Rainy Sundays

Thank you for your congratulations on my “new addition”! Just like any proud mama, I was pretty much grinning from ear to ear. And I also realized some of the words I used yesterday is likely gibberish to those of you who don’t ride…my apologies! Briefly, a green horse is one with very little training. Teddie has only had a couple rides undersaddle that we know of – and I’ll get to why we’re not too sure of how many exactly in a moment. And dressage is a discipline of riding that is the “boring” one in the olympics, heh. Okay, well not to me and many others obviously, but no one is galloping over fences. I am not going to go all full-blown definition on you but to put it very, very simply is the basis of all riding and “flat work,” so to speak, for english riding. It’s all about suppling and balancing the horse, and the horse’s response to the aids.

Out-take from yesterday.

So, why don’t we know what Teddie’s really had done with him?

This poor cute little big guy found himself on the feedlot.

To be shipped to Canada.

To be on somebody’s plate.

Luckily, he was saved by the woman we bought him from. This was way back in December. He went through the auction said to ride and drive, but heย definitelyย feels green-broke, and his “mom” before yesterday only rode him a couple times, and mostly had him as a buddy to love on.

His auction picture. Sad, right? His rescue mom definitely put some life back in him.

My mom and I enjoy a rescue – she’s done a couple before – but I always found it a bit nerve-racking. I mean, people at auctions aren’t always honest. So whether or not there is a reason a horse makes it there, or if it is simply because the owner can’t afford it anymore is a good question. Since Teddie had lots of “buffer time” where he displayed no actions of being a screw loose, it didn’t worry either my mom or myself much. Guess we’ll see, right? hehe…

Anyways, now that part one of the Teddie story is over, we’ll get along with my day. Basically, I woke up and saw this:

Not impressed.

I’m talking about rain, not an emergency exit.

I wanted sun, glorious sun, for my pony play-day.

I guess I’d just have to take what I can get. And at least I made my best batch of waffles to date for the occasion:

Blueberry Fig Waffles? Yes, please.

  • 1/4 c. rolled oats
  • 2 T. wheat bran
  • 1 T. vanilla Tera’s Whey
  • 1 T. WW flour
  • wheat germ (1 T? .5 T?)
  • 1/4 c. almond milk
  • 1 flax egg
  • 1.5 T (ish) greek yogurt
  • 1 T applesauce
  • 1 chopped dried fig
  • drizzle of agave
  • chia seeds
  • and a couple of fresh blueberries

Uh, yuhm. I was full, yet I could have eaten twenty more. The sauce on top was some fresh blueberries and chopped dried figs, simmered in some almond milk and agave and mshed a bit. Also topped with some Earth Balance, homemade cinnamon cranberry-walnut butter (/spread) and chopped cashews.

I died.

Not only were these delicious – they were filling! And not in a “ugh I need to undo my belt,” kind of way – just in a stick with ya’ kind of way. We left shortly afterwards to work with Teddie and didn’t get home until noon. Usually I get hungry by then – especially with having some activity thrown in there – but I was jusssst ready for lunch when we got home.

Which, my apologies – I ate without taking a decent photo of before hand.

Though it was delicious, if a bit odd. I panfried some simple seitan and toasted some seeded whole grain bread (which was very poorly cut) before spreading on some apple BBQ sauce and then piling on some romaine, baked plantains, apple slices, and the seitan.

I don’t really have any explanation to offer why, but I did, and I am glad.

I paired it with some TJ’s popchips crumbs. Appraently, someone went to town on this bag. I only had a couple yesterday. Not sure who the guilty party is.

The rainy, cold afternoon consisted of making black bean cutlets based off of the chickpea cutlets recipe

listing textbooks and random stuff to sell on craigslist or amazon, and saddle shopping.

Leave it to me to find a saddle just barely above my budget that I absolutely have to have because it is just perfect. Not sure what I’m going to do yet. I think I may just pounce.

Not only that, but I watched Big Daddy’s House on food network and surprisingly, saw two amazing recipes that are must-tries. And to think I never gave Big Daddy a chance previously…

And eventually I made dinner. If you can really consider it “making” when all I did was bake a sweet potato and put a mixture of black beans, BBQ sauce, maple dijon, curry powder, and plantain chips inside of it.

Easy peasy? check.

uber delicious? check, check, check.

I think homemade “baked” beans are far superior to canned…sue me.

_________________________________________

So, how was pony play time?

Very good! I didn’t do much, and only hd intentions to introduce him to the barn and indoor, possibly lunge him, and also wanted to see if my jumping saddle fit him or either of the bits I had.

He was quite strong to begin with because he was definitely interested in all of the other horses that were in their stalls in the barn, and also the ones he could see outdoors from the indoor, but after a while just walking around practicing walk, whoa, back, give to pressure, listen to me, etc he settled right down. I was glad my mom was there since she has a lot more experience working with strong horses on the ground, so I had her walk him around the first couple times just because she’s stronger than I am. We were both glad to see he did nothing stupid or mean – he was purely just interested and doesn’t know he is strong – and for all of a sudden being thrown in a new environment with tons of horses, a big barn and indoor, and add to that rain pounding on the roof he was stellar. He also appears to be quite smart – something I noticed when we went to see him, too. By the end of the session he was stopping on a dime, backing, and giving to pressure like an old pro. And he stood for grooming and tacking up like a perfect gentleman.

I think this picture is pretty cute ๐Ÿ™‚ I forgot to take the camera off manual so my mom was just shooting with the settings I had used for yesterday’s outdoor shots! Some photo shoppage gave me this nice light ๐Ÿ˜›

Luckily, I think my jumping saddle fits him pretty well, which gave me a good starting point as to what size dressage saddle to look for. Go figure I find one right off the bat as mentioned before, right?

So, looking forward to see what he remembers tomorrow! I’ll be hoofing it alone, and I think the hardest part may well be getting him out of his pastureย without his buddy following us.

Don’t worry, I won’t write horsey novels daily now, but I figured at least I could separate the horsey business from the food business so you guys can pick and choose what to read/look at ๐Ÿ˜›

25 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

25 responses to “Rainy Sundays

  1. Awwwwww that is SO SWEET that he’s a rescue horse!!!!! How could someone kill such a sweet precious thing like that?! Pitiful ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But at least he has an amazing home with someone who loves him now!
    That waffle looks SO GOOD!!! Meh, why do I have such issues making waffles? I need to try again. You know what they say, if at first you don’t succeed…

    Love you to pieces!

  2. Mo

    It’s so sad that he was going to be killed! I’m happy he was rescued and that he’s doing well. ๐Ÿ™‚

    dalgkjhaha I want waffles now. Those waffles! I wonder how that’d work as a pancake?

    Big Daddy’s House never looked that interesting so I never watched it. Probably because he seems to be a slightly less annoying version of the Neelys… ๐Ÿ˜ I’m glad he at least has good recipes. ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Horse rescue!! That’s so nice!
    So I recently borrowed a waffle iron and I’m super excited to make some of your many waffles because I feel like you always have amazing looking waffles! I can’t wait to make some!

  4. Hurray for the rescue! And I love adding dried figs into baked goods. They are so good and add just the right amount of natural sweetness.

  5. I think I said awwwww about a million times when reading this post about 3 times. It truly touches my heart to see a horse rescued. My old riding instructor rescued race horses who were going to be slaughtered, and they turned out to be some of my best buddies. I am so jealous of you, but also so grateful to see you save a sweeties life. Thanks girl!

  6. So amazing that is he a rescue – he is absolutely gorgeous!

  7. Michelle

    Your bean mixture in your sweet potato looks fabulous!

  8. what a beautiful horse!!! CONGRATS!! The sweet potato and beans combo is my favorite, and I think I consider it “making it” because you put thought into that lovely bbq mixture! I went for the Bush’s Baked Beans when I did this…can to plate hahaha. Hope you had a wonderful weekend (despite the rain!)

  9. your food pics are so amazing! i know i always say so, but seriously… I can’t lie!

    Congrats on your gorgeous baby!

  10. He’s so gorgeous! Good on you for taking on a rescue – I really hope he stays sane ๐Ÿ™‚ Chika was allllmost a rescue…she was destined for a riding school simply cos the woman needed to sell asap; but judging how Chika bucked someone off who tried her out, and knowing her now, I actually think she’d have been shot for being dangerous if she’d gone to a riding school! Anyway, I blabber – Teddie is lovely! I say go for the exspensive saddle too – saddles are worth it, and you have to have oe that fits ๐Ÿ˜€ Have a great day playing with him! I can’t wait to hear more ๐Ÿ˜€ :FD (you should keep doing mini posts at the end, JUST for us horsey folk :P)

  11. I am in love with Teddie – what a beautiful horse – and to think that he was rescued – makes him even more precious!!!!! I would love a chance to ride him!!!! You are so lucky!!!
    Hope the weather improves for you so you get a chance to get outdoors with Teddie –
    As usual your photos are spectacular – i have to try the black bean cutlets – they look wonderful – black beans are my favorite –
    Hope u have a great Monday and would love to see more pictures of the horses as well as your eats!!
    xoxo aimee

  12. That last shot with the light on his back is beautiful, as is Teddie (I like the ie spelling, seems like you went with that one, right?). What a great story about how you acquired him and basically saved him. I am actually really interested about how you feel he behaves and acts, although I know slim to none about horses, riding, etc. I hope you have luck with him today.

    That waffle sounds so amazing and I think I finally need to make one. Thanks for sharing the recipe…I have all the ingredients (subbing something for greek yogurt). I can’t wait to hear how the black bean cutlets turned out. I have a feeling you may have one for lunchie today…

    The dinner sounds great though lady, I have yet to make my own version of “baked beans” so I should get on that ASAP. And thank you so much for the camera info, you are the best! Since my boyf is financially taking care of more than me, I may have to go with what he wants most but I shared with him the words you sent me and hopefully he will take them with as much weight as I did. You are the best lovely!

    happy monday!

  13. Aww, glad to hear your adventures with Teddie are going well! He’s adorable- I rode at sleepaway camp when I was 10-13, and while I was afraid of the horses, I loved the ponies!! And blueberry fig waffles? You said it right- yes, please!!

    Hope you have a wonderful Monday love!! xoxo

  14. Aww poor Teddie! I’m so glad that woman rescued him!

    I love the combo of black beans + sweet potato. I’ve never tried it with BBQ sauce though. I bet it tastes amazing!

  15. I think it’s funny how many people view dressage is “boring” when it is so beautiful and elegant! I am lovingg the Teddie pictures. Thank goodness for good people who rescue horses! That last photo of him is beautiful. Frame-worthy in my opinion! And once again you have me craving homemade waffles ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Those waffles = AMAZING!!! I’m completely serious when I say I think I might make them for dinner tonight.

    I love you.

  17. Hi, I’m new to your blog and wanted to say hello. ๐Ÿ™‚ Very, very cute new addition! I’m from Chincoteague, VA (where the wild ponies roam), and I don’t ride but I โค horses.

    Your waffle looks divine, btw!!

  18. TEDDIE!!! omg BEST NAME EVER!!! โค โค

  19. I am in LOVE with Teddie, and I can see why you are too. What a gorgeous guy. Love the coloring and I just read the story in your last post about how he’s a rescue. What an awesome story. ๐Ÿ˜€

  20. Katherine

    looks like you should’ve been at the Belmont yesterday! (was that the triple crown race yesterday; I forget). Hope you had sunshine today!
    Katherine

  21. Oh Jess, your baby is beautiful! I am so happy for you! I feel so out of it and I have missed so much! I am so happy to hear that you rescued Teddie. What a horrible fate! Your waffles are killing me! I want to make them so badly. Hopefully things will settle down here soon so I can give your newest craze a try! I hope today was sunnier for you!

  22. Aw the pictures of him are so beautiful! That’s so sad he was on a feedlot, makes me feel queasy inside. As always your pictures of food are unbelievable and make me want it all!

  23. Pingback: Three Breakfasts « Brit Chick Runs – A lone English girls' passion for healthy eating, exercising, and living!

  24. Pingback: A Wonderful Day for Waffles « Healthy Exposures

  25. Pingback: two bits of bad news = two delicious breakfasts « A Fresh Dille

Leave a Reply

