All She Wrote

am i the only one who is a little relieved when they’re woken up by rain pounding on the air conditioner on a monday morning?

i mean – i’m not saying i love dreary days – not at all. in fact, on the contrary – it is so much harder to go into work when you just know it’s going to be a beautiful day. so while the typical monday morning attitude would be along the lines of “i dun’ wanna work…” today’s was “well, at least i have work today – what else would i do?”

strawberry millet-oat overnight oats

although – rainy days are good for sleeping in, but that obviously didn’t happen today. much. not working teddie in the mornings allows me a little bit of a more leisurely schedule – but i still go to visit him, which makes overnight oats essential.

topped with trail mix, galaxy granola, sliced strawberries, ginger preserves, and maple syrup

it’s a teddie heart! hehe – get it? am i corny or what?!

the strawberries i picked yesterday are already starting to turn uber ripe, uber fast. i’d be lying if i said i was completely okay with strawberry season being done. in fact, i think it’s really unfair that it’s done so soon. come back, beautiful red strawbs – come back!

unfortunately for us strawberry lovers – mother nature isn’t hearing any of it.

fortunately for us blueberry lovers – they’re on their way, too.

what else went down today?

well, extreme humidity, being heard talking about shooting kids, and some fine foods:

[talking about shooting with a camera, folks, relax.]

banana phone?

Snyders pretzels. nectarine.

hummus, tomato paste, roasted reds, roasted balsamic eggplant, romaine, seitan.

half of this.

and i went with convenience when it came to dinner.

well, that and i still had a black bean cutlet left.

don’t think it was neglected because they’re bad. no, no kids – that is not the case at all. in fact, i am very much so tempted to make more tomorrow.

kale, red pepper, and black bean cutlet sauteed in apple BBQ sauce

and that’s all she wrote!

22 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

22 responses to “All She Wrote

  1. Black bean cutlet sounds perrrfect!

  2. I know, so sad about strawberries, but so happy about blueberries! Food is so much fun!

  3. I too am sad about the end of the strawberry season but i love blueberries just as much – and blackberries too!!!! Yes i think its much easier going to work on rainy days – i love being outside and hate being inside an air-conditioned office !!! Now hat you mention it i wish my jobs involved being outdoors!!! /hope the weather improves for tomorrow – xo aim

  4. Your Teddie heart made me smile!! =D
    And when I have to work I am relieved for rain too. Same thing with studying! Then at least I don’t feel like I’m missing out on gorgeous weather and sun. I was a little alarmed at the “shooting kids” thing but at least you clarified! =P

  5. I would love a rainy morning especially with all of this insane heat we have been having!! I hope we get some rain one day this week. I think you should do a giveaway with those amazing looking granola bars. 😉

  6. My thoughts exactly about the rain today. I was happy because rain means down time (funny how much weather impacts food choices/things I do in life….bizarre). Love the teddy heart haha! Hope you had a good one!

  7. Ugh the weather was DISGUSTING today! I literally felt like I was walking through a sauna about 70% of the day!
    Your teddie heart is cute 🙂

  8. I welcome rain at the beginning of the week for the same reason- it makes me feel a little better about being inside. Unless I’m planning a run, of course- then I just get annoyed… 😦

  9. I think it’s INCREDIBLY unfair that strawberry season is over! Now, I love me some peaches but strawberries have my heart!
    Love you girl!

  10. I’m not a big fan of rain in general…I’m more of a sunny California girl. Rainy days are nice when you don’t have to go to school or work, and can cook up some nice steamin’ oats! 😀 Of course, unless it’s HUMID rain…which I hate even more…ugh.

  11. Michelle

    awwww your Teddie heart is SO cute 🙂

  12. Your sandwich has amazing ingredients, I bet it was awesome!
    Thank god, here finally sun came back, no rain for us 🙂

  13. Since I live in sunny Colorado, I love waking up to the rain. It rarely happens, and so when it does, we treat it as a special occasion. On the weekends, we sleep in (of course) but during the week, I’ll make us a nice, warm breakfast and a big pot of tea. I hope you have a lovely day tomorrow!

  14. Haha when I first read ‘shooting kids’ I though gosh, the end of strawberry season must have really gotten to you!!
    Love the heart on your breakfast 😛 very beautiful! And I love waking up to rain (as I did today :D) – it’s so refreshing in the summer!
    Have a loveeely day 🙂

  15. Jen

    Love the heart on the oats, cute! I’m so sad strawberry season is ending 😦 I look forward to it all year and hate that it’s going to be ending soon.

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

  16. I’m not a fan of rain lately because we’ve been getting way too much of it! I hate being cooped up indoors so much. 😛

    I can’t wait for blueberry season so that I can go blueberry picking!

  17. Tes

    I love the first picture. What a perfect picture to see in the morning. The hummus, tomato paste, roasted reds, roasted balsamic eggplant, romaine, seitan look ike something I’m craving 🙂

  18. I love rainy mornings sometimes. So relaxing and refreshing. 😀

    Oh, and strawberry season? Yes, I agree. Way too short. But at least we have blueberries to look forward to. 😉

  19. theres so much deliciousness bursting in ur oats bowl its so captivating to me!! ❤

    and i love how uve put the recipes at the top of the page like that, very convenient!!

  20. Sometimes I do like the rain. It doesn’t make me feel bad about sitting inside all day and watching movies!

  21. I absolutely LOVE rainy days!! But I can’t deny the fact that I love the sunshine as well 🙂

  22. oh and the guar gum could definitely be omitted. i only added it to help sort of glue it together and make it have a “puffier look” 🙂

Leave a Reply

