Stuffed ‘Shrooms, Gazpacho Salad, and White Lies

Yeah. Me again. So much for not posting until I get a new router, right? I guess I like to tell little white lies every so often. I just can’t stay away! Especially since I discovered if I plug right into the cable the *gasp* old-fashioned way, I have my own, normal internet.

Uh, I’m much too lazy for that.

It’s not what I would consider comfortable. And am still choosing to wait eons for photos to upload off of my leeched internet.

Why? Because, quite frankly, what else do I have to do? TV is trash these days. I’ve been outside gardening, bike & horse riding, tack cleaning, yard working, dog bathing, and other general nonsense all day. As well as cooking. I have no shame in calling it a day and chillaxin’ with Rach-y Ray.

Confession: these aren’t this morning’s pancakes. I just threw them in for a little visual stimulation.

Actually, this morning, I crafted up a lovely waffle reminiscent of carrot cake. Yep. Just call me the wacky waffler.

Confession 2: the only food I photographed today was what I’m about to share with you. I didn’t think I’d be blogging until Thursday or so. Hah.

For le dia de la memorilia (uh?) I made a Bob’s Red Mill-influenced gazpacho bulghur salad and some stuffed portabellas.

Gazpacho Bulghur Salad for 4 side-servings. Ish.

First Part:

  • 6 T. cracked bulghur wheat (or, 1/4 cup + 2 T. before you go thinking I’m crazy, I was halving from the original 3/4s and so I just converted that to Tablespoons and halved. Okay, I probably still seem crazy.)
  • 2 T. canned, diced, fire-roasted tomatoes

In a saucepan, combine bulghur wheat, 6 T. water, and 2 T. tomatoes. Bring to a boil, cover, turn off heat, and let sit at least 15 minutes. Meanwhile, prepare the dressing:

Second Part:

  • 1 T. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 T. sesame dressing (or olive oil or sesame oil)
  • 1 clove garlic, pressed
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1/8 t. black pepper
  • 2 T. canned, diced, fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 1/4 t. cumin
  • 1/8 t. paprika

Whisk together. Set aside. Realize that Sarena is 100% correct in her thoughts that cumin smells like a dirty old man.

Third Part:

  • 1/4 of a yellow pepper, diced
  • 1/3 of a medium cucumber, peeled, seeded, and diced
  • 1/4 of a zucchini, peeled and diced
  • 1 medium tomato, peeled, seeded, and chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • about 1 T. chives, minced

Combine eeeeeeeeverything together, and mix. Chill for a while before serving.

Spinach & Cheese Stuffed Portabellas for 3 stuffed ‘bellas

If you don’t have any breadcrumbs, or do but just want really good ones, you may want to start with processing;

  • 1 slice toasted seeded whole grain bread
  • 2 T. mixed nuts

until coursely ground.

Then you can move along with your life.

Firstly:

In a small bowl, mix together:

  • 3 T. BBQ sauce (or more as necessary. I used “Maine Apple” flavored BBQ.)
  • 1 cloved pressed garlic (caugh*or powder*cough)
  • cracked black pepper
  • salt

and liberally brush the gill-side and outside of 3 portabellas, stems removed. I chose to remove the gills as well just to make sure I had room for the filling, but after making them I would say it’s whatever floats your boat.

Place the ‘bellas gill side down on a non-stick surface, and bake for 10 minutes at 450*. Note!!! I just used my toaster oven. Not sure how that would change for a real oven, but just a warning.

For the Filling:

  • 1/2 c. cottage cheese
  • 1 sq. inch of pepper chevre
  • two handfuls baby spinach, microwaved to wilt
  • 2 T. fire-roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1/8 t. dried basil
  • 1/8 t. dried oregano
  • the aforementioned breadcrumbs, and if using ready-made, I would guess about 1/4 cup?

Puree the cottage cheese until smooth.

Add in the goat cheese. Think about how much you hate the smell of goat cheese. Process until smooth.

Add in the spinach, tomatoes, basil, oregano, and salt and pepper to taste. Process until combined – doesn’t need to be completely smooth.

Add in the breadcrumbs, and pulse once or twice – just to combine everything.

Remove the ‘bellas from the [toaster] oven and flip over, so gills are up. Spoon filling into each innard, and replace in oven for another 8 minutes or so.

If desired, top with shredded cheese and broil until melted.

YUM-O.

13 Comments

Filed under cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe

13 responses to “Stuffed ‘Shrooms, Gazpacho Salad, and White Lies

  1. Michelle

    Looks like a very yummy dinner! I never thought about the smell of cumin haha

  2. Your dinner sounds fabulous!! But girl, carrot cake waffles? Must. Share!

  3. carrot cake waffles sound fab! i would love the recipe if you could, especially since your other waffle recipe was muy perfecto. i love the bulghur dish as well. i’ve gotta try that out (if i can get myself away from the millet, that is, haha.) by the way, i totally got the whole 6tbs thing. i usually cut recipes down to serve one or two so mine end up looking like 1/4tsp this, 6.25 tbs that, etc. it looks pretty weird but hey, it works!

    have a lovely day!
    xox

  4. YUM WAFFLES! That gazpacho salad is genius! Looks like you had a fun day of food!!

  5. Wow – those stuffed ‘bellas look amazing! I love portabellas :-).

  6. I seriously have to go to bed! Your blog just made me the hungriest! haha
    Those are some amazing photos! I love bulgur! And everything else looks so good too!

  7. You always have me craving your meals…even after a super filling dinner like tonight! Both of these are getting bookmarked ASAP. I am happy to see you posting lady… I would miss your posts if you were M.I.A. till thurs!

  8. Fab dinner – you seem to have created your own extremely fancy and delicious looking restaurant meal there; very impressive!! 😀

  9. Amanda @ HopeHasAPlace

    I’ve been reading your blog for quite a while, but I don’t think I’ve ever commented, so allow me to say…

    I enjoy reading all your recipes! They are healthy (and not in an ed pseudo-healthy way, in a truly nutritious way) and look so yummy! I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t attempted any of your recipes yet… I love cooking, but I’m often too tired or unmotivated to make anything more than a bowl of oatmeal or pb&j sandwich. However, your recipes are fairly simple and not very time-consuming, so I’m out of excuses! And those mushrooms just put me over the top–I HAVE to try them! I don’t remember the last time I had a stuffed mushroom (sad, I know), but I love them, and yours look too dang good.

    Ha ha, all that to say: THANK YOU for sharing your recipes and thoughts. I truly enjoy reading. xoxo

  10. Girl you are gettin it with the waffles lately! Anddd I am definitely copying down the stuffed shroom recipe. Looks amazing!!

  11. This dinner looks to die for! It’s exactly the kind of light dinner that I crave in the summers.

    I have such a hard time trying out new recipes with my family though because their idea of a dinner is always meat + a starch + a vegetable. 😛

  12. nice switch for dinner! love the idea of stuffing some good ol shrooms. what a great filling too!!! the color in that is rediculous ❤

  13. The wacky waffler! Haha, you kill me! Those mushrooms look divine!

Leave a Reply

