Newfound Knowledge

Ack – my weekend has flown by! Aren’t I always saying that, though? I hope everyone got the chance to do what they needed and wanted to do.

I once again had a day where I was so busy that as I write this, I hardly remember the thoughts and feelings I had this morning! Well, except for the thought and feeling of “Figgy Oats. End of story.” I also remember that I made a really big blooper (as usual). But first – thanks to everyone who gave me the baking powder lesson! I figured it had something to do with that – but as mentioned, I don’t know much about food science. It is interesting, though! And I wanted to put to use my newfound knowledge, and again waited to add the baking powder last.

Well, they look innocent enough, you must be thinking…so what’s the blooper?

Well, I forgot the flax egg. Good one, Jess. I’m surprised they still worked. Honestly, confusion only set in when I was wondering why the batter seemed so “loose,” and also was a little disappointed that adding the baking soda last didn’t work and make them as cakey as last time.

Strangely, they still worked and tasted amaze. I topped them with some earth balance, a “melted” mashed banana with some more chopped dried figs, walnuts, and unsalted almond butter. I tried a little bit of this almond butter from the co-op…and I am just not a fan of raw, unsalted almond butter plain. It’s not so bad on waffles or in oats or (as you’ll see shortly) muffins – but I think I have more deserving jars to spend money on.

Jump on in, the Rain Forest Nut is great!

It was sort of another gloomy morning so I almost passed on going to the barn to see Teddie today, but after going grocery shopping and it still only being shortly after 9:00, my mom and I decided we had nothing better to do. The weather looked like it was getting better, and I really did want to get in a good work with him after yesterday.

While shopping, I noticed how much more inexpensive it is to not eat meat. My mom spent $20 on some bread, meat, eggs, fruit anda couple veggies. I spent the same on a boatload of fruit and veg, refrigerated aisle goods, and a couple of grain & beans. We still share everything, just a neat comparison. And not to mention a can of beans at less than $1 is way more inexpensive. And dried beans even moreso! What can I say, I prefer convenience and BPA.

We left shortly afterwards for the barn, and once we got home checked how our garden is doing.

I’ve got some plum tomatoes starting, and the spaghetti squash seeds that I planted are actually growing like crazy! I wasn’t sure they would, since they were just seeds from a squash I ate. Not sure why they wouldn’t, I guess. Other things from seeds (spinach, corn, lettuce, zucchini) are also growing pretty well. We even picked some buttercrisp lettuce leaves for use in lunch.

My mom had hardboiled some eggs when we were just killing a bit of time before going to see Mr. Pony, and offered one up to me. I passed initially, but when I saw her making egg salad my indecision as to what to have for lunch went away, and I followed suit. I mashed together:

  • 1 hardboiled egg
  • spoonful of greek yogurt
  • dijonnaise
  • chopped sundried tomatoes
  • fresh garden chives
  • garlic salt
  • pepper

and put it atop some of the garden lettuce and a slice of tomato, of course between a slice of toasted whole grain bread. (The new loaf with sesame seeds! Yum!)

And a lil’ bit of plain greek yog with strawberry-banana flax oil, agave, banana chips, and walnuts.

And then the baking extravaganza set in!

I made banana-fig sun/almond butter bran muffins first. I love having muffins after dinner or for a night-time snack. They are so handy to bake and then freeze for anytime use!

I loosely followed a recipe I made up a while back (the almond butter & jam bran muffins) but changed it way up. It’s interesting to see how I would have madeΒ somethingΒ like this a while back, and what I would do now. I was skeptical of these hot out of the oven, but when I tried one cooled with some fig jam, they really impressed me! Next time I’d add a bit more nut butter and maple syrup, though. Will have to do up a recipe post then!

And yes, I utilized my newfound knowledge and added the baking powder last.

Butter bean cutlets were next on the list, to use up the last of my butter beans. And who am I kidding – they’re delicious and so easy and convenient to have ready-made!

And last up were more granola bars! My mom and I already finished the last ones. Well, almost – there’s one left. But still – goes to show how hot they were, right?! I think I perfected the date-maple ratio and timing – these turned out perfectly moist, although I don’t think I pressed these ones down quite as firmly, since they seem a little more fragile. I also used apricots instead of figs, macadamia nuts rather than walnuts, and added a little more wheat germ, some chia seeds, and used the puffed millet I picked up the other night.

Another round of winners! If you haven’t yet, give Mae’s original recipe a peek! I think I’ll probably have to try it as-is soon, I just love using dates in granola bars πŸ™‚

After cleaning up the last of my baking messes, reading some blogs, and playing with the horses a bit, it was time for dinner, where I finally put the wheat berries I picked up a while ago to use.

The verdict? Love! They’re so chewy and fun! Brandi is always inspiring me with her wheat berry salads, but I went a bit astray and took inspiration from a Whole Foods recipe for a Wheat Berry Waldorf salad.

Simply Β prepped the wheatberries, and then added in half a chopped gala, golden raisins, cinnamon, dried parsely, apple cider vinegar, lemon juice, spoonful of greek yogurt, drizzle of honey, and cracked black pepper. I chose to serve it over some romaine with some chopped walnuts with some pan-fried BBQ seitan. Dee-rish! And I’m glad I had the sturdy romaine leaves to wrap it up in – it posed to be relatively tricky to eat, otherwise!

The apple-BBQ sauce that I have and brushed the seitan with ended up being a great match, too. And I think this may be my best seitan yet πŸ˜‰

On an unrelated note, why is everyone googling healthy exposures + ___________? I hope it’s all the same person, how else would someone know the name “healthy exposures”??!

Sure, not a ton of hits – but random and sudden, nonetheless. Usually my google hits are random things about smelling like celery and burnt butter.

___________________________________________

The Teddie Chronicles – week one complete!

I’m so glad I ended up going out today because Mr. Pony was wonderful! I’m also glad my mom came along – she sort of gives me the push I need to just do something. Case in point – I wasn’t planning on riding, but her response was “Yes ya are.” heh. It’s a good thing. Teddie was in a much better mood, and I could tell right off the bat. Came running up to me, and stood quietly for being tacked and lunged perfectly. It’s nice to have a horse that is a gentleman on the lunge and doesn’t pull or run around like crazy. Actually, and I quote “We are not out for a leisurely stroll in the park, trot on, please!” followed by asking my mom to deliver the lunge whip. That was all the motivation he needed.

It’s amazing how horses only need to know you have a whip or crop to be that much more willing to oblige! (don’t worry, whips/crops aren’t meant for beating a horse into submission, anyways. At least Β not anywhere I go.)

I hopped on and just walked around for a few minutes before hopping off. Still taking it slow, I know, I know! Oh well. He was good and I was happy, so he’s earned tomorrow off from work. This is probably more work than he’s done in the past 6 months total, I don’t want to sour him.

Something funny my mom said to him while she was holding him: “Stop! You’re like a two year old child throwing a tantrum because I took away your binkie!”

He loves having something to mouth/chew on – which we’re obviously trying to get him out of the habit of. He’s much better when he’s working in hand than the beginning of the week, but just standing for grooming and tacking he’s still got a lot of lip action.

Oh, ponies.

23 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

23 responses to “Newfound Knowledge

  1. Michelle

    I’m loving seeing all of your experiments with baking powder. Accidents can lead to such great things πŸ™‚

  2. Um, I think I need a whip and crack for my kids…wish that would scare them! Unfortunately, they are getting bigger than me so the fights for me are going to be harder to win! Just kidding…they are good kids…just rowdy! Your eats look amazing! Hey, question…I may have missed it, but do you soak your oat mixture overnight and cook your waffles the next morning? Have a great night!

  3. That wheatberry salad looks wonderful! I recently purchased some from the bulkbins at Whole Foods. It looks like I’ll have to presoak them overnight when I decide what to do with them, though!

  4. I am yet to make my own bars, but I really should because it would save me a lot of money. Yours look great!

  5. Your waffle still looks delicious, even with the missing ingredient!
    “Gorgeous oatmeal” haha I love it, so true about your blog! And that wheatberry salad looks amazing. I am looking at the WF recipe now and seeing if I have all the ingredients to make it! Glad Teddies was in a good mood for you and lunged well! πŸ™‚

  6. I love love wheatberries and seitan so yeah…can you make dinner for me lady! The rest looks great as usual lady…muffins, more granola bars, and a waffle again…serious yummage in this post lady.

    Glad to hear teddie is acting so great too!

    p.s. I am definitely not forgetting the b. powder next time I make waffles!

  7. Sounds like you really had a busy day!!!!!! Loved all of your recipes from this post – ill have to give the butter bean cutlets a try and the wheatberry salad looks amazing !!! Glad to hear you had a great ride with Teddie – guess he’s feeling better today!!!! Have a great Monday ! xoxo aimee

  8. Looks like Healthy Exposures is getting pretty popular! I don’t see why not, I love your blog πŸ™‚

  9. the google search terms are always so much fun… πŸ™‚

    And I guess we all just love your pics of food! You do make everything look amazing- that’s for sure. πŸ™‚

  10. DUDE that is so true about vegetarianism being cheap. When I first came to France I was used to eating meat a few times a week, so I went looking for some chicken breasts, but when I saw the price I just couldn’t bring myself to do it! 6 € (8 dollars) for two itty chicken breasts and they were not even the French equivalent of Niman Ranch. (Mostly) vegg is the way to go!

  11. Oh my days, your dinner looks beautiful!!
    Could you please please (:D) post the recipe you used for the muffins? I have almond butter and sunflower butter that I want to bake with, so that recipe sounds perfeq πŸ˜€ I’m a regular post-dinner muffin-eater too πŸ˜€ I have about 20 frozen at the moment!!
    Haha, my search engine terms are like yours – brit chick runs + super soft pear, etc etc…very odd!!

  12. sounds like your horse and i have the same bad habit… πŸ™‚

  13. holy bake off!!! I wish I could be as creative in the kitchen…LOVE the butter bean cutlets! I have had wheatberries in my pantry for forever and have yet to use them lol but i do love the texture for a cold salad …yum! Looks like a fast but great weekend πŸ™‚

  14. Mmm…sometimes egg salad sandwiches are so satisfying. It’s been too long since I had one. πŸ˜€

    I always say the same thing about how meat can be awfully pricey. I love buying it on occasion but vegetarian meals come out much cheaper (usually.)

  15. I’m so jealous of WP bloggers for being able to see searches! So neat. I’ve definitely forgotten to add things like eggs/oil/milk to recipes, and been absolutely mystified when they failed to turn out. Looks like you were pretty successful though!! Hope you have a wonderful Monday love πŸ™‚

  16. Girl I don’t know how you always manage to squeeze so much baking and cooking into one day! I have to set aside an entire afternoon just to make one batch of muffins. πŸ˜› Your muffins sound delicious though!

    Even though I’ve cut down on meat, I haven’t noticed my grocery bill go down too much because I’ve also picked up on some more expensive tastes, like organic yogurt and cereals. Oh well, you win some, you lose some!

  17. I’m the same with beans – I’d much rather have the convenience of a can than soaking the beans. I used to soak beans, but they never seemed to fully cook after I soaked and boiled them. And even though they cost more canned, they’re still pretty cheap.

    Good idea to add yogurt to egg salad. I usually use mayonnaise, but I’m always looking for substitutes.

  18. my mama loves to make hardboiled eggs to have on hand in the fridge. i love it ❀

    theyre such a great addition to anything. what a great idea with the yogurt- much better egg salad than heaping amounts of mayo.

    xoxo ❀

  19. Brandi

    LOVE egg salad. And your wheatberry dish looks awesome! I made another one yesterday, too πŸ™‚

  20. that breakfast looks like dessert!! mmm good!

  21. Jess…I’ve decided. I want to get the plane and come to your house and I just want you to feed me PLEASE. How do you do it?! Your are amazing with food even with mistakes! I am loving the butter bean cutlets – butter beans = my love! And muffins! My second love! So yes, I shall come over and you can experiment with all your recipes on me so that I can eat food that I like AND gain weight doing it WOOH! πŸ™‚
    Nicky xxx

  22. I need to make those bean butter cutlets, they look so amazing! It is so much cheaper to not buy meat, especially organic meat. I still have to buy a package of organic something once a week for my husband because he eats meat for lunch. I really need to work on spending less at the food store overall, I’ve been going crazy lately!

  23. I JUST made egg salad for my lunch tomorrow!

    Oh why is it that I’m always drooling whenever I visit your site? You should consider opening up a small cafe/restaurant and invite all of us πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

