Bananas Are The Trick

Yikes – today has flown by! I know, I know – I might as well be a broken record. I’m always saying how fast time is flying. It’s the (sort of sad) truth – what can I say?!

Though, as I always say – when life hands you early mornings, make overnight oats! Er, something like that, anyways.

Last night, I combined

  • 2-3 T. steel cut oats, pre-cooked
  • 1/4 c. rolled oats
  • 1 T. chia seeds
  • cinnamon
  • trail power
  • 1/2 c. almond milk

and then this morning I stirred in a [really teeny] spoonful of greek yogurt and some maple syrup, before topping with

  • microwaved mashed banana
  • wheatberries
  • walnuts
  • vanilla galaxy granola
  • sunflower seed butter
  • apricot-mango jam

I just wanted to dive in. I mean, I’d bathe in that baby. Maple syrup? melty banana? sunflower seed butter? You can’t go wrong.

Rain Forest Nut Green Mountain kawfee.

Not only did this not have words in the english dictionary to describe the magnitude of how outstanding it was, it was also extremely satisfying and held me over quite a while. However – I have noticed that anytime I have a banana in/with breakfast I don’t get as hungry in the morning.

Given that I’ve known this for a few months now, I don’t know why I don’t just always include a banana. Probably because I like snacking. Case in point?

Eventually, as I was running around at work all morning, I needed some dates and honey roasted almonds. The almonds were definitely inserted into the dates.

Continuing in my “ahmgawdilovefood” day, I also had an outstanding lunch.

I have become head over heels in love with seitan now that I’ve realized I can have it sweet or savory – just like tempeh!

This is a seitan sammie – with baby spinach, apricot-mango jam, and walnuts. Maybe it sound strange. I am pretty strange, myself. But once panini’d and all warm and oozy, with crusty-yet-chewy bread, and adorned with some of my Snyder’s pretzel snaps? Yes, please. The pretzels are definitely what completed the panini.

And a gala apple, the core being saved for my furry-faced friend.

I’ll admit I wasn’t super-duper hungry today, but decided to just carry on in my typical snacking fashion. I blame it on the banana.

I packed a homemade granola bar . No, they’re not getting old.

And dinner was quite possibly the most simple, plain-jane meal I’ve featured to date

I guess it’s not that simple since I did make the butter bean cutlets from scratch – but this was five minutes from fridge to plate.

A microwave-baked sweet potato adorned with walnuts joined the party, and for the first time tried some of my sweet potato with nut butter – mighty maple, to be exact. For the longest time, I didn’t get the whole nut butter and sweet potato thing.

Now, I do. Still not so sure it’s better than curry powder, though. Depends on the mood šŸ˜‰

__________________________________

Mr. Pony and I had a nice little ride and work this morning – I’m rather proud of both of us because I did everything alone. Sounds silly, but I just like having my mom to hold him while I tack him up. I knew he’d be fine, but was still apprehensive, I guess. I’m still weary to tie him (I’m sort of weary of tying any horse after seeing enough pull back) but he’s actually starting to ground tie anyways, dare I say it! We had our first canter on the lunge (albeit just a few strides) and I rode him for a couple minutes, too. I didn’t do much because I was essentially alone and as I mentioned, don’t like to ride babies without someone watching. Chris, the guy who does chores in the AM was there, so I wasn’t too concerned – but he wasn’t paying attention to me. So, I just mounted, walked/whoa’d around, dismounted, and then repeated the cycle a couple times. I figured it was a good chance to teach him that just because I’ve dismounted, work isn’t done yet!

One silly thing he does: my mom has taught him to “bow,” though I refer to them as “carrot stretches” – or, strengthening his topline/muscles at the top of his neck. So as I was brushing his legs when we were done, he kept thinking I was asking him to bow! Heh – everyone will be wondering how my little haffie got such a wonderful topline. They don’t need to know our secret, right?

And, in other news – we may be turning into a haflinger haven pretty soon. There’s a pair nearby that may get shipped soon, though they haven’t done anything to warrant them being there. They simply haven’t been handled much for a year or two, but are nice and sane enough. My mom informed me of this – don’t worry, I wasn’t looking for more horses! If the place allows us to pull them, though, at least one would be for resale – to find a good home for. So, we’ll see what happens there! My mom loves doing groundwork handling with horses, and I said I’d help her. I should have an update tomorrow!

30 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

30 responses to “Bananas Are The Trick

  1. Aww my horse used to bow too! That sounds so much better than “carrot stretch.” =P
    And you have officially convinced me to make seitan. I’m going to look it up now!! I haven’t done the nut butter + sweet tater thing yet but seeing as I’m obsessed with both of those things I should probably give it a try! Such a foodie inspiration you are šŸ™‚

  2. I think it is great what you two do with horses! I love that!

    Um, the oats…there are no words. In fact, while my won’t be overnight…I think I will be including banana in some right now for dessert! I have to be honest, I am afraid of seitan. Since my grandmother has celiac and my mom is getting tested in a few weeks, I am weary of eating that much wheat. I don’t eat much to begin with, but since I am having some weird stuff going on lately with my joints, I am going just scared. Your sandwich looks really good though! I made a version of your waffles with my boys this morning! They turned out perfect. I will write about them tomorrow! Have a great night!

  3. your oats are drool-worthy. i actually did drool on myself a little bit. microwaved mashed banana is the most delicious thing ever. i like to mix it with a bit of peanut butter and maple syrup. om nom nom.
    glad you had a good time riding this morning. big accomplishments! šŸ™‚

  4. I always eat my sweet potatoes with tahini… Yum. I am still kind of shocked that you’ve never tried it! Considering the stuff you usually eat, I’d guess that you would swoon over it like I do, but I can’t be sure. Tahini is just one of those things that you either love or hate x)

    I totally understand your hesitation to do too much when you’re on your own. I’m the same way.. It’s not like I won’t ride, I just never really push anything just in case.

    Not that I even need to say it.. but your oats look magnificent. Like, almost too good to eat. (Totally joking. Baha.)

    ā¤ Tat

  5. I think the mix of sunflower seed butter and maple syrup in my oats would be an amazing savory/sweet combo…

  6. I have been on such a sweet potato kick lately too! I think it’s all the rain we’re getting here in France. Sweet potatoes are the ultimate coze-fest of the vegetable family. A farm fresh fleece? A vegetable teddy bear? …i’ll work on that one, haha.

  7. Michelle

    bananas definitely keep my body more satisfied! I love em!

  8. Mo

    I think bananas have resistant starch or something so they make you feel full? Yeah, I dunno, but I’m pretty much dependent on bananas (when I don’t have my banana, I am NOT happy…) so I approve of your oats today, miss. šŸ˜›

    It took a good minute or two of staring at the picture of your sandwich to figure out where the seitain was. It looks like bread!

  9. oh wow! so a microwaved sweet potato IS possible!! awesome šŸ™‚

    omg bananas are my life- bananas bananas bananas how fun to say and type. but its true cuz they are such a versatile fruit!!! salty, sweet,savory, sour, anything! they go good with it all šŸ™‚

    nom nom

  10. What delicious looking overnight oats – i think its my favorite way to eat oatmeal!!! I too enjoy the Galaxy granola vanilla munch – not too sweet – tastes great with greek yogurt and berries!!!
    Even your “simple” dinners still look fabulous!!!! I just made black bean cutlets and you’re right – they are simple yet delicious!!
    I think its wonderful the things you and your mom are doing for the horses!!!! So inspirational – i wish I lived in Vermont!!!!
    xoxo aim

  11. I always post about how fast time is flying…why is it that the older we get, the slower it goes? Not fair. Yet another reason I wish I was a kid again!!

    When I was little, I always ate the Snyder’s checkerboard pretzels one square at a time, and I still can’t help but do that!

  12. 1. Bananas make EVERYTHING better!
    2. Time is flying by!! It always does!
    3. I haven’t been brave enough to try to make my own seitan dish but you may have sparked the interest. I’ll look out for it next time I’m at the grocery store… although today I was at a shop and I saw some seitan jerky… not gonna lie, it looked pretty gross.

  13. I had sweet potato for dinner tonight too! I know, I love banana in my overnight oats. mashed, solid, melted…however I do it I know it’s going to be delicious :). Love reading about your pony adventures. SO CUTE!

  14. I had banana-less oats this a.m. and was hungry for lunch sooner than ever…I blame it on that! The overnight oats, seitan sammie, granola bar, cutlet with sweet potato…really all of it sounds like the perfect kind of day! And playtime with Teddie too. He seems like quite the smarty! Ok, now time to go make some overnight oats…

  15. Reading your blog always makes me want to go horseback riding. I’ve gone a few times on the trails and absolutely enjoyed myself!

    I’ve never had seitan before…I wonder what the texture is like?

  16. Tes

    Sometimes when I’m out of milk I add mash banana in the cereal. It’s delicious but it doesn’t look well. I think this recipe will make my cereal look better and more delicious.
    And the sweet potato baked in microwave is genious! Thanks for sharing.

    P.S. I love your horse riding adventres, I’m subscribing.

  17. Sometimes simplicity is perfect. I need to start eating more seitan…your posts have been inspiring me to make some of my own and get it on some toasted bread! Thank you for your sweet comments on my blog today…it was a great start to my morning.

  18. Mm-mm-mm, apricot mango jam? Did you make that? I just blended together my own “jam” for the first time, apricot and strawberries, and now I already know what gives next!

    Re the Raw Food Real World, yeah I think it’s worth a look – definitely it’s money’s worth for me. If you like the buckwheat crunchie idea, did you see I made Raw Maple Flax Granola as well? With buckwheat. I think it’s right up your alley, here if you’re interested http://sweetbeetandgreenbean.net/2009/08/04/raw-maple-flax-granola/
    šŸ˜‰

    What does it mean that your horse bows? I’m just curious…:-) Just to ride a lot, but from the descriptions I can’t figure out if that corresponds to anything I know…

  19. My aunt’s last horse could bow! She taught him with the help of an actual circus trainer; it was pretty cool!! He did a ton of circus tricks šŸ™‚ I love doing the carrot stretches with Chika, but she’s frustrating – she LOVES food and is lazy as, so she likes to find any way of getting to the carrot that involves the least effort…often not stretching šŸ˜›
    Did you make that jam yourself? It sounds LOVELY, such an unusual conbiation! I want some šŸ˜€

  20. Oh and also – is your mum a professional horse-re-seller person? (I don’t want to say dealer cos ‘dealer’ holds a lot of stick over here). You seem to take on lots to reschool šŸ™‚

  21. teenagehealthfreak

    your oatmeal and sammies are so pretty! They always look good. I just love the pictures on your blog. šŸ™‚

  22. I totally agree with you on the banana thing! My breakfasts are not complete witout a banana. Partially because of the fullness factor but also because they just taste so darn good. šŸ˜€

    Also I’m just curious about your Green Mountain coffee. I don’t think I’ve ever tried it before, but you seem to really like it so I’d like to give it a try!

  23. what a sassy new header! i love it. bananas make everything so good. i love how melty and caramelized they can get. i made some yummy banana bread just last night.

  24. I’m going to have to try overnight oats soon!

  25. i always throw some banana in my oats! your pictures are BEAUTIFUL!! i love taht breakfast with the preserves right on top! its so great to see how others enjoy their bowl of oats…there are so many variations out there!

  26. It’s interesting you should mention banana keeping you full up because i find myself the opposite! i find if i have a banana, instead of say, an apple, i’m hungrier soon! it seems to happen to me everytime! very odd! those oats look very tasty and i love that saying;-) xx

  27. I REALLY hope you can rescue the haflingers! You guys are doing so much good in the horsey world! šŸ™‚

  28. I feel the same way about time, that is for sure! šŸ™‚ There is so much I want to do in one day and it always seems to be 10pm the next time I turn around! Yikes!
    Your oats looks incredible!

    Love the stories about the horses!

  29. actorsdiet

    your pix are OUTSTANDING! what kind of camera do you use?

  30. I eat a banana just about every morning too. And funny – this morning I didn’t; instead I had watermelon with my breakfast, and I was hungry much earlier than I usually am. They’re good fillers.

    I love how many toppings you added to your oatmeal!

Leave a Reply

