Salads in the Summertime

It’s only been two weeks, but I think I’m in love.

Have you ever had a picture taken of yourself/something/someone you love, and everytime you look at it, you just get all giddy inside?

That's how I feel about this picture, and this horse.

I just love the glimmer in his eye, even if I do look like I’m half expecting him to bolt, and half overly excited.

Another funny fact is that that’s actually the compilation of two photos. My mom shot two – and of course one was with me looking like an alien from another planet, and Ted looking quite handsome, as shown here – and one where I looked like a normal, civil human being, and Mr. Pony was gnawing on his bit.

I put my skills to work and in the matter of minutes, a star was born.Β Work didn’t hire me just for my pretty face, you know. (That’s a joke – I’m not that vein, but it’s a pretty good saying, no?)

Though the more I look at it, the more I think my head is a bit small – and to make a long story short, I guess it’s just funny that I adore this photograph so much when it’s sort of a phoney.

mememe!! pick me!

Before I went on that long tangent, I was thinking about how much I adore this pony. He’s hardly my first, and not even the first I’ve trained.

But for whatever reason, I seem to have come to admire him quicker than any. Maybe because I feel the whole situation was truly meant to be. I never really divulged the story of how we “found” him, but to make a long story just a little bit shorter – my mom just so happened to be eavesdropping during one of the auctions we went to, and before you know it – we discovered Teddie.

His old momΒ nonchalantlyΒ mentioned something about “feedlot” and “Haflinger” to another person, and my mother – the normally quiet, shy person like myself – asked her about her experiences rescuing a horse from the feedlot.

We didn’t know she was trying to rehome him, my mom simply wanted to know her experiences. My mom has rescued horses before, but never from a feedlot situation.

Blue is an elder - and Teddie hardly respects him πŸ˜‰

Before we know it, we’re headed back to her truck to see some photos of the handsome devil as she casually mentioned she may be trying to rehome him.

And soon after that, we’re exchanging e-mails…and you know how the rest of the story goes.

She hadn’t even advertised him yet.

And she almost didn’t even go to the auction that day.

Kinda like fate, if you ask me.

Lets hope we still love each other for many more moons, hmm?

But, anyways! Sorry for getting all lovey-dovey story-time on you guys…you want to see food, don’t you?! [insert awful Teddie-almost-was joke here. oh, I’m such a bad mom. It’s really not something to joke about.]

A little better?

You didn’t think strawberries were going to end after yesterday, did you? Trust me – you’ll be seeing them very frequently!

I woke up bright and early feeling even more rejuvenated than usual – lately I’ve been taking advantage of sleeping in a half hour extra or so, but I guess I didn’t need it today. I’ll credit it to a mini yoga sesh before bed. I needed to sttrrreeeeeetcchh!

I got busy in the kitchen after some quick bloggie-reading, and made my usual millet oatmeal waffles,and added in some strawberry juice from some nuked berries. Figs also joined the party, as well as cashews and some agave…but I guess I just wasn’t feelin’ the nut butter today. To me, strawberries don’t scream peanut butter as much as some other fruits do!

And who would I be without my coffee?

I knew it was supposed to get hot today, so I wasted no time this morning. I tacked up Mel with my new saddle for a quick ride, just so I could use it a bit before riding in it on Teddie. I didn’t actually end up riding him today, just lunged a bit at the “scary” end of the indoor. He was fine and I thought he’d need a little day off, so I left it at that. That and, I was all alone again.

The saddle seems to fit him well, but I’m hoping to have a fitter out soon, as I think some of the flocking can be taken out for an even better fit. Only the best for my boy!

I cleaned the office while I was out, and came home to a nice cool house, where I leisurely prepared lunch.

Part One

Plain greek yog + strawberries + galaxy vanilla granola + mixed nuts + cinnamon + irish cream agave…

Part Two

Panini with spinach + goat cheese + balsamic and basil marinated strawberries + seitan.

Enjoyed with a beggar

Bashful beggar...

And a blue sky.

Does it get any better?

yum.

Afterwards, my mom came home from Tractor Supply with some fencing supplies, and we got to work strength training.

Err, or maybe putting in a new fence for the ponies soon to come. We only have large areas fenced in for Jiggy and Mel, and wanted a smaller enclosure for when these guys get here. They will not be going out with Jigs and Mel.

We chose to pound in T-posts with a hammer. (well, not a normal hammer, but still – a hammer.)

I’m not sure if T-posts are used for stuff other than horse/animal fencing so I’m not sure if any of you are familiar with the business that is pounding in fence posts – in which case, consider yourselves lucky.I tried convincing my mom to get a T-post pounder because even though they weigh 20 pounds, you can pound the post in in 5 tries. It took us about 5-10 minutes per post with the hammer we had, and it was still a big hammer. By the time we were halfway done, it seemed as if the hammer was fifty pounds and there was a magnet in the ground that refused to allow me to lift it.

I’ve learned that the only days it’s sunny and hot in Vermont are the days you’re planning on doing some fencing. After a couple hours of that, food and hydration was necessary.

Ridiculous. In a good way.

This started out innocent enough – just a giant yog mess, pretty much the same as the one with lunch.

Just bigger.

And then I remembered some things…

Things like Purely Decadent’s coconut milk ice cream I’ve had chillin’ out (literally) in my freezer (it’s a bit chocolatey for me – though mixed with the greek yog it was perfect!) and thus, the final product ended up as such: greek yog + strawberries + chocolate Purely Decadent coconut milk ice cream + coconut + half a Super Charge Me cookie + Annie’s Bunny Grahams + honey.

Holy guacamole.

Enjoyed while browsing through a Smart Pak Equine catalog, where I pondered how Teddie would feel if I made our “colors” black and pink.

Might not fly.

thermometer in feline form.

Mouse is good for determining the weather. When he’s zonked out on the carpet underneath the dining room table, you know it’s hot out. Likewise, when he’s hiding in my room, there’s a storm coming. And when he’s just laying on my bed, chances are it’s going to rain all day.

I disrupted the sleeping panther.

It was nice to be able to come inside to a nice cool, comfy bedroom after all that pacing, pounding, and blister forming (and popping – eww!)

And it wasn’t long until dinner rolled around, where I had yet another salad, again with sweet potatoes and strawberries.

I love sweet potatoes in salad.

is this worthy of the kitchen sink title, rebekah?!

Spinach + romaine + sliced strawberries + roasted sweet poato chunks + roasted broc + diced butter bean cutlet + corn from a cob + salt & pepper – and a dressing of maple dijon + balsamic vinegar + poppyseeds + salt and peppah.

I love salads in the summertiiiiime.

And after-din bike rides. (it cooled down – or rather, a breeze picked up)

and “strawberry shortcake” with peanut butter banana bran muffins serving as the biscuit.

(I know, I know – it’s not summer yet. Don’t burst my bubble)

What’s your favorite summertime meal?

21 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

21 responses to “Salads in the Summertime

  1. Umm I think I’M in love and I’ve never even met Teddie!!!
    I also completely adore sweet potatoes in salads (especially roasted taters) and post-dinner bike rides. And your coconut milk ice cream creation looks amaaazing πŸ™‚

  2. Michelle

    Teddie is one of the most beautiful horses I have ever seen! It definitely seems like fate to me πŸ™‚

  3. Love the waffles! teddie is gorgeoussss. ALso I tried your wafflemaker cleaning method worked, also my last batch or oats came out no problem…wooo. I also LOVE butter beans<3 made some veggie burgers with them chickpeas and white beans(?).. yumm. In the summer I love salads, more than I usually do [which is quite alot] Or something quick like homemade veggie burgers. I also found my new love today, GARLIC SCAPES. Hopefully I will be able to get more volunteering at the farm near me :D. Also bike rides = ❀ I went on 2 today, My area is so damn hilly, quite a workout ;P

  4. Oh yeah I wanted to give you an idea since you are trying to reduce your maple syrup consumption mix half maple syrup with half agave nectar and you still get the strong maple flavor!

  5. Great story on how you and Teddie found each other – he truly is a beautiful animal!!!!
    What great pictures of both of you!!! Your yogurt messes look delicious – i love galaxy granola and fresh strawberries in my greek yogurt. Favorite summer recipe?? That’s a tough one – summer veggies and fruits are my all time favorite – i too enjoy salads especially with roasted veggies and hummus and any kind of bean!!
    Hope you have a great rest of the weekend – xoxo aim

  6. teenagehealthfreak

    I feel the same about peanut butter and strawberries…and during the summer I love fresh salads and grilled squash! Teddie is beautiful, I love his color!!!..Too cute. πŸ™‚

  7. I am in love with Teddie, so I don’t know how you couldn’t be! My favorite pictures usually become my facebook profile picture, that is how I know I really like them haha.

  8. i love anything on the grill! especially hot dogs w/ grilled buns. i looove corn on the cob too.

  9. You’ve convinced me to make some more waffles tomorrow lady! I hope the edges turn out a little better with my deep waffle iron…hmm..

    Ok, Teddie has captivated my heart by your words and photos. He seems so wonderful and perfect for you (fate might have a hand in there too!).

    Sweet potato in salads is a definite favorite…I learned this from Whole Foods salad bars in college!

    Summer is soon approaching and my favorite summer meals include corn and black bean salads, grilled veggies in general, and more I can’t think of on this late saturday evening (or sunday morning)…

  10. Aaawww, that’s such a great story about you and Teddy! And I don’t think I mentioned, thanks for clearing up the “bowing” issue for me πŸ™‚

  11. Haha I love that first sentence(ish) – I really wouldn’t want to meet the person that gets giddy looking at a photo of themeselves!! I know what you mean though – I’ve been known to just gaze adoringly at Chika/Chika photos; you can kill so much time doing it πŸ˜›
    Ditto on the blisters too – I got a nasty one yesterday too πŸ˜₯
    Beautiful sounding food as always, and I have to sya, your dog is SO stunning!! She’s probably like, my dream dog!!

  12. Currently there are no animals in my house, so I’m living vicariously through your blog. πŸ˜‰ The pics are gorgeous and I can totally see why you’re in love with Teddie.

    Oh, and GREAT photo skills! I had no idea that you fixed up that picture, but it looks awesome! πŸ˜€

  13. I think I’m in love with all of your animals! They are all so adorable. I have to live through your pictures because my family is allergic to all sorts of pets. 😦

    My favourite summer meals are cold salads like tabbouleh and bean salads. So light and refreshing on a hot day!

  14. I love greek yogurt with berries and a drizzle of honey. And I’m so glad to see you so happy with your beautiful horse. You both look stunning together and it warms my heart to see your beautiful pictures!

  15. Oh I’ll call it summer when I start seeing local nectarines, blueberries, and strawberries at the farmer’s market!

    I think you and Teddie make the perfect couple πŸ™‚

  16. Strawberries and sweet potatoes in salads are the BEST! And your yogurt bowl… oh my. Oh my.
    I’m all for the black and pink!
    My cat looks JUST LIKE YOURS! Have I said that already? I can’t remember.
    Love you!

  17. Why DON’T strawberries and pb go together? Strawberry jam yes, but alas not the real fruit. A great conundrum. I think it might be the tartness of the strawberries…

    My favorite summertime eat is grilled Maryland sweet corn and perfectly ripe tomatoes with sea salt and freshly ground pepper. Vegetables at their peak, in their purest form. Yum.

  18. Teddie is a beautiful horse! I’d be in love, too. πŸ™‚

    Jenn

  19. Oh my πŸ™‚ That picture is breathtaking.. no wonder you are in love! I can’t believe that it is photo-shopped! You have some serious talent girl πŸ˜‰

    I have millions of random photos of Rayne already, and I get giddy looking at some of them too. There’s nothing quite like it, eh ? I’m so happy to hear that you are bonding so quickly with Teddie. You guys look like a great match. Ponies are so much fun.. I’m kind of jealous!

    … actually I AM jealous.. of all your delicious meals today. Every time I drop by here I have this insane urge to try some new recipes. Tonight I think I might actually got for the whole ‘brocolli on a sandwich thing’ πŸ˜‰

    ❀ Tat

  20. definitely worthy!!! your food is so much more appealing than mine! recently i’ve just been eating toast, plain oats, yada yada. boring blogger much???

    ps – how are ya?
    -rebekah

Leave a Reply

