Ch-Ch-Changes

How have I only been gone a day, and feel like I’ve missed so much?! I’m going to try to keep this short – my Google Reader is overflowing and I’ve got some serious blog reading to do, not to mention the fact I still don’t have cable and am currently leeching πŸ™‚

Wednesday Β night, we had a serious storm about 10:00. It was like nothing we’d ever seen around here – tornado force winds, house-shaking, lightning flashing, and of course – a tornado warning?! We didn’t have one here, but rumor has it that the lake (I live on a road off of the lake road) saw one – and driving through there, it wouldn’t surprise me. Now they said it wasn’t a tornado, just tornado force winds. Uh, okay. Trees across the road, telephone poles broken in half, trees on houses, and you wouldn’t believe how many trees are just uprooted. Scary! Driving home today it was still a mess. When I got home from work yesterday, we had power back but the internet has been out.

There was one point in time I was pretty sure I was going to get sucked out of bed with the roof, and another point where I thought the deck was struck by lightning and starting on fire. Turns out it was just my mom with a flashlight in the kitchen/dining area. Oops.

That being said – we lost power, which still wasn’t on by morning. Which left me with one mission: open the fridge only once to get stuff, and only once to put stuff back. I’m not going to go through two days worth of eats, but I have to highlight yesterday’s breakfast since it was Mo inspired – have to give shout-outs where they are due! (I’m pretty sure it was you, Mo, that mentioned a grilled peach & PB sandwich? And this is still an awful shout-out because I can’t even link since it’s too slow to have two windows open at once) We have a gas stove so I could have made oats if I wanted to – but I felt that’d be a little dramatic.

And this peach and sunbutter sandwich was quite good. Granted, I kept thinking “this would be so great grilled,” but oh well. It’s kind of eye-opening to realize how reliant we are on power (well, me anyways.) I kept thinking of all these alternatives, and then going “No, stupid – blenders use electricity.” “No, stupid, microwaves use electricity.” and so on. I think what I miss most though, is running water. All I want when I wake up is a nice glass of cold water. Well, maybe that’s not all, but I digress.

I kept on a roll this morning with mixing it up, and made my oats into waffles! Man, I’m gone two days and I’m breaking up with oatmeal?! They’ll be back, I promise. Let me just blab once more and then I’ll just get on to the food: I’m sort of glad I “had” to switch up my routine. Sure, I don’t see anything wrong with having the same thing for brek every morning if that’s what works for me. But, when the pony gets here, I’d like to work him in the mornings rather than after work. This means less time dilly-dallying with google reader in the morning and taking ages to eat, and instead getting my butt out the door by 7am. I’ve been thinking of switching it up lately, but since nothing’s necessarily forced me to, I haven’t bothered. Now that the “streak has been broken,” so to speak – I’m a little more okay with it πŸ˜‰ In addition, having a “night off” from the computer was pretty nice – another thing I may be forced to do every so often with the busier days ahead of me. I say that now – but I’ll bet I’ll still be posting every day πŸ˜› I really do enjoy it!

Alright, now that I’ve got that out of the way, the food.

Pumpkin Oatmeal Waffles, made with:

  • 1/4 c. rolled oats
  • 1/4 c. wheat bran
  • 1 T. oat bran
  • 1 flax egg
  • approx 1/4 c. almond milk
  • 1 T. (?) greek yogurt
  • approx 1/4 c. pumpkin puree
  • cinnamon, nutmeg
  • dried cranberries, chopped dates
  • drizzle maple syrup

and then topped with a little bit of earth balance, mighty maple, and a peach-cranberry compote.

These were sodanggood. I’ll remember to keep mixing it up, I think. Easy, too! It’s a lot easier to drag out eating oatmeal than eating pancakes, which will be a good thing.

Lunches have been pretty standard – veggie paninis, greek yog/cottage cheese, fruit.

Tried the Kardea Nutrition lemon-ginger bar – I’m quickly becoming a fan of the texture of these bars, though this one didn’t have enough ginger for me 😦 It did have a nice, mild but pleasant lemon about it.

And my first plantain was integrated into a Veganomicon inspired recipe!

  • sautee garlic, onion, bell peppers
  • add 1/2 chopped sweet potato, curry powder, salt, 1/4 c. water, cook until sweet potatoes done
  • add 1/2 c. red kidney beans, 1/2 chopped plantain, spinach, combine
  • garnish with baked plantains and cashews

It was a lot more like a banana than I thought they were – but I’m not complaining! I really enjoyed this dish…and actually had it again tonight πŸ˜›

…and that’s all for now! Hopefully I have “real” internet back soon – now I’m off to either relax & blog-read, or relax & magazine-read. Whichever works in my favor πŸ˜‰

What’s your favorite use of a plantain?

Any scary storm stories?

19 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe, Uncategorized

19 responses to “Ch-Ch-Changes

  1. Wow, those waffles sound amazing! Recipe = bookmarked. The storm sounds intense, glad to hear your safe. I absolutely LOVE baked plantain chips – simply wait till the plantain ripens, slice, spray with EVOO, and bake until crispy.

  2. I am so glad you are ok! I have to admit that while I have not changed up my morning routine, I have definitely changed up my evenings! It feels kind of liberating to do things you would not normally do! I am enjoying mixing up flavors and using different methods of cooking. I have to say that plantains have not won me over, but I may have to try them again.

    The only storm story I really have is an ice storm we had when my oldest was about a year old. We had no power, which meant no heat for a few days. That may not seem bad to some, but with a little one in the freezing winter…it is not good. I have great in laws that bought us gas logs for our fireplace and that really helped since we were out of fire wood.

    Anyway, glad you are up and running again!

  3. Mo

    That was me! I think it was with almond butter, though. πŸ˜„ And nahhh it’s a fabulous shout-out. πŸ˜›

    My internet hasn’t been out but I’ve been WAY too busy to even pay attention to it for the past few days, so I empathize with your need to catch up with all the blogs haha.

    I’ve never had plaintain before! I heard they were like super unripe bananas which has kind of turned me off to them. πŸ˜„

    My scary storm story was when, in 3rd grade I think, my sister almost got struck by lighting because she was holding an umbrella during a storm while I was right next to her, so I spent two minutes crying in the rain about how I didn’t want to die. It’s funny to me now, but it was REALLY scary.

  4. I’ve been really wanting to get out of my oat-rut (though I love it very much) lately, too, but honestly nothing else sounds quite as good. Well, until now, that is. Your waffles sound absolutely fabulous! And they’re vegan, to boot (well, with a greek yogurt sub)! Thank you, thank you, thank you. I will probs make these after I get out of school as a little celebration. I think kabocha puree would be super good (since I’m allergic to pumpkin). I know you will busier and you may not post as much soon so I will miss that, but I’m also extremely excited for you. Live life to its fullest girl!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  5. Those waffles look to die for!
    I love banana chips in my salads, so good.

  6. perfect that u put those waffles by that million dollar mug… more like million dollar pumpkin oatmeal waffles- THOSE LOOK TASTTTTiiii ❀

    my google reader WAS FLOWING LIKE THE RIVER JORDAN this morning hehe.

    have a beautiful weekend! ❀ hopefully no more storms your way!!! they always hit at the weirdest or worst times!!

  7. Jen

    No storms lately but the weather has been ultra dreary. Personally I think a storm would be better because then it would evoke some emotion – ya know – plain old dreary weather is just blah.
    Anywho! Those waffles sound fantastic! And plantains are amazing, aren’t they? Personally my favorite way to have them isn’t the healthiest. Tostones! Twice fried plantains, it’s a traditional Latin American method of cooking them and they are sooooooooooooo crispy and wonderful!! πŸ™‚

  8. I feel your pain! It’s hard to be gone for an entire day….I essentially missed a week and I felt so out of the loop! I’ve always wanted to try plantains, I’m happy you tried it, that combination looks fantastic!

  9. Oh my gosh, that sounds so scary!! I’m glad you’re OK – I’d be terrified! England had a hurricane, ONCE, in the 80s – my dad slept through it and we lost 2 tiles from the roof. My storm stories just aren’t that bad….!!
    Plantain – I had it once, but I baked it(!?) and it was foul….it’s put me off trying it again!

  10. wow that weatehr sounds scary! glad your okay lovie! the weather here is dreary and i think its supposed to rain today, but no turnadoes here!..i think its exciting kinda when there is a storm πŸ™‚
    I love your meals!! everything looks to die for…. i am in an oat rut, for like ever now lol.. not complaining πŸ˜‰ but i have been wanting to break out!…i think i may be addicted πŸ˜‰ oea = oat eats annonymous perhaps πŸ˜‰ jk..well i love your peach and sunbutter sammie brekkie that sounds and looks divine, as does your waffle, gosh the recipe is so much more simple than i thought a waffle recipe would be! I should make them πŸ™‚ my mom has a waffle maker! My grandparents are Belgian so as a kiddie my grandma would Always make the best homemade Belgian waffles ahh SOoo yummi! πŸ™‚ And my uncle is opening a waffle restaurant, how cool?! πŸ™‚ any plantain recipes, hmm i havent ever made them before but at my fav cafe near me they have them as an appetizer and they come with the most delicious honey mustard sauce, so good! well i def. should pick some up and make those, i’ve seen bloggers have them for breakfast, that would be good like with nut butter or something?…have a great weekend xx

    eliza

  11. oh my gosh girl! i’m so glad you’re ok!

    something like that happened here in VA like 3 or 4 years ago, and it was crazy! no power or water or anything for a week, and we were in the “lucky” area. makes you so grateful for america, right?

    and the waffles sound amazing! you still manage to make them as gorgeous as your oats.
    -rebekah

  12. I am positively drooling over the peach/sunbutter combo. Wishing I had peaches so I could try that out for lunch!! Sounds like a pretty scary storm- I was petrified of tornadoes as a kid, and I used to make my whole family go into the basement during violent thunderstorms. Thankfully I grew out of that, and now I love to watch them from our front porch! Hope you have a great weekend girl!!

  13. That storm sounds so scary! My worst storm experience was uh… having a tree get struck by lightening and fall on my head. 16 stitches later though and I was okay! Yeah, that kind of thing WOULD happen to me hahaha. πŸ˜›

    Those pancakes look so amazing! Those may have to be my breakfast tomorrow. Do you think it would be ok if I replaced the wheat germ and oat bran with whole wheat flour?

  14. I definitely just wrote down that waffle recipe. Would you believe the only waffles I eat are hte frozen kind?! Sinful, I know. And I can’t believe you lost power.. I wouldn’t know what to do if I could panini everything! I’ve only had plantains plain, but your dish looks amazing.

  15. Holy crap girl, you are my hero! And I’m SO GLAD that you are OK! If I was you, I would’ve had a heart attack. Tornadoes are my WORST FEAR!! Just thinking about one makes me freak out a bit… so moving on now..
    Those waffles look amazing!!! Two questions though.. what’s the difference between oat bran and wheat bran and how do you make a flax egg (I know what it is, I just don’t know the right proportions).
    And I like my electricity. We usually get ours knocked out every winter from an ice storm (one of the joys of living in upstate SC) and it’s awful. I definitely miss hot water the most. We had it knocked out for a week a couple of years ago and so we moved in with family who have a generator… because well, a week is a bit too long to go without showering.
    Love you girl!

  16. Dee

    WOW! Glad to hear you and your family are ok. πŸ™‚

    Once again, you’ve struck me with your pictures! πŸ˜‰ WOW. That pumpkin oatmeal waffle? ME WANT. And the rest of your eats? To die for.

    I think I’m going to make some lunch now. I’m starved! lol. πŸ˜€

  17. My google reader is ridiculous right now but I may have searched for your posts…shhh.

    I love storms but tornado warnings definitely freak me out and when I moved to the midwest from NY and CA, I had no idea they were so often! I used to run and hide in the basement and make my parents, sister, and pup come down too…usually nothing happened though…

    The only real scary storm I’ve been in was a hurricane on Martha’s Vineyard when I was little that I can hardly remember. I know that we had to evacuate our beach house though for a week.

    Glad to hear you are okay though lady!

    The waffles are bookmarked under my new June Recipe folder…yum, they look and sound scrumptious!

    Plantain-wise, I haven’t had them other than at a Cuban restaurant once! Veganomicon recipes usually are a good way to go though and I am liking that combo!

  18. What a scary storm! Like everyone has said, I’m so glad that you are safe. And I understand completely about the electricity conundrum. I want so badly to use less energy, but when I think about all the food I cook and prepare…I need to use my toaster and blender and oven. I spent 5 weeks camping in Africa, and it was such a difficult adjustment! I hope you have a wonderful evening, love!

  19. Michelle

    Your post title has me singing a song from Shrek!

Leave a Reply

