – so i got off while he was doing good. he isn’t very comfortable working with another horse at the same time yet, and while i have complete intentions to get him adjusted to doing so, i didn’t think we’re ready to do so while i’m riding him. he’s strong enough in-hand, and with how little he knows undersaddle, i could only imagine what he’d do! sure, he could be better – but as soon as i’ve got 100% of his attention working in-hand with another horse is when i’ll ride him with another.

of course, the person didn’t bring the horse in (almost wished they did so he could have the experience) but by then i had dismounted and put his halter back on. we at least got a good sequence of turning and figures, whoas, and walks – oh well.

___________________________

so – what were some of your good ideas and bad ideas of the day?? hey – with the bad come the good, you know 😉

29 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

29 responses to “Good Ideas, Bad Ideas

  1. Sounds like you actually had more good ideas than bad ideas to me! 😛

    Although I agree that a clif bar isn’t the perfect lunch… maple nut is one of the best flavours in my opinion 🙂

    My good idea of the day? Making savory oats for dinner again even though I had them yesterday. Insanely delicious.

    ❤ Tat

  2. Ha ha… I’m jealous you slept in until 7:30! It’s been too long since I’ve been able to do that.

    I have been looking everywhere for that flavor of Clif bars! It’s been hiding from me- but one day I will find it!!! I do know what you mean about how they do have more sugar than others, but I’m usually ok with it because I eat them on days knowing that I won’t be having too many sweets (and that’s sort of my nutrition and treat all in one).

  3. Your waffles always make me crave waffles! I know what you mean about canned veggies now! I am just so spoiled with fresh or frozen. I think you can taste the can in canned veggies! So, I made a flat bread today with some bulgur…thanks to you! I really like it. Kind of a cross between a cracker and a flat bread. At lunch, I made a pizza with hummus, zucchini and mushrooms on it…so good. I just had one now that I baked off plane with some strawberries. I am loving the bulgur! Thanks for making me buy it! have a great night tonight!

  4. maple fig strawberry dressing?! oh my goodness. and i loove those maple nut clifs! i only eat them before a big workout though because i feel like they aren’t necessarily “balanced” as you mentioned. copying down your waffle recipeee! =D

  5. It’s all about living and learning I cant even tell you how many good idea/bad idea days I’ve had.

    Bad Ideas: Not having breakfast, not having a balanced lunch (I end up starving and eat lots of random food later in the day that dont always settle well).

    Good ideas: Having ’emergency’ foods on hand. Adding nut butter to anything and everything!

  6. I LOVE the flavor of the maple nut Clif bar, but it is definitely a snack not a meal. Live and learn!

  7. Dee

    Dear god woman. Your pictures are out of control! I want to jump into each one and take a bite! 😉

    Oh… is that weird? LOL!

    Maple-Fig-Strawberry dressing sounds dee-lish!

  8. Tes

    I love the way you always top the waffles so healthy and beautifully.
    It seems like you have a lot of good idea for a healthy meal.
    Good idea: Eating more fresh veg & fruits as snack
    Bad idea: Deep fried stuffs 😦

  9. Well i guess every day is filled with both good and bad ideas – we learn from each of them!!!! Sounds like you overall had a great day though!!!! Your waffles look wonderful – thanks for posting the recipe!!!
    I agree canned corn is definateyly not my cup of tea – nothing beats fresh corn on the cob!!!!
    Glad to hear Teddie is doing well – have a great Wednesday!!!! xoxo aimee

  10. Jen

    HA! As soon as I read the title of this post I instantly though way back to Animaniacs, if ya ever watched that show, and they had a little segment called “Good Idea. Bad Idea.” My favorite one was Good Idea: Playing catch with your dog (guy throws ball to dog) Bad Idea: Playing catch with your dog (guy throws dog like ball to friend) Ha. I thought it was important to share that.

  11. Wooo! Sounds like you got an awesome beauty sleep! 😉

    All those strawberries in your meals today definitely sound like a good idea!

    Bad idea of the day: trying to carry too many things at once causing me to drop and break one of my favourite mugs.

    Good idea: buying and eating french vanilla frozen yogurt!

  12. Maple nut cliff bars are great snacks!!! Love em

  13. I can’t have a meal without veggies either! It just seems like something’s “missing” when veggies are not in the picture (except for breakfast). My tummy can tell too!

  14. Michelle

    I’ve never heard of strawberry juice before. sounds deeelish!

  15. busy day! I love the waffle…looks really good.
    my day is always filled with good and bad ideas….good idea highlight: going for a 10km run after class even though I didn’t hit the pavement until after 10pm….it was so needed.

  16. Very cute post. You know how to make me smile. I am right there with you on the iced coffee. During the colder months, I like my coffee hot and black. But for some reason, if my coffee is iced, I want milk.
    Good idea: lots of steamed vegetables to help fight off my cold
    Bad idea: a long walk when I should have been at home resting!

  17. I like this post! Good theme 🙂
    I was wondering how tall you are, if Teddie is 14hh? I can’t imagine riding something that small..Chika is 16hh and I only just fit her 😛 comes with being 5ft9 I suppose! She has a crappy appaloosa tail too, and a crappy mane. But in the 5+ years I’ve had her, I’ve only had to pull her mane three times 😛
    Hmm..good ideas yesterda? The evening walk with my mum – she really needed to talk 🙂
    Bad ideas – forgetting to buy enough apples at the store (ok, hardly a bad idea :P)
    Have a lovely day!

  18. Good idea was cooking for my mom’s dinner party last night, bad idea was staying up so late I don’t feel like doing ANYTHING this morning!! I hate hate hate canned corn too! Buy some in the husks and throw them in the oven. so good!

  19. I would secretly be proud of myself if I slept until 7:30 too – but it actually wouldn’t be secret. I would let everyone know how proud I was of myself! The latest I’ve slept this summer is one morning that I slept until 8. Woah! I think my family thought I had died because I am always up at 6 or 6:30!

    I love your horse – I used to ride when I was younger and loved it. I think horses may be one of the most beautiful animals ever – very smart too.

    Good Idea (yesterday): riding my bike to do all of my errands!

    Bad Idea (yesterday): picking a fight with FH when he was already really tired. ugh.

  20. It’s always a bad idea for me to have coffee in the afternoon – I get jittery!

    It’s also a bad idea for me to keep looking at this house for sale online. I’m falling in love!

  21. Canned corn is usually a bad idea but frozen corn is a great one! And Trader Joe’s has frozen organic corn, an even better idea. But the dish still looks fantastic! As does the rest of your meals!

  22. I totally agree with you about Clif bars – they really are like giant cookies. They are soooo dense and sweet!

  23. Yeah okay so Clif aren’t the BEST lunch option out there but the Maple Nut is mighty fine in a pinch. Kinda love it!
    + iced coffee, copious amounts of strawberries and ANYTHING with BBQ sauce are always voted as best options in my book.
    BUT I agree with canned corn being a no no. Bleeech.

    My only good idea of the day so far has been to make pb&j bars which are currently baking in the oven. I can smell them right now. Mmm.

  24. Your photos make me drool!!!! Gots to have me some strawbeezie waffles 🙂

    ~Alyssa

  25. Monique@She's Going The Distance

    That waffled looked amazing!!!!

    I think we have similar coffee point of views! I don’t need a lot of things added to a hot coffee, but when it’s iced, the flavor seems much stronger to me. I add way more sweetners, etc. to iced coffees so I don’t really drink them all that often.

  26. Congrats on sleeping in! Waking up feeling refreshed is the best feeling.

    I love that you added strawberry juice to your waffles! Such a culinary trickster. I made some date-oat bars with balsamic the other day and thought of all your epic bar creations from a few weeks ago!

  27. Ummm coconut gelato? Where has that been all my life.. I like that Clif bar but it’s not my favorite, it is super sweet. But they do hold you over well. The white chocolate macadamia nut is probably my absolute favorite.
    And your waffles?! YUM!!!!! I’d really like to try that! Maybe I’ll give them another go…
    Love you girl!

Leave a Reply

