Dreary

I feel like it’s been such a long, dreary day, that if I didn’t have the pictures to prove I enjoyed this delicious breakfast, I wouldn’t know what I had for breakfast.

I just remember them being remarkably good. I was debating whether they were my best yet, but then decided I should stop saying that about everything I eat, so I won’t say it – rather, just plant the idea.

I’m not really sure why they turned out much differently than usual, as the only thing I did differently was almost forget the baking powder, so I added it after everything was mixed. I also had some Kamut hot cereal in the mix, but I wouldn’t think it’d be enough to make a difference.

I was never one for science, but maybe the order of adding baking powder is what made these more cake-y and puffy than usual?

  • 1/4 c. rolled oats
  • 2 T. wheat bran
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • 1 T. WW flour
  • 1/2 T. kamut hot cereal
  • baking powder
  • 1 chopped dried fig
  • 1.5 T. greek yogurt
  • 1 T. applesauce
  • 1 flax egg
  • 1/4 c. almond milk

Topped with chopped apple and fig, raw almond butter, and walnuts.

Luckily, the breakfast was good. Unfortunately, the weather was not. It was definitely a day that encouraged any and all motivation to be M.I.A. It’s days like this where I wish I could just throw Teddie in the back of the Jeep and bring him home every so often…I so wanted to see him – but I just did. not. want to drive half an hour in the dreary rain to say “hi,” especially when my mom told me she didn’t feel much like spending a rainy morning at the barn with me.

Bummer.

Yes – rain is what indoors are for. But that’s besides the point.

So – I left before I had the chance to crawl back in bed and do nothing all day until going to an auction this afternoon with my mom. On the way there, as I was driving through patches of pouring rain, I realized I’ve once again joined the “kooky horse crowd.” There are two genres of humans. Sane and crazy. Crazy includes horse people and artists.

I am both of those things.

I am crazy.

Case in point?

I lead my shopping cart, talk the same way to children and horses, say “whoa,” to any object, animal, or person I want to stop, Teddie’s wardrobe is already bigger than mine, and my mood definitely depends on how well horsey time went.

…sigh.

I split a homemade granola bar with my mom when I got home around 11, so wasn’t too hungry for lunch even though I wanted something to keep me full for the afternoon while we went to a horse and tack auction.

I had my last black bean cutlet with some apple BBQ sauce, feta, gala slices, and romaine on toasted whole grain.

And a lukewarm applesauce mess – with some almond butter, macadamia nuts, golden raisins, peanut clusters, and some butterscotch chips. Butterscotch chips = heaven in warm applesauce. Sorry.

I also made some simple seitan out of the Veganomicon cookbook with a few swaps, as usual. The main being I didn’t bother to break it up into two separate pieces this time, and I ended up with this colassal piece of seitan.

Remember thoseย weirdย plastic yย growing alien creatures that used to be popular in our younger years?

Yeah – it reminded me of that. Goes in the pot half this size and thin, an hour later it’s bigger than my head.

(…well, maybe that’s an exaggeration.)

I snagged a mini apple pie larabar as well as a Tera’s Whey shake with the yumberry powder for the auction and we were off.

We (as in, my mom and I…) almost came home with the same little mini mule we almost came home with last time. We’ve named him “Abe,” and he is slowly winning our trust. This poor adorable little thing wants a friend so badly, but isn’t quite sure he should trust anybody. I’m not sure if he sold today or not, but I hope he finds a good home. I’m pretty sure if he was gelded (er…is that what you call it if it’s a mule, or is it…jacked or something? heh…) he would be chilling in our backyard right now.

Anyways – I threw together another simple and delicious meal for dinner once we got home. Another reason you can tell I’m falling back into the horse person category is the fact that my fridge is becoming greatly neglected. My fruit and veggie ownership is about nil…which pretty much eliminated any recipe I thought about making for dinner.

I settled on beans, since of course beans are always on hand. And I’m glad I still had some broccoli, too.

Luckily, this was far from tasting like it was grasping at straws for something to have for dinner. I simply sauteed one clove of mashed garlic in some sesame dressing (locally made, mix of olive oil, sesame oil, and balsamic vinegar) and added butter beans, chopped sundried tomatoes, chopped hydro tomato, and seasoned with dried basil, garlic salt, and pepper.

Supah stellah! I mashed it a little bit, leaving some beans whole – and put it atop some toasted whole grain bread with some feta and toasted pine nuts.

I love beans and toast.

On the agenda for tomorrow? Possibly some butter bean cutlets or butter bean hummus? I also need to make more granola bars and muffins (my freezer stash is dwindling and I love having these at night), go grocery shopping, and am not sure yet if I’ll give Teddie the day off or if we’ll go say hi.

______________________________

The Teddie Chronicles

I think Teddie had much the same thoughts as me today when it came to weather and motivation, because he didn’t seem too thrilled to be fussed over, either.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned – it’s to not end on a bad note when dealing with young horses. It’s like giving a little kid what they want all the time.

I’m not sure if it was all the noisy rain on the roof (I could hardly hear myself thinking), the chill in the air, the work going on outside the indoor, or the blah day in general – but I just wasn’t so sure riding would go off without a hitch today, so I just did a couple minutes worth of well-behaved lunging and groundwork before letting him back out. He did nothing wrong, just a little more jumpy than usual.

Or maybe it was my own motivation speaking.

I was a little upset with myself for “copping out” on the drive home, but I just reminded myself that I didn’t put him away because he was bad…but because I knew that today was not a day I would have had the motivation to get in an argument and win, so I stopped before one had a chance to happen.

Maybe I sound crazy. I wouldn’t be surprised. But has anyone else just sorta gotten the feeling that a certain day wasn’t “the day,” even if nothing bad actually happened?

He is due for a day off, though – and as mentioned, am not sure if it will be tomorrow or Monday. Or both. Monday Adrienne has a lesson at 8:30 am, so I don’t think I’ll have time to work him but can at least go brush him. It’s “off” days where it’d be nice to have him a lot closer! The barn is fine for most days, except for when you just want to go say “hi,” and maybe fuss over them a little. It’s sort of a pain to drive half an hour to spend all of ten minutes there.

21 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

21 responses to “Dreary

  1. As weird as it may be, I think it actually WAS the last minute addition of the baking powder. Baking powders are double action, i.e. they make the waffles (or whatever else) rise twice, once when the powder hits liquid, once when it cozies up to heat. If you wait a while after adding the baking powder, I bet the end result loses the benefits of the first reaction.

    Jess, I think you may get a waffle noble prize for your happy accident!

  2. Haha!
    “say ‘whoa’ to any object, animal or person I want to stop” <— you have no idea how many times I have done that to a wheelbarrow!

    I've seen weather do some strange things to horses.. especially when they are in unfamiliar or new places. Sometimes you can just tell that something's a little off, and it's better to just wait until another day. I guess it's a rider's intuition? ๐Ÿ˜›

    I've never had a mess with applesauce before… but there is something strangely intriguing about the thought of it with warm butterscotch chips ๐Ÿ™‚
    โค Tat

  3. Mo

    I was gonna say what Artemis said haha. I never really thought about it until you brought it up but I might start adding the baking powder right before baking now. ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Hey! It was rainy here too but my breakfast didn’t look near as good as those waffles!! Yum! Love your pictures, love the blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I have definitely had times when I sensed something was not right and called my ride quits early and I am thankful I did because both horses and humans can really sense things. You made a very good call!

  6. All my dogs respond to kisses and clicks, and my friends don’t even blink anymore when we’re walking through a mall and I see a shirt that I like, and I say, “Whoa, girl!” I don’t even try and fight it anymore haha!

  7. I just realized that I completely forgot the baking powder when I made your waffles last time! I will be adding that next time…good thing they still worked! That simple seitan….I need to make some because I know you rave about it so I am pretty sure I would too lady!

    Sorry the day felt kind of dreary…at least your eats still look and sound good. Of course I know what you mean when you say it just didn’t feel like “the day” even though it wasn’t bad. I have had quite a few ones recently. I haven’t been inspired to cook or eat like my usual self since the travel plans fell through but I just need to pick myself up and realize that I still can do a lot of things I enjoy.

    Sounds like teddie wasn’t necessarily feeling like it was his day either so maybe he will be more up for it next time.

    Oh, and since I don’t know many who ride…thought you might appreciate knowing that I went to a saddlery with my boyf today cause he wanted a western shirt. Why did I want a pair of kerrets and riding boots…ugh…maybe I just loved the equestrian look?

  8. Tes

    It’s raining, too. I think if I’m making thses waffles, it’s gonna be so great. I love those meal you make, they looks healthy and yummy.

  9. It definitely does make a difference when you add the baking powder later. Especially with gluten free foods! I have been doing that a lot lately, so it has a better opportunity to rise when it hits the heat! Everything looks delicious. Seriously though, could you go wrong with any of it? Sorry about the crap day. I hope tomorrow is better!

  10. Beans and toast actually sounds really good! I never would have thought of it on my own though! Maybe baked beans? Yummm. Sorry your day was so dreary! Your saddle picture is gorgeous. And don’t feel like you copped out! Everyone needs their rest days ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Yes I agree butterscotch chips + warm applesauce = heaven! I’m sorry to hear you’ve had a dreary day. Hope your beautiful pictures cheer you up! Just out of curiosity, how long do you prepare your breakfast in the morning? They always looks so elaborate and contain lots of mix-in’s in your oats and waffles!

  12. Michelle

    The reaction baking powder has definitely could have made all of the difference in the waffles. I love how you have waffles all the time! I only make them as a treat.

  13. The baking powder thing may have made a difference; I think I’ve read that as soon as it touches liquid, it react and starts to do it’s thang, which is why when you make cake mix etc you want to get it in the pan asap! So it might’ve made a difference?
    LOVE your dinner, that looks FABULOUS!! I say make both with the butter beans too ๐Ÿ˜€
    I’m definetly a crazy horse lady too…last count, Chika had something like 15 rugs ๐Ÿ˜› :P!! I think you did the right thing by not doing too much with him too; I think with horses, but especially young ones, your heart has to be in it 100%, or there’s space for things to go wrong. If’ I’ve been schooling and felt I wasn’t properly committed, I’ll cut the session short. Better than to end up in a horrible argument (and even worse, lose..!!)! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a good day ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Hi there – sorry to hear the weather was so dreary but it still sounds like you had a great fun filled day!!!! Hopefully the weather will be better today!!!!
    Loved the bean recipe – i actually do a similar recipe but with cannellini beans – ive actually never tried butter beans – ill have to give it a try!!!! Looking forward to more of your creative creations and recipes – they always look so good!!!
    Guess Teddie was also not feeling too great as a result of the weather – its funny how the weather affects everyone – even animals!!!
    Have a great Sunday – xoxo aim

  15. haha I laughed out loud, I doubt you are a crazy person, don’t we all feel like that at one point or another (or all the time?) And I think you should come to NY so we can work on the fact your horsey has more clothes than you! ๐Ÿ™‚ If you make those butter bean cutlets, recipe please!

  16. I think we’re all a little crazy with one thing or another. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Haha…

    Your waffles look genius! And you always have such fun toppings. Love it! ๐Ÿ˜€

  17. Haha we all have our own crazy little quirks. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I love how your throw together dinner still looks and sounds so gourmet!

  18. It has been rainy and dreary in Colorado, and I miss our warm sunshine! I have never tried making seitan before, but I am always tempted to try. Especially since the store bought variety is usually loaded with sodium. I hope that the sun shines brightly on your beautiful face today, and that you enjoy a good day with Teddie!

  19. Gosh even on a dreary day you still find your inventive side don’t you?! You have such a natural talent for just coming up with ideas..it really is amazing. On dreary days I always just feel like ‘blahh whatever!’ That applesauce mess looks amazingg and sounds perfect for a wet day, yum yum ๐Ÿ™‚ And your dinner looks absolutely GORGEOUS! Butter beans and feta are both some of my favourite foods of all time – and the idea of having it on toast is also perfect for a wet day!
    I hope the weather gets better for you soon so you can enjoy riding Teddie some more.
    xxx

  20. That bread looks so delish! I have a question to ask you (since the shape of your waffles looks similiar to my iron) How on earth do you clean your waffle iron?! I have not been able to find a good way to clean mine :\

  21. Dee

    OMG! I have been obsessed with putting butterscotch chips in my oats since I bought them a week ago. YUM-O!

Leave a Reply

