… In a Jar

Hah – I bet you thought with a title like that, breakfast would be in a jar, huh? No, no – I am still a bit weary of the famous OIAJ…I chose to put other things in my jars πŸ˜‰ But we’ll get there!

I’m a bit proud of myself lately, actually – I’ve been sleeping in on my off days! Not enough to make me feel like I’ve wasted the day or morning, of course – but between 7 and 7:30. Which, in my eyes, is a great time – I still wake up earlier, but just tell myself to go back to sleep. I think I’m starting to need it more as I start doing more.

Especially because I don’t need to get to the barn until 12:30, and don’t have obligations prior to that, except a hot date with my kitchen and the washing machine.

Unfortunately, the washing machine and I didn’t get to see each other today which makes me wonder what I’ll be wearing tomorrow, but at least my kitchen and I got a little experimental this morning. Ooh, sounds racy!

Considering I wound up with quite the bag of puffed millet to make granola bars, I figured I ought to put it to use to something other than just the half cup the bars call for. It makes a super tasty night-time snack (though not as good as Puffins!) and this morning lent a helping hand while I made waffles!

The waffle batter:

  • 1/4 c. rolled oats
  • 1/2 c. puffed millet
  • 2 T. WW flour
  • 1 T. wheat bran
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • cinnamon
  • baking powder
  • 1 flax egg
  • 1/4 c + 1 T. almond milk
  • spoonful of greek yogurt
  • spoonful of applesauce
  • splash maple syrup
  • 1 chopped date
  • 1/4 of a chopped nectarine

I realize that list makes me look like an insane person who spends hours making breakfast, but really – it’s not that bad, and to answer some questions – these take hardly any time at all. Fifteen minutes, tops – and less if you don’t want waffles with a [ridiculously delicious] topping.

I realize “spoonful” is a bad measurement, but I was watching Guy Fieri the other day and he used “three-quarters of a bear,” as a measurement term (referring to honey) so if he’s allowed to do that, I’m allowed to say spoonful.

The [ridiculously delicious] topping in question today was a nectarine, chopped and simmered in some almond milk and maple syrup, with some chia seeds to give it even more gelification :] Also joining the party was some earth balance spread, chopped hazelnuts, and sunflower seed butter. And since the coffee can never be forgotten, a cup of Green Mountain’s Rain Forest Nut.

I still had a lot of time to kill, so I did a yoga download before getting dressed and getting ready for the barn.

I figured before I started baking that I ought to just head in early – there’s no such thing as too much Teddie time! That and I’m helping Adrienne to make up some ads for the barn, and since today turned out to be gorgeous, I wanted to try to get some photos of the barn, indoor, outdoor, etc.

I packed a sandwich to bring with me, and had some leftover apple wedges. I finished the last of this almond butter in my banana bran muffins (because I was too stingy with my delicious sunflower seed butter to use all sunflower seed butter!) but didn’t recycle the container – I knew it could get cleaner than that!

I think the “jar” gets cleaner from apple wedges than oats, anyways πŸ˜‰ Of course – this was a small “bulk bin” container, so I don’t think I’d even have been apple to get an eigth of my oats stuffed in there.

The sandwich I packed?

Apple-Barbeque Seitan with sliced gala apple and spinach, on toasted sesame whole-grain.

I almost didn’t pack a sandwich since it’s turned out I don’t eat it until I drive home anyways, but I was glad I did today. Adrienne and I spent so much time talking and shooting that even though I got there at 11:30 – I wasn’t about to get Teddie until 12:30, and decided to just eat while waiting for my mom before working with him.

As I was leaving, though, I grabbed a homemade granola bar fo’ some mo’ fuelage. These ones aren’t lasting long, either! Mae, these really are the world’s best granola bars! I can’t believe how long I’ve been spending $1.50 – $2 on a single bar. I almost got all math-whiz on myself because I was dying to know how much these cost in comparison.

Then I realized that that was too much math.

After my mom & I got home from the barn, I was ready for the rest of my lunch/an afternoon snack/whatever you want to call it.

No, no…. still not OIAJ – but a concoction so heavenly that as I drove home and it came to mind, I almost killed myself by hitting three deer standing in the middle of the road right after a sharp turn on a dirt road that had just been grated. Gravel + sharp braking is pretty much the same thing as braking on ice.

I’m terrified of driving at night in Vermont because of two things: a. deer, and b. moose. Every since I hit one. A deer, not a moose.

Now they’re haunting me in the daytime, too.

Anyways, this MIAJ (or, puffed millet in a jar) is a bit of a happier subject, so we’ll talk about that instead.

Crammed in a basically empty sunflower seed bbutter jar was puffed millet, chopped dried apricots, cinnamon, and a small sliced banana. Oh, and almond milk, of course! I had to add more as I realized I was doing a poor job of scraping up all of the delicious sunflower seed butter.

A walk through the garden followed shortly afterwards. These are my favorite flowers ever. Mainly because they smell heavennly. Almost like coconut!

...the grass is always greener, i guess...

red or green pepper, can't remember. we've got a couple flowers!

I hope the red peppers growwwww, baby growww! I think they need more sun. At least it was sunny all day today?

Roma tomato

All of my roma tomato plants have got little babies on them – but non of the other kinds yet. We need to tie them soon!

sweet corn!

spaghetti squash

Strangely, the spaghetti squash I planted from some seeds I’d saved, and the spaghetti squash I planted as a plant from the greenhouse look completely different from one another. Weird? I think so. Maybe they sold us some other type of squash…

Spinach is also starting to come up, and my mom’s zuchinni is doing really well. Our basil plant is getting bigger and bigger and I cannot. wait. to be able to use it! We also have more chives than any one person could possibly use, and the lettuce is usable, but if I wanted to make a salad with it we’d be out for the year πŸ˜› It’ll get there!

For dinner, I had to put into action Sarena’s Buckwheat Flatbread! I swear – she is a genius! And, a fellow buckwheat junkie πŸ˜‰ I’d been having random thoughts of pizza or at least making pizza dough, ever since reading about grilled pizzas in a Hannaford’s booklet.

Granted, this could not be grilled, but I don’t play with the grill alone, anyways.

Our $10 toaster-oven from the yardsale has proved itself to be worth it’s weight in gold lately. Seriously – so handy! I’ve been making jsut about anything baked in it lately – except the muffins and bars from the other day. And today, it was great to not have to turn on the whole oven for just this!

I followed Sarena’s recipe to a T, besides the fact that I just made it a little smaller, and added baking powder after it had sit for fifteen minutes. It was delicious! It stayed nice and moist, but had a perfect crust to it. I baked it on a little bit of cornmeal, too.

For the “sauce” I mixed together some tomatoe paste, garlic hummus, nooch, and water (just to thin it a bit).

I topped that with a mix of sauteed garlic, spinach, and red pepper, and then some fresh hydro tomato slices. I chopped up some seitan and topped it with a leeetle bit of feta, too.

And a balsamic reduction was drizzle over the whole thing.

No, it wasn’t necessary, but I’ve neverΒ reducedΒ balsamic before and really really wanted to. Any food related thing you keep saying you’re going to try but haven’t yet?

_________________________

My Pony’s Cuter Than Yours

Mr. Pony was a super-star once again – are you getting sick of me always saying this yet?!

He’s getting really good about just standing for being worked around, and his ground manners have improved ten-fold. I don’t feel like I need a chain over his nose anymore, though I still have it for when he gets mouthy. A gentle tug gets the point across that his mouth should be kept to himself.

The indoor - from the "shoot."

He wasn’t too stoked for lunging today – kept looking at me sort of like “alright, I’m ready…I’m ready…can I come in now?” which of course – just made me have him go longer. I just hopped on for some walk/whoa/back/flex work, and he was very good. Felt very relaxed, though I’d still like to be sure I have an e-brake before doing much more πŸ˜‰

Outdoor

I’m glad my mom is willing to “put up” with him – she loves him, but sometimes he can be so mouthy still! He’ll stand nicely for 80% of the time now, but when he decides he needs to chew on something, it becomes a game.

He’ll get over it soon – he’s already gotten miles better.

One of the runs - the mares.

Night, lovelies!

(p.s. I realize my blogger to-do list is growing by the day! I’d like to do a seitan post, the recipe for the sunbutter-banana bran muffins, and promised a camera post eons ago! I’ll get with the program soon. I’d also like to do a healthy eating on a budget post. Mainly because I am feeling quite light in pocket after buying a horse, paying a month of board, and buying a saddle all within the course of two weeks. I’m definitely only buying what I need now!)

21 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

21 responses to “… In a Jar

  1. Gosh, I hear ya on the buying what you need! There are 4 of us on one income! Anyway…I am so glad you liked the flatbread! I really liked how easy that one was too! I want to make it again with hummus as the topping and grilled veggies! Your pictures are so beautiful!!!

    I know you have a lot going on right now, but make sure you just take the time to enjoy life! Don’t let the other stuff get in the way of you just having a good time! School is out and you have a new pony! I love your writing and photos! Have a great night!

  2. I kept thinking, “OATS IN A JAR! OATS IN A JAR!!” But….millet+sunbutter+apricots sounds like some kind of wonderful I’ve never known! I also am in love with the looks of that flat bread!

    Totally relate to foodie on a budget. I keep splurging here and there even though I know I shouldn’t. I dont need chia sseeds and sunflower butter to live, but they are just so amazing. I like being happy and satisfied with my food…clearly I’ve never been a microwave dinner girl.

  3. i keep saying i’m going to try this coconut oil i have in my cupboard..but i don’t. it is scaring me.

  4. I’ve come to the conclusion that ANYTHING in a jar is ten times more delicious. Oats, cereal, yogurt mess…there are very few things that don’t taste better with nut butter! Those granola bars look so good, I keep telling myself I need to make them. It’ll happen eventually πŸ™‚

  5. Dee

    Gosh girlfriend, your pictures never fail to astound me! πŸ™‚

  6. Mo

    Three-quarters of a bear… Fieri is a tad annoying sometimes but it’s quips like that that make me love him. πŸ˜‰

    And your garden? Super jealous of you!

  7. What great pictures of the garden- i only have a small herb garden this year – yours looks spectacular!!!!! i also love the purple flower – what is the name of it – ive never seen it before-
    buckwheat pizza crust sounds delicious – ill definately have to give it a try – especially topped with hummus and veggies. Again love the pictures of Teddie – each day it makes me want to go out and buy my own pony!!!
    have a great night!!!!! xo aimee

  8. What a great day…and I agree, Puffins are the best night-time snack. I have some every evening. I love the thought you put into your food, and while it does take time, you have the pleasure of eating nutritious and delicious food at each meal. Considering what many people do with their free time, I think that food preparation is a wholesome, rewarding and healthy endeavor. I loved seeing your horse pictures, of course!

  9. OIAJ isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, but your MIAJ looks wonderful! I like that “bear” measurement for honey. I’m so jealous your barn has an indoor arena! And I love the outdoor photo. So scenic!

  10. lol… I had a date with the washing machine tonight as well. But I stood him up…

    I’m sure the washing machine will soon get the last laugh. :p

  11. Love your pictures, especially from your garden! And best of luck with your blogger to-do list :-).

  12. No rush about getting to any of those to-do list pieces…but of course you know that we will love them! Being a veggie, like you said last time, really means we spend much less (usually) and it is great!

    Those waffles look amazing, yet again, but I am needing to use my puffed rice before I venture out for the puffed millet. I am not the oat in the jar type either but did it once when traveling…definitely was convenient. I bet the cold cereal mix was great in it though!

    That flatbread sounds great…maybe I did something wrong with my buckwheat last time because I just wasn’t a fan of it as a crust for a dessert I made on mother’s day. This seems like a good place to start.

    Teddie photos always warm my heart lady!

  13. Michelle

    I guess those apples do clean out the jar quite well… I will give you that πŸ˜‰ I’m still a huge fan of oats in a jar though.

  14. Must. Make. Buckwheat. Pizza.

    Seriously, that looks awesome. I can’t have oats, though, so I’ll try and make do with buckwheat flakes. Should get pretty buckwheat-y, but after those pics I’ll have to give it a try.

    I can really relate to the buckwheat-love. I scorned the humble, dusty, greyish buckwheat flake for a while after realising I couldn’t have the sweet, golden, juicy oats anymore (whew, obviously that’s all over and gone now…) but last time I bought buckwheat flakes I actually caught myself opening the bag and sniffing it like a good bag of coffee, hahaha :-). Hooray for all things buckwheat!

    Love the horses.

  15. Girl… you HAVE to try OIAJ!!! Or at least with overnight oats. I swear. it’s SO GOOD.
    Moose?! You are scared of hitting a moose?! I live in deer country and it’s bad enough but a moose?! Holy crap. I’d be terrified!!
    Love you!

  16. Haha you think that jar was more cleaned out than if it was oats? You blates haven’t seen my jars post OIAJ πŸ˜›
    :O what a beutiful indoor school! I would KILL for an indoor school; winter would be 10 x more produtvie :/
    Btw, what was the baking powder lesson you learned? Was it the ‘it reatcs with liquid’ thing, or something else? I’m very curious….!

  17. speaking of jars, i just finished the pb you sent me – SAD DAY.
    it was orgasmic!
    -r

  18. That makes me really excited that your waffles don’t actually take that long to make! I’ve always put off making them because I’m way too hungry in the mornings to spend half an hour making breakfast. πŸ˜›

    Omg that pizza looks amazing! I love the combo of balsamic and tomato. I’ve never thought to do it on pizza though!

  19. I haven’t had seitan in ages, and it’s such good stuff! I’ll have to look into buying some (or making it) in the near future.

    Love your garden pics…it looks really good so far.

  20. Your breakfasts always look so wonderful…mmm….

    And I’m with you on eating on a budget! I love clipping coupons and sticking to sale items, along with using up every last bit of leftovers. πŸ˜€

  21. Pingback: father’s day waffles. « A Fresh Dille

Leave a Reply

