Bunches of Blueberries

I’ve been so boring lately, I admit it.

I’ve just been slacking on the photos because I’m never sure if I’ll feel like dealing with the slow internet come night time.

It’s sort of reminiscent of the dial-up days, actually.

I guess I’m just sort of giving myself a slacker week – telling myself it’s okay to just post if I want to.

And while I’ve been enjoying not being so connected in the mornings like I used to be, I’m pretty happy to discover that I cook, bake, and blog because I love it – I don’t cook and bake just to blog, and I don’t blog just to take up some free time. I wasn’t sure if I would still be as motivated to cook and bake creative things without the thought of having a blog to post to. Sure, I don’t make things just because I want to post things. I make what I crave. I guess what I’m trying to say is that it’s nice to know that nothing changes even though I’m not photographing every meal and creation. Am I making any sense? I hope so. It’s been a long day.

That all being said, I wasn’t certain I’d post tonight, and almost didn’t. But here it is, 9:00…and I have nothing else to do besides watch the Food Network anyways, and I want to.

I think the hardest thing about this lousy connection is not being able to read my favorite blogs. I’ll be back to visit you all in a couple days, methinks! I’ve been having better luck with wordpress blogs loading, not so much any others.

I’ve written a novel, here – so lets get on to the best part of my day.

Yes. The waffles. Easily the best waffles I’ve made thus far. Imagine my excitement when I found blueberries for BOGO yesterday. I must have known these would be superb, too – I even measured as I mixed! That doesn’t mean I did something s sensible as jotting that down, though – so I’m working off memory.

Funny how I can’t remember phone numbers and what I did yesterday, but I can remember a list of ingredients. Go figure.

Dry:

  • 1/4 c. rolled oats
  • 2 T. wheat bran
  • 1 T. WW flour (I wanted to try Buckwheat – but the WW was easier to grab!)
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • baking powder
  • 1 T. shredded unsweetened coconut

Wet:

  • 1 flax egg (1 T. flax + 3 T. water, allowed to sit for a couple minutes)
  • 1/2 T. maple syrup, or to taste
  • 1.5 T. plain greek yogurt
  • 1 T. applesauce
  • 1/4 c. + 1 T. almond milk

Mix dry and wet seperately before combining together.

Add in fresh blueberries and 1/2 a date, chopped – and spoon onto nonstick or sprayed waffle iron.

I topped them with a mixture of blueberries, chia seeds and the other half of the date, which I simmered in some almond milk and mashed a few of the blueberries.

And some of miss Mae’s coconut butter.

And some more coconut.

And some crystallized ginger.

And some walnuts joined the party post-photo.

And then I had to check to see if I’d died and gone to heaven. Which leads me to my new discovery yesterday which lended a helping hnd in today’s tempeh, goat cheese, jam, and spinach panini:

Alouette must have heard me when I said I hated touching cheese, and how glad I was that they made feta in a shake container.

Now I found they have goat cheese in a shake container, too! And good goat cheese, too. Love the flavor. Sure, I’ve already sung my praises to the local goat cheese I can get – but it’s not always easy to get if I don’t feel like running into town on a Saturday morning for the farmer’s market.

This will do for now.

Another foodie highlight of the day? A Blueberry Coconut PranaBar that Nicole sent me. I seriously adore these bars…and this flavor was no disappointment. I mean, how many times have you seen me eating blueberry-coconut oats, or waffles, as demonstrated this morning?

That’s what I thought.

This tasted like I was eating a delicious and nutritious bowl of oats – wonderfully fresh blueberry flavor explosion, and coconut not far behind.

My only slightly negative thoughts were that it’s a bit too sweet. Agave is the first ingredient – and towards the end it got to be a bit overpowering. I tend to believe that date-based bars really don’t need much added sweetener, if any at all.

In other news, I may need to bake some SuperCharge Me cookies for home consumption tomorrow – they were good.

20 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

20 responses to “Bunches of Blueberries

  1. Those have got to be the most drool-worthy waffles I have *ever* seen. No lie. Delicious! 😀

  2. YUM blueberry waffles! I am definitely going to make these soon! I want to go pick blueberries! Hopefully soon! I will use buckwheat though, cause I love it so…I am a poet and didn’t know it! Have a great night Jess!

  3. Hi there – i recently found your blog and absolutely LOVE it!!!!! All of your meal creations look wonderful !!!!! You are very talented!!! I will definately continue to read daily!!!! I love blueberries – they are perfect this time of year!!!! xoxo aimee

  4. wow, now that waffle deserves some kind of prize 🙂 that sounds so amazingly good and i love the combo of coconut and blueberries!..and taht Prana bar, wow i didnt know they made that flavor, i will be on the look out 😉 bloooberies are def. my favorite berry! 🙂
    And you are making lots of sense when you were saying how not posting all your meals and recipes, you are a fab. baker and chef and i can so tell that from your blog, obviously! 🙂 and posting every thing should just be for you becasue you want to share all your lovely ideas and what not, not an obligation etc…and i agree, that it is so great to be able to eat what you are craving and know its not only becasue you have an audience, but because its just the way you want and like to eat!

    xx
    eliza

  5. Wow, that waffle looks amazing! I can’t wait to try out the recipe. I haven’t seen those Prana bars around here but they look tasty. I agree though, I find dates are so naturally sweet that if they are a main feature of a bar, less sweetener is required.

  6. Now, now. You, boring? Never. Just LOOK at the things that you come up with in your kitchen. I’m a little (ehem a LOT) jealous of your food crafting skills. I don’t have the patience OR the creativity to make my foods look that darn good.
    And I SO wish we had that goat cheese here, goat cheese is amaaaazing.

  7. I’ve been slacking on blogging this week too because I’ve been working so much:( No worries though! I’m sure we’ll be back in full force soon!

  8. You are not boring. You are beautiful and inspiring and your posts bring a simple moment of pleasure into my day. I love your photos and your thoughts. Keep sharing 🙂

  9. Michelle

    I’m thinking waffles are one the menu for tomorrow now, yours look fantastic!

  10. ive seen those bars online.. but im not sure if ive seen them in the store.. but im thinking i might have. hmm i find some bars too sweet too and it totally ruins the whole savory aspect. too sweet..too bitter.. sometimes its hard to win. but when u find the right one..ahh delishhh.

    this is prolly the millionth time ive drooled over ur waffles..but each time my eyes get bigger and bigger and i never get tired of seeing them. i jsut cant figure out how ur so amazing!

  11. Those waffles sound SO good – do you reckon you could make them like a pancake or something? Cos I don’t have a waffle maker, but I reaaaally want to try them!
    Oh, and along with the many other people that have said it – your posts are NEVER boring!! I love reading your blog 😀

  12. PS – Now look who forgot horsey humpday 😛

  13. haha I laughed when you said you can’t remember phone numbers but you can remember ingredients…that’s me too..is that so sick? haha Apparently the next kitchen item I need to buy is a waffle maker, because those looks incredible! My mom has one, I may need to “borrow” like I “borrowed” her juicer. Glad you liked the bars, I noticed that some of the bars have agave for the 1st ingredient, that’s the only (small) downside!

  14. I took a hiatus from the blogworld this weekend, and was happy to discover that I actually MISSED it…glad it’s not a burden for you, either! I’ve only had one Prana bar, but that flavor looks absolutely delicious!!

  15. Goat cheese in a shaker is genius! I always find it so hard to put goat cheese on salads without getting it all over my fingers. Of course I don’t really mind licking it off. 😉

    I really need to hit up the bulk store for all those ingredients so that I can make your fabulous waffles!

  16. dee

    ugh .. what is with everyone today and ridiculously delish looking breakfasts?!?! I had the most paste-like bowl of oatbran this morning. I am uber jealous!

  17. So I tried to make your waffles this morning and I’m not sure what I did wrong (because I think it WAS me) but they kind of did not work. I think I had too much liquid? Or something went wrong with the flax egg? I was looking forward to them too. But I will not give up!!!
    It is SO NICE to give yourself the option of not posting… it makes posting so much more fun and like what it should be, not something you HAVE to do, ya know!
    Love ya girl!

  18. I definitely think not posting sometimes gives a great chance to re-evaluate why we blog and how we feel about it. I do it more than most…I think…

    The waffle looks delicious and I will be trying one over the weekend or early next week I hope! I haven’t had a Prana bar but they seem great. I think that our WF’s started selling them so hopefully I can find some soon.

    hope you are having a lovely Thursday lady! you definitely are far from boring…

  19. Katherine: What About Summer?

    those waffles look great! no doubt a tribute to the recipe and the maker

  20. Those waffles look to die for, warm berries on top are my favorite!

Leave a Reply

